• USD ($)
  • English
The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of these best tours I have ever gone on. If you are short on time and want to see the Isle of Skye in comfort then this tour is for you. For only 3 days you actually see a vast amount of Skye and the Scottish highlands, Loch Ness and many many other amazing places along the way.

Our group was only 10 people and we were in a medium sized bus which was very comfortable, the small group made it easy to get to know people and have one on one time with the tour guide, if you want to. There are heaps of photo stops, toilet breaks and places to get food/drinks. Eric, our amazing tour guide, had an impressive amount of knowledge on Scotland and it's history and information about each place we visited. He really made the tour what it is - a very personable, funny guy who accommodates everyone's needs and answers anyone's questions. He was so helpful, passionate and really made the tour exciting all of the time, even when we were just cruising for a couple of hours on the bus to our next stop.

The acommodation is in a town called Portree and the B and B we were put in was excellent. Fantastic view of the surrounding area and harbour of Portree, with a friendly and welcoming owner who cooked the most delicious breakfasts.

Overall this was a well organised, informative, fun and enjoyable tour conducted by a company called Rabbies. I highly recommend it and truly believe I got the most out of Skye and Northern Scotland etc in the short time I had. 5 out of 5!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of the Scottish highlands was wonderful. The scenery was magnificent and we saw many places on the Isle of Skye and the highlands that would have been inaccessible without our knowledgeable tour guide. The highlight, however, for all our family (including our young children) was our tour guide - Don. Don was full or facts, amusing stories and care and concern for the welfare and comfort of all passengers. Don made the experience an absolute joy and his passion for the highlands was contagious! We have been on many tours in many countries and we have not yet encountered a tour guide as likeable as Don. This was a wonderful tour and a highlight of our Scottish experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was wonderful. We had a wide variety of experiences that were uniquely Scottish -- photo ops of Loch Ness with the ruins of Urquhart Castle in the foreground and of Loch Carron, a chance to tour Eilean Donan Castle, a visit to the tiny fishing village of El Gol on a beautiful stretch of Atlantic coast on the Isle of Skye, opportunities to walk through sheep meadows by a sheep fold and to see highland cattle up close and personal, a walk to the Thomas Telford Bridge at Invermoriston, and a stop at the ruins of a historic church surrounded by a quaint, lovely graveyard. The day was somewhat different than outlined by Viator's website. For example, we passed through Broadford without stopping for lunch, because we took extra time at Eilean Donan so that those who wanted to tour the castle -- which was most of the group -- could do so. The castle was worth a visit, and I was glad to exchange that for lunch in Broadford. Those who were hungry could grab a quick bite to eat at the castle visitor center. The highland scenery was beautiful throughout the day, and although it was mostly cloudy, we escaped rain and were able to see the islands of Rum, Eigg and Muck from the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lovely tour. We had the best driver/guide possible in Scot. He was full of information as well as a great singer. My favorites were the stop over at the MacDonald castle on the Isle of Skye and the train ride on the steam train, aka Hogwarts train. As with all these tours just wish they'd make them maybe a day longer so you had more time at sites. You usually have to sacrifice eating to have enough time to see everything adequately. I'd like to have time to sit down and eat and enjoy the food but also have time to not have to rush to tour the sites.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In a word it was terrific. My companion and I were thoroughly thrilled with all aspects of the tour. Our Guide and driver, Graham, was enthusiastic, very knowledgable, and just an all around great guy. He is very proud of his country and it came across in a way that made his explanations of history fun to listen to. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is open to fall in love with the Highlands and the Isle of Skye.
Lenore and Steve

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I really enjoyed my three day tour of the Highlands, specially Portree, Isle of Skye, I thought the B and B was also excellent, the Rosemount, family very warm and welcoming. The train over the viaduct, was really enjoyable, lot of fun, in Mallaig and just the drive through the Highlands, can't wait to return for a longer visit. Tour guide was excellent and informative, I will have to have a family member show me how to log my photos on, took excellent photos of the train coming around the via duct, thanks to a staff member on the train, in the gift shop at the time, and he told me I had a perfect photo opportunity,that was nice of him,he was very informative and friendly too, also my photos of Glencoe. Looking forward to a return visit, Loch Ness, Callander and Blair Atholl on my list to do now. Thank you. ,

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The 3-Day Isle of Skye tour was the highlight of our 2 1/2 week trip to Ireland and Scotland. Ally was the best -- he knew his history well, was animated, entertaining, funny, and an excellent driver. I hope the company realizes what a jewel they have in him. These small group tours are the way to go. We loved being taken to all of the out of the way places, climbing up the hills to get those spectacular views. I can't say enough about the wonderful time we had. Thanks!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Best part of our trip abroad. Loved the Isle of Skye and all it's beauty. Our tour guide, John, was wonderful; perfect blend of history and humor. He made sure everyone was comfortable and at ease. I remember reading all of the reviews and thinking "is it true everyone could love this trip so much?". Trust me, it is true. Very glad my daughter and I were a part of it.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My friends and I really enjoyed the tour. Not only for the magnificent sites in the isle of Skye, but also because of our very knowledgeable guide who did an excellent job of safely driving our coach while sharing the history and some anecdotes of the places we visited.
The accommodation provided in the package was also great.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was my first experience with small bus tours but I would highly recommend this one. The 16 passenger bus was comfortable and clean and the tour guide was absolutely fantastic. He showed us such a variety of things and interlaced the entire tour with history, scottish legend and fairy stories told with his wonderful accent. There were plenty of stops for wonderful pictures. Scotland is a very beautiful place but the Isle of Skye is breathtaking. The bed and breakfast was very clean and comfortable. Overall, the tour was wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

beyond our expectations !
the guide (Pete) was absolutely smashing (funny, entertaning, informative) ,
the Isle of Skye is like TELISKAR whisky, .........very special!
thanks !

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was truly memorable. The historical sights and natural wonder were remarkable.
the tour was much easier than driving as no navigation was necessary. The small size of the bus made entrance / egress at the many stops easy. The small number of people on the bus enabled the participants to easily find enough restaurant space in the towns we visited. Eddie, our driver and guide, was a wealth of historical information and anecdotes. He truly made the trip a memorable experience. He worked in concert with the other Rabie's drivers to ensure a quality experience for all. In our case, 2 buses left Edinburgh at the same time but took different routes to avoid crowding along the way. The drivers also compared notes whenever they met up to help improve the experience for all. Eddie also allowed flexibility on the trip so that the tour content on the Isle of Skye included participant preferences (e.g. stopping at Dunvegan Castle for an extended time). Eddie's driving was extremely professional and very courteous to others on the road. He even arranged to drop off a couple to catch another Rabie's bus to Glasglow (saving them time) and dropped us off at our rental apartment in Edinburgh on the way home saving us time and money.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip. Perfect amount of time trying to spot Nessie; pretty views on Isle of Skye; good accommodations (B and B) but a short walk to town. Tour is very well organized and captures the "must see" spots well. Would have liked more time at Eilean Donan Castle (for the amount of time at the stop we didn't pay admission to tour the castle). But got castles covered in the next two days at other castles. We opted to take the train ride; even for non-Harry Potter fans, the views are beautiful and very scenic.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour to the Isle of Skye with Rabbie's Trail Burners was absolutely incredible! It completely exceeded my expectations! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Scotland's history and the areas where we traveled, and he made it entertaining. He made a lot of stops along the way there and on Skye, often off the main road, for some amazing photo opportunities. I believe I saw much more than I ever would have if I made the trip on my own. He was also very accommodating to everyone's needs for food/bathroom breaks. The town of Portree, where we stayed for 2 nights on Skye, is in a quiet little harbor, and it was the perfect place to stay on Skye. My only regret is that the trip was too short. This is definitely a trip I will never forget!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Li
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great way to see Isle of Skye. Very professional tour guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message