• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Dunedin & The Otago Peninsula

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Visitors and locals alike assert that if there's one thing to be sure to do in Dunedin, it's a ride on the Taieri Gorge Railway. Get out of the city, enjoy stunning views, and absorb interesting historical information all in one place by taking a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pick up at the pier was great. Taieri Gorge Railway tour was awesome. Lots of photos of great scenery. Driver/guide very informative on our city sightseeing tour. Good value.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic shore excursion , highly recommend . Dunedin is a very scenic place and the train trip was just great. ..perfect weather perfect day .

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was excellent and our tour guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Taieri Gorge was a wonderful trip, city sightseeing - nothing of interest to me Churches and University a waste of 2 hours in Dunedin

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything went according to plan. Were picked up from the port, taken to the station to get on the train. The views from the train were great. When we got back to the station the coach was waiting for us and we had a very informative tour of the city.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great experience. Well worth it. Will recommend to others

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we were picked up at the ship then taken to railway station to board the train,we loved the scenery, amazing,after the train trip we were promptly picked up to do the city tour,the bus was a very comfortable mini bus that allowed the driver to go into streets that I am sure he would,nt been able to take us to had it been a large coach,.the driver was very friendly and his knowledge of Dunedin was brillant loved it.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an extremely interesting and scenic trip for train buffs and those who love beautiful countryside alike; it was also very price competitive versus the cruise ship alternative, even allowing for the lunch they provided. We were eaten-to-death from the cruise anyway.

Truly a highlight of our Australia and NZ trip.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great train trip with beautiful scenery; cafeteria good; markets along the way; Tour guide on coach, Richard, very knowledgeable and pleasant with commentary; very convenient pickup and dropoff.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a rainy day in Dunedin, the train left about 45 minutes late. Unfortunately we had to wait for the cruise ship train to depart first, and we were from that cruise ship, but once we left the city the scenery was beautiful, and luckily for us it had snowed on the mountains the night before and this was still in summer,
The commentary got a bit much after awhile with added stories, but overall very pleasant and it was nice and warm in the carriages. The food carriage was good, but a different brand of coffee would be nice. The added touch by the locals to have that little market/garage sale was great. We have recommended this train trip to our friends.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Caught bus from I-Site near boat which took us to railway station ... no problems there ... train was terrific food and drinks were available on train then when trip finished we then joined a city tour (included in price) which was great . People who paid through other company (twice the amount) has separate train did not have a city tour when we told them what we got for what we paid they were very dirty. Bus also dropped us off at a pub in Port Chalmers so we could sample the local brew then a short walk to boat. Great Tour company.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The railroad station is beautiful and the train ride was comfortable and pleasant. The stops along the way were just ok as people were hawking their wares and souvenirs. There was a blind dog at one of the stops that was as sweet as pie and he loved everyone petting him. I would definitely buy this trip online and not through the cruise line as it was double the price.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a great experience. The scenery was breathtaking. The train staff members were very friendly and helpful. A trip to remember!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message