The elegant Rector’s Palace was built on the site of an old fort near the harbor in Dubrovnik’s Old City. The Rector was the town’s puppet ruler, set up to project an image of order and importance to the outside world. Elected for only one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, we bought the supersaver pass but it's confusing when you turn up because you think both tours will be after one another, however one leaves at 9.30am and the other at 10am then one leaves again the afternoon and in the evening.
Recommend to go morning tours as less busy. Was very good.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We decided it was so hot we would ask to switch and do the walls tour at 0930. Very helpful staff agreed to this and we had an excellent guide, who was most informative about both the walls and live in the city at present time and also during the conflicts with Serbia.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took the 9-day Best of Croatia tour through Zagreb, Split, Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik, with a one-day side-trip to Mostar. The trip was wonderful! The best part was the water-- the hundreds of spectacular waterfalls at Plitvice National Park, the crystal clear blue-green water of the Adriatic Sea, and the many rivers and lakes throughout the tour. It was also very impressive to see so many incredibly well preserved medieval castles, fortresses, city walls, churches, etc. We selected Private Transfers, which worked out well for us to not have to wait on a large tour group. All of our guides were prompt, friendly, spoke very good English, were well informed and helpful. We were glad to have the 1-2 hour city walking tour and overview with our guide in each city to get oriented, but were also glad that we had the rest of each day free to explore on our own. It was easy to get around, the people we met in the shops and hotels were friendly and all spoke English. We walked everywhere, usually 10-15 miles per day, which we enjoyed. Everything we wanted to see in each city was within walking distance, and the cities were very pedestrian friendly. The hotels were all nice, clean, and quiet, with a large continental breakfast buffet. We had enough time to see what we wanted to in each city, but if we had it to do over again we would have spent less time in Dubrovnik we had elected the 9-day tour so were in Dubrovnik for 4 days and would have spent more time in Split, and also would have spent 1-2 days laying on the beach and playing in the water, and less time seeing the old cities. The side-trip to Mostar was interesting, but extremely crowded with tourists. We would probably skip that next time. Nora, our contact at Viator, was wonderful. She was always friendly, helpful, got back to us immediately on any changes or additions we requested, and was delightful to work with. We would definitely use Viator again for a trip to Europe in the future.

Doing what: 7- or 9-Night Best of Croatia Tour: Zagreb, Split, Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fantastic, I completely recommend the pack of the two tours. Its an essential stop in Dubrovnik for sure.
And our guides Maria and Jadranka were just outstanding and make our day sensational.
Big thank you to the girls.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent introductory tour of Dubrovnik. The tour was short but the guide was very informative and organised and the small group size 8 was great.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was good and Marko the guide very informative. Our only complaint is the email that we received did not make it clear that the two tours were seperate and did not run together. We were not the only people who were confused.
However we enjoyed both tours.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Would have preferred a wireless headset to listen to the guide.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Many thanks for informative and enjoyable tours. Whilst relatively inexperienced, he guide on the Old Town walk was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and without shouting was able to communicate effectively.

The City Walls tour is naturally different in format and the guide used headsets which were effective although less intimate.

Both tours were professionally managed, enthusiastically delivered, informative and enjoyable - and O would recommend them to friends and other travellers, Frances and David Sharp

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Short and thorough. Due to a lot of people that were in Dubrovnik at the time, it could be a little bit hard to hear all the information. Furthermore, the guide failed to communicate all information to all the people, as she told nice information to some of the guests, while we were walking from place to place.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

our guide was knowledgeable but spoke to softly.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Personable and knowledgable guide

Good overview but not a detailed tour

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Cable Car Ride to Mount Srd and Old Town Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour was okay but I expected a bit more. The tour guide was good but made jokes about things which I suppose to her was funny. We only saw a small portion of the old town with the walking tour and next time I would book a longer tour with a bit more history involved. But it was ok

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much enjoyed this walking tour. The guide was very interesting and was able to expand our knowledge of the place with lots of background information. It was a great introduction for us to a beautiful city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vladka was an excellent tour guide. She was knowledgeable and very pleasant to be with. We learned many interesting things about Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was very intersting and knowledgeable. Definitely worth the time to get an insight into Dubrovnik and some orientation around the old city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Everybody turned up on time when we were being transferred. We were driven from Zagreb to Split by car...just the the two of us and the driver. All hotels were good and provided an excellent base for exploring the places recommend.

Doing what: 7- or 9-Night Best of Croatia Tour: Zagreb, Split, Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the Cable car ride and tour

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Cable Car Ride to Mount Srd and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour combining sightseeing and adventurous kayaking part. Nice tour leaders. No objections.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Old Town Walking Tour plus Sea Kayak and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Informative guide, small group and a very good introduction to the old town. Would recommend.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The lines at the cable car were long.....save the cash just walk up the hill a bit.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Cable Car Ride to Mount Srd and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I had a brilliant time.The girl in charge was very informative and we were made to feel safe at all times.They even sent a scout ahead to make sure it was safe before we reentered the harbour as its gets quite busy in the afternoons.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Old Town Walking Tour plus Sea Kayak and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting and knowlegable guide definitely worth doing.Highly recommended

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The Dubrovnik old town walk was well worth it, while the city wall walk did not add much to what was said in the old town walk. Also, there is a gap between the 2 excursion and that menat hanging around to do the second walk. It should be clear that this are 2 separate tours with many hours gap.

Doing what: Super Saver: Dubrovnik Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great tour. I have taken many tours in many different places, but the tour guide may have been the best tour guide I have seen. She was very knowledgeable and engaging and clearly had a love of her city. Comprehensive knowledge of the city and its history, culture, politics and business.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Cable Car Ride to Mount Srd and Old Town Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message