Insider's Guide to Dunedin & The Otago Peninsula

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

When it comes to wine, the city of Dunedin isn’t exactly awash in vineyards. This coastal city of 126,000 residents is better known for the Otago Peninsula, a sprig of land best known for its windswept beaches and penguins. For what it lacks in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic tour. Highly recommended

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great way to sample this region's wines. We visited four wineries and tasted a variety of their wines, mostly Pinot Noir but also some white wines. In one of the wineries we had a nice lunch featuring local produce. The guide was knowledgeable and quite friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent day. Penny was superb.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

IT WAS GREAT!!!
Penny our driver pick some of the best vineyards for us to visit. All of the wines were of New Zealands best!
The last vineyard our tour was the BEST. Our host and his wines were great and he was a very good spokesperson. I never had a Sov Blanc before. Very interesting wine it was.
Thanks
Steve Coy

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful. Wines were excellent, tour guide was just great, lots of info regarding where we were, where we were going to.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent afternoon visiting 4 wineries - scenery of the way was beautiful too. All wineries were quite different known for their reislings and pinot noirs. Excellent Value

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wow what a fantastic afternoon! Our guide Keren was knowlegable and friendly, she took us too 4 fantastic winery's where we tried some delcious pinot noir, pinot gris, riesling and a few other verieties, the lunch we had was also delicious and thats is saying something coming from me as I love good food and dine out a lot. Thank you so much Keren for such a lovely day.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Our host was magnificent and informative. The day was full of information and the wineries were great. Thanks

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great guide, great tour!

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

Helen S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This wine tour was amazing, even in winter. Beautiful region, gorgeous flavours, great wine!

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the relaxed pace of the tour. The winery with the cheese plate in the morning was particularly welcome to manage to wine intake at that time of the morning.
Our guide provided a nice manner, plenty of information, not over the top, obviously had good understanding of the region and the wine industry.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Another couple cancelled and the tour ended up with just the two of us and the tour guide. He was a fantastic guide, giving us both the history of the region as well as all of the wineries that we visited and passed by. We chose the lunch tour and received an amazing selection of various meats, cheeses, and other delicious food to make the day a wonderful tour overall.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The wine touring of Central Otago was amazing! My wife and I had a great time sampling the many flavours of Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris in the area and the other guests on the tour were a great group to talk with. Everyone from the driver to the staff in the wineries were very accommodating and knew their stuff when it came to both wine making and the history of the area. I was very glad I made the effort to take this trip nd would definitely do it again when I return.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Had a great time a small group is a must.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It was a great full day of wine exploration. Almost all the wines and cheeses that we had were superb. I was cracking my brains on which to bring home. So many of them. However, some parts of the journey seems a little rush. No much time to decide on what wines we should get, or just have a few more pictures taken. Other than that, it was a perfect day out.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message