Insider's Guide to Dunedin & The Otago Peninsula

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent excursion. The sights were fantastic. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour was great! Be warned though, the drive is long and very curvey. If you are prone to motion sickness do not take this tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Booked as a birthday treat, the views, commentary and buffet service on the train were great. Enjoyed the City coach tour too and the chance to buy some souvenirs.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very enjoyable way to experience the natural beauty of the area. Loved it. Well worth it.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Colin
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this trip to pick us up from our ship. The starting point was a few yards from the ship and we had an excellent tour at less than half the cost other people on the ship had paid for the ships tour. The big difference between the two tours is that the ships train is multiple carriages and they were served lunch but only had a 20 minute city tour. Our train was 4 carriages including a buffet car which served hot drinks, sandwiches and snacks and we had a 2 hour city tour after the train ride before being dropped back at the steps of the ship. Excellent trip worth every penny

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Otago Peninsula was an absolute highlight! Did not expect to see Sealions and Penguins up close. Our guide was friendly, informative and it was a great experience to be in a very small group tour. One of the best shore excursions we did in New Zealand whilst on a cruise ship recently.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing the best trip highly recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent excursion into the Taieri Gorge. Reserved seats for everyone and the scenery was breathtaking. Well organized and everything went smoothly.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good value for the money.everyone prompt and waiting fot us at he pier. Train comentator was very informative..all in all a wonderful time

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

tricia_biddulph
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was fantastic. Our guide Chris certainly knew his stuff, he presented and spoke very well. We enjoyed this and would certainly go again.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The weather in Dunedin was not great at the start of this tour, however the train surely made up for it. This is a great trip starting at the incredible Dunedin Station and then following the twists and turns of the Taieri river up into the high country. The weather high up was far better where we stopped at the quaint 'whistle-stop' town of Middlemarch. The train conductor on this trip was a real character and kept us entertained and informed for the duration of the trip up and back. There were many opportunities to get great photo's for the full duration of the trip. On return, our bus driver provided a very comprehensive and informative tour of Dunedin before returning us to our ship. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Extremely pleased with the Taieri Gorge train tour. The scenery was outstanding. The train very clean and quaint. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great trip on the train lovely scenery and the trip around Dunedin certainly showed us a lot of the city and surrounds well worth doing

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message