• USD ($)
  • English

Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a first-rate tour and we thoroughly appreciated it. Even a little rain couldn't dampen our enthusiasm. Glendalough was the highlight, but the Wicklow mountains were a close second. Our guide/ driver, Joe, was informative, friendly, engaging, had good humor, and can sing Irish tunes (as well as many other songs). If you get Joe, you got a grand slam.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My friend and I had two days in Ireland and decided to maximize our Irish experience by taking this tour. We were not disappointed. Our bus driver/guide was humorous, knowledgeable, and skilled at driving. He seemed to be a kind of guy you would want to hang out with for a beer.
The tour took us through portions of Dublin, including a stop at the James Joyce lighthouse. After Dublin, we traveled about 30-45 minutes into the Wicklow region. We made frequent stops for pictures, toilets, and refreshments, which made the tour feel just right. We eventually made our way into the heart of the Wicklow area. While it was extremely foggy on the day we went, we were not displeased. My friend and i have several great photos of the areas we saw along the way.
I would definitely recommend taking this tour if you have a day free and want to see some of Ireland.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time in our tour to Wicklow, the guide / driver was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had the best time in Ireland! It was a trip I waited 30 years to take and thanks to the amazing tours we took, we got to see all of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. George was our tour guide for the Wild Wicklow tour, he was great, showed us all the best parts of the park including Sally's Gap, the PS I love you bridge and St. Kevin's Monastery. It was such a scenic and peaceful tour, driving through the mountains, with the freshest air, and the greenest grass you have ever seen, even in the middle of January!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Bus tours and me never go together in the same thought. And, when my daughter woke up sick, I thought I had the perfect out to stay behind with her. I didn't and this was a great day. The countryside was amazing and George our guide was fabulous. I highly recommend spending a day with the folks from Wild Wicklow.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was amazing!! A beautiful journey through Wicklow, with frequent stops at various breathtaking sights. Our tour guide was great as well - he gave us as much time as we wanted to roam around at each stop, and was super friendly and knowledgeable. If you get a spare day, I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were with a small group of eleven people.The bus we took was also small so when we went you felt more intimate with the driver and your fellow passengers.We stopped in the city of Bray along the coast for a quick breakfast.Beautiful little place with a lot of history.The ride to Wicklow from here presents some beautiful scenery.Our guide was wonderful and cheerful even though the weather wasn't the best.Wicklow is an extremely important site to see as it relates to religion and history in Ireland.Everything we t sell on our trip.Do remember to dress for changing weather.Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Wicklow Half-Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a rainy Wicklow tour. We also got stuck on a bus with 20 students from Germany. Some of which were sick. They were loud and seemed uninterested. Tour guide was good and had us move to front of bus prior to the kids so we could hear. 2 extra hotel stops, one at the Ritz both ways took extra time. We did not get back to city till 7pm, even though it says late afternoon. No arranged lunch so you are on your own. Choices in the town where we stopped were not that great. Good coffee and snacks at the morning stop. Most people did not get out of bus during scenic photo stops because of the heavy rain. Overall a worthwhile day trip. Just hope for sun.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Had a wonderful tour, great weather. Lots of stops to stretch, take pics, use restrooms. Really enjoyed our guide, Seamus (christened "John", fun story). Had a bit of a late start due to some Dublin traffic issues (got picked up 1/2 hr late), but managed to hit all the sights. Note: I recommend giving Viator your cell # when booking, I hadn't, so they couldn't let me know the bus was running late. When I called them, they had been trying but unable to reach me. "Shay" shared a lot of info as we drove along and at each stop and was willing to take photos. It has to be very difficult to corral that many people, so the fact that we were running very late for lunch and had less time to eat posed a bit of a challenge, but the restaurant and local cafe' did a good job on a limited time allotment. Glendalough, gorgeous; St. Kevin's ruins interesting; Wicklow Mountains National Park, beautiful; and the shot of Jameson whiskey to end the tour was fun. My only suggestion would be that our guide be a bit more forceful in keeping on schedule. I would certainly recommend this trip and your company for a tour in the future. Keep up the good work!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Wonderful way to spend a day in Ireland. A very clean, comfortable, and elegant bus picked us up at our Hotel. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly, very pleasant to be around. The first part of the tour took us through different areas of Dublin and around Dublin Bay. This is the part where you are shown a few celebrity neighborhoods, period architecture, etc, with a very nice stop at the bay for a walk by the water. Next we stopped at a village for coffee and snacks at a very nice place that allowed for retail shopping as well. (The breaks were very well spaced for bathrooms and snacks.) Then we stopped farther up into the country for lunch at a pub that served VERY good food. All along the way up into the Wicklow countryside, we stopped at beautiful scenic locations. The driver gave us plenty of time for walks and photos and to really enjoy each location. We had a blast, frankly! Our last stop was the monastery and a 45 minute walk through some of the most beautiful trails and forest I've seen. I really cannot cover in the short amount of time that I have here all that can be gleaned from the tour. There really is something for everyone and no one will be bored. Area history, architecture, scenery, shopping, great food - what ever your pleasure, it will be addressed.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The ruined monastery and exhibition at Glendalough were worth seeing, though it poured with rain. Powerscourt was a waste of time--nothing to see inside except shops. No room in café and overpriced food. Gardens okay but we spent far too long there, getting bored. Guide wittered on, unsure of facts, treated us like primary school children. Wicklow mountains were more like hills, very unexciting.

Doing what: Wicklow Half-Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was one of the most pleasant days one could have as an introduction to Ireland and especially the Dublin/Wicklow area. A beautifully sunny day was enhanced by the splendid tour guide and commentary and the areas covered by the trip were spectacular. I enjoyed every minute of this trip and would recommend it to anyone looking for a 'trip to Ireland in a nutshell'. A one-hour walk in pleasant sunshine to see beautiful lakes when the gorse was in bloom was a highlight - also good food (my first Irish Guiness stew and a small Guiness) plus other opportunities for souvenir hunting etc completed a full wonderful day. Thank you Wild Wicklow Tours.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was probably my favorite tour in Ireland. It was as advertised and the guide was terrific. I would suggest you mention the lovely gardens at Avoca as they are outstanding. Truly the Wicklows are the garden of Ireland. Everything was perfect, even the weather.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This was the second trip to Wicklow via Viator in two years and although the driver was very knowledgeable, he did not have that "gift of gab" that the Irish are so well known for and which makes a trip so much fun. I brought my third daughter hoping for the stories and tales that only an Irishman can tell. I was so disappointed, I'm sorry to say! The trip itself is beautiful as always.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Syerra M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The drive through the Wicklow mountains is beautiful! We had a great tour guide who let us off to take lots of picture of the mountain. It was just a beautiful drive and tour!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message