From jagged sea cliffs and grand medieval castles to windswept beaches and traditional Gaelic-speaking villages, Ireland’s west coast seems tailor-made for exploring. Its winding seaside roads just scream “road trip,” which was made all the more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything ran as smoothly and efficiently as could be! We very pleased with the tours. Brendan and Norman provided terrific service and all of our connections were perfectly coordinated. We even got perfect weather for our days. Imperial Hotel in Galway was very nice. Would have liked more time at Kylemore Abbey, but otherwise, no problems and appreciated how everything ran like clockwork. Way to go, tour company and Viator.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The cliffs are worth the effort, we knew what to expect yet arriving it was breathtaking. We didn't know what to expect of Connemara, and found this to be the highlight of our vacation! What an unexpected surprise if beauty.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The cliffs are worth the effort, we knew what to expect yet arriving it was breathtaking. We didn't know what to expect of Connemara, and found this to be the highlight of our vacation! What an unexpected surprise if beauty.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A very well run tour, the logistics for accomodations and meeting up with the tour group on subsequent day were handled very smoothly. The tour guides were were very entertaining and informative.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had a great trip for three day tour and wish that we had time for the four day tour.The whole thing was Wow! We were given friendly knowledgable tour guides who were ever courteous and brilliant at thier jobs and professions,We were escorted by rail and bus and saw magnificent castles which had been restored to thier original pristine grandeur and estates and of course the amazing Cliffs of Moher which was truly magnificent.On the third day we were taken by plane to the largest of the Aran Islands where we saw the magnificent ancient settlements from the Bronze Age.We love the whole tour and were sad when it came to an end.Please do experience this beautiful tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Since I was traveling alone in a place I never visited I really appreciated the service that was provided by you, it was fabulous. I knew exactly where I needed to be, met a lot of great people and truly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

It was fabulously beautiful! I loved that we didn't have to take care of any of the details. All we had to do was show up! It was a dream-come-true trip!

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. Our guide the first day had dry humor and was really kind. The Cliffs of Moher were gorgeous, and the folk park was cute. The next day, our guide was really friendly and super knowledgeable about the Connemara area. The best part of the trip was staying overnight in Galway. We were there Friday night; the evening was bustling with activity, and we pub hopped until the wee hours. If I were to recommend anything, it's that they provide a tour in which you just do the first day, then stay over in Galway, and then have the day in Galway to sleep in, stroll around, shop, and then go back. More time in Galway on your own would be awesome. Overall, great trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was wonderful. It was realistically paced with timely stops. May I suggest a hotel description that includes amenities. I would have appreciated a room with air conditioning.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Sonia E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

A TRIP WELL WORTHWHILE....GREAT DAY!

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The guide did not have us on the roster for the second day, and as a result we almost were excluded from the Aran Island part. The tour service on the Aran Islands simply took us to the bronze age fort, dropped us off and then returned two hours later and dropped us off in town again, with no real tour of the island. That was unsatisfactory. Otherwise the guides were excellent first and third day, especially Connemara.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Overall the tour was very well organized and hit the high spots of what we wanted to see! I did, however feel very rushed at the Cliffs of Moher, which was the main attraction that I wanted to see in Ireland, and the reason I booked this tour. We had one hour at the Cliffs and that simply wasn't enough!

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This trip is really three one day tours, with a hotel in Galway. You wait until the other people coming on the tour take the train from Dublin, so you get a late start and see less than you might. Still, the Cliffs of Moher and Connemara days were good. They were spent on one bus, with one guide all day.

The Aran Islands day should be the highlight, but Railtours totally mishandles that one. They keep passing you off from person or operator to the next. Leaving you someplace with instructions that someone will pick you up in 10 minutes or some other time. They are late, then once they get there, they make you wait until others from some other tour come or they look for more customers.

There was no continuity and so much time was wasted that we saw less and were rushed at what we did see. Frankly, we started worrying that no one would show up at all. And all that time spent waiting, was time that we could have been enjoying the Island.

The hotel in Galway is probably fine in the winter, but having no air conditioning was a real problem The window opens out a tiny bit at the bottom, not enough to let air flow. There is no fan.

But noises from outside do get in. Young people screaming until late at night, what sounded like thousands of birds calling when the dawn starts to brake and then the city vehicles picking up trash and doing other things. We had two straight nights of hardly any sleep.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

Suneetha
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

It was a good trip.
Nice hotel in Galway.
But, I felt it was over priced compared any other European tours I have ever bought from Viator or any other company.

Doing what: 3-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Aran Islands Rail Tour from Dublin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Too many tours were combined on bus and train. Seats were too close together on the bus so there was no leg room and bus was already full when we were picked up-no choice of seats, so we couldn't see anything. Microphones were not properly working on buses, so we could not hear the commentary. This tour was very expensive compared to others we have taken and it was not worth the money. I plan to complain. i will say that the guides on the two buses were helpful and I think the commentary would have been good if we could have heard more than a few bits of it. Hotel was very nice with a lovely breakfast.

Doing what: 2-Day Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message