If you take a map of Ireland and draw a horizontal line more or less across the middle, you’ll find Dublin on the eastern side and Galway Bay to the west. That means the celebrated charms of Galway’s Atlantic coastline are easily accessible from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Exceptional weather afforded access to the marvelous and exquisite creations of nature. One's spirits cannot help be uplifted as the water pounds along the cliffs. The rail trip allowed for great views of the beautiful green Irish countryside. Limerick, Burren, and Galway Bay were time well spent. Good memories will last for a long, long time.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I would have rated this one higher if I had actually got to see the Cliffs of Moher..when we arrived there, heavy fog rolled in, no visibility..was very dissappointed..but weather cannot be predicted.. I enjoyed the stop at Bunratty castle..there were other nice scenic stops on the way to Galway bay..The tour guides interacted very little with us on the train rides..and were not informed until it was too late that we had breakfast service offered..I would recommend this tour overall because it covers alot of area and sights within the day

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We took two tours while in Ireland and both were excellent. Marie was our guide on this one (Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay) and she did a great job of keeping all of us on time while still being able to enjoy ourselves and see what we came to see - not an easy task and one I personally wouldn't want to take on! I wouldn't hesitate to use Viator again for future tours when I'm traveling.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide, Tom Reid, was friendly, welcoming and very informative. I have always wanted to visit the Cliffs so this was perfect and going to Galway Bay was a must. Excellent!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Good tour but it is a long day. If you're going to do this tour, do it by bus and eliminate the train. It will cut an hour or two out of your commute. I would have liked to have had more than 30 minutes in Galway (and we only had a 10 minute stop to see Galway Bay). But if you're tight on time, this is a good overview. The Cliffs oh Moher are pretty but The Burren is the real gem.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Went on a day tour to Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay led by Jim from RailTour. He was the best guide ever! Knowledgeable informative and very attentive to the needs of everyone in the tour group. Thank you so much, Jim for the wonderful day!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

This was a beautiful tour of some of Ireland's west coast! I found it convenient to be able to take a train rather than rent a car and drive. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, albeit not overly personable. My only complaint is that as an aspiring photographer, I was disappointed with the lack of opportunities to take photos of the spectacular Galway Bay coastline. But the stops we did make were beautiful, and for anyone other than a photographer, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We really enjoyed this tour, it was one of the best we've ever taken. Bob was our guide and John was our driver. We left Dublin on the train and then got on a bus and they drove us through Limerick. We toured Bunratty Castle, which was nice. We then went to Doolin, a small coastal town for lunch at the Doolin Pub, and it was one of the best meals during the trip. We got some chocolate at a little shop down the road and that was good too. Next was the big highlight of the day, the Cliffs of Moher, what a sight! Loved that place. Next was the odd landscape of the Burren. Galway Bay was beautiful. Then Bob took us on the train back to Dublin. It was a long tour and a delightful day. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Abbey was beautiful and worth seeing, however not on this tour. The train portion was wonderful and provided for beautiful scenery and a chance to see the countryside. The train guides were very helpful and easily accessed. However, the coach guide was the worst I've ever experienced on a tour. The tour bus (Lolly Tours) was a ramshackle vessel that had no shock absorbers and was noisy, hot and uncomfortable. Compared with other busses we saw at the Abbey, this one had definitely seen better days (like in the 80’s). The guide spoke incessantly into his overhead microphone about everything except tour-related facts. He told ridiculous unrelated stories and jokes that only he understood. He also stopped constantly (4 times each way) for picture opportunities which caused any visit to Galway Bay to not be possible due to time running out. It was advertised that there would be a harbor lunch in Galway, no such thing happened, in fact we saw none of Galway, but multiple stops to look at green hillsides of no note. I believe this tour operator ruined the trip and should never be used by Viator again - absolutely a waste of time, money and not at all as advertised. Take the train by yourself if you wish to view pretty scenery. The Abbey was nice, but not worth the money for that to have been all that we saw, and truly it was the only thing we saw. Between the bad tour bus and tour guide, we regretted every hour until we returned to the train depot at days end.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The natural landscapes of Cliffs of Moher, the Burren and Galway Bay were amazing! It was great to do the rail/bus combo tour to get some local flavor. Bunratty Castle was interesting and the Folk Village was beautifully picturesque. The cliffs were spectacular even in the rain. The Burren and Galway Bay sites were great. Could have done without the Doolin pub lunch, packing a picnic lunch would have been better as the food was blah, and would have allowed more time at some of the attractions. We have taken many Viator tours over the years and have always had a exellent tour guides and thus we were so dissapointed to have "Dismal Dave" as our guide. He neglected to tell us sights until they had passed by, he talked endlessly about depressing economic conditions, how he doesn't recommend going to the top of the cliff pathway as it is just for "fanatics," and used the word "unfortunately" in almost every sentence. With another guide it would have been outstanding and I'd do it again.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Our winter tour to Connemara and Galway Bay was terrific! Our train companion, Frank, was charming and informative. We were met at Galway station by the Coach and tour driver, whose wit and information was delightful. I'd recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The best part of the day was the helpful, knowledgeable tour guide! There were beautiful sights everywhere we stopped. The only disadvantage was because it was such a long day my partner and myself fell asleep on the coach tour and missed all of Galway bay!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

By far, the BEST part of our entire trip. The Cliff of Moher are beyond impressive, breathtaking! The Burren is rather interesting too, and Galway Bay offers the most amazing views of the Atlantic. I would do this tour again and again!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Wow. Just wow. Do you want to see the beauty of Ireland stress-free? Then book this trip with Viator. I could go on and on all day about how pleasant of an experience I had but I ll try to condense it to fit this box. We were greeted by our guide, Noah, a very wise, older gentleman that knows his Irish history and were boarded promptly on the train. We were taken to Limerick, made a stop at a castle, then stopped at a pub near the Cliffs of Moher for lunch. The food was awesome! After that you make a quick stop at this limestone formation known as The Buren before moving on through Galway Bay and on into Galway for the 2.5 hour trip back to Dublin across the heart of Ireland. Please do not hesitate to book this trip. The day is long but you see everything. Plenty of time to embrace the imagery and take pictures. We had to be at the train station by 6:40am and were back in Dublin by 8:00 pm.The Cliffs were absolutely gorgeous. The Burren was amazing. Galway Bay is as blue as any ocean can get. The train trips were a fun experience! I know im bouncing all over the place on this review but take it from me, a leary consumer that rarely takes chances on companies he's never heard of, this trip is for people that want to spend a day seeing the beauty of Ireland at a reasonable cost. Me and my friends range from ages 25-28 and we were by far the youngest on the tour. But, i feel its important to see these sights before enjoying the Dublin night life. Enjoy!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The day was fantastic! Our guide was very knowledgeable. I thought we needed longer at the Cliffs of Moher. We had less than an hour. I enjoyed stopping at the Burren, and I enjoyed the pub where we ate lunch, though it was pricey. The train was comfortable and had nice big windows. Galway Bay was beautiful, but we needed a few more minutes to find something to eat before boarding the train. Overall, it was a great tour!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message