Lovers of spooky kitsch, you have discovered your Mecca. The history on which these gruesome attractions of Edinburgh Dungeon are based - hangings at the Grassmarket, Plague victims abandoned to die - may be real, but the treatment, complete with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a lot of fun - the characters were awesome

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide, Lyndia was perfect. She made the tour informative, entertaining and scary. This tour is definitely one to remember. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great attraction! The character interact with the visitors and make it very enjoyable. We will definitely go back to The Edinburgh Dungeon on out next trip to Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was definitely worth doing. I was on a trip with my friends for my birthday celebrations and we did this tour, had an absolute scream. It terrified us in parts but was also laugh a minute. It's a great tour go and do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Mark our tour guide was good, a versatile orator and actor indeed
Vaults are a real thing, will take you into history and associating blues

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was amazing! You could tell he was really interested in the topic and knew the materials well. The underground vaults were really cool. I would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guides were interesting and tried to make it fun by involving us, not the best underground or scary type tours I've taken but for the cost and amount of time 1hr it was fun and easy to fit in with other tours of the day.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Guide was very entertaining, ok if you want a wee laugh !

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is simply brilliant. The places you are taken and the stories behind them are fascinating as well as creepy. Our tour guide Craig was the best story teller, and supplied not only great ghost stories but extremely interesting facts about the history of Edinburgh. 10/10 would recommend

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great fun. The tour guides were full of info and I enjoyed all the creppy stories. Definitely a must if your in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, staff very well versed and good fun and professional. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was a lot of fun but a bit crowded to have 20 people in the space provided. Would have preferred 1/2 of that.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide we had Lydia made the tour more interesting.
i recommand that tour

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Not what I thought I had booked. More information rather than supposition required and shouting at people isn't necessary.

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour guide and great stories

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing
tour guide ella was fantastic really knows her stuff
and loves to get really into the story and gets everyone involved,
The vaults are brilliant really scary at night time highly suggest you go on the night tours as they highten the atmosphere
definetly worth every penny
Fantastic tour

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the Dungeon experience. The actors were excellent and the tour was great, but I felt it was missing something. Although staff asked if anyone had a bad neck/back, etc before doing parts of the tour, it wasn't clear what it was for and I was surprised at the activity at the very end and not really happy at lack of information (I am not a fan of 'rides'). Anyway, we had fun and I would still recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun way to enjoy history, our group of 4 all enjoyed this tour and I would recommend buying your tickets this way to skip the queues. Dont want to say too much as it will spoil it for others. Have fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really interesting tour. Our guide Linda was a wonderful storyteller keeping us all intrigued and hanging on her every word. The vaults were very spooky and all of our photos show odd orbs dotted around the people in no particular pattern. Scary. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

Burt Wiand
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour was great :) highly recommend!

Doing what: Edinburgh Night Walking Including Historic Underground Vaults

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant really enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great fun while being a very informative introduction to Scotland's dark history. My wife and I both enjoyed the jokes, scares, and eerie experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone journeying to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message