Pile Gate is a grand entrance into Dubrovnik’s Old Town, on its western wall. Built in 1537 to protect the city from invaders and monitor trade, Pile Gate was originally reached via a wooden drawbridge, which was raised every evening, the gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 310 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much enjoyed this walking tour. The guide was very interesting and was able to expand our knowledge of the place with lots of background information. It was a great introduction for us to a beautiful city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vladka was an excellent tour guide. She was knowledgeable and very pleasant to be with. We learned many interesting things about Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour not only for GoT scenes but of Dubrovnik history. Our guide had great knowledge. Thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was very intersting and knowledgeable. Definitely worth the time to get an insight into Dubrovnik and some orientation around the old city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour... The tour guide (I believe her name was Natasa) was great; she was very helpful and told us everything we needed to know about the history of Dubrovnik as well as showing us all the filming locations from Game of Thrones scenes.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

100 amazing, 100 recommendable, a must have for any GOT fan.
Especially at the Trsento Arboretum you feel as you were in the scenes.
Many thanks to our guide Lana, she did an excellent job.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide did a great job of combining details and scenes from the show with the history of Dubrovnik. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lana was a great guide. Good mix it of got and Dubrovnik knowledge.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Everybody turned up on time when we were being transferred. We were driven from Zagreb to Split by car...just the the two of us and the driver. All hotels were good and provided an excellent base for exploring the places recommend.

Doing what: 7- or 9-Night Best of Croatia Tour: Zagreb, Split, Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing! Deffo recommend

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic!!!!

What a knowledgable tour guide Indira was. She knew EVERYTHING! It was really fun even though there was a lot of stairs to climb. It was ALL worth it. She kept you interested with her personal stories about seeing certain cast members and plenty of funny stories of what they got up to. Highly recommended, thank you

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing day! Our guide Srinka was great. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ivonna was superb and the whole process was excellent. The tour was better than we expected. Ivonna made the tour even better with her professional approach and expertise in archeology, history and GoT. A must for anyone traveling to Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You get a great tour of Dubrovnik and learn it's history, parallels to GOT, specific shots from GOT, and what it is like to have such a popular show filmed in your town. Lana was a great tour guide. There is a lot of walking and steps which we loved, but dress accordingly!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic! Our guide was wonderful- friendly, informative and funny. The tour not only gave us an insight into Game Of Thrones locations and filming, but also the history of Dubrovnik itself. Highly recommended to GoT fans and nerds, and also those curious about the cities colourful past!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour with very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide Lana. We also did the Trsteno Arboretum, which was definitely worth doing. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour with a mix of Game of Thrones scene locations and Dibrovnik history. Our guide was a wealth of information on the filming of GOT in Dubrovnik as well as the history of Dubrovnik from bygone centuries to more recent events of the early 1990's. Highly recommended for Game of Thrones fans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

shielsy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Im not one for going on organiswd tours but this was superb? our local guide was very informative and extremely proud of her city. Seeing where some of the scenes from Game of Thrones were filmed was an added bonus. The views from the fortress and the city walls are beautiful.Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Natasa was an excellent guide with so much knowledge and passion for Game of Thrones which is what you want when you book a tour. She also told us about the history of Dubrovnik which was fantastic as we didn't know anything about it. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is a Game of Thrones fan :-

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a Game of Thrones walking tour purchased through Viator. The tour company was Elite, and our guide Natasa was excellent. She paced the tour perfectly, was helpful and knowledgeable.

I had been worried that the tour would be too GoT oriented, but it turned out to be the perfect mix of real Dubrovnik history with filming information. She had screen shots to show what various spots looked like in the show, and it was fascinating to see what was real versus what was computer-generated. She also gave us a good sense of Dubrovnik's historical role and the impact of the recent Balkan wars.

The tour finished by walking partway around the city wall. Those who wanted to walk the rest could do so on their own. We booked an optional add-on, a visit to Trsteno arboretum where some GoT scenes were filmed. Only about 1/4 of our morning group went on this tour, but I would recommend it if you have the time.

Natasa gave us a break for lunch, much needed after the morning's walk and the heat of the walls. Then we went by bus to Trsteno, a pretty 25-minute drive. This lovely garden is worth a visit for nature lovers as well as GoT fans. The cool, quiet arboretum was a treat after the heat and crowds of Dubrovnik, and we got to see some of the spectacularly beautiful Croatian coast.

Overall great tour, highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable about Game of Thrones and Dubrovnik. She had also been an extra for the series so could give us some inside gossip about the show and how things were behind the scenes which was cool to hear about.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to get a great view of the Old City. Knowledgeable guide who informed us of not only GoT facts, but also some of the history of Dubrovnik. Highly recommended tour, but be ready for a long walk, Three hours and lots of stairs!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We loved walking the old city and walls of Dubrovnik while learning past and fictional Game of Thrones history! The photographs of the GoT set really made the show come alive!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great experience. We got to see all of the locations of Game of Thrones as well as significant historical sites of Dubrovnik. Our tour guide was thorough and addressed any questions we had. His tablet played scenes from the show as we were standing in the location where they filmed which was pretty awesome. I only wish we had more of a warning for how long the tour was going to be so we could have prepared ourselves better. Overall I absolutely recommend this to anyone who likes Game of Thrones and wants to learn real history as well!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message