Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Holyrood Palace

The Palace of Holyrood House, most often called Holyrood Palace, faces Edinburgh Castle along the length of the Royal Mile. Like its majestic companion, it's riddled with some of Scotland's most potent history.  The Abbey in the grounds was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant value-for-money tour. We enjoyed 48 hours of sightseeing all the major sights of the city - including the Castle and Holyrood Palace and Royal Yacht Britannia on the Quuens 90th as an added bonus. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible with limited time availability

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Annette R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful day at castle ,walked down Royal Mile to Holyrood palace. Used hop on / off bus to see the Britannia ship-great time, then did 3 routes around Edinburgh. Worth the value of ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour is quite simply fantastic value for money and one of the best ways to see as much of Edinburgh as possible in a short space of time - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going there. Also great value for money with fast tracked entry to Britannia Yacht, Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse. It's worth knowing that attractions close at 4pm at weekends in winter?? so you should plan your day with that in mind.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laurelee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day we had with this one!! We used our Hop-On Hop-Off pass which included passes to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. These two attractions were simply amazing and wonderful. especially the castle.
The tour itself around Edinburgh was entertaining and interesting as well. The commentator was informative and amusing as well. Highly recommend if you are in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

glendahall13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very cold wet weekend in Edinburgh but this 3 in one tour ticket experience we felt well worth it.
Hop on bus good value and stops located well.
Holyrood House well worth it too
Really enjoyed the Royal Yacht.
and Edinburgh castle was excellent even though we did get wet through doing the visit.
Both Holyrood , Castle and Royal Yacht we had straight through entry with no waiting included in the price

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Josephine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a wonderful tour -you have the freedom to hop on and off for two whole days and then you have the entrance tickets included for Holyrood,Royal Yacht Britannia and the castle -excellent value for money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

dkedwards

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

As usual, Hop On Hop Off is the best way to see the hot spots! Having 4 buses to choose from, each with their slightly different route and commentary method, was also good. Glad we got the 48hour ticket. Also, having our tickets to the Castle, Holyroodhouse and Brittannia meant we didn't have to line up thus giving us more time at these places!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very great experience, but I expect to get some repayment due to Holyrood Palace was closed to visitors due to Her Majesties Queen Elisabeth was expected to arrive in some days.
We could not visit the Palace either saturday nor sunday, and the Queen has not even arrived monday.
Newertheless all guides / earphones were excellent, If you could understand their english, which was closed to scottish.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent way to see all the sights in Edinburgh! This price includes the castle Britannia, and Holyrood. It's a great deal.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Caitlin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent Value for money. The express entrance into the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace was very nice and having access to all 4 tours meant that I saw all of the sites in the city that I wanted to see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

k.dossin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was great. Enjoyed all three of the main attractions Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse, and Royal Britannia included with the Royal Edinburgh ticket. Hop-On, Hop-Off bus is also a great way to get about and learn the history of the city, and the staff are always so helpful if you have questions about which bus line to take or which stop you need to get off at.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to tour a city. Exceptional tour done of Holyrood Palace.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kim w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing deal. The old Routemaster bus was the best tour guide with life commentary. the ladies that we had were terrific and full of knowledge, it also brought back memories for me as my parents own a Routemaster bus. there are 4 buses to use 2 with life tour guides and others are audio. we a central place to pick up either of the 4 buses and also places of interest where they all go as well so you can use either of the buses. Only the Blue Bus takes you to Britannia. We enjoy visiting Edinburgh Castle. there is a free tour with guide of the castle. Holyrood House and HMS Britannia have audio tours. I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Edinburgh. best way to get round and plenty of history as well.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Macole2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We purchased the Royal Pass for the 48 hour hop on hop off tours. This included the entry three attractions, the Royal Britanna Yacht, the Holyrood house/Palace and fast entry into the Edinburgh Castle. The majority of the tours were audio with ear buds. At first I didn't think I would like it without a live guide, but to my surprise it was very informative and timely. The routes around the city cover nearly the entire city so ther is lots to see. Best Deal Ever!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Julia G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent value for money. We used the buses a lot and found the staff helpful. We visited Holyrood, the Royal Yacht, Britannia and Edinburgh castle. By doing this we got the bus trips virtually free. We especially enjoyed the Royal Yacht and would recommend this to people with mobility problems.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

ccanthony14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great package - hop on hop-off was excellent. Did not have to wait in any lines to see Castle, Holyrood house or Royal Yacht. Hop off/ Hop on was so informative.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Anamika S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Smart choice.. to spend 2 days in Edinburgh.
Gives you access to the main tourist spots -- Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace.
Also allows you access on 5 different routes.. Really great way to explore the city

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Betty N T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding way to see the city and surrounding areas, the Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle and Royal Britannia entries included are all well worth the price of the "package"

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

rhonda.dalton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for the money! We used the Hop-On Hop-Off bus for the full 48 hours to get around Edinburgh, it was a good value which included our ticket cost to Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Eleanor O

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Need to have your day well planned with what you want to see.Confusion about pick-up outside Palace of Holyrood very rude driver ,not helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Bruce USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Driver told me that the Palace at Holyroodhouse was closing and I should be sure to see it this day. Excellent tour,

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lee E

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

I did not give this a higher rating only because I did not take the whole bus tour around, my fault and no one else's. Generally, I love the hop-on hop-off buses, because they allow you to get a general overview of the location. Unfortunately, as I usually travel to see specific things, I often do not see the whole tour. I must say this particular bus information and route (what I heard of it) was very good and very informative. I found it one of the best I had been on. I just wish I could have made it all the way to Holyrood! Would recommend any traveler to Edinburgh doing this.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

We actually ended up not using these tickets as it was much less expensive to purchase a 48-hour pass for all the sight-seeing buses that included admission to several of the sights. Taking the buses is a great way to get around Edinburgh, though. But this bus will not take you to Brittania or to Holyrood House--two "must sees".

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message