The elegant Rector’s Palace was built on the site of an old fort near the harbor in Dubrovnik’s Old City. The Rector was the town’s puppet ruler, set up to project an image of order and importance to the outside world. Elected for only one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour. Our guide had fantastic English and was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

There were only 4 on our tour, so, it felt like a private tour. Our guide was very informative and provided us with interesting and relevant information in relation to history and the present day.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Nora from the tour company that manages the itinerary for Viator in Croatia, managed to put us up in the worst hotel possible in Dubrovnik. We were 5km away from town, which is very inconvenient when you are visiting a city for just a few days, and it was an awful hotel, dark, dingy, no light. I was traveling with my mother who is 68 and has had a hip replacement, and she had to walk a mile to even get to the hotel since the bus dropped us off with our luggage in the middle of nowhere! Also, we spent a full day traveling to Dubrovnik from Korcula, a transfer that should be no more than 3 hours. And that's because we were forced to transfer with a day tour group that made multiple stops on the way to Dubrovnik without informing us! A full day wasted while on vacation! Overall very bad service.

Doing what: 7- or 9-Night Best of Croatia Tour: Zagreb, Split, Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

excellent guide, forgot the young ladies name but coming from the area gave a real insiders view on the history of the town and when asked her own experiences of the 91 conflict great tour and real value for money compared to the cruise trip.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We met our guide outside the Pile Gate and after checking that there were just two of us on the tour we set off. Our guide (I have forgotten her name) was very knowledgeable and passionate about Dubrovnik. As it was raining we had to take cover a few times which gave our guide the opportunity to explain more about the places we visited than we probably would have done.
Highly recommend this tour. Made all the more enjoyable by only being a small group

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I was lucky enough to have a private tour as I was the only one who booked for that day. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time which can be hard to come by especially for paid walking tours. My experience may have been different if there were more people on the tour though but still a great day!!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent guide, would recommended her highly.She tailored the tour to the group and on a very hot day made sure all the stops were in the shade. Fabulous destination - looking forward to revisiting

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

On first visit to Dubrovnik would not have missed this introduction by our guide Annie!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

VERY highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide (young Croatian lady) spoke English very well and also she was very knowledgeable. We learned a lot from her and we also enjoyed the time we spent in "Old City"

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very quick and easy overview of the old town which was exactly what we needed. The tour does not include the wall so make sure you do that first/after if you want to.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We nearly missed our tour because of the late arrival of our cruise ship. However we were contacted via text by the travel company and they managed to re-arrange our tour for the afternoon. The guide Ivana was excellent and clearly loved her beautiful city. The tour lasted nearly two hours and gave a great insight into the city. So thanks again to Ivana and Danijela for a great experience.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A short but concise potted history of the beautiful old city of Dubrovnik. We were there on market day which added to the atmosphere. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative older lady (name escapes me).
She dealt with our smallish group well, just needed to have more confidence in her own abilities- and less concern about how much info we could absorb. More is better!
Well worth doing to get an overview of the city before heading off to see more in greater depth.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The Young lady was extremely knowledgeable and pleasant!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour. The guide (forgot her name) was wonderful. Learned a great deal about the city. HIghly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Gill R
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was lovely and told us quite a bit about the city. Just felt it wasn't long enough or extensive enough.
We had walked through the town earlier and had seen more than what we covered on the tour

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message