Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 666 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was great, very knowledgeable and energetic.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Ciaran R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the best walking tour that I have ever been on. The guide, Andrea, was really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. She pointed out lots of places of interest that I don't think I would have had a hope of seeing without her. The whole tour was carried out a patient unhurried pace and we were allowed two coffee/drink breaks when we asked for them. I highly recommend this tour and once again I would like to thank the guide for a job very well done.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

klbasque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We stayed in the city for 5 days and were very glad we booked this tour. Walking around on our own would not had been the same! Having a friendly and knowledgeable tour guide made all the difference. There is so much history in this city and to add the GoT component was a bonus!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Belinda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really fantastic tour - we loved it! This was our favourite tour in Dubrovnik we also did the Old Town Walking Tour - but this was the best as the views from the city walls were amazing, and our guide Heini was very engaging and interested. Plenty of time to take wonderful photos, and yes there were stairs but they were very manageable and we were not rushed. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Thea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, very friendly guide. Learnt so much more than just wandering the walls on my own.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

laura h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you like game of thrones then this is a must tour while in Dubrovnik. Lots of stairs and walking but worth it for the views.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of our group is a fan of the show so we choose to take this tour. Tour was good even for those of us who had never seen the show. Showing the pictures from the show and how they manipulated things with CGI was interesting for all. This tour though is not for those who have any mobility or problems walking and climbing stairs....and climbing stairs....and climbing stairs....

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Jonathon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a great time on the tour. Even though my friend and I ran a little late the guide waited for us and then continued on. He knew the history of Dubrovnik and of Croatia so well it really made the tour of the wall more enjoyable. Anyone coming to Dubrovnik should definitely have a historical tour of the wall. It is fascinating.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Christopher F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Zrinka was a terrific guide, pointing out so many things throughout both the trip up the cable car and the walk on the city walls. Highly suggest taking this tour and an added plus if Zrinka happens to be your guide.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Amy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For anybody visiting Dubrovnik, if you are a game of thrones fan then this is a tour you definitely must participate in!!! The guide was extremely knowledgable and left plenty of time at each location for you to take plenty of photographs. The guide obviously loves her job and Dubrovnik as she would break out of the game of throne tour to tell you pieces about their history which was very interesting!! The tour lasted a lot longer than initially thought as she took us everywhere. I would recommend this tour to anybody visiting this beautiful city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Marci

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed this very much but would warn others that the climbing of steps is really much more than I invisioned

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: City Walls Walking Tour

Gail K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Andrea met us on time and exactly where we were told that she would be. She was excellent, very bright and animated and had an excellent knowledge of both the ancient history of Dubrovnik as well as more current events. She was most helpful to one gentleman who wanted to explore the walls, but was afraid of heights. Would absolutely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: City Walls Walking Tour

Morgan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fun! Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable and the city is gorgeous.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Brian S Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely worth doing. You can walk it on your own but you don't know what you're looking at. Our tour guide Marco was great. Very passionate as he still lives in the walls. Tells you a lot about the walls and each fortifications but also was alive during the Yugoslavian war. Learned a lot. One of the highlights of the trip.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Gillian M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic value and a thoroughly enjoyable trip. Natasha our guide was very knowledgeable and good fun. Great viewing platform at the top of the cable car. Walking tour lasts quite a while so wear comfy shoes and take water and a snack.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Pagey United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a group of 8. Met near the Pile Gate and was easy to locate our guide.Natasha was our guide and escorted us through all of the tour and was really good. Cable Car was spectacular with outstanding views. Walk through the Old Town was amazing with informative knowledge passed on and Natasha answered any questions that we all had. City Walls was great and with good views and although there are plenty of steps if you are relatively fit it is okay there are various places to rest and have a drink if we had wanted to. About 5 hours in total and to appreciate your visit here this tour is recommended.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Monica m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour! Our guide was spectacular - a local woman who told us everything we could absorb and knew the answer to all our questions. Its a lot of time on your feet, but worth it. The one and only thing I would have changed was to take the cable car ride at the end of the trip vs the beginning to eat at the top of the mountain. Well worth taking this trip, one of my favorite in all of Croatia

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Justin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this tour as our guide, Natasha, did a great job mixing in the real history of Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Jeff S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Except for the crowds from a national holiday and six cruise ships in ports, the tour was first rate with a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Jaspriya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My GOT tour was led by Zrinka. She is amazing and very well planned. Must take this tour for sure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

bethfam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Zrinka was terrific. She was knowledgeable and funny and so proud of her community. We learned so much on this tour-well worth the cost!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Aryana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. Our guide, Nikola, was wonderful and gave us lots of info about the history of certain things as well as info pertaining to GoT. We covered so many scenes! I only wish there was a little more time for photos allowed at places bc I hate taking them while guides talk as it and #39;s a bit rude

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message