• USD ($)
  • English

Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Hogwarts Express Train

Scotland’s legendary West Highland Line is dubbed the Hogwarts Express Train line, photogenically featured in the Harry Potter films when Harry and crew are transported by train to Hogwarts School from King’s Cross Station’s Platform 9 3/4. Away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of the Scottish highlands was wonderful. The scenery was magnificent and we saw many places on the Isle of Skye and the highlands that would have been inaccessible without our knowledgeable tour guide. The highlight, however, for all our family (including our young children) was our tour guide - Don. Don was full or facts, amusing stories and care and concern for the welfare and comfort of all passengers. Don made the experience an absolute joy and his passion for the highlands was contagious! We have been on many tours in many countries and we have not yet encountered a tour guide as likeable as Don. This was a wonderful tour and a highlight of our Scottish experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome tour - learned lots - our guide Scot was enthusiastic and so full of information and cultural facts, music interpretation. Most memorable moment was when he had us standing on the side of a hill overlooking a small town while he sang an old song written by one of its citizens. Beautiful.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lovely tour. We had the best driver/guide possible in Scot. He was full of information as well as a great singer. My favorites were the stop over at the MacDonald castle on the Isle of Skye and the train ride on the steam train, aka Hogwarts train. As with all these tours just wish they'd make them maybe a day longer so you had more time at sites. You usually have to sacrifice eating to have enough time to see everything adequately. I'd like to have time to sit down and eat and enjoy the food but also have time to not have to rush to tour the sites.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful knowledgeable and flexible and responsive guide. Good to book your evening meals in Portree in advance. Rec Sea Breeze. Hotel room musty and too tiny for 2. Blah food At hotel. For picnic go to Local Produce. Landscapes contenders for most beautiful on the planet.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was fun to get out of the city and see the country side of Scotland. It was so green and peaceful. The guide Steven was very friendly and he was constantly telling us about the histlry of Scotland. At each stop he gave us a good background about the area. He took us to a place that is similar to stone Henge. It was nice to walk around the structures and take pictures. We were the onlly ones there at the time. Steven took us the to the location where the book Peter Pan was written. We saw the building that the story was written. The Jacobite train ride was fun. We took pictures, visited with otheres and enjoyed the screenry. It was well worth the money to get out into the country and learn about Scotland.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great experience! Stunning landscapes, good service in B and Bs, fun and witty guide! However, not always enough time for visiting places of interest.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The highlight of our trip to Scotalnd. Highly recommended!! Our guide was young, energetic and very knowledgable. He went out of his way to make sure we saw the sights and even took a few detours for us. The small coach was nice as we could get to places the big buses couldn't and our group was like a family when we were done. He made sure he know all our names, where we came from and what we expected from the tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I had an absolutely lovely time on this trip. The weather was cooperating (only rained for about 5 minutes), we had a great driver, Keith, and the scenery was absolutely FANTASTIC. On Skye, I sat awestruck and teary-eyed most of the time, it was just so beautiful. We had booked the B and B accommodation and all of them were great. Close to the town centre, great hosts and spacious rooms.

There was a good mix of activities on this tour - castles, gardens, scenery, whiskey and the like. Keith talked a lot about Scottish history as we were driving along, but not too much. He also mixed it up with some great Scottish music - not just bagpipes. For me, time was never quite enough on any of the places where we stopped - I would have liked more time to both soak up the information, listen to audio guides and take (lots of!) pictures. At the same time I wouldn't have liked to miss any of the places we stopped at to have more time somewhere else, so it all comes out okay in the end. And I guess that just means that I have to come back later...=)

I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I really enjoyed my three day tour of the Highlands, specially Portree, Isle of Skye, I thought the B and B was also excellent, the Rosemount, family very warm and welcoming. The train over the viaduct, was really enjoyable, lot of fun, in Mallaig and just the drive through the Highlands, can't wait to return for a longer visit. Tour guide was excellent and informative, I will have to have a family member show me how to log my photos on, took excellent photos of the train coming around the via duct, thanks to a staff member on the train, in the gift shop at the time, and he told me I had a perfect photo opportunity,that was nice of him,he was very informative and friendly too, also my photos of Glencoe. Looking forward to a return visit, Loch Ness, Callander and Blair Atholl on my list to do now. Thank you. ,

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Not only was the scenery incredible the drive kept the drive very interesting with historic information about the areas we were traveling in.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The scenery is definitely 5-star.
Three drawbacks about the tour: 1. the accommodation for one person is way tooooo expensive 2. Not many opportunities to actually go around or hike even a little bit on the highlands. 3. The last two days' plan is a bit loose and it seems that it's possible to put them into 4 days...
Other things: 1. First morning, the reception gave me the wrong bus number and I got on another tour bus because of that. Really unprofessional. 2. No one mentioned about the audio guide at all at the reception. 3. Some printed materials would be very helpful.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The Jacobite Steam train was interesting, and we were able to take lots of pictures. The journey itself was quite peaceful, just enjoyed the scenery. The seafood at Mallaig was amazing, but there wasn't much else to do in the little town.

The highlight of the tour was our driver, who kept us entertained with jokes and stories about Scottish history. This was very welcome as a lot of the trip was taken up by long stretches of driving with a few quick stops to take pics.

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I totally recommend this tour to people from all ages and places in the world! Despite being a "Potterhead" (the tour took me to places I had always wished to go to experience Potter's films), I was able to learn loads of Scottish history while having a great time in those stunning landscapes! Simply PERFECT!!! I certainly exceeded all my expectations! Don't miss it!

Doing what: 2-Day Jacobite Experience including the Hogwarts Express

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was fabulous. Carole enhanced the tour with a combination of knowledge, humor and enthusiasm.
We feel that she made this tour unforgettable. Thanks Carole!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message