Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed the tour, it was a mix of Dubrovnik's history as well a tour of places where Game of Thrones was shot, Our guide, Marija, was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable and clearly a fan! I'd advise having breakfast and taking a bottle of water with you as its a big tour, hard work at times with lots of steps but then that's pretty much the case everywhere you go in Dubrovnik!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our family loved this tour! Dubrovnik is beautiful and our guide was very informative. He took us to great places both from the show and other awesome sights. Great day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth noting that this is a deal for two separate tours at different times of the day! We didn't realise that, but it wasn't an issue on the day. Our guide, Marko, was excellent - very funny and full of interesting stories. Would definitely recommend avoiding the many Game of Thrones tours which surely most fans could work out for themselves?! and doing a tour of proper Dubrovnik history instead. Also note that you have to pay the City Walls entry fee separately - couple of people on our tour hadn't noticed that on their tour information and were not happy about it!

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our guide Lana was very nice, friendly and informative, she really made the tour! It was a wonderful blend of Croatian history, Game of Thrones trivia and sightseeing. Would recommend it to all, even non GoT fans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Marco was fantastic. He was enthusiastic and extremely entertaining. I would recommend anyone who wishes to explore the city to book this tour as we enjoyed every minute - even in the extremely hot conditions. Thanks again Viator for choosing such great operators.

Doing what: Best Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Professionally run and very interesting - a nice blend of the history of Dubrovnik, and the location of scenes from Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Trip !!!! Excellent guide by the name of Nick Nickolav he was fluent in English informative and great story teller . This is the best way to cover everything in city. highly recommended.!!!!!!
Even my teens enjoyed the tour they came to the tour under protest on the premise that this is supposed to be summer vacation and not history tour with your professor ... and by the end of the tour they thanked Nick for making it so interesting .

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour in every respect. Our guide was amazing. Very informative and helpful. It was so so sooo hot that day but we had plenty of stops to fill up water bottles. Beautiful city with the added bonus of all the GoT information and sights. Well worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous tour for all those who love this show. Very interesting too learning where each scene was filmed and how backgrounds were edited, etc. Dubrovnik is a fantastic place to visit.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Natasa, was wonderful! She had lots of good insider tips about the show, and could really point out well the places we were at and where they corresponded with the show/book. She also knew the history of the city in general very well being a local, which was an added bonus!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We absolutely loved this tour, being GOT die hard fans we were not disappointed! Our guide Niko was brilliant, he really knew his stuff and was more than happy to answer questions. I was particularly impressed how Niko showed clips from GOT on his IPad when we reached a particular part of the walls etc where it was filmed so we cld see how it was made . As it was particularly hot on our tour day, Niko also gave us plenty of time to take in the scenery and get our breath back once we had managed the climb up the many steps around the walls etc, practical footwear is a must! and bring water and something to snack on, you'll need it! We plan to visit Dubrovnik again next year and I'm sure we will do this trip again!! Fantastic Thankyou !!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite it being quite hot, the tour was wonderful and we were able to see many scenes where GoT was filmed. They had actual screenshots from the show, which helped with visualization. The fee for entry to the wall was included, so that was a plus as well! Great tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful tour. Must do activity for anyone in Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was exceptional. She was young and very proud of her city. We walked the Great Wall of Croatia the next morning but it was still almost 40 Celsius.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Very informative about the filming locations. Shown clips of the show as we were touring the city. Also gave some history of Dubrovnik. Would recommend to family and friends.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved the tour and our tour guide Lana was awesome!!! It was a bit pricey but well worth it :-

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were pleasently surprised that we were the only ones who had booked the walking tour. Barbra was a fantastic guide and we learnt a lot about the history of Croatia which we found incredibly interesting. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I'm typically not a fan of guided tours, but my wife and I booked a walking tour of the Ancient City Walls through Viator and I'm so glad we did.

The views of the city and Adriatic are amazing from up on the Walls, but our guidewho grew up in Dubrovnik, but spoke excellent Englishadded immeasurably to the experience.

She shared the history of the city and its walls as we walked, and also gave us plenty of more recent history related to Game of Thrones, which was fun. Our guide's name was Marija and, if you're lucky enough to get her, you're in for a treat!

My wife and I were actually the only people who showed up for the morning tour and, technically, our guide could have cancelled the vouchers for the tour stipulated a minimum of four participants. But, instead, she agreed to take just the two of us along the southern half of the Wall, which extends along the seait felt like our own, private tour, and it still lasted over an hour versus the typical two hours suggested for the entire wall. Given the high heat and humidity on this particular day, this half-tour worked out perfectly.

Even if, like me, you're not a fan of guided tours, this is one instance where it's absolutely worth the expense and effort.

Doing what: Best Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of the city and of the Game of Thrones locations, amazing tour guide - knowledgeable, fun and open to questions. The guide told us also about Dubrovnik past history and culture, including Game of Thrones anectodes on the movie shooting, while showing us the whole city. Highly recommended indeed!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I recently went on the Game of Thrones GOT tour of Dubrovnik which was extremely good. Our guide was fantastic as she was knowledgable and approachable. She also said that she had known people that had been extras in the show. She genuinely seemed interested in each part of the tour because she is a fan of the show herself.

There were two downsides to the tour though.

The first is that when we arrived to our tour, there were at least three other people trying to sell us other tours. The prices of these tours was no more than 20 euros. This is a significant difference to the 41.50 I paid via Viator. Understandably this came as a nasty shock and annoyed me greatly. I did briefly ask the other tour guides what they included and it seemed that they were shorter and that they didn't include the fee for the city walls, which is about 100kn about 10.

The second downside was that there were 16 people on our tour which I thought was quite a lot.

In the end I would still rate the tour 4/5 primarily because I loved GOT and because our guide was awesome.

Aaron

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good tour guide. Excellent knowledge of Game of Thrones filming locations and good knowledge of Croatian history. All together a pleasurable tour. Lots of stairs though so wear sensible shoes.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very enjoyable - the tour guide was knowledgeable and fun and considerate when it came to finding shade and climbing up the many steps! The group was just about the right size and I like the listening aid so that you can hear what the guide is saying without them having to talk too loudly.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message