Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 583 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Brilliant way to see the walls and learn lots about the history of the city. Go early in the morning to avoid the crowds!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

D Morgan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our girl was well informed and seem to be able to miss the crowed some how. She answered all our questions and more besides. Great tour

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Kat B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was a great walk and very informational. Views were amazing. Somewhat long - so be ready to walk! We loved that the local guide lived within the city walls and everything was very personal/real.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Elizabeth Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour!! our guide was brilliant, very knowledgeable and interesting!! Highly recommend this tour, the cable car ride was awesome, the walking tour of the old town and the wall was incredible, so much history still intact, amazing!!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Ann N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding guide, very well informed. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Ann N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Very well informed guide. Good value for money.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Arvind S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We could not find the guide,so we had to pay a different guide/group

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great history lesson and exercise! Scenery was stunning!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Andy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My highlight of my stay in Dubrovnik. The tour was excellent hearing behind the scenes gossip and seeing the actual locations that are all so familiar. Was the only person in the gardens and even in November were still beautifully green. Would highly recommend this.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Benjamin H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was just me and a friend on our tour so we were really able to ask the guide any questions we wanted. The tour mostly involved going to locations and looking at screenshots of the show to compare. More interesting was the brief history lesson of Dubrovnik and insights into the show production. Overall a nice experience if a little overpriced.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Ian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable guide who was able to improvise the itinerary as the wind was preventing the cable car from running. However, although he said he would give us vouchers to use another time, he was constantly checking and eventually we got our ride at the end of the tour .. which was actually much nicer. Excellent value for money ... as was all Dubrovnik .. and would recommend the three island tour as well which was amazing value, great company and a lot of fun.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Jaana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was great! The guide new a lot about the show and the history of Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding place! Great homeowner who spent considerable time informing us wit pride about her fair city all her advice and recommendations were excellent. City, food, people, weather and accomodation all delightful!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Margaret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent well organised and the guide was very knowledgably if you only book one trip this is the one the view from cable car was amazing the people were friendly the place is well kept and very clean

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Alice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was without a doubt one of the best walking tours I've ever been on. It was a fantastic combination of seeing the locations for Game of Thrones scenes and learning about the history of Dubrovnik. I would urge any Game of Thrones fan to take the tour when visiting Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Liana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was wonderful. It was so cool to not only see where the filming has taken place, but to also learn the history of Dubrovnik. I highly recommend to anyone visiting.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had the perfect mix of GoT sights and Dubrovnik history: really a good mix. Our guide was knowledgeable about both GoT and the city, and very personable. The sights we got to see and the views from the city wall were spectacular. It would have been nice to know some of the steep climbs and narrow paths required, especially as the day was very windy.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Morgan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was awesome. Loved seeing all the filming sites but we loved even more that th0e tour also included a lot of history about Dubrovnik and not just about game of thrones

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Maria was very knowledgeable and easy to listen to. She kept a good pace and had a very pleasant demeanor. Never got that self important vibe that is so common among knowledgable guides. We had kids from 4 to 20 and they all enjoyed the tour and our guide. It's a fantastic way to see the city....and much better than the walking tour of the city itself.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Gerald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous guide. Great sense of humour made learning about Dubrovnik fun.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Marven K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

All Game of Thrones fans who are in decent shape able to climb lots of stairs will love this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable about the show and about Dubrovnik. This tour was exactly what I expected and hoped for, and I highly recommend it. Please note: Dubrovnik has vey steep hills and this tour clambers up and down them a lot -- you must be in reasonably good physical condition to enjoy this.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A brilliant tour, it was great to see the scenes from Game of Thrones in real life. The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Dubrovnik - such a great city!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Lauren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was awesome! As a pretty die hard Game of Thrones fan, it was wonderful to see the city as it appears on the show. Also my guide gave me the history behind the city of Dubrovnik, which was an added bonus to this tour! I loved this tour and the addition of Trsteno and would highly recommend it to any Game of Thrones fan, and any person who loves history!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Iain L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We met in Pile Square after a short coach trip from our ship. Our group of 20 were given receivers and earphones so we could hear our guide clearly. We did the cable car ride first then a walking tour of Old Town. Great detail from a passionate knowledgeable guide who knew the answer to every question she was asked. The price also included a walking tour of the City Walls which was scary but enjoyable. The tour lasted around 4 hours and was well organized. These guys know what theyre doing. I would highly recommend them.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

IrisDelViento Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour with informative guide, enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message