Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Also known as the Hogwarts Express, Scotland's legendary Jacobite Steam Train is photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts from Platform 9 3/4 at King's Cross ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One really cannot say enough about this trip. It was the highlight of our holiday in the UK. Everything about this trip that was set up by Highland Tours was amazing. The most special part of this trip was our tour guide, Scot. He is an invaluable resource. His genuine passion for everything Scotland bled through every story he told making the trip so enjoyable. What could have been many hours on the bus listening to music was broken up with his stories about the history of Scotland. While I certainly cannot speak to the other tour guides available, I cannot imagine doing the trip again without Scot. We chose the B and B option, and had a lovely accommodation with an excellent view of the sea and mountains in the background from our room. My only suggestion for the future would be to offer a trip geared towards younger/outdoorsy focused people. One piece of advice for travelers is to sit on the left side of the bus on Day 1 and 3, much better views!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Bryan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We got off to a rough start as our guide, Joe, was a bit of a drill sergeant. But by day 3 we found him to be funny, very knowledgable and quite enjoyable. The scenery and the places we stopped couldn't be beat. It was an amazing tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Brenda M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gary, our tour guide, was a delight! He ensured everyone's needs were met and we were safe as a group. The Jacobite tour visited several Outlander sights, drove through the beautiful Highlands, and stopped often for photo opportunities. We chose the option of a hotel stay and was not disappointed as our room overlooked Loch Ness. The train was nice, however, I would recommend when choosing a seat you choose one on the side of the platform. We expected the train to turn around for the return trip where we would have an opportunity for photos. The view from our side of the train was less picturesque.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! We crammed in a lot over three days -- stops at castles, distilleries, breweries, loch ness, little towns in the highlands, and beautiful spots across the isle of skye. Our guide, Tony, was super informative, giving us background on the local history and folklore, once-upon-a-time stories, and funny anecdotes. Even when things went wrong on our last days, an accident closed the rode leaving Skye, and then our ferry left early with no notice so we had to catch a later one..., he was calm and organized and got us where we needed to be, when we needed to be there.

I was a little apprehensive about taking a bus tour, but we never spent too long on the bus without a stop, and all the stops were long enough to stretch your legs, use a restroom, or see whatever there was to see. Even if you're not a bus tour person, I would recommend this as a great way to see a lot and get a great overview of the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was amazing. We had so much fun. We were expecting a full 2 day tour on the train but it was actually a bus tour for the 1st day and the Hogwarts train for the 2nd day. Our tour guide was funny, entertaining and knowledgeable. The B and B we stayed at was one of the best we had stayed in during our entire trip. I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Connie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great trip. Michael was a superb group leader, stopping at many scenic spots for us to take photos. And, he is a great story teller! So, the history was interesting and the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was wonderful. Joe our guide was very knowledgeable and took us to some really exciting spots and places that we were not expecting. He gave us a lot of history and background, an awesome guy! My only gripe was the hogwarts express ride left a bit to be desired. Would book again with Joe !

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

April R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was awesome! The scenery, the history, and the people were great! And having a tour guide who knew the history made it better. Scott was amazing and kind. He even made a little detour so we could see something we wanted to see but wasn and #39;t on the itinerary.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

nest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip and must congratulate Jamie and Highland tours for this excellent package. Great sites visited and the excellent knowledge of Jamie brought each to life in a historical sense or visionary picture. From Oban to Inverness a pictorial delight with lochs, mountain ranges, castles, great music in the evening and food. A tour must

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Cindy C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A great tour with a wonderful tour guide (Michael). Wish we had more time in Pitlochry and Fort Augustus. Really glad we got to spend the night in the picturesque village of Fort Augustus. Loved the guest house. Michael made a special stop for us to see and feed the highland cows- what a treat!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Roma B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall very enjoyable. We had a very good B and B in Fort Augustus. One of the best we have stayed in. Others were not so lucky. We would have paid extra to have been seated in the First Class of the Hogwarts Express to have sampled a cup of tea, but that was a minor detail.
Thanks

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

Doris S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fabulous tour and our guide, Heather, was amazing.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

johnscionti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our guide Duffy was the best. We enjoyed the commentary as we explored all of the destinations. It was a fantastic way to see some of Scotlands beautiful countryside. I thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Margie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! Our guide Joe was absolutely great. He took us to places not on the regular tour schedule, had great information and was very entertaining. The incredible views both in the highlands and on the Isle of Skye were breathtaking and the steam train was a real highlight of the trip. Don't miss this tour.
The Canadian Gals

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dave was a good driver, a good story teller, a DJ, and a passionate Scot. There were 23 people on this tour, most are couples, friends and families, and 5 solo female travelers including me. We got along well. I was constantly awed by the stark beauties of the Scottish Highlands and the lochs. The landscape of the highlands are so different from the lowlands. We visited Loch Ness at Fort Augustus, the southern tip before turning west to the Isle of Skye. We visited Eilean Donan Castle often called the most picturisque castle in Scotland before crossing the bridge to the Isle of Skye. The B and B I stayed in Portree capital of Skye was very clean and comfortable. The landlady made me porridge hot oatmeal upon my request, before a full Scottish breakfast. We experienced typical weather on the island, fog, gusty wind, rain, stop, rain, stop, etc. on the second day. We went to many places on the Isle of Skye and took breathtaking pictures of the sea and rocks and heathers. There were sheeps and cows, more of them than people. More castles. The 3rd day we took the ferry to Malliag, beautiful view but very windy and cold. Took the Jacobite Steam Train from Malliag to Fort William, the Hogwart Express going over the famous viaduct. Taking pictures on the train is not easy, best to drive and take the pictures from below. Overall, I highly recommend this 3-day tour and I love the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing! We had Duffy as our tour guide and he really made the tour extra perfect. There were greatly timed bathroom breaks I have a bladder condition and THOROUGHLY appreciate this feature in a tour and each stop provided us with such a variety of experiences. Castles, gardens, Jacobite train, memorials, waterfalls, bays... it was outstanding. We were two of five younger adults on our tour and my partner and I had great fun with the others. This was easily my favorite part of my two month trip through Europe! Everyone must do this. It's worth the time and money and it definitely something you will love and cherish

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely amazing trip. Loved the tour and our tour director was fantastic. Definitely go on this tour!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a lovely tour, beautiful scenery, nice people. Joe the driver was very knowledgeable and entertaining, at times laugh out loud funny. I greatly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

fsterlingrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was spectacular. Our guide, Joe, was a true Highlander. He took us to some great places and told some wonderful stories. I would definitely do this tour again. The only thing I could do without was LochNess. It was a bit of a tourist trap but still fun. LOVE LOVE LOVE Skye. Our weather was amazing. I am ready to back.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

moggymegs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything about this tour was fantastic. Except the bus. Not particularly comfortable. Fascinating and very interesting. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Esam K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

very good if you want to discover many places in short time, the bus was nice and clean the driver Dafy was very great guy and full of information , the Jacobite train was a great experience but not in rainy days you will of see anything from the windows.
there was so much wasting of time in the last 2 days, we could se much more of the nature but we visited so much small towns and spend more time than needed, so if you like to take photography this not for you.
the Loch Ness cruise was nice but short and there nothing to do in the rest of the day, the hotels was very nice in good location.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Bradley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great! Had a wonderful time and Nick took great care of us all!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message