Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Scotland’s legendary West Highland Line is dubbed the Hogwarts Express Train line, photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts School from King’s Cross Station’s Platform 9 3/4. Away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katsu
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My mother and I joined the 7 Day Tour to the Highlands and it was fantastic! I would certainly recommend it. Our group was a nice mix of early teens to singles and seniors. Our tour guides Heather 5days and Tony 2days had different styles, but both were quite charming, witty and took great care of us all! From early morning till evening, they went above and beyond to give us a great tour with music, history and stories, which kept us all pleasantly entertained, despite some rainy days. All done with a wonderful passion and love for Scotland that spoke true to our hearts and made us fall in love with Scotland even more!
The best guides ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended tour for singles, partners and families. A great experience of Scotland, the Highlans, Jacobite history and of course the Jacobite Steam train. Very enjoyable tour with a great company and driver

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Heather is our tour guide and she's simply fabulous.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Highlands were absolutely stunning. If you want to maximize the number of different things and areas that you see, this is the way to go! You don't have to worry about driving or finding places to stay. Our first tour guide Heather was superb. She did the right amount of talking, story telling, describing history and places and playing music. She has a flair for the sense of drama. Our second tour guide Tony was also outstanding. He is incredibly enthusiastic and loves to describe the many things along the route. He brings it alive for you and always had good tips for places to go and see during the stops. I would recommend this company and these two drivers/guides Heather and Tony to anyone else who wants to get away to Scotland.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

John H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Only need one word to describe this trip, FANTASTIC! Chris our driver/guide made the whole experience one I'll never forget. His historical knowledge was amazing, he also kept us highly entertained with stories and anecdotes. Nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this trip to anyone who loves history and amazing scenery.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My Wife and I had 3 days to fill in between golfing tours and chose this tour. We were mighty glad we did - this trip was a huge highlight of our holiday. The first day took us through the quaint village of Dunkeld where we stopped for a short tour of the town and morning tea / lunch. Then we headed for the highlands! The weather was overcast with misty clouds covering the tops of the hills which added to the mystique and beauty of the ever-increasingly rugged terrain. Scotland was having a very cool summer, and all the hills were still green. The roads were quite narrow, but Chris, our Tour Director was not only a great driver but also kept us well-informed about points of interest that we passed. We passed a number of lochs which had been carved out of the rock by glaciers during the last ice age. Stops for photography were made at some stunningly beautiful spots with the weather obliging by being fine but adding mystique to the hills and valleys.
Late in the afternoon, we crossed the bridge to the Isle of Skye. Soon after being on the Isle we came across a sizeable roadside waterfall caused by fairly consistent rain throughout the day. We motored on to our B and B abodes in Portree which were our resting places for the next 2 nights. Most of us stayed at Rosebank, which had a very friendly homely atmosphere.
The next morning we boarded the bus again to explore the Isle of Skye. The scenery was again breathtakingly beautiful, and around every corner was some new visual gem. We made frequent stops at points of interest to climb hills, explore and take many photos. I was never a great believer in giants or fairies, but Chris's most eloquent story-telling had me convinced by mid afternoon with further confirmation coming when he took us to any area of hills housing the fairy castle. How could one doubt with such evidence being presented!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had booked this tour with lot of excitement and now I can happily say that it was the right decision we made. We saw so many things during this tour that it will take some time to get out of it that it. The tour was well arranged by Highland Explorer Tours, I and my wife felt very comfortable with the accomodation and itenary. Our guide Andy was wonderful and it was he who made our tour even more wonderful and full of events. Very talkative person with lots of knowledge and humour, made it so good that I just have good things to talk about him. His Scottish ascent and way of explaining the things was very pleasant and we liked it very much, hats off to him for providing us with the kind of information we needed. Isle of skye, Ferry from Armadale to Mallaig and the jacobite train all were great and I am just stunned with what I experienced on this tour. I would highly recommend this tour, this agency and most importantly Andy to anyone who wish to have an altogether new experience in their life.
Anshu Srivastav
Bangalore India

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide. Beautiful part of the world and Katie our guide, was very good on the history of almost every place we visited. On one occasion the hotel selected for us was very poor standard toilet broken and no idea when they would fix it for us. It was the Redcliffe hotel and of one star standard. But as an adventure overall it was super.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

OUR LOCAL TOUR COMPANY WAS EXCELLENT AND WERE VERY PLEASED! It was super to have everything paid for and we were even surprised we had a free dinner and drink included in the package which we were unprepared for! All breakfasts and entrance to major attractions were included the 3 star B and Bs were all quaint, friendly and quiet, and made the trip even more personal. The food was excellent! This was our first time with Viator and it was comforting to know we had a 24/7 access to the company if need be. Probably only caution would be to note that handicapped or small children would have problems with numerous steps and lack of handicapped facilities.

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Trip was good - guide, Dougie, was great. Went to places we wouldn't expect larger tours to go.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The views were amazing and the accommodation was great but the tour not that good. The train is not what I was expecting at all. If you are booking this tour because of the train is not worth it

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour bus was bright yellow with Wild and Sexy printed in large letters on the side. I should have walked away at that time. The bus was in poor condition, crowded seating and completely fully loaded. The tour company allowed a group with one very sick lady on the tour who coughed continously and disrupted the whole van. With a larger vehicle, people would have been better able to keep there distance from the lady coughing up a lung. Everybody was made ill just being around her, but no accomadation was made for the other passengers. The driver was often times rude and managed to offend many people on the van, but did not want to discuss the sick passenger at all. The stops were poorly planned, at times we would stay somewhere in the middle of nowhere for 20 minutes, but then not have a decent amount of time for sightseeing or a meal in a place of interest. I would not ever recommend these tour operators to anybody and since Viator is the booking agent, I will not ever use you again either.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. A big part of that was because of Heather, our tour guide. She did an amazing job of guiding us through our journey and was full of interesting information to share throughout the trip.

The first day through the highlands was beautiful. An amazing day. We stopped many times along the way for some great photo opportunities.

Day 2 was rainy and windy all day on the isle, but still fun. It's Scotland, so you've got to expect that kind of weather at some point during your trip.
We chose the Hotel option on the Isle of Skye, and it was a very nice one and very comfortable. The others in our group that stayed in B and Bs said they were good too.

Day 3 was another good day. Lots of driving, but plenty of stops along the way. And the steam train was good fun too. But if you have no big interest in riding the steam train, you would get most of the same views if you just continued along in the bus. Only choose the train ride if you specifically want that experience.

Again, a great guide made this trip really spectacular. Loved it and would do it again.
Thanks Heather, and Highland Explorer Tours.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The country was absolutely beautiful and the itinery was well planned out, but the best part about the trip by far, was our tour guide, HEATHER, who was a wonderful historian that brought the whole country to life with her animated stories which were always accompanied by thoughtfully chosen music! We were so fortunate to have been on her tour!!! We would highly recommend this to everyone as alterations were made to accommodate everyone young and old, fit and less physically able.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our trip through the Highlands. Our tour guide, Joseph, was fantastic and being a Higlander Man himself, he was able to provide information about the landscape and history of the region. Our 2 night accommodation in the Royal Hotel in Portree was great too. One of the highlights was the steam train trip and even though the weather was typical for the region cold and rainy at times it didn't dampen our enjoyment of the whole experience. Joe regularly pulled the bus over, which allowed many wonderful photo opportunities and his knowledge of the region means that we are now educated about the Scottish Highlands. Also, we felt safe due to his exceptional bus driving capabilities, under adverse weather conditions. Highly recommended. Jenny and Grant, South Australia.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My best experience in Scotland! And Tony is the most versatile, most hilarious, most amazing and most enthusiastic tour guide I've ever met. I'll definitely recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide excellent .tour bus inadequate for long trip very cramped. Lack of tour route info

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really great and truly showed the beauty of Scotland. Our driver Andy was incredibly funny and knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we saw everything we possibly could so we wouldn't miss out. The b and b in Oban was just lovely and all had very nice breakfast.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really enjoyable experience. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and knew where the best view points were even though they were sometimes obscured by cloud. There were several high spots on the trip, the Jacobite train ride was one of them. Driving through the glens and alongside the lochs was magical. The route was well planned and included many mystical locations. I would recommend this to anyone wishing to see something of the highlands and Skye.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

John A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

5 day tour from Edinburgh through the Highlands in early June. We normally steer clear of organised tours but this was a small group and the experience was nothing short of fantastic. Accommodation was in B and Bs organised by the Tour Co and was very acceptable. The route chosen Edinburgh, Oban, Isle of Man, Inverness and back to Edinburgh was close to spot on for the time available with plenty of free time to do our own thing. The tour guide Heather was just wonderful. A bright and bubbly Scott with a great personality, incredible knowledge of history and the locals and wonderfully passionate and clear delivery. 10 out of 10 :
Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

the tour leader was excellent. he knew everyone's name very early in the trip and he provided information throughout the trip. when he thought we might be on overload, he played music. two of the three days had significant hours of driving. we knew that would be the case when we booked the trip so we can't complain about it.
it was a good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great driver and great story teller.
But hope the guide could hv spoken more slowly. Should consider about non-native English speakers like me. Got only 60-70% of the stories told by the guide.
More time needed at Noch Less but too much time given at Armadale Castle. Need better time allocation!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Angela was our tour guide, and she had so much knowledge about Scottish history and each place we visited. She told us some wonderful stories that kept us entertained. We traveled through some lovely country to get to the Isle of Skye and stopped in various places for photo opportunities.Our bus broke down while we were in Dunkeld, but once back on the road, she made sure we didn't miss out on any of the sights along the way. Our B and B was very comfortable and accommodating. We really enjoyed taking the Jacobean train from Malaig to Fort Williams. All in all, it was a fabulous three days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message