Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 391 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was one of the best I have ever experienced. The guide Lana was very knowledgeable and gave us a history lesson along with the Game of Thrones tour. Dubrovnik is a very special place and I will always remember my trip and tour. I hope to return some day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

see the city from three different vantage points. Great introduction to the city!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the main reason I chose to holiday in Dubrovnik. The tour was fascinating and our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the locations from the series but also the history of the Old City. I recognised nearly all of the locations and played the soundtrack for the show in my head as I was walking around. I also did the additional trip to the Trsento Arboretum which was beautiful and quiet after the hubbub of the Old City.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Ivana took us on one of the best tours. First the panoramic cable car ride which took us right to the top of Dubrovnik, where we learnt a lot of history while enjoying the views. Next the City Walls and Old town tour which did not disappoint. It was really enjoyable, what a beautiful place! This tour is a must, especially with the charismatic Ivana.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great for both avid fans of the show and others who are less so.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide Nikolai, carried out an amazing tour. The time just flew by in relation to amount of content and locations included on this tour. Would recommend this to any Games enthusiasts

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This trip was fantastic and it provided everything I was looking for. It was 5 hours of walking and listening which was great for me but may not be for everyone! The guide was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and spoke excellent English and also German! Very good day out and very interesting.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Shown various sights, lot included for short tour

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I'd skip the cable car and do it on your own. No info was given as the guide didn't say anything to us for this hour. The only comment about the sites of what we were going to see as mention in the description was that it was a beautiful hill for suicide. Um okay, absolutely no interaction with her from the top on what we were seeing might as well have gone on our own.
Back down for the walking tour and it became quite evident early on she was just reading from a script and didn't know the info. She couldn't answer questions we asked. Ie she took us down an alley to an old orphanage but didn't know what the sign over the door meant or any info on years etc of the site.
Tour mostly goes through minor back street sites staying away from the main attractions. I'd skip the city walls part of the walking tour to. Just buy a ticket and do the walls yourself afterwards.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very boring tour, waste of money and time

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful tour with an excellent English speaking guide. What a beautiful city and would not have learned as much if we had tried to see everything on our own.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though, we both, me and my daughter, fans of Game of Thrones we were not planning on taking this tour but after some consideration we went on this tour and i'm glad we did. What a treat!!! Not only it is because of upcoming new season of GOT next week but also, we learned a lot about the history of Dubrovnik. The tour guide was excellent, perfect English, nice and friendly but at the same time very professional.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Daniella was amazing. She was so knowledgable and could answer all of our questions. The war museum at the top of Mt. Srd was worth a trip.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I am so glad I did this tour. At first I thought it might be to much doing all 3 parts in the same morning but it worked out to be the perfect length of time. With it being one of the first days of the season the whole area was more accessible and not overly crouded. This meant that we did not have to stand in the que for the Cable Car very long. It also meant that the walking tour of the city walls did not take as long as it would with a lot of people in the tour or on the walls. It was a nice small group for all 3 parts of the tour and our guide was really lovely. At first she walked a bit fast for me but after explaining to her that I could not walk as fast due to back issues, she really slowed down and always made sure that I was comfortable. We had a short break between the Old Town Tour and the Walls which was perfect to grab a drink and visit the ladies.
The guide was well dressed, well spoken and very friendly. She is also very knowledgable about the city and area and shared a lot of information with the group. Even when being drowned out by workmen she made sure that everyone could still hear her.
For the price of this tour I was really happy. It is truely value for money and I will gladly recommend and already have this to anyone that wants to have a good overview of the city with a great guide.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable trip! Knowledgeable guide, interesting facts.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was very interesting and I recommend it to all GoT fans who visit Dubrovnik. Our guide, Lana, was very informative about not only the television show but also the city of Dubrovnik. The tour length was just right and I found it to be very good value for money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The guide was quite good and gave us a good tour of Dubrovnik. It was unclear that we could do the Walls Historical walking tour on another day - did not state on the voucher that the Walls tour was at 9:30 and the Old Town was at 10:00 so we were unsure when to be at the meeting point. In the end we toured the walls by ourselves.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If I could give more than 5 stars, I would. Anna was a great guide who knew a lot about GoT (she was an extra!) We went to old locations and ones said to be featured in the new season. I will definitely book this again when I go back. A great experience, and definitely the highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic experience - out of season so I got real VIP treatment - personal guide plus trainee - both amazingly knowledgeable and friendly - excellent language skills.
Am now home catching up on Series 4 and ready with new insights for series 5

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb as I was the only person on the tour. Definitely a must for Games of Thrones fan as this tour provided some aspects of the show that will be aired in Season 5

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was great, and gave us all you'd want to know about GoT, plus other things you'd never know unless you were being guided by a real local. At three hours, it's a tad long -- and for those with physical limitations, the tour of the very steep city walls might not be do-able -- but overall, it was a great experience, and well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Marija was excellent. She had all the TV show and cultural history knowledge during the tour. She was patient, funny and truly warm to everyone in the group. The tour itself was very interesting and loads to do. Not for someone who does not like walking and you must be prepared to do some slight hiking (with regular closed toe shoes will do). The views are amazing and truly rewarding in this tour so ti makes the walking and slight climbing up stairs so worthwhile. Me and my friend who did this tour strongly recommend to add on the Trsteno Arboretum additional part of the tour where the car ride out of the old town area had terrific coastal views too. All coordination and organising this tour has been easy, immediate, excellent and in my opinion great for couples and women travelers to take up.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

MY TOUR GUIDE MARIA WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE OT PLEASE TAKE NOTE GREAT TOUR GUIDE IS SHE

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message