Penguin Place is the incredible feat of Howard McGrouther, who began the reserve in 1985 in order to protect the endangered yellow-eyed penguin. Funded completely by daily guided tours, the conversation is dedicated to the stabilization of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

RedWagon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really enjoyed this Tour. There were only 5 of us and the driver Kim made sure we saw some extra's. We Loved the beautiful buildings and the craftsmanship involved. We saw beautiful gardens and Yellow eyed penguins. We also were amazed to see the Albatross gliding through the air.

Doing what: Full-Day Wildlife Tour from Dunedin

Claudia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fabulous!! We took this tour while on a ship, and I was worried about getting back to the ship on time. However, our guide, Matt, assured us he would have us back before the ship sailed, and he did just that. We had a small group of only 7, and Matt's exuberance about his city made the day perfect. We started with a tour of the city of Dunedin, and then we went to Larnach Castle. Some of the group toured the castle, but we went through the gardens with Matt who told us about all the native plants and how the imported plants are having an effect on the wildlife of the area. After lunch on our own in a nice cafe on the castle grounds, we went to tour the penguin habitat, which was fascinating. Matt is clearly passionate about these animals, and his enthusiasm made the tour all the better. Finally we saw the albatrosses flying majestically. I'm so glad we booked this tour as it was far better than what the ship offered, and it was much less expensive.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

kenlbenoit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Another well done, informative tour of the area. The tour operator/owner did a great job with his presentation. Oh, its an excellent value too. Thanks again! ken

Doing what: Full-Day Wildlife Tour from Dunedin

Teri T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was one of our favorite excursions on our New Zealand/Australia adventure. Matt, our guide, was able to give us tons of information about the Otago Peninsula. The photo opportunities that this tour offered were amazing and now my new Facebook cover photo! I would highly, highly, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour and informative guide. Highly recommended. We went to several different high points around the city with fantastic views, had an interesting tour of the peninsula and city, visited the albatross area where we were lucky enough to see several albatross and we visited the penguin reserve and the penguin hospital there. Lunch was at the local castle which is more of a manor where we were able to walk around the gardens and our guide gave us interesting info about the trees and plants of the area. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Suzanne C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Small tour bus from Viator for wildlife tour which picked us up from the cruise terminal, we drove through town on the way towards the Penguins. We learned about the endangered yellow eyed blue penguins and got to see their program to shelter injured penguins and the process of reintegrating them into natural environment. There is a moderate amount of walking in various places during the day. We walked by the coast to see some of the fur seals basking in the sun. I would have liked to go to the Lamach castle as the description stated but the guide stated we didn't have time. We did however, spend time at the Albatross center even though we didn't opt for it . We saw some albatross flying above but it got so windy cold, we had to go inside after awhile. This was very scenic and enjoyed the nature part of this trip but recommend getting the specifics of the day in writing so they don't change it on you.

Doing what: Full-Day Wildlife Tour from Dunedin

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very informative. Excellant guide. Wildlife park was great feeding the animals.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

jacklyn j

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Daniel is a rockstar - we had a fabulous day with him

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

jularaz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

no penguins --2 lumps of brown

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Experience tour guide worked at Penguin Reserve - fantastic experience with incomparable views - highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful, wonderful time on this trip. It was rainy, windy, and a little snowy ! in downtown Dunedin the day we were supposed to leave. Les, our tour guide, came to our hotel about an hour before and asked if we wanted to opt out. Like the idiots abroad my wife and I were, we said Ah, it's only a little chilly, the snow is melting as soon as it hits the ground, we'll be fine! Haha, don't make this similar mistake, people! The trip takes you out to some high high places, where the snow that is melting outside your hotel suddenly packs, and out on the peninsula you'll get the full force of the cold southerly oceanic winds. So, with the attitude of the customer is always right Les agreed to wing it and away we went for 7 hours. There were some things which just weren't accesible - we couldn't get all the way up Signal Hill, a winding, winding road which was packed with slippery snow. We couldn't get to the castle as the storm had felled 3 trees along the path though poor beleagured Les tried TWICE, once early in the day and once later in the day to see if the path cleared. What we DID get was an awesome, awesome tour guide who loved Dunedin, knew all about the history, was happy to field any and all questions no matter how weird. It is OBVIOUS Les loves Dunedin and loves to share it with people. And lemme tell you, even in good weather those narrow roads are pretty terrifying, driving up hills so high your ears pop a few times during the trip, and I'm sure some people look at a map from their home in the States and think Gosh we could rent a car and do this ourselves... Well, I don't recommend that at all!! Get someone who has driven those roads before. What did we LOVE? We loved the albatross area with the beautiful ocean views. We loved seeing Dunedin from all sides of the city, looking down. We REALLY loved the beaches. What we really loved was getting a good Dunedin 101 course from Les as we drove. This is an essential trip!

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

robert h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed this tour as it included a nice mixture of sites in Dunedin, a visit to the gardens of Larnach Castle, an excellent visit of the fascinating yellow penguin reserve on the Otago peninsula and a brief stop to see the albatross at Taiaroa Head. And in between the guide made several stops for us to admire the breath-taking scenery, e.g. views from on top of Signal Hill in Dunedin of the city, the surrounding hills and the ocean. We also made a number of brief stops on the Otago peninsula - everywhere we looked the scenery was beautiful! The pace of the tour was just right - kept us busy and engaged for a nicely filled day. The only negative was the lunch at Larnach Castle. The site was lovely but we found that the food was pretty poor. Lunch was at our expense but we were disappointed with the quality of the food. Nonetheless, this tour was wonderful and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

George B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent tour.

The guide was attentive and pleasant. Dunedin is lovely, but the nature and sights of Otago were the most amazing parts

A good value, too!

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Olivia K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a lovely tour, our German tour guide was very entertaining. The highlight of the tour was the Penguin place!

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message