Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Hill of Tara (Temair)

Despite being one of Ireland’s most important historical sites, it’s Tara’s otherworldly views and fascinating archaeological finds that make it such a popular day trip from Dublin. The Hill of Tara, known as Temair in Gaelic, is located in County ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I absolutely loved this tour! Just the right amount of time was spent at each stop. Hill of Tara is so peaceful. Newgrange was very interesting! Harry was an excellent bus driver/guide and kept us entertained the whole way there and back. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed seeing Newgrange. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and had a great sense of time. Hill of Tara was also great and very informative. We ate lunch at the cafe at the Newgrange which was pretty good.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hill of Tara is interesting and in a beautiful countryside. Newgrange is amazing and should not be missed if you are in Dublin and have the time to see it. More than 500 years older the the Pyramids in Egypt it is an amazing cultural treasure.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

wonderful day exploring Irelands heritage. Excellent guide - very informative but also fun and even sang us several songs which was lovely. Amazing experience to visit hill of Tara and the Loughcrew tombs in particular. Stopped for lunch in an authentic country pub.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I knew nothing of New Grange before this tour and I am so happy that I went to visit the site. It was incredible. From the moment we got on the bus in Dublin, our guide Michael was an absolute joy. It was a pleasure to listen to him recount the history of the sights we saw along the route to Tara and then New Grange. The sites are well kept and our New Grange guide Jackie was so enthusiastic about her subject. A great tour and a wonderful way to spend a day.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful mix of cultureand fun! Our witty and caring driver-guide, Michael, gave us a lot of interesting pieces of information about everything happened to be on our way and some usesul tips (everything fully knowledgeable even for non-native speaking people...). Newgrange and Tara are, of course, mystical spots, but we enjoyed even the stops to say hello to the donkey or to watch Howth wonderful seals. On the bus the atmosphere was cozy and relaxed, and we had just the time to be on our own for a bit without getting bored. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

our tour guide was terrific. We were very happy with every aspect of this tour. New Grange and Hill of Tara were fascinating places, we are so glad that we didn`t miss the opportunity to see these amazing places.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Harry was very knowledgeable and shared loads of interesting facts with us. Newgrange and Tara both very impressive. One remark: the photo accompanying this tour is misleading. It shows the high tower at Monasterboice and the tour does not stop there.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best tour of my entire trip!!! Enough time was given to walk around and explore, so we didn't have to run around to see everything. The sites were beautiful. I finally saw Tara. Thank you for this tour, and thanks to our tourguide Ross.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great historical tour! We were lucky to have a small punctual group of only 9 people. Everything nicely organized, very friendly, funny and informative guide/driver. Newgrange experience is amazing. Don't forget to bring something that you can tie to the Fairy tree at the Hil of Tara. And be sure to go inside the tourist office to register for the tour before boarding the bus.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was delightful. He provided an excellent account of the Hills and New Grange without being boring or pedantic. You could tell his love of his country and the pride he took in relating historical facts about the location. We went on tour with a different travel agency to other parts of the country, but our trip to New Grange and the Hills of Tara through Viator remains one of the best experiences we had.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved the trip. Bus guide very friendly and well informed. Trip to Newgrange and Hill of Tara was terrific. Highly recommend for a day in the Irish countryside.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour guide was knowledgeable and gave thoughtful presentations. The trip encompassed not only Newgrange and Tara Hill but also included a bit of a tour of Dublin and small coastal fishing villages. Learned quite a bit of Irish history.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I wanted to give this tour 10 stars! Michael was our Tour Guide/Bus Driver and he was amazing and knowledgeable.

I was actually looking forward to the Newgrange part of the tour most but, in fact, The Hills of Tara was the part of the tour that touched my soul the most. I was standing where the original Kings of Ireland were in the early 400's. the history of this beautiful island is what touches you the most.

Wonderful adventure all around.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great Trip, simply loved it. Our tourguide Trevor was brilliant, he presented us historical data in a very charming and funny way. There was enough time to enjoy all the places we visited, not only to see them, also to truly feel them. Newgrange, the Hill of Tara, historial castles, a fairy tree, an old cemetry and a lot of the amazing history of beautiful Ireland - breathtaking in landscape and beauty and, as I know know, also in history.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a great tour and I am glad that i did it at the last minute.Just loved it.The great celtic crosses were magnificent and the Boyne valley and the Hill of Tara where Irish Kings were crowned for a thousand years were all spellbinding.The ancient tombs from the Bronze age ( three thousand years plus old!) with the strange pyschadelic like encryptions were fascinating.It was really a great trip and well titled as Celtic Heritage Day.It made me feel proud and i am not entirely irish but my husband has some Irish heritage and it rubbed of on to me and I was so proud !

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was pleasantly susprised that the tour was with a mini bus and not herded like cattle like some tour companies. Dave's humor, patience and knowledge was a perfect combination. I would sign up with this tour company again. I think that we had seen a lot of key sites that will leave a lasting impression in me. The Hill of Tara was a very spiritual place and a very important religious site so make sure that you spend time here. Monasterboice was a treat and to see the fine examples of Celtic crosses was phenomenal. Take time to look at the the carvings. Trim Castle was a backdrop of an Oscar winning movie.Drogheda had a very unusual and religious stop that you just can't miss! Just sit back and relax and let the guide take care of the rest. Thanks Dave and kudos to your tour company. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice tour, Michael was very friendly and knowledgeable, there was a problem at the hill of Tara waiting for our guide so the group ended up doing it alone. Other than that nice tour and worth the money.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour!! Harry, our guide, was very knowledgeable. He did talk quite a bit though...it got to be a bit much when he was talking out his inner thoughts. That wasn't necessary. Some quiet time to enjoy the scenery on the bus would have been appreciated.
We learned a lot and really enjoyed the cafe at the Hill of Tara.
Newgrange is impressive and outstanding! A must-do.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour of Newgrange of Hill of Tara was a great tour if you want to view sites that take back thousands of years. The Hill of Tara was okay not too much to see but Newgrange was really good. Harry our tour guide was awesome - hilarious, extremely knowledgable, and very personable so you could ask him anything.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Elizabeth S
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a neat tour, especially if your into history like me. The land around the Hill of Tara is interesting and I loved visiting Newgrange. It is quite an amazing site.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the day to Newgrange and Hill of Tara. Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and fun. The bus ride was great, and the sights amazing.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Shaun (sp?), was very knowledgeable and seemed genuinely interested in Irish history. We really liked his low-key, laid-back style.

The highlight of this tour was Hill of Tara. We walked up to the top of the hill, from which we had a very nice view of the city.
We would get off the bus to see something quite often, so we were never bored of sitting on a bus for a long stretch of time.

Every stop was interesting and enjoyable, except for maybe the last stop, Drogheda. The historical spots that Shaun took us to were interesting, but the town itself was just OK, compared to other places we'd visited. It would've been nice if we'd been dropped off in a nice area/town where we could walk/shop around for an hour or so instead.

But that's a minor negative point and overall we enjoyed both our guide and itinerary very much.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

They were a little late picking us up, but not too long. Our driver was very informative and fun! The Hill of Tara and Newgrange were awesome! our driver even took us to a couple of extra stops. had a great time!

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a great time seeing the historic places around Dublin. Our tour guide Jamie was down to earth and fun to listen to. The stone on the Hill of Tara had just been vandalized overnight so that kind of killed the experience there a bit. All in all had a good time for the low price!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message