Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Scotland’s legendary West Highland Line is dubbed the Hogwarts Express Train line, photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts School from King’s Cross Station’s Platform 9 3/4. Away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide. Beautiful part of the world and Katie our guide, was very good on the history of almost every place we visited. On one occasion the hotel selected for us was very poor standard toilet broken and no idea when they would fix it for us. It was the Redcliffe hotel and of one star standard. But as an adventure overall it was super.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The views were amazing and the accommodation was great but the tour not that good. The train is not what I was expecting at all. If you are booking this tour because of the train is not worth it

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. A big part of that was because of Heather, our tour guide. She did an amazing job of guiding us through our journey and was full of interesting information to share throughout the trip.

The first day through the highlands was beautiful. An amazing day. We stopped many times along the way for some great photo opportunities.

Day 2 was rainy and windy all day on the isle, but still fun. It's Scotland, so you've got to expect that kind of weather at some point during your trip.
We chose the Hotel option on the Isle of Skye, and it was a very nice one and very comfortable. The others in our group that stayed in B and Bs said they were good too.

Day 3 was another good day. Lots of driving, but plenty of stops along the way. And the steam train was good fun too. But if you have no big interest in riding the steam train, you would get most of the same views if you just continued along in the bus. Only choose the train ride if you specifically want that experience.

Again, a great guide made this trip really spectacular. Loved it and would do it again.
Thanks Heather, and Highland Explorer Tours.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The country was absolutely beautiful and the itinery was well planned out, but the best part about the trip by far, was our tour guide, HEATHER, who was a wonderful historian that brought the whole country to life with her animated stories which were always accompanied by thoughtfully chosen music! We were so fortunate to have been on her tour!!! We would highly recommend this to everyone as alterations were made to accommodate everyone young and old, fit and less physically able.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our trip through the Highlands. Our tour guide, Joseph, was fantastic and being a Higlander Man himself, he was able to provide information about the landscape and history of the region. Our 2 night accommodation in the Royal Hotel in Portree was great too. One of the highlights was the steam train trip and even though the weather was typical for the region cold and rainy at times it didn't dampen our enjoyment of the whole experience. Joe regularly pulled the bus over, which allowed many wonderful photo opportunities and his knowledge of the region means that we are now educated about the Scottish Highlands. Also, we felt safe due to his exceptional bus driving capabilities, under adverse weather conditions. Highly recommended. Jenny and Grant, South Australia.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My best experience in Scotland! And Tony is the most versatile, most hilarious, most amazing and most enthusiastic tour guide I've ever met. I'll definitely recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide excellent .tour bus inadequate for long trip very cramped. Lack of tour route info

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really great and truly showed the beauty of Scotland. Our driver Andy was incredibly funny and knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we saw everything we possibly could so we wouldn't miss out. The b and b in Oban was just lovely and all had very nice breakfast.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really enjoyable experience. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and knew where the best view points were even though they were sometimes obscured by cloud. There were several high spots on the trip, the Jacobite train ride was one of them. Driving through the glens and alongside the lochs was magical. The route was well planned and included many mystical locations. I would recommend this to anyone wishing to see something of the highlands and Skye.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

John A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

5 day tour from Edinburgh through the Highlands in early June. We normally steer clear of organised tours but this was a small group and the experience was nothing short of fantastic. Accommodation was in B and Bs organised by the Tour Co and was very acceptable. The route chosen Edinburgh, Oban, Isle of Man, Inverness and back to Edinburgh was close to spot on for the time available with plenty of free time to do our own thing. The tour guide Heather was just wonderful. A bright and bubbly Scott with a great personality, incredible knowledge of history and the locals and wonderfully passionate and clear delivery. 10 out of 10 :
Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

the tour leader was excellent. he knew everyone's name very early in the trip and he provided information throughout the trip. when he thought we might be on overload, he played music. two of the three days had significant hours of driving. we knew that would be the case when we booked the trip so we can't complain about it.
it was a good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great driver and great story teller.
But hope the guide could hv spoken more slowly. Should consider about non-native English speakers like me. Got only 60-70% of the stories told by the guide.
More time needed at Noch Less but too much time given at Armadale Castle. Need better time allocation!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Angela was our tour guide, and she had so much knowledge about Scottish history and each place we visited. She told us some wonderful stories that kept us entertained. We traveled through some lovely country to get to the Isle of Skye and stopped in various places for photo opportunities.Our bus broke down while we were in Dunkeld, but once back on the road, she made sure we didn't miss out on any of the sights along the way. Our B and B was very comfortable and accommodating. We really enjoyed taking the Jacobean train from Malaig to Fort Williams. All in all, it was a fabulous three days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enjoyable 5 day trip. Comfortable bus and places to stay. Our driver/guide was knowledgable and entertaining. A great itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Jackie E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alan is the BEST guide - entertaining, quirky, knowledgeable and with such passion for his country and its history. The tour took us to places on the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views and Alan went out of his way to show us the hidden gems, not just the well-trodden tourist sights. The B and B showed us such warm hospitality and the staff were just lovely. The ferry/train took us pass some great scenery. Highly highly recommended. Only wish I did a much longer tour to take in more of the West Isles and highlands!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was well organised with a smaller group. A great tour guide. Andy did a wonderful job of giving us all a true Scottish experience with interesting narrative throughout the tour. The places we went to were spectacular.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Beautiful scenery. Fun. Everything was well explained. Tour guide kept us apprised of any issues that may occur. Best tour guide ever.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

No doubt , the star is this lovely ,stunning, varied countryside .
The rich culture is felt at almost every step one makes.
Sounds like a truism , but visiting Scotland is a must. This short tour surely
makes you want to see more.....
All this would have been half the fun without the absolute
exceptional 'performance' of our tour guide and driver Andy .
Incredible in-depth knowledge , good fun , extremely helpful.
This was entertainment at its best. Thanks Andy .

The bus we have used could have been more comfy / modern , with
better seats.
The bus' condition clearly was a downside as well as the choice of B/B except for the one
at Inverness. The Jacobite train ride to us appeared grossly overrated.
Old train , totally uncomfortable/tight seats , windows allow only
limited room for photography . Our group evidently was placed in the
3-class compartments.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Scenery of Isle of Skye is very beautiful, really enjoy ourselves.
However, I find that the duration given for each attraction is very tight and limited.
As sometime we need to walk to the location from the place we are being alighted and queue for the attraction, (which this take time).

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Beautiful sights and lovely accommodation, but inappropriate tour guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Heather really knew her history and was entertaining as well. The beauty of the Highlands alone was worth it, too. The B and B was spacious for a B and B, we had a light and spacious bathroom ensuite which was nice, and the owners were welcoming and served excellent Scottish breakfast.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

David W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Angela was our tour driver and guide. She was very relaxed, professional and told the most wonderful stories with gusto and vigour. We once more believe in fairies. Angela was brilliant - the best guide we have ever had. Every day was filled with the most amazing scenery as well as interesting and varied activities. We loved everything about this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message