Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Despite the weather, which was aweful, but that's Ireland the trip was awesome as well as the guide who works for Wild Wicklow Tours. I think his name was Nylan. I apologize if I got it wrong. Most wise man I've ever met! He told us tons of interesting things about the whereabouts and Irish history. We had a delicious Irish stew. It was great and most probably we'll do it again if the weather is gentlier with us. Great tour, great guide.Thanks

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide Yoan was fantastic. He had a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable. Our bus driver John was also great. We were picked up on time and the bus was very comfortable. Kilkenny is a lovely village and is very easy to walk around. The weather was beautiful which made our visit to Glendalough so enjoyable. Yoan was with us every step of the way explaining all the highlights.. What a wealth of information. The bus ride through the wicklow mountains was fantastic and we were able to stop and take some pictures. A tour that stays overnight at Glendalough would be ideal but the one day trip was great.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, much better than we expected. Stunning scenery, very interesting historical facts and stories from our tour guide. He was also very helpful, trying to accommodate everyone's needs and desires. Plus one for the Irish whiskey, we are big fans now! :- Highly recommended, best way to see Wicklow!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

STUNNING VIEWS of the Wicklow Mountains! A must do! Even on a rainy day we had an amazing time! The stop for coffee is at the cutest local shop! I wanted to stay there all day! We also stopped at the bridge from P.S. I Love You which really excited me! We went to Glendalough and experienced the beauty and history! The tour was well planned and perfectly timed!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour to everyone out there wanting to see breath taking scenery. Wild Wicklow nation forest just blew our minds with its beautiful landscape. Our driver-guide John kept us entertained throughout the journey.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful tour. Our guide was non-stop telling us stories of history and information on the area. We did get plenty of opportunities to get off the bus and walk around Wicklow and Glendalough. Our lunch stop was late in the day, so I wish I had brought a snack to help keep me going.

Doing what: Best Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Carrie W
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The area is amazing and well worth seeing, but the tour was a little disappointing. The stop at the handweavers is a joke - essentially a comfort stop at a giant food hall when you've only been on the road 20 minutes, a waste of an hour that could have been spent in the mountains. There weren't many opportunities to stop for photos in the Wicklow Mountains, but lots of time out of the coach in Glendalough, where our guide Niall really redeemed himself with a great guided tour. Recommendations for many other free things to do in and around Dublin during the drive back kind of saved the day for this tour.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I would not want to drive the Wicklow Mountains myself. Our tour guide was a safe driver, very informative and very hospitable.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day out, thanks to our guide Andrew just a note to anyone booking this trip that they also go to Wicklow mountains take note of this in order to avoid booking a separate tour to WICKLOW .

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I originally booked this tour specifically to go to Avoca as I had booked to go to Wicklow mountains on a different day , however I was advised of the change and these things unfortunately happen, having said that , the tour was fantastic the guide was friendly and brilliant I really advise anyone to take the tour.

Doing what: Best Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking views and excellent Tour Guide! I don't remember our tour guides name but I do remember we all called him Fitz he is a retired firefighter ! He was incredible ! He knew so much about the history of Ireland and even indulged me by stopping at the P.s. I love you Bridge. Fitz was so kind and you can tell he loves his job. This tour stops at a place called The weaving basket on our way to Wicklow and it has the most amazing food and desserts. My friends and I cannot wait to return to Ireland and see Fitz!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow! This was one of the best days we had in Ireland. Our tour guide and driver, John, was such a funny character. He had stories and lots of historical information that made the trip interesting and fun. The countryside was amazing, the Wicklow mountains, all the little towns we went through, Glendalough ruins and lake...all were truly memorable. Everyone took the hike maybe a mile down to the lake and it was really worth it. You walk through forest and field, easy to believe that fairies live there!

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a good tour. I would recommend going up the Saint Canice's round tower in Kilkenny, not for the view but for the experience. I didn't go into the Kilkenny Castle, but wish I'd paid the extra to go in. I was disappointed that we had to make a choice between going to the caves and Kilkenny City. I was hoping to do both. The Wicklow Gap was beautiful. In Glendalough it was great to have a tour with the guide to give a brief background of St Kevin but it was a bit rushed to get down to the lake and back.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good tour but I preferred taking the Wild Wicklow tour that i did the day after that includes Glendalough. Kilkenny plus Glendalough made Glendalough rushed and I really wish I would have had more time there vs Kilkenny.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend this tour if you're in Dublin for a few days! It's a day trip, so it's pretty long but well worth it! You get to see some fantastic sights in Wicklow and Glendalough. There are plenty of stops to take pictures and get out to stretch the legs.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From Istanbul to Cornwall, and Alaska to Quebec, over the years we have avoided group bus tours: they feel like traps, and are often a waste of time with little to teach, and too much fluff. So we signed on to the Wild Wicklow Bus Tour in Dublin with low expectations, figuring the reasonable price was worth the risk. And at first, we thought we'd jump the bus, for the start was slow, with pick-ups at hotels. BUT WERE WE GLAD WE STAYED! It was the tour of a lifetime.
We did not know our driver/guide, Niall, is a STAR in his field, but soon enough realized he was special. Niall welcomed us aboard with a genuine friendliness that I was too skeptical to appreciate at first. But as the morning wore on, and he continued to be good natured, funny and informative, we began to be amazed at our good luck.
Niall was respectful: he honored the small Muslim family aboard by allowing them to leave while he gave his whiskey speech along with tiny samples he played with the one child on board, teasing and including her allowed for older slower folks to go at their own pace and in general made the mixed nationalities on board feel welcome.
And Nial knows his stuff: after awhile, I suspected he was well-educated and, and sure enough, he is a retired history and English teacher/professor. How did we know? He delved into the history of the Vikings in the most entertaining way explained the evolution of Irish and Scottish gaelic in story form, led us through ruins in Glendalough and lit a fire in us to learn more. He has the gift of making history alive and fascinating.
And he could do impersonations: Bill Clinton, Queen Elizabeth, Jimmy Stewart and more.
And he gave us all this, often while negotiating difficult turns and traffic situation. I am often a bit nervous with someone else at the wheel, especially in mountains, but Niall negotiated the roads with ease. What a gift this man has.
I have run out of room here - have more to say but find out for yourself - you won't regret it

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Guide, Andrew and our driver, Bill provided us with a wonderful Irish Experience, from the Castle in Kilkenny to the Monastery in the Wicklow Mountains, and the Beautiful waterfall and Lakes in Glendalough. Marvelous tour filled with information, history and culture. You will love this tour. A real value for the cost.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Joe was a great tour guide - loved our trip to Wicklow! Few stops, but if you're the type who enjoys viewing the landscape from a window, it's a beautiful, scenic trip.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were a bit upset that the tour was changed to exclude a stop in Avoca, it was the main reason for booking this tour, since we had already taken the Wicklow tour 3 years ago. This tour was OK, the tour guide was great. I think we could have been sent an email, so as to pock a other tour.

Doing what: Best Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The driver was very pleasant and entertaining. He picked us up at our hotel. I enjoyed the walk around the lake in Glendalough. I wish we would have had more photo op stops when we drove through the Wicklow Mountains as there was too much glare on windows of the bus to take snapshots

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour but a big thank you to our driver John. He is the best !! Gave us all the info we needed for our trip to the wicklow mountain

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Good stops for coffee and lunch and plenty of photo opportunities in the beautiful mountains of Wicklow.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Due to a date mix up, the manager, John contacted me via email and text several many times in order to sort out the issue. He worked with Guinness Storehouse staff to help me switch days of the Wild Wicklow tour and my Guinness tour. He made it very easy for me and I really appreciate it!!!!
The tour to Wicklow including Glenalough was great! Our bus driver/tour guide, John another one was fabulous!!! He was very entertaining and very knowledgeable. He was always pointing out places to see and telling us the facts about what we were seeing. He was also very good at assisting us in taking pictures which was very nice. Plus, he was a very safe driver!!! I would take this tour again or tours by this company. Barbara F

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though the hills of Wicklow were not in springtime heather, the tour conveyed the wild beauty of the Wicklow Mts. We made a number of stops so we could get off the very comfortable bus and view the scenery directly. It was a lovely day trip.

NOTE: If you are going to drive into City Centre and leave your car, be very careful--it cost me 25 euros on a Sunday!! Yikes.

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Although there was some confusion with my online booking tru Viator ov The Wild Wicklow Tour... tbey sorted it out very quickly with help of a helpful bus driver... I would recommend this trip to all my ftiends .... mesmirizing.... very well organised.. though it can be longer to see more awesome moubtains n kakes n shopping... I must recognisec our Bus Driver cum Tour Guide for his multi talent driving, guiding, singing...n sharing informative history n not to forget his Irish jokes!! Awesome!!... tx

Doing what: Best Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message