Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Hill of Tara (Temair)

Despite being one of Ireland’s most important historical sites, it’s Tara’s otherworldly views and fascinating archaeological finds that make it such a popular day trip from Dublin. The Hill of Tara, known as Temair in Gaelic, is located in County ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 7 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a great tour and I am glad that i did it at the last minute.Just loved it.The great celtic crosses were magnificent and the Boyne valley and the Hill of Tara where Irish Kings were crowned for a thousand years were all spellbinding.The ancient tombs from the Bronze age ( three thousand years plus old!) with the strange pyschadelic like encryptions were fascinating.It was really a great trip and well titled as Celtic Heritage Day.It made me feel proud and i am not entirely irish but my husband has some Irish heritage and it rubbed of on to me and I was so proud !

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was pleasantly susprised that the tour was with a mini bus and not herded like cattle like some tour companies. Dave's humor, patience and knowledge was a perfect combination. I would sign up with this tour company again. I think that we had seen a lot of key sites that will leave a lasting impression in me. The Hill of Tara was a very spiritual place and a very important religious site so make sure that you spend time here. Monasterboice was a treat and to see the fine examples of Celtic crosses was phenomenal. Take time to look at the the carvings. Trim Castle was a backdrop of an Oscar winning movie.Drogheda had a very unusual and religious stop that you just can't miss! Just sit back and relax and let the guide take care of the rest. Thanks Dave and kudos to your tour company. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a great time seeing the historic places around Dublin. Our tour guide Jamie was down to earth and fun to listen to. The stone on the Hill of Tara had just been vandalized overnight so that kind of killed the experience there a bit. All in all had a good time for the low price!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

(Posted TripAdvisor 4 April 2014)
Went on the extreme ireland one day trip to Celtic sites. Minibus with 17 tourists 8 am - 6 pm. Starts with Tara and ends with the head (really!) of Saint Oliver Plunkett.
Altogether a very good day. Barry, the driver and raconteur, got the history spot on, and by the end of the day we had done Ireland from Neolithic times to the Civil War. Ruined monasteries, castles, and aforementioned heads.
Only downside was me falling over at Tara - with wet, sheep-cropped grass, you need very sensible footware (which I had) and careful walking (which I didn't). Not the fault of the tour, but it is important to make sure tourists know what they are up for.
Highly recommended - and listen to Barry's advice of other attractions in Dublin to go to.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We traveled in early March, and there was not enough for the tour to make on our scheduled day, so we had to reschedule. Please make sure you contact the tour operator before hand, so they have your information. This is a great tour for physically active history buffs. Climbing to Loughcrew is a chore, but the view and small cairn are worth it. Wear hiking shoes, for sure. Trim castle is in ruin, but to me the grounds were just as much of a joy to visit as the restored Bunratty castle on the west coast. Lots of back road driving and wonderful scenery, especially at the Hill of Tara. The jumping church and Monisterboice were great short stops. Nice lunch in Mullagh, and time to explore in Drogheda. Ross was a fantastic guide

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour gets you outside Dublin proper to the countryside. Be prepared to walk uphill at the Loughcrew Celtic Tombs, even after the climb the site is well worth it. The tour guide was very informative and took the time to answer questions. Hill of Tara was interesting as well - particularly the Fairy Tree. Take the time to see the countryside and the sights.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Wendy G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Good day tour to areas not accessed by all tourists. Enjoyed seeing the Hill of Tara and the Loughcrew Celtic tombs.A little sad we did not get to see Slane Castle as the roads were closed due to the Bon Jovi concert being on.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message