Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must see place including the now retired railway station.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Cadence D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We took this tour because we were visiting Dunedin for 1 day on a cruise and had limited time. We have visited Dunedin previously however we saw sights of the Otago Peninsula on this tour that we had not previously seen. We saw sea lions and seals basking on the beach. It was a wonderful tour and we recommend anyone visiting Dunedin consider this tour as part of their itinerary.

Visited December 2014

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was value for money at its best. The scenery on the train trip was outstanding and the country side, the old bridges and the 10 tunnels were amazing. The city sightseeing tour was also great, but I would have paid for this train journey by itself. A must to do in Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this trip. The train trip through the gorge was amazing. The only down side for us was that we were there on the day they go to Middlemarch. Although this was a lovely little town and we had a great lunch there, unfortunately we had no time left to have a look at Dunedin. It was just a quick drive round and back to the ship.
We would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

well organised, terrific value, comfortable and efficient transfers. A great tour

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Julian L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip, preassigned seating means you do not have to rush. The coach driver was extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave a lot of local information for the city tour. The train takes about 4hr for the return and is very scenic and beautiful. About $100 less per person than booking onboard

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip. Our guide Chris was very informative and gave us a great tour. Joe

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic. One of the best trips ever and great value for money. Our bus driver was entertaining and full of informative facts. Our train ride was comfortable with amazing picturesque country side, river and gorges to view. The staff on the train were a fun crew. I knew we had a tour of Dunedin but I didn't realise how extensive the tour was and how beautiful Dunedin was. We are so glad we took the tour thank you, thank you.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip - would highly recommend it. We were picked up at the cruise terminal at Port Chambers and did the outward journey by bus as were a bit late getting off cruise ship and train had left. The views were amazing. The train journey back to Dunedin was equally as spectacular. We then had a bus tour of Dunedin. The driver had great local knowledge. We were back at the boat with lots of time to spare.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The train trip was absolutely breathtaking followed by a bus tour which showed so many highlights of Dunedin our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable of the area and made the day enjoyable everything was well organised

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything worked perfectly our driver gave a fine description of the highlights we saw and he got us back to the ship on time.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day. The views were just the best. Everybody involved with the day were most helpful. A big thank you to train staff.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic. Well planned, scenic and historically very interesting. Tour guide very knowledgeable

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Taieri Gorge is very scenic. Lovely train trip with a couple of short stops along the way and a 20 minute stop at the end of the line before the return trip (about 4-4.5 hours return). The train has reasonably priced food on board (there is no food available to purchase at any of the stops). The highlight is the city sightseeing trip (about 2 hours) (all on board a coach with a couple of photo stops). Very informative guide.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message