Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We purchased the Royal Pass for the 48 hour hop on hop off tours. This included the entry three attractions, the Royal Britanna Yacht, the Holyrood house/Palace and fast entry into the Edinburgh Castle. The majority of the tours were audio with ear buds. At first I didn't think I would like it without a live guide, but to my surprise it was very informative and timely. The routes around the city cover nearly the entire city so ther is lots to see. Best Deal Ever!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour what with the tour of Holy Rood House Palace, Edinburgh Castle and the various thing in between. We had some difficulty on our last day with the bus pick-ups and were treated very rudely by one of the drivers but the day manager was very apologetic. The Royal Yacht Britannia was very interesting and gives you a good look at royal life. This was the last of the tours and we were very tired but still managed to put in some good time sight seeing and shopping.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Julia G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent value for money. We used the buses a lot and found the staff helpful. We visited Holyrood, the Royal Yacht, Britannia and Edinburgh castle. By doing this we got the bus trips virtually free. We especially enjoyed the Royal Yacht and would recommend this to people with mobility problems.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Edinburgh Castle is a must see. We opted to purchase advance tickets, which saved us a lot of time at the door. We spent about 3.5 hours exploring the castle on our own. There are tour guides available if you prefer a guided tour. The castle is amazing and there is so much to see. I would definitely recommend taking your time and spending at least 3 hours here. So much history and incredible views of the city from the castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Smart choice.. to spend 2 days in Edinburgh.
Gives you access to the main tourist spots -- Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace.
Also allows you access on 5 different routes.. Really great way to explore the city

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Edinburgh Castle was fantastic. lots of crowds but with the Viator voucher we were able to bypass them all and go straight to the service desk and get our tickets and enter. The tour was good especially Mary Queen of Scotts. I loved the vistas from the castle and can see why it was the safest place in the land.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding way to see the city and surrounding areas, the Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle and Royal Britannia entries included are all well worth the price of the "package"

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for the money! We used the Hop-On Hop-Off bus for the full 48 hours to get around Edinburgh, it was a good value which included our ticket cost to Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I love Edinburgh castle!! Amazing view of the city on the top of the castle

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message