Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was great. A very funny little Irish man, that knows the history and politics of Ireland very well. The Wild Wicklow was absolutely stunning, reminded me of Scotland. The scenery and the history provided to us at Glendalough from our tour guide was second to none. We had plenty of stops on the tour and got the opportunity to walk in the countryside at Glendalough between the two lakes, which was great and you never felt rushed. It was just a great tour!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Barbara W. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved the tour guide most of all, as he drove us through Dublin 4 and other parts of the city to pick up other passengers, all the while giving us history lessons and anecdotes. The stops at Avoca and lunch pub were pleasant and well-timed. The driver dropped a group of us right across from our hotel on the way back, which we appreciated. Vistas were amazing in the Wicklow Mountains!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the tour I liked the most. Kilkenny castle is one of the best preserved and beautiful I've ever seen. Kilkenny city .... I think is the most beautiful city in Ireland - very very colorful. Wicklow and Gledalough ........ I just can't put this beauty in words.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Funny and entertaining tour guide , John, made this trip fly by. We had a sunny and warm day and clear views of the Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough. Truly stunning scenery and we will not soon forget the food, the people and the Irish Whiskey shot on the way home! Thanks

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

ROLAND H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a very good moment with David who was very helpful and explained to us everything about Wicklow and showed us what was wise to see in this region. We highly recommend this tour and David !

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Ontherun44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

John our tour guide made this trip so enjoyable. He is knowledgeable, very enthusiastic and his singing is OK. We enjoyed CDS of Irish folk songs played while our bus travelled through our tour.
Driving through the country and up through the Wicklow mountains with all its beautiful and exhilarating scenery was enhanced by John's narrative. We were fortunate that the weather was dry, not too windy, juts cool as we walked through Glendalough. It is an 8 hour day but we never felt rushed.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Tracey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful day on the Wild Wicklow Tour - the weather couldn't have been better and the views were breathtaking! John was a wonderful tour guide - we totally enjoyed his enthusiasm and energy. It is a tour I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Dublin area!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Bridotaku E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Despite the weather, which was aweful, but that's Ireland the trip was awesome as well as the guide who works for Wild Wicklow Tours. I think his name was Nylan. I apologize if I got it wrong. Most wise man I've ever met! He told us tons of interesting things about the whereabouts and Irish history. We had a delicious Irish stew. It was great and most probably we'll do it again if the weather is gentlier with us. Great tour, great guide.Thanks

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Annette V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide Yoan was fantastic. He had a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable. Our bus driver John was also great. We were picked up on time and the bus was very comfortable. Kilkenny is a lovely village and is very easy to walk around. The weather was beautiful which made our visit to Glendalough so enjoyable. Yoan was with us every step of the way explaining all the highlights.. What a wealth of information. The bus ride through the wicklow mountains was fantastic and we were able to stop and take some pictures. A tour that stays overnight at Glendalough would be ideal but the one day trip was great.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Ka W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Love this driving tour! The scenary is absolutely beautiful. It is relaxing. We got a chance to have a nice coffee and yummy pastry at a beautiful garden/tea house. Then, we started to visit Wicklow Mountain. The tour guide/bus driver is hilarious! He is very knowledgeable, teaches us simple Gaelic, sing us songs about Ireland and invited passengers from each Country/State to sing songs towards the end of the trip. We had plenty of time to walk around at Glendalough. We did not feel rush. We had a great laugh and met some amazing people on the bus! We had a blast!!!!!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Varvara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, much better than we expected. Stunning scenery, very interesting historical facts and stories from our tour guide. He was also very helpful, trying to accommodate everyone's needs and desires. Plus one for the Irish whiskey, we are big fans now! :- Highly recommended, best way to see Wicklow!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

STUNNING VIEWS of the Wicklow Mountains! A must do! Even on a rainy day we had an amazing time! The stop for coffee is at the cutest local shop! I wanted to stay there all day! We also stopped at the bridge from P.S. I Love You which really excited me! We went to Glendalough and experienced the beauty and history! The tour was well planned and perfectly timed!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

prachi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour to everyone out there wanting to see breath taking scenery. Wild Wicklow nation forest just blew our minds with its beautiful landscape. Our driver-guide John kept us entertained throughout the journey.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

John P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful tour. Our guide was non-stop telling us stories of history and information on the area. We did get plenty of opportunities to get off the bus and walk around Wicklow and Glendalough. Our lunch stop was late in the day, so I wish I had brought a snack to help keep me going.

Doing what: Best Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Carrie W United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The area is amazing and well worth seeing, but the tour was a little disappointing. The stop at the handweavers is a joke - essentially a comfort stop at a giant food hall when you've only been on the road 20 minutes, a waste of an hour that could have been spent in the mountains. There weren't many opportunities to stop for photos in the Wicklow Mountains, but lots of time out of the coach in Glendalough, where our guide Niall really redeemed himself with a great guided tour. Recommendations for many other free things to do in and around Dublin during the drive back kind of saved the day for this tour.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Tonya r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I would not want to drive the Wicklow Mountains myself. Our tour guide was a safe driver, very informative and very hospitable.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Giselle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day out, thanks to our guide Andrew just a note to anyone booking this trip that they also go to Wicklow mountains take note of this in order to avoid booking a separate tour to WICKLOW .

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Giselle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I originally booked this tour specifically to go to Avoca as I had booked to go to Wicklow mountains on a different day , however I was advised of the change and these things unfortunately happen, having said that , the tour was fantastic the guide was friendly and brilliant I really advise anyone to take the tour.

Doing what: Best Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Johanna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking views and excellent Tour Guide! I don't remember our tour guides name but I do remember we all called him Fitz he is a retired firefighter ! He was incredible ! He knew so much about the history of Ireland and even indulged me by stopping at the P.s. I love you Bridge. Fitz was so kind and you can tell he loves his job. This tour stops at a place called The weaving basket on our way to Wicklow and it has the most amazing food and desserts. My friends and I cannot wait to return to Ireland and see Fitz!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

G. Bowman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow! This was one of the best days we had in Ireland. Our tour guide and driver, John, was such a funny character. He had stories and lots of historical information that made the trip interesting and fun. The countryside was amazing, the Wicklow mountains, all the little towns we went through, Glendalough ruins and lake...all were truly memorable. Everyone took the hike maybe a mile down to the lake and it was really worth it. You walk through forest and field, easy to believe that fairies live there!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Debra L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a good tour. I would recommend going up the Saint Canice's round tower in Kilkenny, not for the view but for the experience. I didn't go into the Kilkenny Castle, but wish I'd paid the extra to go in. I was disappointed that we had to make a choice between going to the caves and Kilkenny City. I was hoping to do both. The Wicklow Gap was beautiful. In Glendalough it was great to have a tour with the guide to give a brief background of St Kevin but it was a bit rushed to get down to the lake and back.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

jessica w

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good tour but I preferred taking the Wild Wicklow tour that i did the day after that includes Glendalough. Kilkenny plus Glendalough made Glendalough rushed and I really wish I would have had more time there vs Kilkenny.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend this tour if you're in Dublin for a few days! It's a day trip, so it's pretty long but well worth it! You get to see some fantastic sights in Wicklow and Glendalough. There are plenty of stops to take pictures and get out to stretch the legs.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Harriett J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From Istanbul to Cornwall, and Alaska to Quebec, over the years we have avoided group bus tours: they feel like traps, and are often a waste of time with little to teach, and too much fluff. So we signed on to the Wild Wicklow Bus Tour in Dublin with low expectations, figuring the reasonable price was worth the risk. And at first, we thought we'd jump the bus, for the start was slow, with pick-ups at hotels. BUT WERE WE GLAD WE STAYED! It was the tour of a lifetime.
We did not know our driver/guide, Niall, is a STAR in his field, but soon enough realized he was special. Niall welcomed us aboard with a genuine friendliness that I was too skeptical to appreciate at first. But as the morning wore on, and he continued to be good natured, funny and informative, we began to be amazed at our good luck.
Niall was respectful: he honored the small Muslim family aboard by allowing them to leave while he gave his whiskey speech along with tiny samples he played with the one child on board, teasing and including her allowed for older slower folks to go at their own pace and in general made the mixed nationalities on board feel welcome.
And Nial knows his stuff: after awhile, I suspected he was well-educated and, and sure enough, he is a retired history and English teacher/professor. How did we know? He delved into the history of the Vikings in the most entertaining way explained the evolution of Irish and Scottish gaelic in story form, led us through ruins in Glendalough and lit a fire in us to learn more. He has the gift of making history alive and fascinating.
And he could do impersonations: Bill Clinton, Queen Elizabeth, Jimmy Stewart and more.
And he gave us all this, often while negotiating difficult turns and traffic situation. I am often a bit nervous with someone else at the wheel, especially in mountains, but Niall negotiated the roads with ease. What a gift this man has.
I have run out of room here - have more to say but find out for yourself - you won't regret it

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Brenda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Guide, Andrew and our driver, Bill provided us with a wonderful Irish Experience, from the Castle in Kilkenny to the Monastery in the Wicklow Mountains, and the Beautiful waterfall and Lakes in Glendalough. Marvelous tour filled with information, history and culture. You will love this tour. A real value for the cost.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message