The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It's a wonderful tour! One of the best tour companies in Scotland! Neist point Lighthouse is a
must-see place in Isle of Skye. 超讚的tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I'll never forget this amazing trip. I love isle of Skye!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a wonderful experience! Everything was wonderful from the beautiful landscape to the informative guides. We not only saw the highlands, the Isle of Skye and all the signature sights, there were stories told by the guides to help us understand the history of the country. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Angela was our tour guide, and she had so much knowledge about Scottish history and each place we visited. She told us some wonderful stories that kept us entertained. We traveled through some lovely country to get to the Isle of Skye and stopped in various places for photo opportunities.Our bus broke down while we were in Dunkeld, but once back on the road, she made sure we didn't miss out on any of the sights along the way. Our B and B was very comfortable and accommodating. We really enjoyed taking the Jacobean train from Malaig to Fort Williams. All in all, it was a fabulous three days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Jackie E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alan is the BEST guide - entertaining, quirky, knowledgeable and with such passion for his country and its history. The tour took us to places on the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views and Alan went out of his way to show us the hidden gems, not just the well-trodden tourist sights. The B and B showed us such warm hospitality and the staff were just lovely. The ferry/train took us pass some great scenery. Highly highly recommended. Only wish I did a much longer tour to take in more of the West Isles and highlands!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed the tour of the Highlands and Isle of Skye. Our guide, Peter, was very informative and had a wonderful story-telling technique. He drove the bus expertly while telling us stories and discussing what we were going to see. He made a special effort to get us into a whiskey distillery for a tasting. When the electricity was out on Skye the evening we were to arrive, he arranged for us to have dinner on the mainland before driving over. I learned a great deal about the Highlands and Skye on the tour. I will definitely take a Rabbies tour again.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day trip arose the Scottish Highlands and onto the Isle of Skye. We did not spend long on the Isle though, so I would recommend thinking of this as a highlands trip that ends on Skye. The tour guide Allison was fun and full of facts and laughter! Overall I was very glad to have made this trip.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour. I have always wanted to visit the Isle of Skye since I sang the Skye Boat Song in the choir at primary school - 60 years ago!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip-a lot of nice scenery, liked the Isle of Skye, the BB, and the castle that you see is the picture-Gary S

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Scenery of Isle of Skye is very beautiful, really enjoy ourselves.
However, I find that the duration given for each attraction is very tight and limited.
As sometime we need to walk to the location from the place we are being alighted and queue for the attraction, (which this take time).

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

It was a nice day and we enjoyed all of the tour except the lunch... it certainly would have been better to have dropped us all at a central place where we could have ordered food we liked OR at the very least go to a decent place to eat... where we went was very depressing, the food was terrible and the service was even worse... we'd heard all these people talk about the great seafood restaurants on the Isle of Skye and I didn't see one person in our group that really ate much of their food after we had waited forever for ONE grumpy old lady to finally deliver it (with a 20 minute difference in the time some got their food and when others got their food). Must say the meal certainly spoiled a trip we would have otherwise enjoyed. Find a new venue for the one meal in a 12 hour period! Because of it we would only rate the tour as mediocre.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you want to explore the Scottish Highlands, this is the way to go! We traveled on a very comfortable Mercedes bus and saw sights and experienced adventures we will remember for a lifetime. Our guide, Doug was amazing and a wealth of knowledge, relating many stories and history of the areas we traveled. We also got to know and bond with most of the wonderful and diverse people in our group of 16 which added much to the journey. There are many stop-offs during the trip for breaks and time to see the wonderful areas along the way. In Portree, we had excellent accommodations and found this to be a very enchanting seaside town with shops and excellent restaurants. The tour of the Isle of Skye was amazing and the sights and places we visited were incredible and adventurous. This is one trip that should be on everyone’s Top 10 Bucket List.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The 3 day Isle of Skye tour was great. We saw an amazing amount of places in 3 days. I loved the Isle of Skye it is very beautiful and so very green. Our driver Aiden was great - he gave us lots of information about Scottish history and the areas we visited and played a great mix of Scottish music along the way as well. I would recommend the trip to others for sure. My only gripe was that my B and B was a pretty long walk from the center of Portree and I did not have a map and walked alone. I was reimbursed for taking a cab back to the B and B after dinner in Portree the first night. It is more difficult to find a single B and B room. However the B and B itself was nice, the food was good and plentiful, and the hostess was very friendly. Overall it was a great trip - I plan on coming back again some day. I also enjoyed staying in Edinburgh a couple of days seeing the castle and going on a ghost tour a night :) I would have booked a ticket in advance to see the Military Tatoo if I had known about it ahead of time. They were sold out over a month in advance. I love old castles which is one of the reasons I had wanted to come to Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip to the Isle of Skye was a present to my husband for his 60th birthday. It was a very special trip, made so by Ruth, our guide, who was really fantastic. We loved the whole experience. The mini bus was very comfortable and it was good to meet our fellow travellers. The weather was fabulous and the scenery stunning. As the trip was well organised we felt we saw everything you would want to see.
The B and B in Skye was excellent- clean, views of the sea and an excellent breakfast.
The icing on the cake was when Ruth shared a wee dram with us all to celebrate my husband's birthday on the banks of a stream! We would highly recommend the trip and are planning to take our son and his girlfriend on the Islay whiskey tour next year.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Billow and breeze, islands and seas,
Mountains of rain and sun...
All that was good, all that was fair...
— at Isle of Skye, Scotland, UK.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fabulous and the Isle of Skye was even more beautiful in person than my wildest expectations! Our tour guide, Sarah, was very fun, knowledgeable and organized, and the B and B we stayed in on Skye had the most beatiful views of the lake. Would definitely recommend!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide and we got to see most of the advertised route. Weather and heavy traffic prevented us from doing the Northwest Highlands loop that included Ullapool. The beds my family had in the Kings Knoll hotel in Oban (the "family room") were hard and uncomfortable and room window opened out to main road so we heard every car that went by but other lodging was fine. Need to allocate more time for Urquhart Castle---no way to tour the castle AND the visitor center in time allotted. Really enjoyed Isle of Skye and the Jacobite Steam Train parts of tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The natural sentery in Scotland was really beautiful. However, the weather in the Isle of Skye was awful. We were unlucky. Our guide was good, talking a lot of history in Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour captured all of what we had wanted to do with great tour leader. Unfortunately accommodation could have been better. We booked B and B ensuited rooms and only the last night in Inverness was good. On the Isle of Skye our bathroom was down a corridor past other bedrooms and off the main foyer with NO lock on the door. This accommodation was sub standard, very old, small and dated and should not be used again. But Scotland's charm made our trip memorable.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful Scenery, quirky guide, wonderful meal on the Isle of Skye. It was a great day!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I went on a three week vacation throughout Europe and we booked a tour nearly every days of the trip. This three day tour was by far the highlight of the journey. Our tour guide was Scot and he made the tour absolutely fantastic! He added stops to the tour that were not on the itinerary (whiskey distillery and Fairy Pools), and offered hilarious commentaries throughout the drives to each location. As he said, everything is better with music, and Scot added several musical commentaries as well (Indiana Jones while driving up a rocky road on the Isle of Sky, Titanic while getting off the ferry, Harry Potter while going to the train, etc). It just made the whole experience that much better. You could also tell that he loves his Country. His passion about everything we saw was very apparent throughout the whole trip.

So, praise of Scot covered, really everything we went to was just fantastic. The Isle of Skye was a great experience and the Jacobite train was the icing on the cake. The scenery on the train was just beautiful - hint, make sure you ask to sit on the right...the bridge picture can only be taken from the right side of the train.

I also definitely would not pay extra to stay on a hotel. The Bed and Breakfast they put us up in was just fine. The room was Huge compared to anything we stayed at in London, Scotland, Rome, or Paris, and the owners of the B and B were very sweet. Plus, the breakfast was delicious. The only negative of the B and B that I can think of is the thinness of the walls. We could here people just talking in the next room. However, everyone was pretty tired, so we all went to bed at roughly the same time, so the noise wasn't really an issue.

I really just can't say enough about how great this trip was. My mom mom and I both just fell in love with Scotland with this tour. Run, don't walk to sign up for this amazing experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Scotland is an absolutely beautiful country, and Isle of Skye is particularly lovely. Our guide, Andy, is passionate about his country and was a wealth of information. He conveyed the history and culture of the country at every turn. Upon comparison with other travelers, the upgrade to hotel (vs. B and B) was probably not worth it since others reported the B and B accomodations to be spacious and private.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Isle of Skye tour exceeded our expectations. We hit a double jackpot - 1) Karen (our driver/tour guide); and 2) our B and B accommodations and hostess; were the absolute best! Karen's passion for Scotish history, geography, and natural wonders made the time fly by, and we came away loving Scotland in a way that we had not anticipated. It was a delightful three days that will live with us forever.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This tour should not be called Isle of Skye Trip. There was very less Skye in the tour. We reached Isle of Skye at 2:30 PM, then had lunch and we were out of Skye by 5 PM. We didn't see any landmark places nor did we visit Portree. Very badly planned. Quite disappointed with the tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely spectacular and was the highlight of my two-week tour of Europe. I can't recommend it enough. The Scottish Highlands and the Isle of Skye are so beautiful that they are almost impossible to describe in words. They are one of the most magical and compelling places I've ever visited. The tour had the perfect balance of guiding and independent time, and the small group of 16 meant we all got to know each other. It felt more like a big road trip with friends than a regular tour. Our guide, Ruth, was fantastic: she was passionate, energetic and filled with incredible stories of the history and culture of the area, so our time passed quickly in the van. Stops were well spaced out so we never felt like we were driving too much, and we had plenty of time at each place. I dream of the day I can return to this magnificent area of the world. I highly recommend this experience for both first-time and return visitors to Edinburgh!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message