Thanks to Dubrovnik's location in the southernmost part of Croatia, day trips (or multi-day trips) to nearby Montenegro are easy - the border is only an hour from Croatia's most popular city. And, with a long history and a lot of natural beauty (and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This small group tour is through Super Tours, which I had two great experiences with day trip to Bosnia, and this day trip. The small group was about 15 people and I was fortunate enough to have a good group of people on my tour.

I highly recommend this tour. Montenegro is beautiful and you get a good amount of time in Budva and Kotor, which are two highlights of this day trip. The tour is well organized and you have enough time in each town/city to enjoy yourself and to explore.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I know what you're thinking... Waking up at 5:30 AM to get ready for this early-morning tour isn't probably what you want to do in Dubrovnik. Let me tell you something. It is totally worth it!!! And, you can bring your kids with you. I was in the same boat with a 7-year-old and a 9-year-old. They were just fantastic and enjoyed every single second of it with us. Here is the routine:

1. Hotel pick-up Everyone in the van was super quiet because it was so early.
2. 3 - 4 hour drive through Bosnia and Herzegovina to Montenegro multiple exit and entry border checks through three different countries Croatia, B and H and Montenegro can be time-consuming and frustrating. The scenery on the way is amazing!
3. Breakfast in the base camp Bring euros if you want to buy coffee.
4. A short ride to the beginning point the ride is on an unpaved road, so brace yourself
5. The ride 2-3 hours begins and there are about three breaks on the way. There are bars on the way. So, if you want a drink, bring euros again
6. Lunch in the base camp this lunch was amazing!!!
7. Head back home and enjoy the beautiful scenery during the return trip.

Doing what: Best Montenegro White-Water Rafting Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a super-fun excursion through which you can see all the fun touristy sites in Montenegro. My favorite part of the tour was going from place to place to see different architectural styles, etc. My favorite town was Kotor, a town that exhibits lots of Venetian influence. I loved the way the tour was planned, set and led. Of course, my tour guide, Ivana and the driver, Žarko made an amazing team!

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Early start but at least u get a full day trip. Our Driver and Guide Joseph were lovely and Joseph was very
informative without being boring. How our driver manage to negotiate the winding roads leading up to the mountains - not for the faint hearted . All the stops in Montenegro were very good but would have liked to have had more time in Budva to explore. Kator was superb a very interesting medieval town. All in all I would recommend this trip to see another part of Croatia.

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful scenic drive through the mountains of Montenegro on our way to Kotor Bay to visit the walled city of Kotor. There was more beautiful scenery as we continued our tour to the small village of Njegusi for lunch, then onward to the ancient town of Budva. Again, our tour guide did a great job of giving us the history of each area we visited. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent day trip to Montenegro. Montenegro is absolutely beautiful. We really loved Kotor and the Serpentine Road is breathtaking. The tour operator was really well organized and resourceful. Our guide was excellent, his way of presenting trivia, insights and relevant jokes made our journey even more enjoyable. And last but not least, the driver was pretty experienced and skilled, specially on the Serpentine Road, he knew exactly what he was doing.

Our money well spent. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a lovely day out, Montenegro was beautiful, thoroughly enjoyed it. We had plenty of time at the places we stopped out to have a look around. I would like to go back to Montenegro to stay longer. The bus ride was fine I was expecting it to take longer after reading some of the comments however we did not have to wait long at the border control. The guide was very helpful and pleasant, it well worth going.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the trip was up front about being a twelve hour day and it was long. However, through the travel up, across and down Montenegro we got a good look at the country and the narration was excellently done by a most positive, engaging person.

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide is really nice. And the tour have chosen the best places in Montenegro.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a wonderful little excursion into Montenegro, and a relatively easy drive from Dubrovnik. Perast, Budva, and Kotor are all very nice and worth exploring. I'm glad that the tour included Budva so that we could enjoy Kotor later in the afternoon once some of the cruise ship traffic had left the town. While smaller, Budva does have a beach and we enjoyed just sitting out by the sea after exploring the old town.

My only complaint was that the tour bus was cramped. I'm 6' 0 tall, but there were only a couple seats that I could comfortably fit into. Another man who was about my height had the same problem. As a result, both of us sat in the front where we had a couple more inches of legroom.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was fantastic, even if it was a very long day approx. 12hrs from pick up to drop off. The driver Robert was very informative through out the drive you pass through Bosnia on the way to Montenegro and was happy to stop whenever the passengers wanted to. We stopped for coffee in a small town before we arrived at the rafting where we were provided with a buffet breakfast. We were then given our equipment, including a wetsuit not mentioned when booking and driven to the starting point. Unfortunately, due to conditions on the river we were unable to do the full 17km for H and S reasons melting snow so the course was reduced to 9km only however this did not spoil the day at all. once on the river, we stopped at several places to take pictures and climb the waterfalls. we even had the opportunity to swim in some of the pools on one particular waterfall. Once we returned to the base, we enjoyed a delicious Lamb lunch before starting the drive back. One of the most amazing things was to see the difference in landscape in three different countries in one day. It may be an expensive trip but believe me, it is worth every penny.

Doing what: Best Montenegro White-Water Rafting Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed a fabulous day in Montenegro. Our tour guide was wonderful. Very knowledgable and with a fantastic sense of humour. The bus was comfortable. Timely rest stops. Fantastic sites visited.
Thank you

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very nice tour, Montenegro is a must-do trip from Dubrovnik, it is a beautiful country! Anna and Ivan were fantastic guides and the schedule of the tour was well planned.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything on this day trip was great: it was well organized, the guide was very helpful and such a lovely person and we learned a lot of interesting things about the culture and history of both Croatia and Montenegro, even surrounding countries. Warmly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a nice day to Montenegro. The guide Ana and the driver were good. They were on time and professional. It's a trip highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent .
the tour company that took us on this one day trip to MONTENEGRO could not do enough.
the Guide ANNA was excellent and described all the interesting places as we went along.
the places we stopped off at were very interesting.
KOTOR and BUDVA very interesting places.
the restaurant that ANNA took us too in BUDVA was 5 STAR .
I would recommend this trip to anybody that wants a day trip too MONTENEGRO .

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I will be back! This trip is just terrific! We were picked up by Robert, our guide, and drove from Dubrovnik to Montenegro. Robert bought us coffee and hot chocolate drink during the stop over at Bosnia because we did not have the local currency. It was 3 hours’ drive one way and the commute was not boring at all. We had nice chat. Arrived at the water rafting site we had breakfast and then lunch afterward (ask for fish not meat-the fish is delicious), we had a wonderful experience in the river, just the right amount of exercise. We are so grateful that we have chosen to join this trip.
Peter and Isaac Tam (Hong Kong)

Doing what: Best Montenegro White-Water Rafting Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Alis
Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The trip to Montenegro started right on time with the minivan picking us up almost on our doorstep. Our guide was Milka (who we already had on the tour to Bosnia) and she provided again plenty of interesting comments and local stories for the whole duration of the trip. The drive is very scenic, with beautiful views of the stunning bay of Kotor. Our first stop (besides convenient toilet breaks) was Perast, where unfortunately you have to choose between the old town or the island. We chose the last one and enjoyed a short boat ride to the “Lady of the Rocks”, where besides the nice church you can also discover another spectacular vantage point of the bay. After this we went to Kotor, a wonderful discovery. It has nothing to envy to other more famous towns, featuring a magnificent “climbing” wall and plenty of interesting mediterranean architecture. We had a local guide that showed us the main highlights and then we could walk around on our own. Don’t waste any time eating here, just visit as much of the place much as you can. Too bad there’s not enough time to go to the top of the mountain. We strongly recommend to hold your appetite till Budva, a turistic coastal city that besides all the “typical” beach attractions, shops and restaurants, it also has a small cozy old town where we enjoyed fresh local food for little money (at Feral restaurant). The ferry on the way back was a nice and fun short-cut. The only complaint would be that we didn’t get to see Sveti Stefan, not sure why. In any case, great trip, highly recommended. As it happened with the Bosnia tour you can discover one whole country in one day, which also gives you another perspective of the whole former Yugoslavia.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Value for money tour which covered many towns in Montenegro in a single day.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fascinating day. Montenegro has so much to offer, the Bay of Kotor and the towns on it are amazing. What I particularly liked about this tour, over others, is that it also went some distance into the mountains -where there is incredible scenery, and through the old capital of Cetinje. The guide was very helpful and informative. A very long day (12 hours) but worth it.

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day. The travelling around Montenegro was broken up well and we were never on the coach for more than an hour. I felt that I would've preferred more time in each place but if you want to visit more than one place in a day then this is the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It is a really long day but totally worth it. I did not realise I'd signed up for a dual English/French tour so having to hear everything repeated was a bit annoying, but Montenegro was worth it. Just beautiful, and the walk up to the chapel up on the city walls is worth the effort for the views.

Doing what: Ancient Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an excellent guide named Milka who was enthusiastic, informative and had a good sense of humour. The minivan would have been great except for the lack of legroom (I am only 5'10" and had put my legs into the aisle as my knees were being crushed into the seat in front of me). It's all beautiful: the Bay of Kotor, Perast, Kotor, Budva and Sveti Stephan. Having done this day tour, we are ready to see more of Montenegro some day.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montenegro is a must when visiting Dubrovnik. The bus was comfortable and clean. Our guide and very informative. Montenegro is beautiful! My only complaint would be that I would have liked to have have spent more time in Kotor. I liked it more than Budva. I would have rather spent more time in Kotor and not go to Budva at all, but that's just me being picky. I definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Thanks - a great trip and much covered for one day.

Anna was great - informative, supportive and kind. Montenegro's beauty was stunning.

Doing what: Small-Group Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message