Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The best thing we did while in Dublin. Our driver, Niall, was also our tour guide and he was fantastic. Lot's of great sites and he was entertaining the whole time. Even better, they were able to pick us up because we were "those people" who arrived late and missed the bus. We were able to get picked up at a nearby stop, but word to the wise - get there early! The only downside (and it was hard to find one) was the lunch stop. It was purely the place we ate at and nothing to do with Wild Wicklow tours, but the food was pretty meager for the price (literally one slice of turkey on our sandwich.) Choose your food carefully or, if you can, bring your own. Otherwise, my wife and I agreed we would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really interesting stories from a cheery bus driver, all the way from the city centre to the beautiful Wicklows. Gorgeous, varied scenery with stops at good intervals. With regard to time, it was long enough to enjoy everything properly and yet not long enough to feel drawn out. Would happily go once again!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both me and my mum had the most fantastic day on our Wild Wicklow tour. It was more than we could ever have imagined. We didnt expect half of what we got on the trip from our tour guide and driver Niall. He was a superb driver, weaving in and out the narrow streets, and so informative as soon as we stepped on in Dublin city, telling us all the history we could imagine. We hadnt expected that, so it was a very nice surprise. We were very blessed with the weather too, even the locals were surprised, which just added to the day. The only thing i will say, which could have made it better, both me and my mum were taken aback by the breath taking views at the Upper Lake at Glendalough. sadly we were only given 10mins there. This was no where near long enough. I appreciate that there was an itineray to stick to, but from what i could gather from alot of the other visitors on the coach, they too, would have preferred a longer stay there. Preferrable, maybe to a longer stay at the monastic ruins. I appreciate everyones taste is different. But it was still the best day of our holiday, and i would most definately do it again and recommend it to everyone. We have the best photos to last forever. Thankyou.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved our Wild Wicklow Tour! Our tour guide Nell O'Neil was so much fun and gave a great local perspective. The combination of Glendalough and the rural countryside along with a quite local lunch was so lovely!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful. Even tough the weather was awful ("When you don't see the Wicklow mountains, it's raining and if you do see them, it is going to rain."), our amazing guide found his beautiful way out by telling us great stories and showing us infinite landscapes. I've been doing another tour in Wicklow before, and it was nothing compared to that "wild" one. Thank you for showing us this great unknown part of the country.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best day tour we have done in 3 weeks of travel. While Wicklow is a great day and a magical destination, john our guide was marvellous. Both my sister and myself were struck by how he went out of his way to care for and reassure his travellers. He was also pretty funny. He drove the bus as well! He was very obliging to all of us on this tour Thanks John.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If you love history, folklore and love learning this is a beautiful place to experience all.
Beautiful Wicklow and Gwendolough.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful, and so much fun.our driver was great .his singing added a special treat to the trip.we have beautiful phots of wicklow and glendalough now to enjoy .we would recomend this tour .

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful views in the rainy ánd sunny Wicklow Mountains. A very nice day due to our most enthusiastic, great story-telling guide.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip to Wild Wicklow was great , the country was beatiuful and the Driver (Joe ) was great with his stories and his singing and don't forget the dram of Whisky ! It was a great day out !! The company was very helpful to us , because of a trip delay and us getting to Dublin late, they moved our trip to Wild Wicklow to the next day , which was very helpful to us for we could enjoy a great day out .

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had such a great day on our tour with Niall. He was such a wealth of information and narrated all through our tour through Glendalough and into the Wicklow Mountains. We all felt like we had thousands of years of Irish history wrapped into a six hour tour! He even added a few extra sights to see such as Bono, Enya, and Van Morrison's houses. The mountains were simply breathtaking. The price for everything that we got (bus tour, Jameson tasting, history lessons, etc.) was such a great deal.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic all round. The guide was hilarious and sang to us during the day and told silly jokes. The scenery is beautiful - Wicklow and Glendalough - it's just magical. There were a mixture of people on the tour from young to old, so there is something for everyone. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very pleasant although maybe not your first priority i.e. you'd probably want to do the Connemara and Cliffs of Moher first. I liked the scenery along the way especially the view of the Sally Gardens from high up (: including the Viking movie set :), and Glendalough is also very charming with the old ruins (: not entirely ruined though :) in the nice green backdrop. The journey through the Wicklow Hills is very nice. The stop at Avoca was uneventful for me although they had some nice things in the shop. I also liked the Guiness Beef Stew and Mash where we stopped for lunch. Our driver Jim (: I think :) was a nice chap with a good sense of humor. Fellow travelers equally pleasant. There's plenty of scenery on the drive and Jim's got a pretty good sense of humor.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Magnificent views of the Wicklow mountains, wished we had the time to take a short hike there. Tourguide was humorous and knowledgable.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

It was a lot of tourist stops. Very little in actual wicklow and not enough time to really see the lakes in Glendaough.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message