Visitors and locals alike assert that if there's one thing to be sure to do in Dunedin, it's a ride on the Taieri Gorge Railway. Get out of the city, enjoy stunning views, and absorb interesting historical information all in one place by taking a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent experience. Just wish I had more time to stay overnight in one of the stops. Got lots of video and a few digital photos on the train.

The tour outside Dunedin with Chris was superb. I was his only tourist so we, indeed, had a relaxing time.

Heartily recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide, Chris, was excellent for day trip. Rail trip certainly revealed the rugged terrain of New Zealand and how difficult it must have been for early settlers to make a living in such a beautiful but challenging land.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

It was largely by public bus. I could have saved 900 by booking myself. The hotels booked were in a number of cases below the standard advertised. Too much travel in the number of days. Had I booked myself I'd have stayed at least two days in every place. I feel like it was a bit of a con really.

Doing what: 7-Day South Island Coastal Splendor Tour from Christchurch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great weather and very accommodating and knowledgable guide made it a memorable trip

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fantastic. I ended up being the only person on the tour that day as it was during Christmas and consequently the guide tailored the tour specifically for me.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

One of the main things to do in Dunedin. Lengthy tour. Some good pictures along the way but would not do it again. Would have preferred to stay longer in Queenstown instead.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Taieri Gorge trip: meals on the train were snack-sized and overpriced. Scenery beautiful.

Otago Peninsula day trip from Dunedin: Our driver Chris was charming and interesting. His love for and knowledge of the area was enjoyable.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Chris Roberts was the epitome of what every Tour Guide should aspire to. His attention to detail was meticulous and his PR skills first class. He started as a Tour Guide and finished as a friend. A most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Tour was fantastic. Everything went smoothly, all transfers and admissions. We highly recommend this tour in order to enjoy the splendour of the south island.

Doing what: 7-Day South Island Coastal Splendor Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Beautiful country made the trip worth while. Could have been better with shorter bus trips and not use public transportation for several legs of the trip. The hotels were excellent in Dunedin and Queenstown except for Franz Josef. Thank goodness a free breakfast off set the dismal, very old hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our day trips to Milford Sound with a helicopter flight over the glaciers and swimming with the dolphins in Christchurch (this was extra, but worth it!) It was a great way to see the 'hightlights' of the South Island.

Doing what: 7-Day South Island Coastal Splendor Tour from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Beautiful country made the trip worth while. Could have been better with shorter bus trips and not use public transportation for several legs of the trip. The hotels were excellent in Dunedin and Queenstown except for Franz Josef. Thank goodness a free breakfast off set the dismal, very old hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our day trips to Milford Sound with a helicopter flight over the glaciers and swimming with the dolphins in Christchurch (this was extra, but worth it!) It was a great way to see the 'hightlights' of the South Island.

Doing what: 7-Day South Island Coastal Splendor Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message