Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cnoonan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gorgeous! The castle in Kilkenny was breathe taking. The grounds of the castle was beautiful. It really gave you a taste of what a castle should be. Fully decorated, it was like going back in time. Wicklow was so surreal. The walk to the lake, awesome. The scenery looked like a post card. The monastery was very interesting. Our guide, Siofra, was great. Wish we had more time in Kilkenny.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Francis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip to the Wicklow Mountains was outstanding. The sites of Lough Tay and Glendalough were awesome. Luckily, we had a sunny day.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Edward F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first visit to Ireland. Friends recommended a visit to Glendalough, so I went looking for a tour. This trip on Viator, actually operated by Wild Rover Day Tours, had great reviews, so I booked it. I was NOT disappointed. Glendalough is spectacularly beautiful, rich in beauty and history. Kilkenny has a beautiful castle and some nice medieval buildings. Unfortunately, it wasn't clear when we arrived at the Wicklow Gap, but two out of three isn't bad! Grainne is a wonderful guide. Her knowledge of history and culture is quite extensive. I particularly appreciated her skill at storytelling. She helped make both Glendalough and Kilkenny come alive for me. It helped that we didn't have any rain during the walking tours! Hats off to John for professionally negotiating those amazingly narrow streets and lanes!

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Maria-Trinidad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fantastic day!! Our tour guide, John, was knowledgeable, funny and charming. He made sure everyone got included in photos. The Wicklow mountains are breathtaking and the final stop Glendalough gave us the opportunity for a lovely long walk in beautiful surroundings. When I visit Dublin again I will definitely book this tour.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

hollylynettesmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was my second time to do this tour, and it didn't disappoint.

The weather was beautiful and our guide, Yoan, decided that since the weather was so wonderful and frankly, since Ireland's weather changes quite frequently we should go to Glendalough first. I cannot emphasize enough what a great choice that was! We had one of the best walks around the lake with the most picturesque weather!!

We made our way to Kilkenny and were allowed a few hours there. The weather changed a little, so we were super thankful we went to Glendalough first. Kilkenny is a great city that is easy to maneuver, so we were able to see a lot in a little amount of time.

Yoan was incredibly knowledgeable and his passion for Irish history is evident. Bravo to him and the busdriver his name escapes me, but he's from Wicklow for creating such a wonderful day for my mother and me!

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Daniela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing but the best part for me and my boyfriend was the view to the guinness lake in the Wicklow Mountains. The guide Trevor was really nice and funny. We loved Ireland and we hope to go back one day to visit more and more.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

H.W. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great tour! Our tour guide Richie knew a lot about the places we went and added a good amount of humor. It was snowing very hard in the Wicklow Mountains, so we didn't saw a lot of the Guinness Lake. However, we went to the Powerscourt, a fantastic alternative.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Patricia G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

amazing and various tour : from the sea side to wicklow mountains. Very friendly bus driver who gave interesting informations for discovering the area. Our english was not good enough to understand everything but it was our choice to have the comments in english. This tour gave us the wish to discover more of this nice country.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

pdauns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

John was fantastic! He is so upbeat - even though is poured rain and was extremely windy, he got off the bus at each stop and braved the wind and rain to carry on with his tour. All of the stops were great and the bus was clean and comfortable, I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants the wild part of the Wicklow Way without sacrificing comfort and fun!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was great. A very funny little Irish man, that knows the history and politics of Ireland very well. The Wild Wicklow was absolutely stunning, reminded me of Scotland. The scenery and the history provided to us at Glendalough from our tour guide was second to none. We had plenty of stops on the tour and got the opportunity to walk in the countryside at Glendalough between the two lakes, which was great and you never felt rushed. It was just a great tour!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Barbara W. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved the tour guide most of all, as he drove us through Dublin 4 and other parts of the city to pick up other passengers, all the while giving us history lessons and anecdotes. The stops at Avoca and lunch pub were pleasant and well-timed. The driver dropped a group of us right across from our hotel on the way back, which we appreciated. Vistas were amazing in the Wicklow Mountains!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the tour I liked the most. Kilkenny castle is one of the best preserved and beautiful I've ever seen. Kilkenny city .... I think is the most beautiful city in Ireland - very very colorful. Wicklow and Gledalough ........ I just can't put this beauty in words.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Funny and entertaining tour guide , John, made this trip fly by. We had a sunny and warm day and clear views of the Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough. Truly stunning scenery and we will not soon forget the food, the people and the Irish Whiskey shot on the way home! Thanks

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

ROLAND H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a very good moment with David who was very helpful and explained to us everything about Wicklow and showed us what was wise to see in this region. We highly recommend this tour and David !

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Ontherun44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

John our tour guide made this trip so enjoyable. He is knowledgeable, very enthusiastic and his singing is OK. We enjoyed CDS of Irish folk songs played while our bus travelled through our tour.
Driving through the country and up through the Wicklow mountains with all its beautiful and exhilarating scenery was enhanced by John's narrative. We were fortunate that the weather was dry, not too windy, juts cool as we walked through Glendalough. It is an 8 hour day but we never felt rushed.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Tracey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful day on the Wild Wicklow Tour - the weather couldn't have been better and the views were breathtaking! John was a wonderful tour guide - we totally enjoyed his enthusiasm and energy. It is a tour I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Dublin area!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Bridotaku E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Despite the weather, which was aweful, but that's Ireland the trip was awesome as well as the guide who works for Wild Wicklow Tours. I think his name was Nylan. I apologize if I got it wrong. Most wise man I've ever met! He told us tons of interesting things about the whereabouts and Irish history. We had a delicious Irish stew. It was great and most probably we'll do it again if the weather is gentlier with us. Great tour, great guide.Thanks

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Annette V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide Yoan was fantastic. He had a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable. Our bus driver John was also great. We were picked up on time and the bus was very comfortable. Kilkenny is a lovely village and is very easy to walk around. The weather was beautiful which made our visit to Glendalough so enjoyable. Yoan was with us every step of the way explaining all the highlights.. What a wealth of information. The bus ride through the wicklow mountains was fantastic and we were able to stop and take some pictures. A tour that stays overnight at Glendalough would be ideal but the one day trip was great.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Ka W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Love this driving tour! The scenary is absolutely beautiful. It is relaxing. We got a chance to have a nice coffee and yummy pastry at a beautiful garden/tea house. Then, we started to visit Wicklow Mountain. The tour guide/bus driver is hilarious! He is very knowledgeable, teaches us simple Gaelic, sing us songs about Ireland and invited passengers from each Country/State to sing songs towards the end of the trip. We had plenty of time to walk around at Glendalough. We did not feel rush. We had a great laugh and met some amazing people on the bus! We had a blast!!!!!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Varvara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, much better than we expected. Stunning scenery, very interesting historical facts and stories from our tour guide. He was also very helpful, trying to accommodate everyone's needs and desires. Plus one for the Irish whiskey, we are big fans now! :- Highly recommended, best way to see Wicklow!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

STUNNING VIEWS of the Wicklow Mountains! A must do! Even on a rainy day we had an amazing time! The stop for coffee is at the cutest local shop! I wanted to stay there all day! We also stopped at the bridge from P.S. I Love You which really excited me! We went to Glendalough and experienced the beauty and history! The tour was well planned and perfectly timed!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

prachi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour to everyone out there wanting to see breath taking scenery. Wild Wicklow nation forest just blew our minds with its beautiful landscape. Our driver-guide John kept us entertained throughout the journey.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

John P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful tour. Our guide was non-stop telling us stories of history and information on the area. We did get plenty of opportunities to get off the bus and walk around Wicklow and Glendalough. Our lunch stop was late in the day, so I wish I had brought a snack to help keep me going.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Carrie W United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The area is amazing and well worth seeing, but the tour was a little disappointing. The stop at the handweavers is a joke - essentially a comfort stop at a giant food hall when you've only been on the road 20 minutes, a waste of an hour that could have been spent in the mountains. There weren't many opportunities to stop for photos in the Wicklow Mountains, but lots of time out of the coach in Glendalough, where our guide Niall really redeemed himself with a great guided tour. Recommendations for many other free things to do in and around Dublin during the drive back kind of saved the day for this tour.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Tonya r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I would not want to drive the Wicklow Mountains myself. Our tour guide was a safe driver, very informative and very hospitable.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message