With just about everywhere in Ireland reachable by train from Dublin, the capital makes a great launch pad for exploring the country’s highlights. Whether you’re looking for a high-speed train to whisk you around the sights or a slow-chugging ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1742 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great trip. The tour guides were knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Cody W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even though it was cloudy and we had some rain, we enjoyed the tour. The train ride from Dublin to Mallow and then to Killarney offers the chance to see the Irish countryside. The bus tour of the Ring of Kerry included several stops for photos plus a stop to eat lunch and a stop to see a sheep herding demonstration. The driver/guide was excellent.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Toby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A long day but very well organized. Everything ran like clockwork and gave such a good overall feeling for the countryside of Ireland. The castle was interesting, the Cliffs of Moher fantastic, The Burren was so unique. If you want to get in several sights in one day this is the trip for you.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Norman Foster was probably the best tour guide that I encountered. I enjoyed the trip more because of his attention to details. Darren on the Conemarra was also excellent. We did experience fog on the Ring of Kerry segment but everything else went OK. I liked the Noraville B and B in Kellarney but it was not conveniently located to the downtown area costs 6 Euros for taxi. The Kelarney Court Hotel was nearby - good pub.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Irene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Breathtaking sights.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Theresa P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Not impressed with Viator offering discounts then not honouring them.
Got the runaround from customer service. Another tour member experienced the same.
Maybe better to go directly to the tour company that Viator is representing.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

alanrsq

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This day trip was excellent. It was very organized, educational and a lot of fun! Our tour guide Paddy M. was amazing. He is so informative about the sites, history and fun facts. We had the best day.

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

Patti J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This 3 day tour was wonderful. We actually got off the tour in Galway as we were spending a few days there. We returned to Dublin a few days later. Our tour guide, Jonathan, was wonderful. Learned so much about the history of Ireland. Absolutely do this tour if you have limited days in Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Jaclyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our tour guide, Bob, was professional and very personable. Everything went smoothly. Would have loved another few minutes at the English Market but was happy just to visit it.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Claudia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A long day but a wonderful trip. Our tour guide was wonderful and everything went off without a hitch.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Ireland. The tour guide was truly outstanding. Bus driver was friendly and great handling the bus. Both gentleman were professional and very polite. I really appreciated the tour guide, Bob's, obvious knowledge and his congenial manner. The Blarney Castle grounds were very enjoyable. Wish we had a few more minutes at the English Market, but it was nice getting there.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Donna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our guide Jonathan was excellent very knowledgeable and funny!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Louis N Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well, I absolutely loved this tour. Everything went extremely smoothly from the early rail trip to Galway to the return to Dublin in the evening. The tour guides were phenomenal Jim O'Keefe, Peter, and the stupendous driver of the coach, Martin. The guides had lots of interesting information to impart and struck a perfect balance of humour, information, and silence. Well done! The scenery was breathtaking. Quite unbelievable. I strongly recommend this tour...it very much surpassed my expectations!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Angela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a fantastic way to see Galway Bay and the sights of the Aran Islands from a small plane. This is a very unique tour and now I can check it off my bucket list -- traveling in a very small aircraft where the pilot was so close that you could watch as he flew the plane. The Island itself is very small and the food at the cafe was outstanding. The locals were very friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Liam our guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable of the histories, traditions and stories of the Irish people. The trains were clean, in good working order and a comfortable ride. Excwllent value. The yellow jackets make them easy to find and follow. Lunch in Waterford was great! Bill and Stacy Kast

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

SMilner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip. We were the only people and the tour guide, Paddy McArdle was so attentive and considerate. 20 minute walk through Kilkenny to the castle which is so full of Irish history. Road train through the town with commentary and return to castle and design center which was full of great Irish treasures.

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

bs65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The sun was out and this tour was the best of all I took. We ate at a great pub in Doolin and spent adequate time at the Cliffs. I wish we had more time in Galway but will save that for another trip.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Judith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was the best. We saw so many beautiful sights. Stopped at a great place for lunch. I can't wait to go back. It was well worth the money and viator ran the best tours.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Judith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great but the weather didn't cooperate too well. It was super windy and raining. I thought the tour was put together well. I love the place we ate at. Great food good service.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent coach tour of the Ring of Kerry. We had all types of weather from sun to rain to clouds to changing light which made the landscapes change. It is a photographer's dream.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome trip! It covered quite a bit of the area, and we were given plenty of time to visit where we wanted to go. Once you got off the train, you were on and off the bus several times. We didn't spend a lot of time on the bus, which was nice even though it was a nice bus. Meals are always factored into your time, but not included in the price. These tours are great because you're not lead by the hand they really let you go at your own pace and just give you the information you need and when to be back at the bus. Norman was our guide twice and was outstanding. The guides are always around and happy to answer any questions they keep you up to date on timing and they are very knowledgeable about the area. We have used Viator several times in several countries and I have nothing but great things to say about them. They are well organized and well executed they only work with reliable local partners so it's an easy choice.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

bearpower31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Johnathan was a great tour guide!! Very happy we did this tour. Thanks again!!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Brandon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide and lovely scenery. Long day though!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Serafin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an amazing tour and top with an awesome guide...Jonathan B. Not only he enumerated all the highlights of the trip, he'd personally came to each tourists on a one on one chat, asking if we had any questions or comments. We were worry about how to get back to the hotel as the tour would end up at 10 PM. He explained and then sketched a detail map how to get to the bus stop from the Heuston Train station, and even after the departure, he didn't forget us and ran to look for us to remind again the way to the bus stop. Thank you, Jonathan and our driver, we really have a wonderful time and thanks for all your helps during this trip.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Retired OF 49 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice Rail / Bus combo Tour. Train leaves early from Heuston train Station, and transfers to bus in Limerick. Helpful hint is after checking in for the Tour, try to stay up front near the entrance to the
gate to the train turn styles. The reason for this is you want to be one of the first on board to get a train seat facing forward next to a window, and preferably a train seat with a table. We got on toward the end of the group and ended up facing backwards and next to a bulkhead with no window to look out. The Rail segment is pleasant and goes quick. The Cliffs are really nice on a clear day, which we were fortunate to have. I would advise taking the climb up both sides to the Cliffs to get the best views and photos. Inside the hill, is a restaurant and shops, and an exhibit with a green screen to stand in front of different scenes of the Cliffs, and the ability to send an E mail post card to whoever you want. The Burren was a remarkable geologic scene that was very fascinating to walk over and photograph some of the various rock formations. Andy, our Tour Guide, remained with us the entire trip and was very knowledgeable and most helpful in keeping us informed on what we would see and detailed background information for each stop. As someone else previously mentioned, the tour wording makes it sound like your lunch is included, but all that is included is the actual stop at a Pub. Once inside, after reviewing the menu, you go to the bar order and pay for your food. In the late afternoon , you depart the bus in Gallway and have sufficient time to visit another local pub for dinner. I strongly recommend you take advantage of trying the Pub food, as it will be superior to the
pre-made sandwiches you'll encounter on the train back to Dublin. Plus, the Pub we visited had live Irish music to enjoy with Dinner. Ask Andy which Pub has the live music.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message