1.  Malahide Castle & Dublin Bay Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1453 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best tour I took for scenery. The west coast is unbelievably beautiful.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A wonderful excursion. The weather was a bit nasty with a strong January wind and mist off the ocean, but somehow it added to the atmosphere, and I'm glad I got to experience it. The trip was really made by our Viator guides Brendan and Paddy, who are two charming Irish gents. They shared history and stories of the sites we visited that one could never get through a self-guided tour. Even the train trip back to Dublin was a load of fun as the boys shared a bit of Irish spirit with us. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We did this tour over the New Year's break, and from start to finish were very happy with our experience. The app was easy to use, and the entire trip was well organized. My husband and I were particularly happy to get to know our guide, Andy, who was not only extremely knowledgeable but also very funny and engaging. The scenery and experiences would have been great on their own but Andy made them especially memorable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We did this tour over the New Year's break, and from start to finish were very happy with our experience. The app was easy to use, and the entire trip was well organized. My husband and I were particularly happy to get to know our guide, Andy, who was not only extremely knowledgeable but also very funny and engaging. The scenery and experiences would have been great on their own but Andy made them especially memorable. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

NICHOLAS W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a hoot laughed till I cried seen some stuff like in pink Floyd

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My recommendation is based on the history and beauty of the island only. I wouldn't go by rail as we were escorted all the way from Dublin to Galway on the train, which was not needed. It was just Mum and I and another couple of ladies who were doing another tour. This also happened on our return journey to Dublin. My recommendation during the winter months is not to provide the escort, as we are all adults and can find our seats, as per the package provided to us in Dublin for our day trip. Once in Galway we were offloaded to a transfer bus to the airport for the Aran Islands scenic flight. This was an amazing way to see the islands, in a little 8 seater plane with the locals and a pet dog, which was interesting... Once we got to the island, we were not greeted by a tour guide, which is what we thought we had paid for! No we were given to a local bus transfer driver on the island, where they do local stops for the people from the plane and we get a spiel on the island while he did his bus stop rounds. Very weird and not a pleasant experience, as he did not introduce himself or tell us about our day tour plan. We proceeded to the ruins, where we were told to get off, do our thing and then he'd meet us again in an hour. The ruins were spectacular, but I was imagining them bigger than they were due to the photos I had seen and you were not allowed to climb on the ruins, so it really was a quick visit to see such an amazing place. Once back aboard our local bus, we were taken to the seven churches which was an interesting site, but I would like to have seen more of the other ruins and history of the island, but we just seemed to be an inconvenience and shuffled from one place to another. We did get to visit the Aran Wool Mill, which was a highlight for my Mum. The experience on the island wasn't great for us and this needs to be explored by the tour company further. On our return to Galway, we did get a couple of hours to explore Galway further, which was great fun.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

Piyul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well taken care of. Completely relaxing. A day to remember forever - stands apart from usual sightseeing in its leisurely pace that yet, packed in so much. Loved Ireland. It touched me in a raw and basic way. Timeless yet rooted.

Would I recommend it? Of course, cause I would love to go back again. Perhaps for a longer duration trip.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Pamela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great trip, Norman-guide, and Ned-driver were very informative and helpful, and kind. Was an interesting trip You get to see more than listed as well. We went in December and had a small group too which made it even better. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Pamela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great trip and great guide- Brendon, and great driver-Victor. They made the trip fun, and were very informative and explained things well and answered our questions. Very interesting sights to see on this trip and you get to see and do more than listed. We went in December and had a very small group and they made it special for us. I would highly recommend using Viator to book your trip.

Also Viator was very accommodating when I didn't used one of my tickets and they refunded my money for a bus trip. They are awesome to work with!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

robert j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our trip was great. The train ride was shorter than expected and more enjoyable. The guide was thorough and interesting and made sure we saw everything here was to see! His commentary was interesting and engaging and fun. I was very pleasantly surprised at how great of an experience it was. We had never done a group tour before, just private, and I would do tours from this company again without hesitation.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Kimberly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Perfect tour for a short trip to Ireland. Our guide Peter was fun and informative. Very well run and great sites to see!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was our first trip booking with this company and we were very pleased with it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very quick paced tour. Recommended only if you have a short stay in Dublin. The tour is extremely well organized. Our tour guide, Jonathan Beaumont was knowledgeable, entertaining, witty, polite and regimented all skills necessary to keep a group from wandering especially with the time constraints we had. The sights were beautiful, the local pubs charming and the experience memorable.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

alkan50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Our guide, Jonathan, was knowledgeable and personable he really added to the trip and made the time fly. I liked the train better than a bus, more comfort and convenience - only drawback is you're leaving very early. Focus is on history - Ireland, the castle and the famine/migration. I liked Dublin but it was good to get out and see the countryside and Jonathan gave us plenty of stories to keep us entertained and informed. Castle stairs get very narrow as you get higher. Kissing the stone involves holding on as you're upside down. Take a walk around the grounds if you get a nice day. Facilities inside the castle are minimal, bathrooms, snack bar and gift shop. The bus picks you up at a small shopping center down the road from the castle. There's a nice pub there that's a good choice for lunch.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Jill D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My tour guide was great! Paddy showed me the sights and kept me up to date with all the sights along the trip. Alan was a great bus driver and kept us safe through the journey.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

bmcadam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

If you are not in Ireland for a long time and want to see a lot, this is the tour to take. While it does mention Limerick, you really don't get to see Limerick You simply change trains in Limerick but, regardless, excellent tour. Tour guide Brendan was fantastic with both knowledge, humour and, of course, his typical Irish gift of the gab. Cliffs of Moher is a must see and be prepared, it is extremely windy. Stopping in Dolan for lunch was great, typical Irish pub. Beef stew was excellent. Overall, 5 star rating.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Karin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our family of four had a great time. It was fun traveling by bus AND train, and very comfortable. The weather was a bit rainy so we couldn't see much at the cliffs but it was still amazing.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

LaJuan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was one of the greatest ours I have ever taken.
The guide was WONDERFUL, the best of best . I have traveled almost around the world ant he was the greatest we have ever had. He made sure we were taken care, showed us thing and was part of us just like a family member .

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a wonderful day trip from Dublin! It is well timed, but you never feel rushed. We even had time for some extra stops according to our guide which made it even more interesting. It probably helped that we were there in the off season so not so many people on the tour or at the sites and we had fabulous weather, too. The trains are comfy and a wonderful way to see the countryside and the coach ride portion was also nice. Our guide, Jonathon B. From Dublin, was awesome. He was personable knowledgeable and very helpful in giving us other tips and insider info on the rest of our time in Ireland. It was a bonus getting to talk with him awhile on the return train trip while discussing Gaelic sports compared to US. Cork and Castle Blarney are a must if you have any time. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Roy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

October 16th Brendan E. of the tour operator was our tour guide for this most enjoyable excursion on Friday, 2015 to the Cliffs of Moher. Brendan brought an exuberance and a vitality to the tour with his outstanding commentary that was always more than interesting because it was captivating. There was always a delightful surprise around the corner or on the other side of the hill. The visit to Bunratty Castle was particularly delightful because it captured the essence of old Ireland. Lunch at Gus OConnors in Doolin was a most enjoyable experience because the food came out so fast and so good it was as if there was a magician in the kitchen. The Cliffs of Moher were breath taking, they are just so majestic. Photographs dont do them justice. The Burren was beautiful as was the drive along the coastline. The combination train and bus transportation was very comfortable because the bus driver was so professional and the train was so clean and comfortable. This day trip simply exceeded every expectation.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

benny.lance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Just after a storm and very wet and windy,but showed the ocean at its violent best. Loved it.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Sammy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great time. Tour guide Jonathan and drivers were great. The weather was horrible as the storm Abigail was hitting the coast, but we still enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Julie A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Well worth the time and costs!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

ann r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful day all around and the highlight of our trip to Ireland! Everything went well.. smooth connections between all points Dublin to Galway by train, a van to the airport outside of Galway, the flight to the Aran Island and a tour all over the island. With all of this we had time for a hike up to the ancient fort, shopping and lunch on the island and dinner in Galway. Everything was taken care of! A jam backed fun day blessed by incredible weather!! We'll never forget it!

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message