• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Dunedin & The Otago Peninsula

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Olveston House is a must-see sight in Dunedin, and the 1-hour tours are an incredible walk through this decadent, ornate, and elegant mansion. Built in the Jacobian tradition between 1904 and 1906, the 35-room house sits on an acre of beautiful ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

guides magnificent. reccomend

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had only 6 people (I think) on the tour of Olveston House. A wonderful experience, especially as being a small group. Others arrived and were rushed through all the rooms. Our driver allowed us plenty of time to see everything. Our driver then took us for an extensive drive around Dunedin. Beautiful place.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The best tour ,value for money, and shows how beautiful Dunedin is . Our driver was super and told us so much,highly recommend this tour is for everyone thank you pamela Porter australia

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Olveston House Tour was amazing. Such beautiful things inside and our tour guide was just wonderful. Didn't know what to expect when we booked the tour but glad we did now. Such a lovely house full of history.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very much enjoyed our tour of Olveston House and Dunedin. Your staff were friendly and well-organised and there were no delays at any point in our transfers. Thank you all for an informative and enjoyable time.
Keith and Judy Bell

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Our day did not start well for this excursion. It was confusing at the Port Chalmers wharf for the pick up. The company tried to pick up people that had signed up for different tours - ie our tour + people going on the train ride and city tour. Everyone had not been given the same pick up location. Some were directed to the tourist information I site which was close to the wharf and others had been directed to the private tour sign directly by the ship. The driver himself was very confused as to how many people he was suppose to have and in the end couldn't find 2 people. At last we left the wharf and headed into Dunedin where the driver had to first deliver the train people to the station and then go to his company's spot to pick up someone else. Eventually we got to the Olveston House. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour! It was quite a fascinating look at life in the early 1900's in Dunedin. Following the tour a different driver picked us up to be dropped downtown for a few hours of free time. Confusion again! This driver thought he was to pick up 7 people but the first driver had dropped 9 of us! I specifically mentioned this twice to the driver but he insisted that since he had 7 people on board he was going now. I offered to go and get the other 2 but he left. Fortunately it wasn't a long walk into town for the 2 people but this should not have happened! We had been instructed to meet our first driver at the railway station and from there he gave us about an hour tour of the area along the coast. We quite enjoyed Russell's commentary. If I was rating the tour itself I would give it a higher rating as we quite enjoyed the make up of the day - loved the built in free time! I dropped the rating down because of the confusion surrounding the pickups!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My partner, Lewis, and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Olveston House. The guide was knowledgeable, and the house itself amazing. Thank you. Jill

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was above expectations. Olveston House is not like a lot of other heritage building tours. The building itself and the story behind it is fascinating. The people who work there are so passionate about their building and their city. It is a very friendly, interesting place to visit. The pickup was prompt and hassle free. The tour bus driver was friendly and had a wealth of local knowledge. We booked this tour for a land day while cruising and it ended up being just a small group tour, so it was almost like having your own chauffeur driven tour at a fraction of the price for similar tours that we could have chosen. I would recommend this tour and this company to all other travelers.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good Company was a very good tour operator.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Susan M
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Again confusion at the port for pick up. Purchased tickets before leaving Australia for ease but would have been better buying tours while on cruise ship, less confusing. Very rushed because of late leaving

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Tour was great, the guide was great, and Olveston House was terrific. We're so glad that we booked this excursion!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had an excellent tour guide who has lived in Dunedin for years. We also enjoyed a semi- privated tour of the Olveston House. For the value, you get tour....

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message