Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Scotland’s legendary West Highland Line is dubbed the Hogwarts Express Train line, photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts School from King’s Cross Station’s Platform 9 3/4. Away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Angela was our tour guide, and she had so much knowledge about Scottish history and each place we visited. She told us some wonderful stories that kept us entertained. We traveled through some lovely country to get to the Isle of Skye and stopped in various places for photo opportunities.Our bus broke down while we were in Dunkeld, but once back on the road, she made sure we didn't miss out on any of the sights along the way. Our B and B was very comfortable and accommodating. We really enjoyed taking the Jacobean train from Malaig to Fort Williams. All in all, it was a fabulous three days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enjoyable 5 day trip. Comfortable bus and places to stay. Our driver/guide was knowledgable and entertaining. A great itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Jackie E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alan is the BEST guide - entertaining, quirky, knowledgeable and with such passion for his country and its history. The tour took us to places on the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views and Alan went out of his way to show us the hidden gems, not just the well-trodden tourist sights. The B and B showed us such warm hospitality and the staff were just lovely. The ferry/train took us pass some great scenery. Highly highly recommended. Only wish I did a much longer tour to take in more of the West Isles and highlands!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was well organised with a smaller group. A great tour guide. Andy did a wonderful job of giving us all a true Scottish experience with interesting narrative throughout the tour. The places we went to were spectacular.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Beautiful scenery. Fun. Everything was well explained. Tour guide kept us apprised of any issues that may occur. Best tour guide ever.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

No doubt , the star is this lovely ,stunning, varied countryside .
The rich culture is felt at almost every step one makes.
Sounds like a truism , but visiting Scotland is a must. This short tour surely
makes you want to see more.....
All this would have been half the fun without the absolute
exceptional 'performance' of our tour guide and driver Andy .
Incredible in-depth knowledge , good fun , extremely helpful.
This was entertainment at its best. Thanks Andy .

The bus we have used could have been more comfy / modern , with
better seats.
The bus' condition clearly was a downside as well as the choice of B/B except for the one
at Inverness. The Jacobite train ride to us appeared grossly overrated.
Old train , totally uncomfortable/tight seats , windows allow only
limited room for photography . Our group evidently was placed in the
3-class compartments.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Scenery of Isle of Skye is very beautiful, really enjoy ourselves.
However, I find that the duration given for each attraction is very tight and limited.
As sometime we need to walk to the location from the place we are being alighted and queue for the attraction, (which this take time).

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Beautiful sights and lovely accommodation, but inappropriate tour guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Heather really knew her history and was entertaining as well. The beauty of the Highlands alone was worth it, too. The B and B was spacious for a B and B, we had a light and spacious bathroom ensuite which was nice, and the owners were welcoming and served excellent Scottish breakfast.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Angela was our tour driver and guide. She was very relaxed, professional and told the most wonderful stories with gusto and vigour. We once more believe in fairies. Angela was brilliant - the best guide we have ever had. Every day was filled with the most amazing scenery as well as interesting and varied activities. We loved everything about this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must do. The breathtaking scenery, the history, the journey on the Jacobite Steam train was fantastic. Our driver Greg was informative, entertaining, and helpful. Value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great tour. The best part of the tour was the tour guide - Greg - who managed to make it even better. He did a great job explaining everything and really made the trip great. We saw a lot and did a lot. I loved the day of touring Skye. Beautiful country. The train ride was fun as was visiting the castles. Really loved Dunvegon. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Toni was fantastic, great knowledge of Scottish history, mythology and geology. Overnight stays were very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message