Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Extremely pleased with the Taieri Gorge train tour. The scenery was outstanding. The train very clean and quaint. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great trip on the train lovely scenery and the trip around Dunedin certainly showed us a lot of the city and surrounds well worth doing

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This trip was by far better than we could have expected. Our very professional and friendly bus driver, Richard swiftly sorted out some teething problems with our booking system and made sure we were safely on the train. We were seated in the dining car - and were able to photograph and see the wonderful views of the gorge as we went along. After the train trip Richard took us on an extensive city tour - his knowledge was amazing! I felt very safe with his in the driver's seat. Pat - in charge of the dining in the train - made a wonderful cappuccino - and the sandwiches were delicious. The announcer on the train was also excellent - easy to understand and extremely knowledgeable of the journey. This was our first Viator tour - thank you.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The bus driver Richard for this tour loves his city and made me love it too.

Because our ship docked after the train had left, we had to take the bus to Pukerangi and get the train there. Afterwards, I was VERY HAPPY that it happened this way. The bus tour, because of Richard, was much more interesting than a double train ride would have been. The scenery is gorgeous, but twice--maybe not so much.

The rest of the tour was just as great--again because of Richard. I learned a lot I saw a lot and I enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful train trip. Easy pickup and back to cruise ship. Beautiful scenery. Good live narration as you travel. Followed by City Tour. Would recommend. Considerably less expensive than tour through Princess.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Eric J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must see place including the now retired railway station.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Cadence D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We took this tour because we were visiting Dunedin for 1 day on a cruise and had limited time. We have visited Dunedin previously however we saw sights of the Otago Peninsula on this tour that we had not previously seen. We saw sea lions and seals basking on the beach. It was a wonderful tour and we recommend anyone visiting Dunedin consider this tour as part of their itinerary.

Visited December 2014

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was value for money at its best. The scenery on the train trip was outstanding and the country side, the old bridges and the 10 tunnels were amazing. The city sightseeing tour was also great, but I would have paid for this train journey by itself. A must to do in Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this trip. The train trip through the gorge was amazing. The only down side for us was that we were there on the day they go to Middlemarch. Although this was a lovely little town and we had a great lunch there, unfortunately we had no time left to have a look at Dunedin. It was just a quick drive round and back to the ship.
We would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

well organised, terrific value, comfortable and efficient transfers. A great tour

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message