Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Dungeon

Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ISABEL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

loved it ! was very interesting certainly pays to pay for the trip via Viator it was only 11.25 each yet to pay on the day in The Edinburgh Dungeon it was 16.95 each quite a difference in price but i do recommend this trip its very entertaining

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Melanie J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable. My 12 yo daughter thought it was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Bianca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just wonderful...really funny, original, and sometimes scary.

Loved it. The staff is amazing.

Bianca

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

j.l.graham

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

great tour... but after purchasing viator beat the line tickets were told to queue and ticket stated they accept evouchers but they weren't happy they wanted a print out as they can't scan barcodes but after sum huffing and sighing from myself they said they could sort it and we went in

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Aphrodite Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was not what we thought it would be at all, I thought it would be a dungeon-turned-museum but in fact it was people acting out the gruesome history of Edinburgh. I didn't have high expectations when I found that out, but by the end I was scared less so they must've been good!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

ivette m

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was okay. There were some cheesy bits and a couple of good screams. The best bit was that I didn't pay full price because I booked through Viator

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fun and silly very enjoyable

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Valerie B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great hour of entertainment. Lots of scary moments. Keep in mind there are lots of stairs and it is dark so if you have walking issues you may was to rethink. One of our party members moved slowly but the cast members just included the lack of speed into the program. Lots of fun, great pictures too

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Carrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very scary, includes a boat ride and a twist at the end......Great characters, great dungeon

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Doreen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Scary for 10/11 year olds? Yes! Had to leave half way through tour as she was hysterical. So if you want to scare the life out of your kids then this is the tour for them!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Scary, educational, entertaining. Fun! Takes at least an hour and a half.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good experience! We were both very wary of a cheap thrills type of place. Edinburgh dungeon far passed our expectations. It seemed like everyone in character was frighteningly enthusiastic. All guests in our tour were very into it, and although it wasn't tear your hair out scary there were some really good spooks along the way. I reccomend it to anyone stopping by the city of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

C K V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun for the teenage boys and those watching them have fun. A good way to introduce some history while getting a fright. Would highly recommend to families with older children (not little ones) as it gives the kids a break from serious travel itineraries while at the same time giving them a lesson.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Janette D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour around Edinburgh dungeons was excellent entertainment for a rainy morning. However, we had to queue for quite some time before gaining entry, so it was hardly the 'skip the line' experience that was advertised. Also, showing the e-voucher on a smartphone was insufficient to gain entry. We had to email the booking to the Dungeons and wait for it to arrive before we were allowed in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Kate C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a lot of fun - the characters were awesome

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

beans1212

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great attraction! The character interact with the visitors and make it very enjoyable. We will definitely go back to The Edinburgh Dungeon on out next trip to Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

annasab42

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was definitely worth doing. I was on a trip with my friends for my birthday celebrations and we did this tour, had an absolute scream. It terrified us in parts but was also laugh a minute. It's a great tour go and do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, staff very well versed and good fun and professional. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Angela B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the Dungeon experience. The actors were excellent and the tour was great, but I felt it was missing something. Although staff asked if anyone had a bad neck/back, etc before doing parts of the tour, it wasn't clear what it was for and I was surprised at the activity at the very end and not really happy at lack of information (I am not a fan of 'rides'). Anyway, we had fun and I would still recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Sharryn H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun way to enjoy history, our group of 4 all enjoyed this tour and I would recommend buying your tickets this way to skip the queues. Dont want to say too much as it will spoil it for others. Have fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

denise g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant really enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Ken United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great fun while being a very informative introduction to Scotland's dark history. My wife and I both enjoyed the jokes, scares, and eerie experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone journeying to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Julie P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great experience actors amazing plenty of scarey moments and belly laughs

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Alexandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great! loved it! the actors were awesome, you actually believe them :))) worth every cent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Naki Pete

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Certainly a different way to view Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message