• USD ($)
  • English
Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was amazing. He was full of action and suspense. His story-telling abilities were second to none. He gave us great insight into the gloom of days past and underground vault activities.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our guide, Angela, an incredibly engaging story teller, made the tour worthwhile. I did this tour and the Real Mary King's Close tour, and if you want to hear captivating ghost stories at night, do this tour--if you want to see more of the ended ground vaults and hear their histories, Mary's better

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic show really. The actors were amazing. I will say there is a boat ride which was mostly pitch black darkness and was not effective in its scariness.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

So awesome!!! Our guide was Alex and he was so amazeballs!!! Absolutely made the tour what it was :D

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very interesting tour, with a knowledgable guide and not as scary as you might think!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour guide and a quick, gruesome way to see this amazing city, highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Vault tour was great! Our guides were Rob and Alex and they did a great job tag teaming the stories. We never would have expected that such vaults existed back then--felt weird afterwards as we walked on the streets to go back to our cars, almost expected someone to jump out at us haha.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Vaults were pretty cool. Only complaint was that my voucher said it started at a certain time and when we got there (early) the tour had already started but didn't miss a lot since we were early. Needs more ghost stories.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour guide was exceptional and the stories were brilliant and spooky. Would definately recomend if your in Edinburgh

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a really fun tour, and I wish I had done another your with Mercat. John was our tour guide, he was great at telling the Scottish ghost stories. It was very nice to walk around Scotland hearing about the history, and then walking into the vaults and hearing ghost stories. It was really fun.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was engaging, entertaining and fun, but the overall spooky-vibe of the vaults was a bit lacking for someone who was looking for a little adrenaline rush.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Brilliant hour spent on tour. The guide Ella P was superb at telling us all the stories.she was enthusiastic and animated and totally made the evening come alive . The underground vaults were spooky, eerie and atmospheric.well done! !! Would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message