Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great fun. The tour guides were full of info and I enjoyed all the creppy stories. Definitely a must if your in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, staff very well versed and good fun and professional. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide we had Lydia made the tour more interesting.
i recommand that tour

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Not what I thought I had booked. More information rather than supposition required and shouting at people isn't necessary.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide and great stories

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing
tour guide ella was fantastic really knows her stuff
and loves to get really into the story and gets everyone involved,
The vaults are brilliant really scary at night time highly suggest you go on the night tours as they highten the atmosphere
definetly worth every penny
Fantastic tour

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the Dungeon experience. The actors were excellent and the tour was great, but I felt it was missing something. Although staff asked if anyone had a bad neck/back, etc before doing parts of the tour, it wasn't clear what it was for and I was surprised at the activity at the very end and not really happy at lack of information (I am not a fan of 'rides'). Anyway, we had fun and I would still recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun way to enjoy history, our group of 4 all enjoyed this tour and I would recommend buying your tickets this way to skip the queues. Dont want to say too much as it will spoil it for others. Have fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really interesting tour. Our guide Linda was a wonderful storyteller keeping us all intrigued and hanging on her every word. The vaults were very spooky and all of our photos show odd orbs dotted around the people in no particular pattern. Scary. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Burt Wiand
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour was great :) highly recommend!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant really enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great fun while being a very informative introduction to Scotland's dark history. My wife and I both enjoyed the jokes, scares, and eerie experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone journeying to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our guide was nice but ere was not much to see and that area smelt of mildew and mold....careful if you are allergic.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed the history, walking under the city and into the vaults, the male guide new his stuff but several times found it hard to understand and hear to what he was saying which was a bit disappointing, however would visit the tour again.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Craig who took us on the tour is a very good story teller with a mix of history and ghost stories. We all had a good time with some frights !!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great experience actors amazing plenty of scarey moments and belly laughs

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fun bit and our tour leader excellent.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

knowledgable tour guide very entertainign and interesting tour

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great! loved it! the actors were awesome, you actually believe them :))) worth every cent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was quite good, the tour was definately made by the young lady that took us around who was very good, and abviously enjoyed her job

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a worth while experience walking underneath Edinburgh and finding out about its history.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a nice way to spend the evening, had a good time and the guide was a very good actor. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message