Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour. Our guide was very passionate and knowledgeable and would recommend this tour for anyone interested in Game of Thrones. The HBO series was an option on our flight home so we got to see the very locations we had toured in Dubrovnik and we flew home.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: Viator Exclusive 'Game of Thrones' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was amazing, our tour guide Maria was wonderful and she spoke very good english. The walk around the old town was tormenting but totally worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend this tour to any Game of Thrones fans! Our guide was very informative and shows you pictures of the scenes filmed in Dubrovnik so you can recognize places as you go. You find out a lot about what happens behind the scenes while they are filming in the old town which is very interesting. The fact the tour includes entrance to the city walls is great and you get some really amazing views! It's worth visiting the park where Joffrey's death was filmed too. It was pointed out to us on the tour when we visited Fort Laurence, just a short walk up from the bus stops outside the Pile Gate.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! Our guide Lana was very knowledgeable, she showed us the spots where they filmed the show and gave us a great history lesson of the city of Dubrovnik which I really enjoyed. Definitely worth checking out, make sure to plan in advance as the tour is very popular.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The lady was very informative and passionate about her subject matter..if you're a fan do it. Don't walk the town walls before hand as this tour includes it, something I over looked and wasn't interested in doing again in the last 30 minutes of the tour again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money, this tour made Dubrovnik come alive. Our tour guide was wonderful and she was so very informative, making us feel firsthand what she feels by living there. I would most definetly do this tour again with my family when they visit.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Richard Mark D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic way to experience Dubrovnik Old Town - but not for the unfit or people with restricted mobility as our walking tour lasted about 6 hours and there are a lot of steps round the city walls.
We were fortunate as some people did not turn up and for most of the trip we had our own personal guide, Anna. She was well spoken, easy to hear and very knowledgeable. We arrived at the cable car just ahead of the main cruse ship passengers, with tickets. The views from the top are spectacular and should not be missed. The history of this area now makes more sense, thanks to Anna's explanation, and the city walls are great for different views - but they can be very busy in places.
A definite recommend if you have the time and stamina - take a bottle of water!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Richard Mark D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic way to experience Dubrovnik Old Town - but not for the unfit or people with restricted mobility as our walking tour lasted about 6 hours and there are a lot of steps round the city walls.
We were fortunate as some people did not turn up and for most of the trip we had our own personal guide, Anna. She was well spoken, easy to hear and very knowledgeable. We arrived at the cable car just ahead of the main cruse ship passengers, with tickets. The views from the top are spectacular and should not be missed. The history of this area now makes more sense, thanks to Anna's explanation, and the city walls are great for different views - but they can be very busy in places.
A definite recommend if you have the time and stamina - take a bottle of water!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Totzys
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Was a great tour, full of wonderful facts and of course the beautiful sites of the old city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great guide explaining about both Dunrovnik and Kings Landing!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was very good. I really enjoyed it and would highly recommend this tour to any traveler. The guide was very informative and charismatic so it made the tour both interesting and fun. My only complaint is that Viator's website doesn't indicate that there is an additional fee of 100 kuna (30 kuna for students with valid student card) to physically enter the walls. Lastly, be sure to do the 5pm tour to avoid many people and very hot weather.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Lana and she did a fantastic job. She was easy to understand and gave us a very good overview of the old town, along with many interesting details. And, she was very responsive to our questions.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Derek H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent walking tour of the walls and city. Our guide (Mariaja?) was evacuated in the early 90's war and was able to give a great insight into what life was like then Her overall knowledge was superb and she made sure her small party (only 6) coped well with a very hot day. Great value for money

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: City Walls Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message