With just about everywhere in Ireland reachable by train from Dublin, the capital makes a great launch pad for exploring the country’s highlights. Whether you’re looking for a high-speed train to whisk you around the sights or a slow-chugging ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day tour with informative and well organized guide.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the tour tremendously. Our guide, Brandon, was engaging and knowledgeable, and he made sure that we all knew how to get back to our hotels, which was awesome. The cliffs are spectacular, but we also enjoyed the castle tour, and the landscape at Burren is unbelievable. The whole tour from Dublin to the west coast of Ireland went off without a hitch, and I would definitely do it again. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. A lot packed in but really enjoyabl .

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the chance of a sunny day, the host on the train was so much fun and enterteining that the trip to Galway seemed to pass more rapidly. I've met an incredible couple from Oregon in their honeymoon and we chat all day long. The flight is short but the views are incredible. And on Innis Mor life has a different pace, you feel the quietness and tranquility, hear the birds, stroll on the white beach, It really was a perfect day.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

In spite of a misty start, which made the stroll in the folk park by the Bunratty Castle even more interesting, the rest of the day was sunny and so the pleasure of discovering new sights was infinite. I had the time to go to the southern peak of Moher Cliffs, the views are incredible. Then the lunch in Doolin was fast and delicious. After the drive through the scenic Burren we've arrived early enough in Galway to catch some shops open. I reccomend The Treasure Chest, the most amazing store I've ever been to.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Our tour guide, Jonathon Beaumont, was very knowledgeable and fun. We never would have seen and learned as much as we did if we had travelled on our own. Highly recommend this tour. We will be back!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful tour along the coast! Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable and made the bus ride a great sightseeing experience. Giant's Causeway itself was beautiful beyond words. The Carrick-a-rede rope bridge was also a great site to walk around and explore the landscape. My only complaint about the whole tour is the lack of time to do things around Belfast. I had a great dinner at Crown Liquor Saloon, but I wish the tour had gotten in town early enough to take a Black Taxi tour or see the Titanic museum!

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip is a bit long ( whole day ) but was wealth it !

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unbelievable. As promised, Brendan, our rail tour guide was there with his yellow jacket on to identify himself as our guide at the train station.
He gave us our itinerary and tickets and guided us to a car on the train. On the ride over, he sat with each of us in our group and gave us the rundown of what to expect in Belfast, as well as the Causeway tour.
The only thing I will add is that you will definitely need some British Pounds in order to transact any business while in Northern Ireland. That information was a little incorrect. So, ask the hotel desk about the nearest ATM to draw out some pounds.
The next morning, they corralled us all onto the coach. We had very nice seats reserved for the "railtour" people, and the bus accommodated our overnight bags--underneath.
Our tour guide for the day was Patrick, and I have to say that he was truly a one-man tourism guide of Northern Ireland. He even explained the "troubles" that occurred in Ireland years ago. It was an informative history lesson that I wasn't expecting, but gladly soaked it up.
Patrick was very kind and knowledgeable of all the surrounding scenery, villages, and historical markers.
This trip was especially wonderful for me as I got to ride in the front, beside the driver. As I was traveling alone, I enjoyed being up front and seeing the countryside change as we barreled along.
The Giant's Causeway was breathtaking. I can't even put into words how tremendous the site was to behold. The hike to the Carrick-a-Rede bridge and the crossing was also a once-in-a-lifetime adventure that I'm glad I didn't miss.
We stopped in Bushmills and had lunch at the distillery after the bridge hike. You can purchase a nice bottle to bring home there.
I'd definitely do this tour again--hopefully with Patrick as my guide!
Make sure you bring good hiking/ climbing shoes and a good windbreaker/ rain coat. The weather can be quite fickle and it's blustery on the cliffs and causeway.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great day. The guide made an effort to spend time with each of us on the train and answered any questions that we had. Interesting sites and a "must see" for any visitor to Ireland.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Saw the best part of Ireland. Very comfortable on the train.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was very thorough and provided some great historical information about each site. He also made sure we were well taken care of with each method of transportation.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing way to see some of Ireland. The cliffs are stunning, the tour guide was awesome and the itinerary was perfect for the day.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message