The South African province of KwaZulu-Natal contains the country’s northernmost stretch of Indian Ocean coastline, whose magnificent surf beaches draw people from all over the country and beyond. But away from the coast there is a wide variety of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Colin our guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

As a keen 4WD driver in Australia, I appreciated the different scenery and enjoyed this unique look at an unusual mountain pass and the people who live there. Most enjoyable and having been to the highest pub in Africa rounded off a very good trip

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My Husband (30) and I (24) from Germany had a wonderful day in the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. In the park we saw crocodiles, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, rhinos, buffalos, zebras, several species of monkeys, spiders, snakes and birds. The guide knew exactly where to find the animals, it was great. Also the driver from Durban to the game reserve was very nice. He was a zulu man and told us so much about the zulu culture. The Lunch at the Lodge was also very nice, we were able to choose from the whole card of the restaurant.
We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

After seeing the Serengeti and Masai Mara, it was a bit disappointing, but the long ride to and from Durban cuts into the best viewing time. Should be a two day trip. The Driver did his very best and can only be commended.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Well organized with friendly and helpful staff. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting. Scenery amazing and the whole experience well worth the money.l

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Fascination and a wonderful cultural experience.

Doing what: Shakaland - Zulu Cultural Center

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

If you are in Durban don't miss this tour, its absolutely a must with excellent scenery and great experience going up(and down) Sani Pass. Our guide was very nice with great knowledge and we were very lucky with the weather, great views all the way

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Worth doing once just because the place is so different than most places I've been. It is a long time in the van just getting back and forth from Durban. The road up into Lesotho is an experience in itself. Once in the country, it is pretty basic and you are done, off to the long road back home.

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our Lesotho experience.
We had a competant 4wd driver and guide and residents at the village didn't mind us seeing their huts and taking photos. Would highly recommend trip

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The actual village was a bit disappointing, although I suppose it was the best they can get to the real thing. The Zulu guides did their best to make you feel welcome and explained village life and very proud of their heritage and ancestor Shaka. Dancing at finish was fabulous, full of energy, noise and the Zulus enjoyed performing. Try and do the meal as it was very good and worth the money

Doing what: Shakaland - Zulu Cultural Center

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Highly recommended. This is a great opportunity to learn about natives, other than Zulus, and to visit their homes.

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fascinating history that was particularly well presented. It certainly wasn't Disneyland, but provided a insight into daily Zulu life

Doing what: Shakaland - Zulu Cultural Center

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

This gamme reserve is a lot more rugged than Pilanesburg. And much further from Durban than Pilanesburg is from Johannesburg. So we got back almost at 8.30 pm after leasing at 6.30 in the morning. The guide was well intentioned but like most guides they are on a mission to spew all they know! Had to reign him to the job at hand several times. Did not see many animals. Worth doing if spending a night there!

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was a great trip it does take 12-14 hours and the road is rough,but the scenery is wonderful you feel like you have been transported to another time when you reach Lesotho.

Doing what: Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

This is not where the Zulu live,but the old TV setting from a 1980's TV series. The Zulu guide we had was joking and acting,not as educational as this could be with proper guide.

Doing what: Shakaland - Zulu Cultural Center

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message