Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Also known as the Hogwarts Express, Scotland's legendary Jacobite Steam Train is photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts from Platform 9 3/4 at King's Cross ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Doris S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fabulous tour and our guide, Heather, was amazing.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

johnscionti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our guide Duffy was the best. We enjoyed the commentary as we explored all of the destinations. It was a fantastic way to see some of Scotlands beautiful countryside. I thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Margie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! Our guide Joe was absolutely great. He took us to places not on the regular tour schedule, had great information and was very entertaining. The incredible views both in the highlands and on the Isle of Skye were breathtaking and the steam train was a real highlight of the trip. Don't miss this tour.
The Canadian Gals

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dave was a good driver, a good story teller, a DJ, and a passionate Scot. There were 23 people on this tour, most are couples, friends and families, and 5 solo female travelers including me. We got along well. I was constantly awed by the stark beauties of the Scottish Highlands and the lochs. The landscape of the highlands are so different from the lowlands. We visited Loch Ness at Fort Augustus, the southern tip before turning west to the Isle of Skye. We visited Eilean Donan Castle often called the most picturisque castle in Scotland before crossing the bridge to the Isle of Skye. The B and B I stayed in Portree capital of Skye was very clean and comfortable. The landlady made me porridge hot oatmeal upon my request, before a full Scottish breakfast. We experienced typical weather on the island, fog, gusty wind, rain, stop, rain, stop, etc. on the second day. We went to many places on the Isle of Skye and took breathtaking pictures of the sea and rocks and heathers. There were sheeps and cows, more of them than people. More castles. The 3rd day we took the ferry to Malliag, beautiful view but very windy and cold. Took the Jacobite Steam Train from Malliag to Fort William, the Hogwart Express going over the famous viaduct. Taking pictures on the train is not easy, best to drive and take the pictures from below. Overall, I highly recommend this 3-day tour and I love the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing! We had Duffy as our tour guide and he really made the tour extra perfect. There were greatly timed bathroom breaks I have a bladder condition and THOROUGHLY appreciate this feature in a tour and each stop provided us with such a variety of experiences. Castles, gardens, Jacobite train, memorials, waterfalls, bays... it was outstanding. We were two of five younger adults on our tour and my partner and I had great fun with the others. This was easily my favorite part of my two month trip through Europe! Everyone must do this. It's worth the time and money and it definitely something you will love and cherish

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely amazing trip. Loved the tour and our tour director was fantastic. Definitely go on this tour!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a lovely tour, beautiful scenery, nice people. Joe the driver was very knowledgeable and entertaining, at times laugh out loud funny. I greatly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

fsterlingrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was spectacular. Our guide, Joe, was a true Highlander. He took us to some great places and told some wonderful stories. I would definitely do this tour again. The only thing I could do without was LochNess. It was a bit of a tourist trap but still fun. LOVE LOVE LOVE Skye. Our weather was amazing. I am ready to back.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

moggymegs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything about this tour was fantastic. Except the bus. Not particularly comfortable. Fascinating and very interesting. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Esam K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

very good if you want to discover many places in short time, the bus was nice and clean the driver Dafy was very great guy and full of information , the Jacobite train was a great experience but not in rainy days you will of see anything from the windows.
there was so much wasting of time in the last 2 days, we could se much more of the nature but we visited so much small towns and spend more time than needed, so if you like to take photography this not for you.
the Loch Ness cruise was nice but short and there nothing to do in the rest of the day, the hotels was very nice in good location.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Bradley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great! Had a wonderful time and Nick took great care of us all!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Kelvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour formed part of a birthday present from my family and I could not have wished for a better present. My daughter accompanied me on the tour and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The weather performed admirably. We had hot sunny weather for the entire 5 days apparently a rarity in Scotland! and this made the experience that much more enjoyable.
The tour arrangements were excellent. We drove through areas of magnificent scenery. At the various point of interest stops ample time was allowed for people to explore and take in the sights.
The accommodation arranged for the overnight stops was of a high standard. We selected the B and B option and were very happy with the comfort and quality of the food. The B and Bs were also conveniently located close to the town/village centers.
Andy our guide was tremendous. His joking banter kept us amused and his knowledge of the areas we travelled through and points of interest we stopped at was extensive. This together with his history lessons coloured with bits and pieces of folklore added to the enjoyment of the experience.
Andy had the ability to take a busload of strangers and convert them into friends. He also managed to find some degree of personal connection to Scotland for members of the tour party. These actions greatly enhanced the tour for us.
The highlight of the tour for us was our attendance at the Skipinnish Ceilidh during our overnight stop in Oban. Although this was an evening activity and not part of the official tour itinerary our attendance was based on a recommendation from Andy. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and got quite caught up in the spirit of things. We did not realize there was so much Gallic blood in us!
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone considering visiting the Highlands of Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide Heather made with many stories about the past. Great guide

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Darlene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Heather was a great hostess and storyteller. We really loved this trip. The scenery is beautiful and it felt llike we had gone back in time. Darlene from Canada

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Bradley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great journey...Nick, our guide, was very informative, full of stories about each area. The accommodations were excellent. Not having to drive...a blessing! The train ride is a train ride...not a big deal, but getting to Portree, Oban, Inverness, Loch Ness, Culloden...all amazing. We all enjoyed it tremendously!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Manjusri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went with Hghland tours 5HEX from September 7th-11th. It was most wonderful vacation we ever had.Our tour guide Jamiewas superb. He was so energetic and courteous and great story teller that he kept us entertained all day every day. I wish we could get more time in Oban to stay.Thnx. Manjusri Majumdar.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

MaryAnne United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a amazing three days with a fabulous guide. It was rainy and/or overcast almost the entire time, but it didn't matter we still had an incredible time. The trip packed in a ton of stuff in three days, but we never felt rushed and still had a fair bit of time on our own in the evenings. I feel in love with the Isle of Skye, it being one of the most beautiful natural places I have seen. Also, leaned a ton of Scottish history from a fantastic guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Clinton M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fun trip, but it didn't go to the fairy pools. We took a taxi form Portree for 85 euros and loved it.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Beth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

These Scottish tour guides really like to share stories. Nice guide, well travelled, safe driver. B and B in Portree very nice and breakfast was great. Enjoy a visit to a pub while there, even if in hotel- good local band. Drive out was long but touring Isle of Skye and return trip activities were awesome. There is a lot packed into 3 days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

jamarwood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My daughter and I did this trip together in September. Our guide and bus driver, Heather, looked after us all really well. We were a group of 21 in a small bus, so a nice sized group. Heather was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area and she took the time to get to know everyone, which was nice. The scenery was magnificent and the Jacobite train was very enjoyable - tip: try and sit on the right hand side of the carriage, facing the back of the train to take the best photo of the bridge. We chose to stay in the B and B and we were not disappointed, in fact it went beyond my expectations - large room with modern facilities and breakfast was very good. The only thing I would change is our 3 hour stop at the castle on day 2 - I think this should be a 2 hour stop the gardens are well worth seeing. This would allow us a little time to look in the shops etc in Portree before they close as on a Sunday, there is not much to do after 5pm. In fact, we got back too late on both days, so it's a shame we could not get the opportunity to browse in the village we were staying in. This tour is a great introduction into of the Scottish highlands and I would thoroughly recommend it. I hope I can visit again one day!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Mrs G M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderful trip: outstanding scenery, outstanding guide thanks Andy:-, fascinating history and great company. Would go again tomorrow if we could!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I loved this truly unique tour. It was fun and memorable. Our guide, Heather, was terrific. She was knowledgable, entertaining, and best of all, a great story teller. The bus was clean and comfortable, as were our accommodations. Even though we had some rain it is Scotland after all, the sun would come out, and the views, especially on the Isle of Skye, were just breathtaking. And let's not forget the Hogwarts Express -- what a unique addition to an already high quality tour. I give this my highest recommendation!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Mayuree R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Action packed... Shout out to a great tour operator Katie!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Yvonne B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful country! Our guide was a great story-teller and very thorough in making sure we were taken care of!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Johann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour, Scot was a great tour guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message