Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik Old Town

The medieval core of Dubrovnik and the focal point of most city itineraries, Dubrovnik’s Old Town is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site, made up of a warren of limestone-paved streets and painstakingly restored medieval architecture. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Ivana took us on one of the best tours. First the panoramic cable car ride which took us right to the top of Dubrovnik, where we learnt a lot of history while enjoying the views. Next the City Walls and Old town tour which did not disappoint. It was really enjoyable, what a beautiful place! This tour is a must, especially with the charismatic Ivana.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I am so glad I did this tour. At first I thought it might be to much doing all 3 parts in the same morning but it worked out to be the perfect length of time. With it being one of the first days of the season the whole area was more accessible and not overly crouded. This meant that we did not have to stand in the que for the Cable Car very long. It also meant that the walking tour of the city walls did not take as long as it would with a lot of people in the tour or on the walls. It was a nice small group for all 3 parts of the tour and our guide was really lovely. At first she walked a bit fast for me but after explaining to her that I could not walk as fast due to back issues, she really slowed down and always made sure that I was comfortable. We had a short break between the Old Town Tour and the Walls which was perfect to grab a drink and visit the ladies.
The guide was well dressed, well spoken and very friendly. She is also very knowledgable about the city and area and shared a lot of information with the group. Even when being drowned out by workmen she made sure that everyone could still hear her.
For the price of this tour I was really happy. It is truely value for money and I will gladly recommend and already have this to anyone that wants to have a good overview of the city with a great guide.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Marija was excellent. She had all the TV show and cultural history knowledge during the tour. She was patient, funny and truly warm to everyone in the group. The tour itself was very interesting and loads to do. Not for someone who does not like walking and you must be prepared to do some slight hiking (with regular closed toe shoes will do). The views are amazing and truly rewarding in this tour so ti makes the walking and slight climbing up stairs so worthwhile. Me and my friend who did this tour strongly recommend to add on the Trsteno Arboretum additional part of the tour where the car ride out of the old town area had terrific coastal views too. All coordination and organising this tour has been easy, immediate, excellent and in my opinion great for couples and women travelers to take up.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Katie D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved this tour! Our tour guide Ana was so friendly and knowleagable. It was so interesting to see where key scenes had been filmed and hear about her experiences as an extra on the show.

I loved the fact that the tour covered a lot of history of Dubrovnik as well as the show. You get to see a lot of the Old Town!

I recommend continuing on to Trsteno - a beautiful and quiet piece of paradise.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the Cable Car Ride (what a view!!!), the Old Town Walking Tour, and the City Walls Walking Tour. Our tour guide, Lidija, was absolutely wonderful! The meeting point for our tour was the fountain in the square just outside of the city walls, but a few people were mistakenly at a fountain inside the city walls. Lidija delayed the start a few minutes to ensure these missing people were located and brought to the correct meeting point. I wish all guides could be so patient and accommodating. Lidija was born and raised in Dubrovnik. In addition to the many historic sites in the city, she also pointed out where she was born and where she was married. She also had personal experience as a child during the war and explained the role Bill Clinton played in helping to end the aggression (they love him!). We had 16-18 people on the cable car portion of the tour; 10 people during the old town walking tour; and 6 people on the walk the walls tour (great views of the city!). There are 950 stairs on the wall the walls portion, but it’s broken up over many areas so it’s quite doable. I would definitely recommend all three portions of this tour!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic - worth every penny! Our guide Ivanna was knowledgable about the history as well as a downright expert on all things Song of Ice and Fire. We got to learn about the history and culture of Dubrovnik while exploring some of the lesser traveled corners of the Old Town. And, of course, we got to see the beautiful locations that were used in the show and how they were transformed into the sets we know. My husband and I loved every minute and would highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour of the old town. So informative. Highly recommend

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of our favourite tours on our holiday. There was a lot of walking but the guide was very informative not only about GoT but the local history. Shown comparison shots from the show with where we were standing at each spot. Once you're up on the walls of Old Town if you come down you can't go back up. Unfortunately we decided to walk all the way around and it was really hot being stuck behind people blocking the path. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

SBS
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved our sea kayak tour! Neither of us are very fit but we managed it well (aching muscles afterwards though!). The kayak guide was brilliant and looked after us really well. When we were told how far we had kayaked we didnt believe it...I wont spoil the surprise for anyone else booking it!

If you don't know where to look it can be hard to find the launch site but you just need to go towards the fort and you will see the jetty down the steps. We would have liked to kayak some more whilst we were in Croatia but the weather turned very stormy and we were too chicken after that!

The walking tour of Dubrovnik was great too. The guide was very knowledgeable and took us around the old town at a comfortable pace. It is hard though to get a good idea of where you are as the old town was SO busy and packed with cruise ships and everyone else doing tours. Perhaps there could be a tour which runs after 4pm when the majority of people have disappeared?

Thanks - I would recommend this particular combination to anyone, it gave us a really enjoyable day in Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Old Town Walking Tour plus Sea Kayak and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour of the old town. Dubrovnik has such a history and the tour guide brought it to life!

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing. Our guide gave us info on the history of the old town as well as all the insider info on the filming of the show. Really great even foe people who are not fans of the show.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Lana and she did a fantastic job. She was easy to understand and gave us a very good overview of the old town, along with many interesting details. And, she was very responsive to our questions.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend this tour to any Game of Thrones fans! Our guide was very informative and shows you pictures of the scenes filmed in Dubrovnik so you can recognize places as you go. You find out a lot about what happens behind the scenes while they are filming in the old town which is very interesting. The fact the tour includes entrance to the city walls is great and you get some really amazing views! It's worth visiting the park where Joffrey's death was filmed too. It was pointed out to us on the tour when we visited Fort Laurence, just a short walk up from the bus stops outside the Pile Gate.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was amazing, our tour guide Maria was wonderful and she spoke very good english. The walk around the old town was tormenting but totally worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Richard Mark D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic way to experience Dubrovnik Old Town - but not for the unfit or people with restricted mobility as our walking tour lasted about 6 hours and there are a lot of steps round the city walls.
We were fortunate as some people did not turn up and for most of the trip we had our own personal guide, Anna. She was well spoken, easy to hear and very knowledgeable. We arrived at the cable car just ahead of the main cruse ship passengers, with tickets. The views from the top are spectacular and should not be missed. The history of this area now makes more sense, thanks to Anna's explanation, and the city walls are great for different views - but they can be very busy in places.
A definite recommend if you have the time and stamina - take a bottle of water!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour. Cable car ride and view were amazing. Old town and city walls walking tour was really interesting and beautiful. Our tour guide was so informative and friendly we really enjoyed our day with her. Probably the best tour and guide we had on our 3 week trip in Europe. Thankyou.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic, well worth doing if you like Game of Thrones. It's a great tour of the Old Town, you get a guided tour of the city walls, and you get all kinds of interesting Game of Thrones scenes pointed out too. The guide is fantastic too, she knows her stuff and was an extra in recent series, and has some fantastic stories to tell!

We visited Tresteno Arboretum seperately from the tour (going by public transport), and found it a bit small and disappointing, so i'm not sure i'd recommend doing that bit of the trip (although i'm sure if you did it as part of the guided tour it would be far more interesting).

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour! The guide, Ivana, was amazing, and very knowledgable about the show and its behind the scenes and gossips. She also added details of the real history of Dubrovnik in between the 'Game of Thrones' main themes of the tour, making it the perfect way to experience Dubrovnik old town for GoT fans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We booked our tour online prior to flying out to Dubrovnik. Our tour guide Ivo was excellent. He still lives in Dubrovnik and was a wealth of information regarding both the city walls and old town walks. His knowledge was incredible and he could not have been any more helpful. The sights were absolutely stunning. Lots of walking involved and fantastic scenery.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We booked this tour from the UK before leaving on our Adriatic cruise. We were really looking forward to the GoT tour and we weren't disappointed! Ana was very informative and clearly knows GoT inside out, quoting parts of the script at time. She had also been an extra on the set. Even though it was September, it was still very warm so remember your sun-cream and water. There are lots of steps but I'm 62 and my wife and I had no problems keeping up. In fact, sometimes Ana seemed to be puffing more that I was although she was doing a lot of talking! A great way to see old town Dubrovnik if you are a GoT fan and see the locations. Roll on Series 4!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Outstanding tour. Ivana was our guide and she was well prepared for leading our group around the Old Town Dubrovnik areas. Highly rated and would definitely recommend. If you're into Game of Thrones this tour is it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very quick and easy overview of the old town which was exactly what we needed. The tour does not include the wall so make sure you do that first/after if you want to.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the show, the books and the real history of Old Town. It was fascinating to learn about how they are able to continue to film without having to shut down the site. Our guide had pictures of the scenes to refresh our memories and was very willing and able to answer any questions we had. It was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Most amazing tour we could think of! A simple tour around Old Town would have been too boring for us but combining it with awesome details about the city and our most favourite show? Awesome! We had a lot of fun and took a lot of amazing pictures...seeing 'Kings landing' up close was the best thing ever and the tour guide - a lovely and friendly lady - knew a lot about the show and the city as well :) Only thing that was kind of sad was, that there was no merchandise but hopefully that will change soon :D I probably would have gone bankrupt..so maybe it's for the better! :P

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A very good two part tour and great value for money . Our guide Marko came from Dubrovnik Old Town and really bought the history of this town to life . He was very informative with a great sense of humour as well . Would highly recommend this tour .

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message