Thanks to Dubrovnik's location in the southernmost part of Croatia, day trips (or multi-day trips) to nearby Montenegro are easy - the border is only an hour from Croatia's most popular city. And, with a long history and a lot of natural beauty (and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ivan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Transportation: big bus with air conditioning going to Montenegro. We were among the first ones to be collected from the hotel at 7:10, the last people were collected at 8:30. Unfortunately this couldn't be avoided and guaranteed in advance, so not the guides fault. The driver amazed everybody with his skills. Very safe, comfortable and convenient. Both border crossings were very quick at most 15 minutes each. The guide was excellent, was giving a lot of historical information. Unfortunately the road to Negushi village was closed and we discovered it only on our way to Montenegro. For those who came to the trip especially to visit this village it could be a major disappointment, that this was not communicated at the time of the booking. There were 2 bus stops. One directly after border crossing on the way to Montenegro at the gas station for coffee/toilet. Another one on the way from Kotor to Budva. In fact promotion of the ham sandwich with ham, which is not obligatory was getting annoying, but the views an photos taken, compensated for unnecessary advertisement. So the trip consisted of visiting Perast, free time in Kotor, free time / or walk with a guide to old town in Budva. The tempo of the trip was quite high, however the guide was going out of her way to make it comfortable for everybody and was giving quite a lot of interesting information. The guidance was in English and French, as I speak both, can confirm that the content was exactly the same. On the way back we took the ferry for 7 minutes to short the distance for 40 km, which was a nice experience. All in all great trip and highly recommended, even though it was mega long day we were the last ones to be disposed from the bus at 7:15 pm .

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

anil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Its simply awsome. My trip to Croatia would have been incomplete without visiting the nearby country Montenegro. Its superb with its coastline and huge mountains.

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Tera K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

i expected a lot out of this tour as i really wanted to see Montenegro. i liked the stop and walk through Perast. the scenery was great and the woman selling strawberries had seriously tasty fruit for sale. don't miss it!

our guide wasn't able to take us into Kotor which was good news if you wanted to climb up to the fortress. my mom and i grabbed a quick lunch and off i went. the views were incredible but i didn't have nearly enough time to appreciate them because of time constraints. that was a bit of a bummer but i understand the need for a schedule.

be mindful of your footwear if you are going up to the fortress. it's really slippery so you need shoes with good tread. and you will want lots of water even though there are locals selling it along the pathway if you are short.

can't say i was overwhelmed with the ice cream in Kotor. for the 1 euro price, i expected more so save yourself for Dubrovnik where 10 kuna will get you a huge scoop.

we did have some free time in Budva and i really enjoyed time at the beach there. my mom and i got fries and just relaxed with a great view. highly recommend this time out from the high pace of the rest of the trip and your vacation. plus, the people watching is fantastic and we weren't even there in high season!

it was a bit long getting through Customs but i can't fault anyone for that and am thankful for it in many ways. i think that's why they say the trip will go until 730pm but we got back to our dropoff point at 630pm.

i would definitely recommend this trip. had a great day!

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Deirdre D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time, Montenegro is beautiful. I wish we'd had more time in Kotor and less in Budva. The guides were excellent.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Jeremy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a blast visiting Montenegro from Dubrovnik! Very informative tour guide. Budva is a nice town and we had enough time to enjoy lunch and stroll through the old town. Kotor was pretty fantastic. A quick guided tour around the walled town with about an hour on our own. I would have liked more time there so we could have hiked all the way up the mountain to the old fortress, but we got to go halfway up at least to gain a good overview of the beautiful bay! Absolutely exquisite. The ice cream is not as good as in Dubrovnik or Bosnia as a side note. I would definitely recommend this day trip if spending a few days in Dubrovnik. We got back between 1800-1830, so we spent the rest of the evening strolling old town Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Montenegro: Budva and Kotor Small Group Day Trip from Dubrovnik

jerkajenkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were taken to a number of magical places that photographs don't do justice to its true beauty. A nice tour guide took us on a full day tour of an up in coming tourist spot. Montenegro is a must if you are visiting Croatia. There was enough time to do our own exploring and the recommendation of the restaurant for lunch was one of the highlights of our 6 week holiday in Europe.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Clara Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I loved the tour! Favorite part of it was Perast, the first stop, where you can take a 5min boat ride to the Our Lady of The Rock Church. The place was very picturesque. In Kotor, we had a tour guide and the Old Town was very beautiful. You need proper shoes to be able to walk up to the Old Town Wall as it is steep and rocky. However, you only had an hour or two stay in Kotor. Walking around the Old Town Wall would take the whole day. Also, be alert for pickpockets in Kotor, my friend had her purse stolen. Budva was a much modernized town, near a pier and a beach. The Budva Old Town was a bit smaller than Kotor but has some beautiful promenades and restaurants just outside of it. Overall, I'd recommend this tour. Only a small-group with great tour guide and a driver who really knows the place. Montenegro uses Euros as currency so you need to have euros in hand before the day tour.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Ljubica b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was performed excellent with very very comfortable transport and with absolutely no complaints. The guides and driver were very hospitable and friendly and provided all informations about the tour and places we visited. Tour has good value for money and tour company is trustworthy.Get out of city and see Montenegro - you won't regret it. Highly recommended

Doing what: Montenegro's Coast Day-Trip from Dubrovnik

MIKE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Montenegro was a great trip. Our tour guide was very friendly and provide us a lot of useful information. The mini bus they picked us in was clean brand new Mercedes Sprinter . We did not have to wait long at the border control. . The tour is well organized. We had plenty of time at the places Perast, Kotor, Budva we stopped out to have a look around and explore. Highly recommended

Doing what: Montenegro's Coast Day-Trip from Dubrovnik

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

No complaints, the mini bus they picked us up in was new and clean, the driver and tour guide were both great. Montenegro was interesting to see, the tour was a day well spent. I would book through Viator again, no problems.

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Gregory M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour to Montenegro was wonderful. It was an excellent way to visit a new country and explore a few of the cities. We had an awesome tour guide, Danielle. She was very friendly and knowledgeable. We learned a lot from her and definitely enjoyed our day! Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Devina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our day trip to Montenegro from Dubrovnik was the absolute highlight of our vacation in Croatia. We had so much fun exploring the town of Kotor, Budva, and another one. In addition, our tour guide was so informative, funny and kind!! We would recommend this to anyone thinking of doing a day trip.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

k.michelle.taylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic everything! Great driver, tour guide and local Kotor guide. I highly recommend taking the time to visit Montenegro while in Croatia and this was a great way to do it.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Stelios S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Even if it was raining, we had a great time. Montenegro has great landscapes! Recommended!

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Sakshi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended tour. Montenegro is beautiful and rich in history as well.
Tip - If you are going in off season, I would recommend booking the tour after you reach Dubrovnik. There are tour operators in Old town which offer deep off-season discounts.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful visit to Montenegro, Ana our guide was absolutely fantastic, offering to take photos for us and full of information. The bus is fantastic and comfortable. A really great day out.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

carlo-celine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed the tour to Montenegro. Ana, our tour guide was very knowledgeable, very accommodating and personable. We would recommend this tour to anyone who would want to visit Montenegro. Magnifique :

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Leah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Montenegro is a beautiful and interesting place to visit and Viator created a wonderful tour of the country. We especially loved the time spent in Kotor!

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I loved the day trip to Montenegro. The itinerary from Dubrovnik to Montenegro is well planned and full of interesting sights en route. Perast and Kotor are beautiful.
Excellent tour and well recommended.

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip is excellent and well worth the money, 11 hours of fabulous places to visit. Our guide was Ivan and he made this day brilliant, well informed, gave full history of Croatia and was very knowledgeable, so thank you Ivan. There was 6 of us and he made sure this trip was tailored to our needs. If you want a snapshot of Montenegro then this is the trip to take. The company is very reliable to book through and I am looking forward to using this site again in the future.

Doing what: Private Tour: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing tour. Montenegro is a must to visit. Bay of Kotor is truly stunning!

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Maria E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply amazing! By booking a private tour we had the flexibility to spend the time we wanted in each city and to make the most of our day in Montenegro. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Taylor B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was just perfect for myself and my partner - he was dying to see Montenegro so I planned it as a surprise and this one day was one of our highlights of our entire 2 week holiday. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us some history facts as we drove along the coast which was beautiful. We really loved Budva even making future plans to holiday there and the small town of Perast which was stunning. We definitely recommend this trip and wish we could have had more time in the day to explore!

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

GORGEOUS! Montenegro is like no place I've ever visited. It's just mountains of green everywhere you go. The tour itself felt a little rushed. I would have preferred to spend more time in Herceg Novi and less time in Budva. The ferry ride was definitely worth it just for the scenery. The highlight is Our Lady of the Rocks and it's one of the most beautiful places I've seen. The pics online do it no justice. The food in Budva was delicious. Kotor was really pretty as well. That tour felt pretty rushed as well, but we did get a lot of information from the tour guides. I know I'll be back one day and I can't wait!

Doing what: Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome bus tour from Dubrovnik to Montenegro. Pick up around 7 AM and drop off around 7 PM. About 5 stops first one to have coffee and use restrooms, second for a photo opp, third in the beautiful city of Kotor where we wished we had more time, fourth in a small village for a snack, and last in the beach town of Budva. The bus driver was such a good driver, navigating up the windy mountain roads, and he let me use his car charger when my smartphone ran out of battery! The guide was great, very informative and funny too. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message