Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Scotland’s legendary West Highland Line is dubbed the Hogwarts Express Train line, photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts School from King’s Cross Station’s Platform 9 3/4. Away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a fantastic time on this trip. Our host/driver Rob was absolutely wonderful. He made everyone feel very welcome, was very knowledgeable and had a really great sense of humour which made the trip most enjoyable. Lots of highlights and great memories. Would highly recommend. Pam and Nathan, Adelaide, South Australia

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The size of the tour was perfect - not too many people, not too few. The B and B I stayed in was excellent. Not only did we get to see and do everything that was on the tour, but our guide added in a few things like a very short side trip to some standing stones, which is something I've always wanted to see. The guide, Frank, was very knowledgable about the Jacobite era of history. For me, seeing the standing stones, spending time on the Culloden battlefield, and riding on the Hogwarts train were the best parts.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

AMAZING no matter the weather ..HEATHER the tour guide is worth her weight in gold you are very lucky to have her..she made it interesting and fun her stories where informative and her telling was clear and delightful!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic excursion through some gorgeous and historically-significant countryside. I would recommend this trip without hesitation. Our guide, Frank, was perfect. He knew when to share information, put on music, or just let us chill. He was excellent and always let us know what was coming up, what to look for, and how the day was going to proceed.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour! The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of Scotland, and told many legends and stories. She made the tour for us! The pace of the tour was excellent, there were never any stops that seemed to be too long or short, and the amount of free time was excellent. The accommodations on the Isle of Skye were awesome! I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to see the Highlands and the Isle of Skye!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour has been operated by a local tour company and we really enjoyed it! Our guide perfectly mixed historical information, stories, legends, jokes and songs during the tour. The Jacobite Steam train is advised to all the Harry Potter fans! We have also visited the Dunvegan Castle and it was worth it! We have seen and learned a lot for just three days, it was not enough time as we wanted to stay there longer, but it was definitely enough time to fall in love with the Isle of Skye, with the Highlands and Scotland!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thank You ! It was most enjoyable ! luckily the weather was mostly in our favor ,Our guide Andy was tremendous giving his commentary with passion and love for his beautiful Highlands of Scotland.That he may long continue to do so !!
Thank you again

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best tour ever. I took my son with me for his 30th birthday and we both had an amazing time. Out tour guide, Tony was fantastic. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience the Scottish Highland and the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great 3-day tour managed by Highland Explorer Tours. Heather, our tour guide kept us awake with all the entertaining and informative stories. She kept us interested and stopped at the key scenic points. Very patient and customer focussed guide despite some challenges. Excellent operator

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If I could rate this higher, I would. In a word, AMAZING!!!!! Our guide Alan was so fantastic. The best guide I've ever had on any excursion, ever. He was witty, funny, personable and very informative. Skye is beautiful and the stops were all amazing. The B and B was okay beds were not amazing and if you are a light sleeper I would say upgrade to the hotel but otherwise, the people running it were so kind and the breakfast was nice. Overall, the best trip I've ever done.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Alan was interesting and entertaining. We enjoyed his pride in his country and learned a lot. Isle of Skye was amazing and the entire route was beautiful. The group size is fun - you get to know others and you don't feel like you're in a crowd at every stop.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A GREAT TOUR, WILL RECOMMEND IT. JUST NEEDED MORE TIME FOR PICTURES OF THE BRIDGE.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed the trip very much, but we were disappointed about a few things. We thought we would be able to see Loch Ness, and we only saw the forth of the loch. Also, we arrived several places too late to enjoy what we thought we were going to do. For example, we arrived in one town at 3:10 for lunch, only to find that all of the restaurants had closed at 3:00. We also thought more of the trip would be on the train, when, in fact, all of the trip except two hours was on the bus. In addition, we would have liked to have been given the option of buying upgraded seats on the train. Skye was absolutely gorgeous--everything we hoped it would be. Tony was wonderful--very informative, funny, and helpful. What a great guide!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A very well planned trip. Guide/driver was fun and made a strong effort to teach us the history of each area and that we were having a good time. We stayed in the guest houses that were adequate. Based on discussion with those who stayed in the hotels, they were not worth the extra cost. We were 18 participants on a bus that held 30 and hence, very comfortable. If that same bus were filled to capacity it would have been a very uncomfortable trip: the seats are narrow, there is no cup holder, the storage space above the seats is difficult to use based on its configuration.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was a nice little trip into the highlands and lovely Isle of Skye. Our tour guide Duffy was excellent and gave us some great insider knowledge and made the journey fun for the group. When I booked the trip for my boyfriend and I, I didn't quite realize that it's mainly by bus and that the days are thoroughly planned out with the group. I prefer more independent travelling, but if that's not an issue for you, you'll love this trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Katsu
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My mother and I joined the 7 Day Tour to the Highlands and it was fantastic! I would certainly recommend it. Our group was a nice mix of early teens to singles and seniors. Our tour guides Heather 5days and Tony 2days had different styles, but both were quite charming, witty and took great care of us all! From early morning till evening, they went above and beyond to give us a great tour with music, history and stories, which kept us all pleasantly entertained, despite some rainy days. All done with a wonderful passion and love for Scotland that spoke true to our hearts and made us fall in love with Scotland even more!
The best guides ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended tour for singles, partners and families. A great experience of Scotland, the Highlans, Jacobite history and of course the Jacobite Steam train. Very enjoyable tour with a great company and driver

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Heather is our tour guide and she's simply fabulous.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands were absolutely stunning. If you want to maximize the number of different things and areas that you see, this is the way to go! You don't have to worry about driving or finding places to stay. Our first tour guide Heather was superb. She did the right amount of talking, story telling, describing history and places and playing music. She has a flair for the sense of drama. Our second tour guide Tony was also outstanding. He is incredibly enthusiastic and loves to describe the many things along the route. He brings it alive for you and always had good tips for places to go and see during the stops. I would recommend this company and these two drivers/guides Heather and Tony to anyone else who wants to get away to Scotland.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

John H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Only need one word to describe this trip, FANTASTIC! Chris our driver/guide made the whole experience one I'll never forget. His historical knowledge was amazing, he also kept us highly entertained with stories and anecdotes. Nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this trip to anyone who loves history and amazing scenery.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My Wife and I had 3 days to fill in between golfing tours and chose this tour. We were mighty glad we did - this trip was a huge highlight of our holiday. The first day took us through the quaint village of Dunkeld where we stopped for a short tour of the town and morning tea / lunch. Then we headed for the highlands! The weather was overcast with misty clouds covering the tops of the hills which added to the mystique and beauty of the ever-increasingly rugged terrain. Scotland was having a very cool summer, and all the hills were still green. The roads were quite narrow, but Chris, our Tour Director was not only a great driver but also kept us well-informed about points of interest that we passed. We passed a number of lochs which had been carved out of the rock by glaciers during the last ice age. Stops for photography were made at some stunningly beautiful spots with the weather obliging by being fine but adding mystique to the hills and valleys.
Late in the afternoon, we crossed the bridge to the Isle of Skye. Soon after being on the Isle we came across a sizeable roadside waterfall caused by fairly consistent rain throughout the day. We motored on to our B and B abodes in Portree which were our resting places for the next 2 nights. Most of us stayed at Rosebank, which had a very friendly homely atmosphere.
The next morning we boarded the bus again to explore the Isle of Skye. The scenery was again breathtakingly beautiful, and around every corner was some new visual gem. We made frequent stops at points of interest to climb hills, explore and take many photos. I was never a great believer in giants or fairies, but Chris's most eloquent story-telling had me convinced by mid afternoon with further confirmation coming when he took us to any area of hills housing the fairy castle. How could one doubt with such evidence being presented!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had booked this tour with lot of excitement and now I can happily say that it was the right decision we made. We saw so many things during this tour that it will take some time to get out of it that it. The tour was well arranged by Highland Explorer Tours, I and my wife felt very comfortable with the accomodation and itenary. Our guide Andy was wonderful and it was he who made our tour even more wonderful and full of events. Very talkative person with lots of knowledge and humour, made it so good that I just have good things to talk about him. His Scottish ascent and way of explaining the things was very pleasant and we liked it very much, hats off to him for providing us with the kind of information we needed. Isle of skye, Ferry from Armadale to Mallaig and the jacobite train all were great and I am just stunned with what I experienced on this tour. I would highly recommend this tour, this agency and most importantly Andy to anyone who wish to have an altogether new experience in their life.
Anshu Srivastav
Bangalore India

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide. Beautiful part of the world and Katie our guide, was very good on the history of almost every place we visited. On one occasion the hotel selected for us was very poor standard toilet broken and no idea when they would fix it for us. It was the Redcliffe hotel and of one star standard. But as an adventure overall it was super.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message