The Palace of Holyrood House, most often called Holyrood Palace, faces Edinburgh Castle along the length of the Royal Mile. Like its majestic companion, it's riddled with some of Scotland's most potent history.  The Abbey in the grounds was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to tour a city. Exceptional tour done of Holyrood Palace.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing deal. The old Routemaster bus was the best tour guide with life commentary. the ladies that we had were terrific and full of knowledge, it also brought back memories for me as my parents own a Routemaster bus. there are 4 buses to use 2 with life tour guides and others are audio. we a central place to pick up either of the 4 buses and also places of interest where they all go as well so you can use either of the buses. Only the Blue Bus takes you to Britannia. We enjoy visiting Edinburgh Castle. there is a free tour with guide of the castle. Holyrood House and HMS Britannia have audio tours. I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Edinburgh. best way to get round and plenty of history as well.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We purchased the Royal Pass for the 48 hour hop on hop off tours. This included the entry three attractions, the Royal Britanna Yacht, the Holyrood house/Palace and fast entry into the Edinburgh Castle. The majority of the tours were audio with ear buds. At first I didn't think I would like it without a live guide, but to my surprise it was very informative and timely. The routes around the city cover nearly the entire city so ther is lots to see. Best Deal Ever!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Julia G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent value for money. We used the buses a lot and found the staff helpful. We visited Holyrood, the Royal Yacht, Britannia and Edinburgh castle. By doing this we got the bus trips virtually free. We especially enjoyed the Royal Yacht and would recommend this to people with mobility problems.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great package - hop on hop-off was excellent. Did not have to wait in any lines to see Castle, Holyrood house or Royal Yacht. Hop off/ Hop on was so informative.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Smart choice.. to spend 2 days in Edinburgh.
Gives you access to the main tourist spots -- Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace.
Also allows you access on 5 different routes.. Really great way to explore the city

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding way to see the city and surrounding areas, the Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle and Royal Britannia entries included are all well worth the price of the "package"

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for the money! We used the Hop-On Hop-Off bus for the full 48 hours to get around Edinburgh, it was a good value which included our ticket cost to Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Need to have your day well planned with what you want to see.Confusion about pick-up outside Palace of Holyrood very rude driver ,not helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Driver told me that the Palace at Holyroodhouse was closing and I should be sure to see it this day. Excellent tour,

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

I did not give this a higher rating only because I did not take the whole bus tour around, my fault and no one else's. Generally, I love the hop-on hop-off buses, because they allow you to get a general overview of the location. Unfortunately, as I usually travel to see specific things, I often do not see the whole tour. I must say this particular bus information and route (what I heard of it) was very good and very informative. I found it one of the best I had been on. I just wish I could have made it all the way to Holyrood! Would recommend any traveler to Edinburgh doing this.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

We actually ended up not using these tickets as it was much less expensive to purchase a 48-hour pass for all the sight-seeing buses that included admission to several of the sights. Taking the buses is a great way to get around Edinburgh, though. But this bus will not take you to Brittania or to Holyrood House--two "must sees".

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

we waited more than 20minutes for the bus at the holyrood palace & edinburgh castle..and was so cold..

Doing what: City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message