Insider's Guide to Dunedin & The Otago Peninsula

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip. Our guide Chris was very informative and gave us a great tour. Joe

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic. One of the best trips ever and great value for money. Our bus driver was entertaining and full of informative facts. Our train ride was comfortable with amazing picturesque country side, river and gorges to view. The staff on the train were a fun crew. I knew we had a tour of Dunedin but I didn't realise how extensive the tour was and how beautiful Dunedin was. We are so glad we took the tour thank you, thank you.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip - would highly recommend it. We were picked up at the cruise terminal at Port Chambers and did the outward journey by bus as were a bit late getting off cruise ship and train had left. The views were amazing. The train journey back to Dunedin was equally as spectacular. We then had a bus tour of Dunedin. The driver had great local knowledge. We were back at the boat with lots of time to spare.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The train trip was absolutely breathtaking followed by a bus tour which showed so many highlights of Dunedin our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable of the area and made the day enjoyable everything was well organised

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything worked perfectly our driver gave a fine description of the highlights we saw and he got us back to the ship on time.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day. The views were just the best. Everybody involved with the day were most helpful. A big thank you to train staff.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic. Well planned, scenic and historically very interesting. Tour guide very knowledgeable

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Taieri Gorge is very scenic. Lovely train trip with a couple of short stops along the way and a 20 minute stop at the end of the line before the return trip (about 4-4.5 hours return). The train has reasonably priced food on board (there is no food available to purchase at any of the stops). The highlight is the city sightseeing trip (about 2 hours) (all on board a coach with a couple of photo stops). Very informative guide.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Murray T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Chris the driver was great and we were well and truly back to our cruise ship on time after seeing many different views and nothing was too much for him to do.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Greg P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a must do tour when visiting Dunedin.We arrived by cruise ship and was only about 100mtr walk from the cruise ship to our meeting point for the tour.The bus driver was prompt and very friendly 7 informative on our way to the train station to board our awaitng train,lovely old style carriages,the trip was really great and with lovely scenery,the staff on board went out of their way to make sure everyone was well looked after.The city tour after the train ride was top class 7 another great and informative driver.Once again viator has our vote,we saved $130 each person than by booking through the cruise ship.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Now this is the kind of tour I love. Just 5 or 6 others in a small van as we drove from place to place in this interesting town. The driver/tour guide was most informative and personable. I really felt like this was a private tour for just my wife and I, and if you were able to ask her she would agree. In fact she still references this tour when discussing our trip to NZ.i

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic shore excursion , highly recommend . Dunedin is a very scenic place and the train trip was just great. ..perfect weather perfect day .

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very pleased with overall tour driver was well informed and we visited a few places where larger vechicles would not have access to.
Wellworth and value for money

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Peter W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

guides magnificent. reccomend

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message