Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really good quite scary but my 12 year old enjoyed it and it didnt terrify her. Just the right length of time being just over an hour........definately worth a visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutly brilliant james the guide was amazing well recommand

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Lots of fun! Lighthearted telling of some gruesome history. We enjoyed all of the different bits from being judged in court to walking the creepy pathways , riding the boats among other things. We don't want to spoil it for the next person. It was well ventilated and it was a hot day outside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a bit kitschy. Fun, but not amazing. The day we were there, there were no lines to skip. It was worth a try if you are in to the haunted house sort of thing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was an interesting tour with a historical component. Enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing. He was full of action and suspense. His story-telling abilities were second to none. He gave us great insight into the gloom of days past and underground vault activities.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our guide, Angela, an incredibly engaging story teller, made the tour worthwhile. I did this tour and the Real Mary King's Close tour, and if you want to hear captivating ghost stories at night, do this tour--if you want to see more of the ended ground vaults and hear their histories, Mary's better

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic show really. The actors were amazing. I will say there is a boat ride which was mostly pitch black darkness and was not effective in its scariness.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

So awesome!!! Our guide was Alex and he was so amazeballs!!! Absolutely made the tour what it was :D

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very interesting tour, with a knowledgable guide and not as scary as you might think!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour guide and a quick, gruesome way to see this amazing city, highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Vault tour was great! Our guides were Rob and Alex and they did a great job tag teaming the stories. We never would have expected that such vaults existed back then--felt weird afterwards as we walked on the streets to go back to our cars, almost expected someone to jump out at us haha.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Vaults were pretty cool. Only complaint was that my voucher said it started at a certain time and when we got there (early) the tour had already started but didn't miss a lot since we were early. Needs more ghost stories.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message