Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very scary, includes a boat ride and a twist at the end......Great characters, great dungeon

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Scary for 10/11 year olds? Yes! Had to leave half way through tour as she was hysterical. So if you want to scare the life out of your kids then this is the tour for them!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Scary, educational, entertaining. Fun! Takes at least an hour and a half.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good experience! We were both very wary of a cheap thrills type of place. Edinburgh dungeon far passed our expectations. It seemed like everyone in character was frighteningly enthusiastic. All guests in our tour were very into it, and although it wasn't tear your hair out scary there were some really good spooks along the way. I reccomend it to anyone stopping by the city of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun for the teenage boys and those watching them have fun. A good way to introduce some history while getting a fright. Would highly recommend to families with older children (not little ones) as it gives the kids a break from serious travel itineraries while at the same time giving them a lesson.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour around Edinburgh dungeons was excellent entertainment for a rainy morning. However, we had to queue for quite some time before gaining entry, so it was hardly the 'skip the line' experience that was advertised. Also, showing the e-voucher on a smartphone was insufficient to gain entry. We had to email the booking to the Dungeons and wait for it to arrive before we were allowed in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a lot of fun - the characters were awesome

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great attraction! The character interact with the visitors and make it very enjoyable. We will definitely go back to The Edinburgh Dungeon on out next trip to Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was definitely worth doing. I was on a trip with my friends for my birthday celebrations and we did this tour, had an absolute scream. It terrified us in parts but was also laugh a minute. It's a great tour go and do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, staff very well versed and good fun and professional. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the Dungeon experience. The actors were excellent and the tour was great, but I felt it was missing something. Although staff asked if anyone had a bad neck/back, etc before doing parts of the tour, it wasn't clear what it was for and I was surprised at the activity at the very end and not really happy at lack of information (I am not a fan of 'rides'). Anyway, we had fun and I would still recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun way to enjoy history, our group of 4 all enjoyed this tour and I would recommend buying your tickets this way to skip the queues. Dont want to say too much as it will spoil it for others. Have fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant really enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great fun while being a very informative introduction to Scotland's dark history. My wife and I both enjoyed the jokes, scares, and eerie experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone journeying to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great experience actors amazing plenty of scarey moments and belly laughs

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great! loved it! the actors were awesome, you actually believe them :))) worth every cent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Certainly a different way to view Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Amusing and entertaining. Good for kids over 12. Nothing too scary - unless you have a vivid imagination.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really good quite scary but my 12 year old enjoyed it and it didnt terrify her. Just the right length of time being just over an hour........definately worth a visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Lots of fun! Lighthearted telling of some gruesome history. We enjoyed all of the different bits from being judged in court to walking the creepy pathways , riding the boats among other things. We don't want to spoil it for the next person. It was well ventilated and it was a hot day outside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a bit kitschy. Fun, but not amazing. The day we were there, there were no lines to skip. It was worth a try if you are in to the haunted house sort of thing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic show really. The actors were amazing. I will say there is a boat ride which was mostly pitch black darkness and was not effective in its scariness.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved this tour. A little scary for our 9 year old but he can laugh about it now. A great blend of history, theatre and humour. We really enjoyed this and is was a great break from the regular tours on offer!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This trip was great fun, the characters involved put lots of effort in making for the enjoyment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

A very exciting and fun place to go when in Edinburgh,Scotland!! A family friendly attraction and fun way to make history fun!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message