Durban ATTRACTIONS See all

Hluhluwe Game Reserve

Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve, in the north of KwaZulu-Natal state, is the oldest in South Africa, drawing visitors for over a hundred years. Careful conservation ensures an amazing array of wildlife such as rhinoceroses (including the rare ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My Husband (30) and I (24) from Germany had a wonderful day in the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. In the park we saw crocodiles, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, rhinos, buffalos, zebras, several species of monkeys, spiders, snakes and birds. The guide knew exactly where to find the animals, it was great. Also the driver from Durban to the game reserve was very nice. He was a zulu man and told us so much about the zulu culture. The Lunch at the Lodge was also very nice, we were able to choose from the whole card of the restaurant.
We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

After seeing the Serengeti and Masai Mara, it was a bit disappointing, but the long ride to and from Durban cuts into the best viewing time. Should be a two day trip. The Driver did his very best and can only be commended.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

This gamme reserve is a lot more rugged than Pilanesburg. And much further from Durban than Pilanesburg is from Johannesburg. So we got back almost at 8.30 pm after leasing at 6.30 in the morning. The guide was well intentioned but like most guides they are on a mission to spew all they know! Had to reign him to the job at hand several times. Did not see many animals. Worth doing if spending a night there!

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Perfect nothing to be signalled, beautiful and interesting excursion

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Long trip from Durban gave us an idea of the agricultural economy of SA - sugarcane and eucalyptus farms as far as eye can see. Beautiful landscape of the Reserve, we saw zebras, giraffe, elephant (1), water buffalo (1), rhinoceros only from very far, some other animals as well. No big cats - February is not the best time. Very pleasant and friendly, well informed Zulu guide.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Driver drove too fast during the trip to and from the reserve and did not observe village speed bumps. The safari though was exciting.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Rachel
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

I loved going to to Hluhluwe. It was a long drive there, about 3.5 hours from Durban but we spent over 8 hours just at the game reserve, it made for a long day but it was amazing. Our driver was very nice. We saw only 3 of the big 5, but we saw lots of the buffalo and rhinos. We saw many beautiful giraffes and zebras. It was great how close they get to the cars. I suggest paying the extra for the open game drive, it was worth it. If you only have a short time for a safari, this is perfect for you. I would recommend this tour and the company.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

While we only saw three of the "big five" I would consider our safari to be a success. Our driverguide was both very personable and also very informative. He shared a lot both on our trip to and from the game reserve as well as providing us with information on animals in the reserve itself. I would highly recommend this safari to anyone who was considering it.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Deborah C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This trip was work flying 6,000 miles for on its own. Our guide Thabo was excellent. Full of information and spotted things that we would have missed. Our meal at the hilltop restaurant was delicious and the view could not have been bettered. Anyone planning at trip to Hluhluwe should definitely book it through Viator. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

On my game drive, we’d barely got through the gates when we came across a bull elephant. Unfortunately, it had no intention of moving, and our guide started sensing that Dumbo was becoming agitated. A quick reverse back up the hill was in order – these male elephants can be very dangerous. We watched him slowly trudge away from a safe distance and then continued. It was pretty hot, so a lot of creatures were undercover, but we did see warthogs, buffalo, zebras, rhinos and giraffes before sightings dried up. After lunch, it was a different story. We were treated to rhinos wallowing in mud, giraffes up incredibly close, wildebeest sauntering around and seemingly hundreds of impalas. The highlight came towards the end, though. At the other side of a watering hole from our vehicle sat four lions, just waiting for something to come their way and have a drink.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Note from Viator: This review is from David Whitely, who posted a complete tour summary over on the Viator blog.

Wyn G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

We had an excellent driver/guide, who did all he could to make our trip both enjoyable and to let us see so many animals.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Maire R
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Totally professional service. Driver to Hluhluwe and back was so entertaining and knowledgeable about South Africa that the 3 hour drive to the reserve passed quickly. Our guide for the safari was also excellent and when to great lengths make sure we saw as many animals as possible. Lunch was excellent too.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Retired Nomads
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Very anxious having to confirm once in Africa as well as before leaving the UK, relied upon kindness of hotel. Good day. Long journey, as expected. First vehicle absolutely terrible...impossibly small for 4 adults. Driver agreed to change. Finally set off in van and all was great. Very knowledgeable driver guide.Pleased with animals seen. Very late return but to our advantage having had very late start.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message