Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Castle

Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I have always wanted to visit the Edinburgh Castle. It definitely lived up to my imaginings. I would recommend seeing this piece of history to everyone

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour is quite simply fantastic value for money and one of the best ways to see as much of Edinburgh as possible in a short space of time - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going there. Also great value for money with fast tracked entry to Britannia Yacht, Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse. It's worth knowing that attractions close at 4pm at weekends in winter?? so you should plan your day with that in mind.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shaneen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour hosted by Margaret. We saw lots of very interesting things that we had previously walked right past without noticing! Margaret's commentary was informative and pitched at completely the right level. We went into Edinburgh Castle where Margaret describe the various places of interest then left us to our own devices to explore. Timings given for the length of each bit of the tour were spot on. Really enjoyed it and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Laurelee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day we had with this one!! We used our Hop-On Hop-Off pass which included passes to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. These two attractions were simply amazing and wonderful. especially the castle.
The tour itself around Edinburgh was entertaining and interesting as well. The commentator was informative and amusing as well. Highly recommend if you are in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed my Edinburgh Historical walking tour of the Royal Mile very much! Our guide Hannah was great, well informed, friendly, warm and funny. I learned some very interesting details about the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

glendahall13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very cold wet weekend in Edinburgh but this 3 in one tour ticket experience we felt well worth it.
Hop on bus good value and stops located well.
Holyrood House well worth it too
Really enjoyed the Royal Yacht.
and Edinburgh castle was excellent even though we did get wet through doing the visit.
Both Holyrood , Castle and Royal Yacht we had straight through entry with no waiting included in the price

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Alison C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour of Edinburgh castle was brilliant. Lots of interesting facts about Scottish history. Would recommend it highly x

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Edinburgh Castle is beautiful, its quite a walkable city. The Hop on, Hop off service is excellent.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gail M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Hop-On hop-Off tour s was the best way to see all of Edinburgh. We could get off and spend time, then get back on. We not only saw Edinburgh Castle, which was awesome, but we also got to tour the Hollyrood Palace with this ticket. Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful, would love to return. I loved Edinburgh and enjoyed the hop on/off bus. Saw lots , loved Edinburgh castle and Royal Yacht Brittania . Loved the streets and shops and the lovely friendly Scots. We were lucky to see pipers in their kilts and the tartan was magnificent. The pubs had a wonderful atmosphere and greet tasty food . Everyone should visit

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Cynthia A Trinidad and Tobago

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Firstly we had difficulty finding the office to redeem our vouchers. The train station is a huge place and it is not in the station but at the side.Then we spent a lot of time queuing for the bus. There was always so much people waiting and hop on off was not always practical, especially for 4 passengers. We had to take the regular bus sometimes.
We only managed the tour of Edinburgh Castle and the Britannia which was very interesting.
The persons who managed the tours at the stops were very helpful.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kay W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best way to get around in Edinburgh! The buses came quickly and did their best to get around despite the fringe and Tattoo traffic. The 3 passes that came with the bus tickets were a great advantage. We got into each attraction quickly, skipping the long queues and had fun in each attraction. We took the blue bus out to the Britannia first which was helpful, then the rest of the time we spent in town. Holyrod Palace is beautiful and Edinburgh castle is amazing, leave plenty of time for both these attractions. Overall, it was a great resource for our trip.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

D L H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved Edinburgh Castle from it's entrance to it's exit with all its hidden nooks and crannies and amazing historical displays. We were unlucky enough to go when they were setting up for the Tattoo but that's not such a bad thing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hop on bus was great! Stops everywhere around Edinburgh. We LOVED Edinburgh Castle AND Royal Yacht Britannia!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Caitlin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent Value for money. The express entrance into the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace was very nice and having access to all 4 tours meant that I saw all of the sites in the city that I wanted to see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

suegering

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful way to see this fascinating city and experience its history! While the bus drivers were fine, it would help if we got more information about where the various attractions are as we exit the bus for example we exited for Edinburgh Palace and ended up at Edinburgh Castle! For novice travelers, you can't give too much information. Assume we have never been there before!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

k.dossin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was great. Enjoyed all three of the main attractions Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse, and Royal Britannia included with the Royal Edinburgh ticket. Hop-On, Hop-Off bus is also a great way to get about and learn the history of the city, and the staff are always so helpful if you have questions about which bus line to take or which stop you need to get off at.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Arletta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hop on/Hop off busses were wonderful. Could easily get around the city using one of the 4 bus lines. I used the Edinburgh Castle pass and the Palace of Holyroohhouse pass. The green Edinburgh tour bus was the best with live tour guides. I learned something each time I got on the bus, even those it may have been the same route. Great way to see Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Traci M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Love, love, love Edinburgh Castle! Viator makes everything easy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

William was fantastic as a guide, would recommend tour. Our 14 year old learnt interesting facts and wasnt bored. Edinburgh Castle was interesting also.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Lianne B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Unfortunately I hardly got to use these passes...many of the castles I wanted to visit in Scotland where not on the list. The only place we used the tickets was the Edinburgh castle and the lineup was only about 10 minutes, so we really didn't save much time.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

kim w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing deal. The old Routemaster bus was the best tour guide with life commentary. the ladies that we had were terrific and full of knowledge, it also brought back memories for me as my parents own a Routemaster bus. there are 4 buses to use 2 with life tour guides and others are audio. we a central place to pick up either of the 4 buses and also places of interest where they all go as well so you can use either of the buses. Only the Blue Bus takes you to Britannia. We enjoy visiting Edinburgh Castle. there is a free tour with guide of the castle. Holyrood House and HMS Britannia have audio tours. I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Edinburgh. best way to get round and plenty of history as well.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Macole2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We purchased the Royal Pass for the 48 hour hop on hop off tours. This included the entry three attractions, the Royal Britanna Yacht, the Holyrood house/Palace and fast entry into the Edinburgh Castle. The majority of the tours were audio with ear buds. At first I didn't think I would like it without a live guide, but to my surprise it was very informative and timely. The routes around the city cover nearly the entire city so ther is lots to see. Best Deal Ever!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

dsscott2003

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour what with the tour of Holy Rood House Palace, Edinburgh Castle and the various thing in between. We had some difficulty on our last day with the bus pick-ups and were treated very rudely by one of the drivers but the day manager was very apologetic. The Royal Yacht Britannia was very interesting and gives you a good look at royal life. This was the last of the tours and we were very tired but still managed to put in some good time sight seeing and shopping.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message