• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Dunedin & The Otago Peninsula

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Coastal Otago, and its one major city, Dunedin, has, in typical New Zealand manner, attractions both urban and rural, offering you the chance to see New Zealand’s indie music heartland, while having the island’s most accessible wildlife at your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pick up at the pier was great. Taieri Gorge Railway tour was awesome. Lots of photos of great scenery. Driver/guide very informative on our city sightseeing tour. Good value.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Peter W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

guides magnificent. reccomend

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic shore excursion , highly recommend . Dunedin is a very scenic place and the train trip was just great. ..perfect weather perfect day .

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very pleased with overall tour driver was well informed and we visited a few places where larger vechicles would not have access to.
Wellworth and value for money

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Now this is the kind of tour I love. Just 5 or 6 others in a small van as we drove from place to place in this interesting town. The driver/tour guide was most informative and personable. I really felt like this was a private tour for just my wife and I, and if you were able to ask her she would agree. In fact she still references this tour when discussing our trip to NZ.i

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was excellent and our tour guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The scenery along the Otago Peninsula was spectacular. Our tour guide was fantastic, he took us to this beach, and located a sea lion who was by chance taking a nap on the sandy beach so that we could have a closer look at it.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Since we have been to Dunedin several times we have already seen a lot. We found this tour very relaxing, the driver was most helpful and definitely all we were looking for in an afternoon tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Taieri Gorge was a wonderful trip, city sightseeing - nothing of interest to me Churches and University a waste of 2 hours in Dunedin

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything went according to plan. Were picked up from the port, taken to the station to get on the train. The views from the train were great. When we got back to the station the coach was waiting for us and we had a very informative tour of the city.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great experience. Well worth it. Will recommend to others

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we were picked up at the ship then taken to railway station to board the train,we loved the scenery, amazing,after the train trip we were promptly picked up to do the city tour,the bus was a very comfortable mini bus that allowed the driver to go into streets that I am sure he would,nt been able to take us to had it been a large coach,.the driver was very friendly and his knowledge of Dunedin was brillant loved it.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an extremely interesting and scenic trip for train buffs and those who love beautiful countryside alike; it was also very price competitive versus the cruise ship alternative, even allowing for the lunch they provided. We were eaten-to-death from the cruise anyway.

Truly a highlight of our Australia and NZ trip.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message