• USD ($)
  • English
Supremely located in the heart of Dublin, Trinity College stands as the gem of Ireland. Ranked as the number one university in the nation and in the top forty globally, Trinity College has a stellar academic reputation in addition to being one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I was very disappointed in this walking tour. The tour of Trinity College did not include the Book of Kells. The tour guide did not keep the group together, we were caught waiting for lights at intersections while he raced ahead more than once. Several of the locations where he stopped to talk were dirty and smelled bad. I did not enjoy this tour, and would not recommend it.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was excellent. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and approachable. The first day we arrived we did a tour of Kilmainham Gaol, the Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College tied together so much of what we learned at the Gaol to the city as we walked around. So glad we did the tours in this sequence.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Highly recommended for anyone interested in detailed history of inner Dublin, i.e. Trinity College, Old Parliament, Townhouse, etc. Unfortunately Ireland is president of the EU this year which leads to a closed Dublin Castle - so no Chance to get inside that area. Our guide (who was very good!) had to fill this gap with some extra Details at the other spots....which made the hole story quite long. However, we booked this tour to take part the day we arrived in Dublin and with this you get a good first overview of the city centre and where to go during your stay.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

If I could rate this less than '1' I would. This was the worst guided tour I've ever taken!! I'm sure with a good guide it would have been wonderful but our guide, John, was a total idiot!! We met outside the entrance to Trinity College - probably the most well known site in Dublin. Would you believe that we didn't even walk around/through the campus?? We literally just wandered down the street where he took us aside at a plaza that had an interesting sculpture. There he spent 20 minutes talking about Ireland's housing bubble and bank bailout (similar to what happened in the US) while the eyes of everyone in the group glazed over. When he paused I asked about the significance of the sculpture. His response - "just somebody's idea of sidewalk art". I asked what his point was of stopping in this plaza. His response - "None". John has a very deep loud baritone voice and I think all he really wanted to do was listen to himself talk (perhaps pontificate is more appropriate). Wjen he got going on a topic, his voice would get louder and soon everyone within half a block was turning to see what was going on! It was a tortuous 2 hours! I left group near the end to explore on my own. Thankfully I taken the Hop On Hop Off bus tour earlier that morning where the guides outstanding!!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The weather was not cooperating at all, it was raining all the time, but we managed to visit all the places - Trinity College, Old Irish Parliament, Dublin Castle, City Hall and Temple Bar area. Our guide - Peter was very knowledgeable, he tried to make Irish history more comprehensive for us.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was a very good historical walking tour. Our guide was passionate and knowledgeable. One thing was not clear and that was that the Trinity College tour did not include the Book of Kell and Long room tour, so we went back to do that on our own.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Excellent narration by a recent Trinity College Ph.D. graduate. Only thing we didn't appreciate was being left 2 blocks from where we began. We didn't know the area well enough to find our way back easily.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

BARRY A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A must for anyone visiting Dublin with an interest of the cities social and political history . Our guide Gavin met us at Trinity College and took us on a tour spanning from the viking era through to the modern day giving a lot of interesting knowledge of the cities most famous sites. Well worth it !

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

This tour started well, and the guide was very knowledgeable (a postgraduate of Trinity College, in history and gaelic). However, the tour was too long, and the steady rain that developed over the afternoon (and the guide's unwillingness to seek shelter), resulted in boredom and discomfort.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The tour was not as expected as the Queen was visiting the next day and both Trinity College and Dublin Castle were closed for security reasons. Our tour guide more than made up for these problems by amending the tour contents and provided a very entertaining and informative tour which was enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I guess it was bad timing but some highlights were closed, like Trinity College, because of the "Queen's" visit. The tour was fine, but the tour guide spent a lot of time talking about Irish politics and not so much about the features we were visiting.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Wonderful orientation of this fascinating city with all its history knowledgeable guide from Trinity College. Do this as soon as you get to Dublin adds great value to your visit.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Maybe it was because of the temperature, but it was not what I expected. Thought we would actually tour Trinity College and that did not happen.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

We met our tour guide outside the door at Trinity College, and had a fun paced walking tour with a good bit of Irish history from a lovely informed young lady . She had been a student for years at Trinity and was very knowlegable and well spoken for all to hear. We got good insight into the forming and history of Dublin and Ireland. We were glad that we did it on our first full day . Midway through the tour, we stopped for bathroom breaks and to settle the tour bill. The Viator printed voucher made this quick and easy. We're so glad that the four of us took this tour!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

This tour was great, although it would have been even better had we been able to enter some of the buildings we stopped at, like Dublin Castle, Christchurch Cathedral, or Trinity College. Instead, we stood outside while the guide spoke. Also, when we first arrived along with another couple, the woman running the tour that day did not accept the Viator voucher and did not know of any affiliation. Later on she did receive confirmation that the vouchers were valid.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message