Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Edinburgh Castle is beautiful, its quite a walkable city. The Hop on, Hop off service is excellent.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best way to get around in Edinburgh! The buses came quickly and did their best to get around despite the fringe and Tattoo traffic. The 3 passes that came with the bus tickets were a great advantage. We got into each attraction quickly, skipping the long queues and had fun in each attraction. We took the blue bus out to the Britannia first which was helpful, then the rest of the time we spent in town. Holyrod Palace is beautiful and Edinburgh castle is amazing, leave plenty of time for both these attractions. Overall, it was a great resource for our trip.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved Edinburgh Castle from it's entrance to it's exit with all its hidden nooks and crannies and amazing historical displays. We were unlucky enough to go when they were setting up for the Tattoo but that's not such a bad thing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hop on bus was great! Stops everywhere around Edinburgh. We LOVED Edinburgh Castle AND Royal Yacht Britannia!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent Value for money. The express entrance into the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace was very nice and having access to all 4 tours meant that I saw all of the sites in the city that I wanted to see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful way to see this fascinating city and experience its history! While the bus drivers were fine, it would help if we got more information about where the various attractions are as we exit the bus for example we exited for Edinburgh Palace and ended up at Edinburgh Castle! For novice travelers, you can't give too much information. Assume we have never been there before!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was great. Enjoyed all three of the main attractions Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse, and Royal Britannia included with the Royal Edinburgh ticket. Hop-On, Hop-Off bus is also a great way to get about and learn the history of the city, and the staff are always so helpful if you have questions about which bus line to take or which stop you need to get off at.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hop on/Hop off busses were wonderful. Could easily get around the city using one of the 4 bus lines. I used the Edinburgh Castle pass and the Palace of Holyroohhouse pass. The green Edinburgh tour bus was the best with live tour guides. I learned something each time I got on the bus, even those it may have been the same route. Great way to see Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Love, love, love Edinburgh Castle! Viator makes everything easy!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Unfortunately I hardly got to use these passes...many of the castles I wanted to visit in Scotland where not on the list. The only place we used the tickets was the Edinburgh castle and the lineup was only about 10 minutes, so we really didn't save much time.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing deal. The old Routemaster bus was the best tour guide with life commentary. the ladies that we had were terrific and full of knowledge, it also brought back memories for me as my parents own a Routemaster bus. there are 4 buses to use 2 with life tour guides and others are audio. we a central place to pick up either of the 4 buses and also places of interest where they all go as well so you can use either of the buses. Only the Blue Bus takes you to Britannia. We enjoy visiting Edinburgh Castle. there is a free tour with guide of the castle. Holyrood House and HMS Britannia have audio tours. I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Edinburgh. best way to get round and plenty of history as well.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We purchased the Royal Pass for the 48 hour hop on hop off tours. This included the entry three attractions, the Royal Britanna Yacht, the Holyrood house/Palace and fast entry into the Edinburgh Castle. The majority of the tours were audio with ear buds. At first I didn't think I would like it without a live guide, but to my surprise it was very informative and timely. The routes around the city cover nearly the entire city so ther is lots to see. Best Deal Ever!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour what with the tour of Holy Rood House Palace, Edinburgh Castle and the various thing in between. We had some difficulty on our last day with the bus pick-ups and were treated very rudely by one of the drivers but the day manager was very apologetic. The Royal Yacht Britannia was very interesting and gives you a good look at royal life. This was the last of the tours and we were very tired but still managed to put in some good time sight seeing and shopping.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Julia G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent value for money. We used the buses a lot and found the staff helpful. We visited Holyrood, the Royal Yacht, Britannia and Edinburgh castle. By doing this we got the bus trips virtually free. We especially enjoyed the Royal Yacht and would recommend this to people with mobility problems.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Edinburgh Castle is a must see. We opted to purchase advance tickets, which saved us a lot of time at the door. We spent about 3.5 hours exploring the castle on our own. There are tour guides available if you prefer a guided tour. The castle is amazing and there is so much to see. I would definitely recommend taking your time and spending at least 3 hours here. So much history and incredible views of the city from the castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Smart choice.. to spend 2 days in Edinburgh.
Gives you access to the main tourist spots -- Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace.
Also allows you access on 5 different routes.. Really great way to explore the city

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Edinburgh Castle was fantastic. lots of crowds but with the Viator voucher we were able to bypass them all and go straight to the service desk and get our tickets and enter. The tour was good especially Mary Queen of Scotts. I loved the vistas from the castle and can see why it was the safest place in the land.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding way to see the city and surrounding areas, the Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle and Royal Britannia entries included are all well worth the price of the "package"

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for the money! We used the Hop-On Hop-Off bus for the full 48 hours to get around Edinburgh, it was a good value which included our ticket cost to Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I love Edinburgh castle!! Amazing view of the city on the top of the castle

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message