Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Castle

Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brent J New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gotta say Hop on Hop off is a great way to see a city if time is limited.....Edinburgh Castle is a must see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Anna USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! The Royal Edinburgh Ticket includes access to all of the double decker bus tours in their network plus admission to Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Yacht Britannia and Hollyrood Palace. I was able to go to the Castle and the Yacht and used the buses for 48 hours. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

VLMD94

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We recommend purchasing this entrance ticket to avoid waiting in lines. Edinburgh castle is a top site to visit and can have long lines. Audio-guides are available and also recommended to get a more in-depth overview of the castle and its history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

LYNN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was a lovely young lady who kept us entertained as well as informed. She provided much insight into Edinburgh's history, tales, and locations. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire tour which ended in Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This purchase involved just obtaining a voucher for entrance into the Edinburgh Castle avoiding the lines for ticket purchase. It is for people who either want to use the audio tour or who just want to tour the castle under their own direction which we do. The voucher worked as advertised, although you do need to go through a station in the entrance area to swap the voucher for a ticket. We had no wait at all there not sure whether in the summer there would be delays with this swap process. Certainly Edinburgh Castle is something everyone needs to visit while in Edinburgh!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great little tour. Helps you understand the Royal Mile a little better. Edinburgh Castle is spectacular. Could have spent a whole day just exploring that. I have forgotten our tour guides name but she was sweet woman and was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Fernando M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Hop-On Hop-Off Tours were very handy given the short amount of time we had to see everything. However, some of the bus stops could be clearer but when in doubt return to Waverley Bridge because all of them depart from there. The Edinburgh Castle Admission was practical even though when there weren't any queues when we went. However, since we didn't stop at the ticket booth we had to look for a map as there weren't any at the entrance. Even though the castle tour could be done without the audio tour, I was disappointed that this wasn't included in our admission. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our Guide Charles was amazing! He told us so much about the history of Edinburgh and took us to some very nice courts and closes. Together we went into Edinburgh Castle and there he told us something about the castle and recommended in which order we could explore the remaining castle on our own.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

chtesl c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Edinburgh Castle is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been! So happy I got to Skip the Line - it was looong and drizzling! Thanks Viator! :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I have always wanted to visit the Edinburgh Castle. It definitely lived up to my imaginings. I would recommend seeing this piece of history to everyone

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour is quite simply fantastic value for money and one of the best ways to see as much of Edinburgh as possible in a short space of time - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going there. Also great value for money with fast tracked entry to Britannia Yacht, Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse. It's worth knowing that attractions close at 4pm at weekends in winter?? so you should plan your day with that in mind.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shaneen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour hosted by Margaret. We saw lots of very interesting things that we had previously walked right past without noticing! Margaret's commentary was informative and pitched at completely the right level. We went into Edinburgh Castle where Margaret describe the various places of interest then left us to our own devices to explore. Timings given for the length of each bit of the tour were spot on. Really enjoyed it and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Laurelee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day we had with this one!! We used our Hop-On Hop-Off pass which included passes to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. These two attractions were simply amazing and wonderful. especially the castle.
The tour itself around Edinburgh was entertaining and interesting as well. The commentator was informative and amusing as well. Highly recommend if you are in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed my Edinburgh Historical walking tour of the Royal Mile very much! Our guide Hannah was great, well informed, friendly, warm and funny. I learned some very interesting details about the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

glendahall13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very cold wet weekend in Edinburgh but this 3 in one tour ticket experience we felt well worth it.
Hop on bus good value and stops located well.
Holyrood House well worth it too
Really enjoyed the Royal Yacht.
and Edinburgh castle was excellent even though we did get wet through doing the visit.
Both Holyrood , Castle and Royal Yacht we had straight through entry with no waiting included in the price

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Alison C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour of Edinburgh castle was brilliant. Lots of interesting facts about Scottish history. Would recommend it highly x

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Edinburgh Castle is beautiful, its quite a walkable city. The Hop on, Hop off service is excellent.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gail M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Hop-On hop-Off tour s was the best way to see all of Edinburgh. We could get off and spend time, then get back on. We not only saw Edinburgh Castle, which was awesome, but we also got to tour the Hollyrood Palace with this ticket. Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful, would love to return. I loved Edinburgh and enjoyed the hop on/off bus. Saw lots , loved Edinburgh castle and Royal Yacht Brittania . Loved the streets and shops and the lovely friendly Scots. We were lucky to see pipers in their kilts and the tartan was magnificent. The pubs had a wonderful atmosphere and greet tasty food . Everyone should visit

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Cynthia A Trinidad and Tobago

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Firstly we had difficulty finding the office to redeem our vouchers. The train station is a huge place and it is not in the station but at the side.Then we spent a lot of time queuing for the bus. There was always so much people waiting and hop on off was not always practical, especially for 4 passengers. We had to take the regular bus sometimes.
We only managed the tour of Edinburgh Castle and the Britannia which was very interesting.
The persons who managed the tours at the stops were very helpful.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kay W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best way to get around in Edinburgh! The buses came quickly and did their best to get around despite the fringe and Tattoo traffic. The 3 passes that came with the bus tickets were a great advantage. We got into each attraction quickly, skipping the long queues and had fun in each attraction. We took the blue bus out to the Britannia first which was helpful, then the rest of the time we spent in town. Holyrod Palace is beautiful and Edinburgh castle is amazing, leave plenty of time for both these attractions. Overall, it was a great resource for our trip.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

D L H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved Edinburgh Castle from it's entrance to it's exit with all its hidden nooks and crannies and amazing historical displays. We were unlucky enough to go when they were setting up for the Tattoo but that's not such a bad thing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hop on bus was great! Stops everywhere around Edinburgh. We LOVED Edinburgh Castle AND Royal Yacht Britannia!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message