Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 192 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Apart from the lady at the information marquee not being aware of things everything went smoothly, the train trip was great it was a very hot day but would definitely recommend this tour to my friends. A big thank you.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Tiffany U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I booked our own shore excursions instead of going on those offered by Holland America on our November 2015 NZ/Australia cruise, and this tour turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Our excellent pilot, Nick Hoyle, with Paravion Wilderness Tours, changed our itinerary to avoid some possible weather problems, and how grateful we were to have smooth flying conditions. It was a thrill to land on an open field on Maria Island, and then Nick led us on a walk and provided a picnic of hot drinks and some snacks. We got within a few feet of a calmly grass-munching wombat. On our flight back to Hobart, Nick spotted some whales, which we would have completely missed, and took us right over them for a closer look. Wineglass Bay and the cliffs of Pillar were magnificent. It was a splurge well worth it.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

grandma2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Small group was great with our guide, Bruce. We saw spectacular scenery and had an optional drop off in town where we shopped and visited the Cadbury factory.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Donald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very informative guide excellent stops for photo opportunities. A great time was had by all.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Geoffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour, which we highly recommend and at half the price the ship charged,so great value for money

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Darrell T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour at half the price of that offered by our ship. We missed the train at Dunedin station , but were bussed through wonderful scenery to a train station in the mountains and had a great run back into Dunedin. Can recommend a pie on the train washed down with an 1812 beer. City tour most informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Lynette Joy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour and experience with Good Company Tours. Fantastic guided tour of Olverston house, a good amount of time to explore Diunedin itself before the highly scenic and informative afternoon city sight tour. Tour actually explored more of the district of Dunedin, than just the city. The scenery was beautiful and we were given fantastic historical information.. Would highly recommend Good Company Tours.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Jillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Train journey a must see.
Knowledgable driver for city tour.
Well done and far better value than ship tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, in a beautiful place to see. Dunedin was one of my favorite places in New Zealand! We missed the train thought but saw wonderful countryside on the way to catch-up.....

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Gus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely first class. We where on a cruise and we opted to take this tour as opposed to a similar tour offered by the cruise line. The cruise tour would have cost us twice the amount for basically the same tour visiting the same places.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Scenery was spectacular. Commentary was very helpful. The bus tour around some of Dunedin's sites was very informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Delphine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fantastic day on the train journey. Took many pictures and met some interesting people. The train was comfortable and the hot pie for lunch was great. The tour of Dunedin was special. Our driver was very informative and gave us photo times.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jay b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Host was fantastic with his local knowledge

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The gorge train trip was excellent, the tour leader on the train was funny and informative. The Dunedin tour was also interesting, however there was probably a little too much emphasis on the student accommodation side to Dunedin

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Rollin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent only way to describe this tour. Seeing the scenery on the train tour is a must to appreciating the beauty of New Zealand.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

RAE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This small bus group had a wonderful time exploring Dunedin. The weather was superb. The scenery was fantastic driving to the old Railway Station, throughout the town and along the beaches. We saw two male sea lions basking on the sands, many beautiful birds and mother/father and their ducklings throughout the tour. Daniel, our tour guide was very informative, polite and above all friendly. Thank you for a great tour of Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the best city tour we have done and Olveston House was wonderful

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and myself joined the Taiera Railway Gorge Tour on 23 November 2015 and found it to be one of the most enjoyable experiences we have undertaken. The commentary throughout the trip was first class with the history of the line fully explained with many satirical comments included. The scenery was absolutely breathtaking and changed with each kilometre travelled. Even though the Tour was full there were no complaints about the service and food was sold at sensible prices. I would not hesitate to recommend this Excursion to any person we know who may be travelling to New Zealand. Congratulations to Viator for organising such a wonderful Tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Yun R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great Tour, Very convenient. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Denis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed the train journey followed by a city tour. Driver Richard very informative. Cost of trip about half of that offered by Celebrity ship. Will definitely use Viator again.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good railway trip, great scenery. City tour was great, very beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Graham S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A very well organised tour and covered everything promised. Also much cheaper and more extensive than that offerd on the cruise.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Brilliant Tour. The viewing of Olveston House was a real insight to the way of life for the wealthy people back in history. The house is preserved in it's original condition complete with furnishings and decor. The City tour was interesting and informative. For a short time in Dunedin as a cruise visitor this trip gave a genuine feel for the place, one of the nicest ports of call. A break was built into the tour to allow time to explore the City centre should you wish to do so. Great value and efficient booking and organisation.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip to Olveston House with driver/guide Adele, who saw us settled into the house with the volunteer house guide. She then went out of her way to take us to the Botanic Gardens and collected us afterwards for a drive back to our ship. Very good service, very good company, very good value.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

franky Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent tour and the driver tried to please us and get us back to the ship on time as the train schedule was delayed.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message