Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Otago Peninsula was an absolute highlight! Did not expect to see Sealions and Penguins up close. Our guide was friendly, informative and it was a great experience to be in a very small group tour. One of the best shore excursions we did in New Zealand whilst on a cruise ship recently.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing the best trip highly recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice tour, the people who are running the tour company were very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent excursion into the Taieri Gorge. Reserved seats for everyone and the scenery was breathtaking. Well organized and everything went smoothly.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good value for the money.everyone prompt and waiting fot us at he pier. Train comentator was very informative..all in all a wonderful time

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

tricia_biddulph
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was fantastic. Our guide Chris certainly knew his stuff, he presented and spoke very well. We enjoyed this and would certainly go again.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The weather in Dunedin was not great at the start of this tour, however the train surely made up for it. This is a great trip starting at the incredible Dunedin Station and then following the twists and turns of the Taieri river up into the high country. The weather high up was far better where we stopped at the quaint 'whistle-stop' town of Middlemarch. The train conductor on this trip was a real character and kept us entertained and informed for the duration of the trip up and back. There were many opportunities to get great photo's for the full duration of the trip. On return, our bus driver provided a very comprehensive and informative tour of Dunedin before returning us to our ship. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the train ride with the scenery and explanations. Amazing feat to build such a railroad. Interesting to find local people at stops selling their wares. Liked chatting with them. Very friendly and social.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Extremely pleased with the Taieri Gorge train tour. The scenery was outstanding. The train very clean and quaint. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great trip on the train lovely scenery and the trip around Dunedin certainly showed us a lot of the city and surrounds well worth doing

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This trip was by far better than we could have expected. Our very professional and friendly bus driver, Richard swiftly sorted out some teething problems with our booking system and made sure we were safely on the train. We were seated in the dining car - and were able to photograph and see the wonderful views of the gorge as we went along. After the train trip Richard took us on an extensive city tour - his knowledge was amazing! I felt very safe with his in the driver's seat. Pat - in charge of the dining in the train - made a wonderful cappuccino - and the sandwiches were delicious. The announcer on the train was also excellent - easy to understand and extremely knowledgeable of the journey. This was our first Viator tour - thank you.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message