Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I would not want to drive the Wicklow Mountains myself. Our tour guide was a safe driver, very informative and very hospitable.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day out, thanks to our guide Andrew just a note to anyone booking this trip that they also go to Wicklow mountains take note of this in order to avoid booking a separate tour to WICKLOW .

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I originally booked this tour specifically to go to Avoca as I had booked to go to Wicklow mountains on a different day , however I was advised of the change and these things unfortunately happen, having said that , the tour was fantastic the guide was friendly and brilliant I really advise anyone to take the tour.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking views and excellent Tour Guide! I don't remember our tour guides name but I do remember we all called him Fitz he is a retired firefighter ! He was incredible ! He knew so much about the history of Ireland and even indulged me by stopping at the P.s. I love you Bridge. Fitz was so kind and you can tell he loves his job. This tour stops at a place called The weaving basket on our way to Wicklow and it has the most amazing food and desserts. My friends and I cannot wait to return to Ireland and see Fitz!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow! This was one of the best days we had in Ireland. Our tour guide and driver, John, was such a funny character. He had stories and lots of historical information that made the trip interesting and fun. The countryside was amazing, the Wicklow mountains, all the little towns we went through, Glendalough ruins and lake...all were truly memorable. Everyone took the hike maybe a mile down to the lake and it was really worth it. You walk through forest and field, easy to believe that fairies live there!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a good tour. I would recommend going up the Saint Canice's round tower in Kilkenny, not for the view but for the experience. I didn't go into the Kilkenny Castle, but wish I'd paid the extra to go in. I was disappointed that we had to make a choice between going to the caves and Kilkenny City. I was hoping to do both. The Wicklow Gap was beautiful. In Glendalough it was great to have a tour with the guide to give a brief background of St Kevin but it was a bit rushed to get down to the lake and back.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good tour but I preferred taking the Wild Wicklow tour that i did the day after that includes Glendalough. Kilkenny plus Glendalough made Glendalough rushed and I really wish I would have had more time there vs Kilkenny.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend this tour if you're in Dublin for a few days! It's a day trip, so it's pretty long but well worth it! You get to see some fantastic sights in Wicklow and Glendalough. There are plenty of stops to take pictures and get out to stretch the legs.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From Istanbul to Cornwall, and Alaska to Quebec, over the years we have avoided group bus tours: they feel like traps, and are often a waste of time with little to teach, and too much fluff. So we signed on to the Wild Wicklow Bus Tour in Dublin with low expectations, figuring the reasonable price was worth the risk. And at first, we thought we'd jump the bus, for the start was slow, with pick-ups at hotels. BUT WERE WE GLAD WE STAYED! It was the tour of a lifetime.
We did not know our driver/guide, Niall, is a STAR in his field, but soon enough realized he was special. Niall welcomed us aboard with a genuine friendliness that I was too skeptical to appreciate at first. But as the morning wore on, and he continued to be good natured, funny and informative, we began to be amazed at our good luck.
Niall was respectful: he honored the small Muslim family aboard by allowing them to leave while he gave his whiskey speech along with tiny samples he played with the one child on board, teasing and including her allowed for older slower folks to go at their own pace and in general made the mixed nationalities on board feel welcome.
And Nial knows his stuff: after awhile, I suspected he was well-educated and, and sure enough, he is a retired history and English teacher/professor. How did we know? He delved into the history of the Vikings in the most entertaining way explained the evolution of Irish and Scottish gaelic in story form, led us through ruins in Glendalough and lit a fire in us to learn more. He has the gift of making history alive and fascinating.
And he could do impersonations: Bill Clinton, Queen Elizabeth, Jimmy Stewart and more.
And he gave us all this, often while negotiating difficult turns and traffic situation. I am often a bit nervous with someone else at the wheel, especially in mountains, but Niall negotiated the roads with ease. What a gift this man has.
I have run out of room here - have more to say but find out for yourself - you won't regret it

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Guide, Andrew and our driver, Bill provided us with a wonderful Irish Experience, from the Castle in Kilkenny to the Monastery in the Wicklow Mountains, and the Beautiful waterfall and Lakes in Glendalough. Marvelous tour filled with information, history and culture. You will love this tour. A real value for the cost.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Joe was a great tour guide - loved our trip to Wicklow! Few stops, but if you're the type who enjoys viewing the landscape from a window, it's a beautiful, scenic trip.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were a bit upset that the tour was changed to exclude a stop in Avoca, it was the main reason for booking this tour, since we had already taken the Wicklow tour 3 years ago. This tour was OK, the tour guide was great. I think we could have been sent an email, so as to pock a other tour.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The driver was very pleasant and entertaining. He picked us up at our hotel. I enjoyed the walk around the lake in Glendalough. I wish we would have had more photo op stops when we drove through the Wicklow Mountains as there was too much glare on windows of the bus to take snapshots

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour but a big thank you to our driver John. He is the best !! Gave us all the info we needed for our trip to the wicklow mountain

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Good stops for coffee and lunch and plenty of photo opportunities in the beautiful mountains of Wicklow.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Due to a date mix up, the manager, John contacted me via email and text several many times in order to sort out the issue. He worked with Guinness Storehouse staff to help me switch days of the Wild Wicklow tour and my Guinness tour. He made it very easy for me and I really appreciate it!!!!
The tour to Wicklow including Glenalough was great! Our bus driver/tour guide, John another one was fabulous!!! He was very entertaining and very knowledgeable. He was always pointing out places to see and telling us the facts about what we were seeing. He was also very good at assisting us in taking pictures which was very nice. Plus, he was a very safe driver!!! I would take this tour again or tours by this company. Barbara F

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though the hills of Wicklow were not in springtime heather, the tour conveyed the wild beauty of the Wicklow Mts. We made a number of stops so we could get off the very comfortable bus and view the scenery directly. It was a lovely day trip.

NOTE: If you are going to drive into City Centre and leave your car, be very careful--it cost me 25 euros on a Sunday!! Yikes.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Although there was some confusion with my online booking tru Viator ov The Wild Wicklow Tour... tbey sorted it out very quickly with help of a helpful bus driver... I would recommend this trip to all my ftiends .... mesmirizing.... very well organised.. though it can be longer to see more awesome moubtains n kakes n shopping... I must recognisec our Bus Driver cum Tour Guide for his multi talent driving, guiding, singing...n sharing informative history n not to forget his Irish jokes!! Awesome!!... tx

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Wild Wicklow Tour was great, taking us south of Dublin through the mountains, stopping at various points, most notably Glendalough and St. Kevin's monastery. John was a great and funny tour guide. If I could change one thing, I would stop somewhere else for lunch, not stop at Avoca, and give us more time at Glendalough. All around a great trip especially for those looking for something that gets you back to Dublin in time for dinner.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was our first tour in Dublin and Viator made it wonderful.The Wild Wicklow Tours should be the best option for anyone who wants to take a nice breath at Wicklow mountains.The Guide John was so amazing and made the trip lively.I strongly recommend this.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Niall our driver/guide was a delight; he was courteous and funny, and had a real depth of knowledge of the history and geography of the area. On the day of the tour there had been snow and ice overnight, so it wasn't possible to go high into the Wicklow Mountains, but Niall took us to other places (safer!) and we didn't feel that we "missed out" on the places that we didn't get to see. I would strongly recommend this tour if you have time to put a day aside when staying in Dublin.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First, I must say that our tour was made amazing because of our tour guide, John. He was an absolute delight and we are still talking about him almost 2 weeks later! We almost missed our bus because we were told to wait for the bus on the wrong side of the street, so when we saw the tour bus coming from the other side of the street, we had to dart through traffic flailing our arms at the driver John. John flailed his arms back at us, acknowledging that he saw us. I am so happy we did not miss this tour! While it was quite a rainy day, it was still one of my favourite and most memorable days. John was super accommodating and changed the tour around to suit the weather better. John was also the most interactive tour guide I have ever met. He not only was very knowledgable, but he was also very interested in getting to know the people on his tour. We had a lovely photo session with him at the end! While the Wicklow Mountains are beautiful and a must-see while in Ireland, John was certainly the star of the show! Give this guy a raise! John is clearly passionate about the Wicklow Mountains and is most definitely a people-person. This tour will be talked about for years, John being the main attraction!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We're just back to Malta from Dublin and we are already missing it - especially the Wild Wicklow tour which was complemented by our excellent driver/tour leader John! He knows the ins and outs of Wicklow and also took us to a great restaurant and shopping centre. We would definitely recommend this tour .. but make sure to ask for John as your tour leader!!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Tour guide was by far the best I've ever had. Very personable, very interactive with everyone. John was amazing. He took pictures for everyone kept us all entertained. You could tell he loved what he does.County wicklow amazing despite the Colder weather. My wife and I had a blast and it was an awesome way to end our trip to Ireland.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We were excited to go to the caves outside of Kilkenny and the trip through the
Wicklow Gap, Glendalough was lovely as well, got time to take a little walk up to the furthest lough. Kilkenny city is beautiful, would have liked to have been able to spend more time there. You get to choose if you want to spend more time in the city (by not visiting the caves) but I would have liked to have had both :-) This trip is worth taking.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message