Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Scotland’s legendary West Highland Line is dubbed the Hogwarts Express Train line, photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts School from King’s Cross Station’s Platform 9 3/4. Away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Heather really knew her history and was entertaining as well. The beauty of the Highlands alone was worth it, too. The B and B was spacious for a B and B, we had a light and spacious bathroom ensuite which was nice, and the owners were welcoming and served excellent Scottish breakfast.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Angela was our tour driver and guide. She was very relaxed, professional and told the most wonderful stories with gusto and vigour. We once more believe in fairies. Angela was brilliant - the best guide we have ever had. Every day was filled with the most amazing scenery as well as interesting and varied activities. We loved everything about this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I love Scotland, what a fantastic trip. Our guide (Jamie) was great. Jamie was able to blend local music, food, and drink for each region of Scotland that we drove thru. I am slightly taller than 6' so the 3 days on the bus was a bit uncomfortable for me. The Rose Gardens (B and B) was quiet and the family staff were very friendly and helpful (good breakfast). Every bed in Scotland that I slept in left something to be desired (I can still feel some if those loose springs). The tour bus broke down in Portree on the 2nd day of the trip, which was great as it gave me the chance to sample a few of the local Portree establishments. Every meal was awesome. Jamie is a knowledgable guide and just a great guy. He was nice enough to sit and have a couple Whiskeys with me and my brother after a long day on the bus. Know that if you go on a Sunday most of the shops will be closed. Also, most restaurants all over Scotland stop serving food early so make sure you talk to the guide about reservations if necessary.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was excellent!! Our tour guide, Andy, went out of his way to give us a memorable experience. The sights were breathtaking and the people we met were super friendly. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Joe is an excellent tour guide. He is responsive The trip is memorable!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, the driver/guide was so informative, his knowledge and ability to deliver it was terrific.
Also his patience was commendable with tardy passengers.
Accomodation was excellent and the places we visited were many and varied.
It was far better than I expected, I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it to any one.
Louise Callan
Sydney, Australia

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The experience was much more than I expected. We enjoyed the stop to see the outdoor sites.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide and we got to see most of the advertised route. Weather and heavy traffic prevented us from doing the Northwest Highlands loop that included Ullapool. The beds my family had in the Kings Knoll hotel in Oban (the "family room") were hard and uncomfortable and room window opened out to main road so we heard every car that went by but other lodging was fine. Need to allocate more time for Urquhart Castle---no way to tour the castle AND the visitor center in time allotted. Really enjoyed Isle of Skye and the Jacobite Steam Train parts of tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The natural sentery in Scotland was really beautiful. However, the weather in the Isle of Skye was awful. We were unlucky. Our guide was good, talking a lot of history in Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The natural sentery in Scotland was really beautiful. However, the weather in the Isle of Skye was awful. We were unlucky. Our guide was good, talking a lot of history in Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I had 3 days tour with Jacobite Steam train from July 28-30,2014. I really enjoyed my trip. It was very different experience. Our tour guide Joe was very helpful and practical person. Since he is local, he helped us to understand the local culture, as much as possible for 3 days tour time. The bed and breakfast place, Rosenbach House where I stayed in, was is really clean and comfortable and owners of house were helpful. Only negative thing was the seats of bus. Despite, I am very small person (small female), I had difficulty to fit my legs whilst sitting. I think that the seats of bus were not comfortable enough.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Sadly, the tour guide made unfavorable comments about Harry Potter's effect on tourism. Riding the Jacobite train was the reason I chose this tour. We had to rush to the train to make the departure--no pictures possible. I'm older and can only go so fast. We were crammed in to a coach with small seating. Another coach would have made all the difference. We were told we'd stop for lunch which came at around 2:30 p.m. Considering what I paid for this trip, I would have expected an air conditioned room, not having to walk to the city center to pick up the bus on day 2 of the tour, and not being rushed ever.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour captured all of what we had wanted to do with great tour leader. Unfortunately accommodation could have been better. We booked B and B ensuited rooms and only the last night in Inverness was good. On the Isle of Skye our bathroom was down a corridor past other bedrooms and off the main foyer with NO lock on the door. This accommodation was sub standard, very old, small and dated and should not be used again. But Scotland's charm made our trip memorable.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I went on a three week vacation throughout Europe and we booked a tour nearly every days of the trip. This three day tour was by far the highlight of the journey. Our tour guide was Scot and he made the tour absolutely fantastic! He added stops to the tour that were not on the itinerary (whiskey distillery and Fairy Pools), and offered hilarious commentaries throughout the drives to each location. As he said, everything is better with music, and Scot added several musical commentaries as well (Indiana Jones while driving up a rocky road on the Isle of Sky, Titanic while getting off the ferry, Harry Potter while going to the train, etc). It just made the whole experience that much better. You could also tell that he loves his Country. His passion about everything we saw was very apparent throughout the whole trip.

So, praise of Scot covered, really everything we went to was just fantastic. The Isle of Skye was a great experience and the Jacobite train was the icing on the cake. The scenery on the train was just beautiful - hint, make sure you ask to sit on the right...the bridge picture can only be taken from the right side of the train.

I also definitely would not pay extra to stay on a hotel. The Bed and Breakfast they put us up in was just fine. The room was Huge compared to anything we stayed at in London, Scotland, Rome, or Paris, and the owners of the B and B were very sweet. Plus, the breakfast was delicious. The only negative of the B and B that I can think of is the thinness of the walls. We could here people just talking in the next room. However, everyone was pretty tired, so we all went to bed at roughly the same time, so the noise wasn't really an issue.

I really just can't say enough about how great this trip was. My mom mom and I both just fell in love with Scotland with this tour. Run, don't walk to sign up for this amazing experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lovely experience. We booked this trip as part of UK tour mainly for our 10 year old who is a Harry Potter fan. There was much more. Beautiful scenery, history of Scotland and the Jacobite uprisings, a few short hikes through the glens and the hermitage, loch ness and much more. Our tour guide Howard was knowledgeable, funny and friendly. He was quite spirited and took us on short hikes during the trip, which my son and I enjoyed very much. Good walking shoes and a rain jacket come in handy. We had wonderful company in the coach. The Hogwarts express runs from Fort William to Mallaig which is a port town close to the Isle of Skye. There was an option to go seal watching during lunch hour in Mallaig. We chose to stay in the village. There is not too much to do in the town for children other than a nice lunch. There is a small art gallery, museum and a book store.
The Hogwarts train ride was definitely the highlight. Our hike up to the viewpoint in Glenfinnan to watch the train chug along the via-duct was the best part.
There were quite a few children and Harry Potter fans on the trip which made it entertaining for the children. The history, hiking and scenery was quite engaging to the adults.
Our B and B in Fort William was nice and the hostess really lovely. However , if we had the option, I would have preferred to stay at accomodation on the loch ness. Although we stopped at the loch ness, a short stop at the lochness store would have been interesting.
Definitely recommend to both families and solo traverlers.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message