The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fabulous and the Isle of Skye was even more beautiful in person than my wildest expectations! Our tour guide, Sarah, was very fun, knowledgeable and organized, and the B and B we stayed in on Skye had the most beatiful views of the lake. Would definitely recommend!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is by far the best way to see the most of the Scottish countryside in a short span of time. We were amazed at the beautiful views and gorgeous scenery, it will take your breath away. This tour covers a lot of ground, you will start south, drive up through the western highlands and national parks, stop north in the picturesque Isle of Skye, and then continue back South East before returning towards Edinburgh. The tour is very accessible, you travel everywhere by bus and there is not huge deal of walking, so it is a pace that can facilitate all age groups. Our accommodation in Skye was the nicest place we stayed at in the UK. We stayed in Tarradale, the only place that could accommodate our family of six staying in the same building. Alan and Margaret were very sweet and accommodating. Allan was kind enough to offer my mother a lift into town when she hurt her leg, and was able to post a package for me which I didn't have time to send because of the tour schedule. The pair put out a great spread, they loaded our plates with a great traditional Scottish Breakfast each morning. It was a lovely stay and we really enjoyed ourselves.The tour however, would have not been half as much fun if not for the efforts of our wonderful tour guide/driver Duncan. From the moment he arrived, Duncan was upbeat, enthusiastic and helpful. He is a wonderful storyteller with a wealth of information about local geography, Scottish culture, bloody histories and of course, "faerie stories." He talked for the vast majority of the trip, and was always entertaining; I felt bad every time I nodded off and missed part of one of his stories, I wanted to hear everything he had to say. He was always pleasant, even when dealing with rain, late tour group members, some erratic drivers on the road and even an irate local. It was also just nice having a tour guide who was just as excited as I was every time he saw a "hairy coo." Thank you Duncan for making our tour such a pleasurable experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide and we got to see most of the advertised route. Weather and heavy traffic prevented us from doing the Northwest Highlands loop that included Ullapool. The beds my family had in the Kings Knoll hotel in Oban (the "family room") were hard and uncomfortable and room window opened out to main road so we heard every car that went by but other lodging was fine. Need to allocate more time for Urquhart Castle---no way to tour the castle AND the visitor center in time allotted. Really enjoyed Isle of Skye and the Jacobite Steam Train parts of tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The natural sentery in Scotland was really beautiful. However, the weather in the Isle of Skye was awful. We were unlucky. Our guide was good, talking a lot of history in Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The natural sentery in Scotland was really beautiful. However, the weather in the Isle of Skye was awful. We were unlucky. Our guide was good, talking a lot of history in Scotland.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour captured all of what we had wanted to do with great tour leader. Unfortunately accommodation could have been better. We booked B and B ensuited rooms and only the last night in Inverness was good. On the Isle of Skye our bathroom was down a corridor past other bedrooms and off the main foyer with NO lock on the door. This accommodation was sub standard, very old, small and dated and should not be used again. But Scotland's charm made our trip memorable.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful Scenery, quirky guide, wonderful meal on the Isle of Skye. It was a great day!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I went on a three week vacation throughout Europe and we booked a tour nearly every days of the trip. This three day tour was by far the highlight of the journey. Our tour guide was Scot and he made the tour absolutely fantastic! He added stops to the tour that were not on the itinerary (whiskey distillery and Fairy Pools), and offered hilarious commentaries throughout the drives to each location. As he said, everything is better with music, and Scot added several musical commentaries as well (Indiana Jones while driving up a rocky road on the Isle of Sky, Titanic while getting off the ferry, Harry Potter while going to the train, etc). It just made the whole experience that much better. You could also tell that he loves his Country. His passion about everything we saw was very apparent throughout the whole trip.

So, praise of Scot covered, really everything we went to was just fantastic. The Isle of Skye was a great experience and the Jacobite train was the icing on the cake. The scenery on the train was just beautiful - hint, make sure you ask to sit on the right...the bridge picture can only be taken from the right side of the train.

I also definitely would not pay extra to stay on a hotel. The Bed and Breakfast they put us up in was just fine. The room was Huge compared to anything we stayed at in London, Scotland, Rome, or Paris, and the owners of the B and B were very sweet. Plus, the breakfast was delicious. The only negative of the B and B that I can think of is the thinness of the walls. We could here people just talking in the next room. However, everyone was pretty tired, so we all went to bed at roughly the same time, so the noise wasn't really an issue.

I really just can't say enough about how great this trip was. My mom mom and I both just fell in love with Scotland with this tour. Run, don't walk to sign up for this amazing experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Scotland is an absolutely beautiful country, and Isle of Skye is particularly lovely. Our guide, Andy, is passionate about his country and was a wealth of information. He conveyed the history and culture of the country at every turn. Upon comparison with other travelers, the upgrade to hotel (vs. B and B) was probably not worth it since others reported the B and B accomodations to be spacious and private.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Isle of Skye tour exceeded our expectations. We hit a double jackpot - 1) Karen (our driver/tour guide); and 2) our B and B accommodations and hostess; were the absolute best! Karen's passion for Scotish history, geography, and natural wonders made the time fly by, and we came away loving Scotland in a way that we had not anticipated. It was a delightful three days that will live with us forever.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This tour should not be called Isle of Skye Trip. There was very less Skye in the tour. We reached Isle of Skye at 2:30 PM, then had lunch and we were out of Skye by 5 PM. We didn't see any landmark places nor did we visit Portree. Very badly planned. Quite disappointed with the tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely spectacular and was the highlight of my two-week tour of Europe. I can't recommend it enough. The Scottish Highlands and the Isle of Skye are so beautiful that they are almost impossible to describe in words. They are one of the most magical and compelling places I've ever visited. The tour had the perfect balance of guiding and independent time, and the small group of 16 meant we all got to know each other. It felt more like a big road trip with friends than a regular tour. Our guide, Ruth, was fantastic: she was passionate, energetic and filled with incredible stories of the history and culture of the area, so our time passed quickly in the van. Stops were well spaced out so we never felt like we were driving too much, and we had plenty of time at each place. I dream of the day I can return to this magnificent area of the world. I highly recommend this experience for both first-time and return visitors to Edinburgh!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I booked this trip to go on the "Happy Potter train", but I got soo much more!! The was an amazing tour. The bus driver/ tour guide was amazing, he made a ton of stops so we could take pictures, made small detours to see things we asked about, and told us lots or stories, history, and information about the highlands. AND the train ride was everything I imagined and more. We stayed at the B and B in portree and it was great. The people who run it are extremely nice, the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was very large. Water pressure wasn't great, but who cares when your have such a great time. If I had tried to drive around the highlands myself I would have missed so much. The tour guide pointed out lots of things I didn't know about. Took us to place where they filmed movies, showed us hairy cows, mountain ranges, monuments, waterfalls, peat bogs, bridges, castles, gardens, and more. We got to take a ferry ride from the Isle of Skye. We saw bag pipers in Portree town square, which was a very nice surprise. If you are looking to experience the highlands in three days this is the way to do it. It was amazing and I would do this tour again.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed this tour very much isle of Skye is a very inviting and peaceful place. Thank you . Regards Kim McWhirter.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was definitely the best tour I've ever been on.

The trip is actually a combination of two tours: the 5 day tour ( http://www.viator.com/tours/Edinburgh/5-Day-Isle-of-Skye-Loch-Ness-and-the-Jacobite-Steam-Train-from-Edinburgh/d739-5211SKYE5D ) and an additional 2.5 days spent mostly on the eastern side of the country (I think this might be it: http://www.viator.com/tours/Edinburgh/3-Day-Cairngorms-National-Park-Tour-from-Edinburgh-Royal-Deeside-Speyside-Whisky-and-St-Andrews/d739-5211DEESIDE ).

We covered a lot in just a week, but I'd have to say the highlight was definitely the Isle of Skye. The scenery is amazing. We also visited castles, historical sites, and everything else mentioned in the itinerary. If you don't have much time, I'd recommend taking the 5 day tour, but the additional 2 days are worth sticking around for if you have the time, particularly if you're interested in whisky, golf, or seeing more of the wildlife. There's also a pretty cool castle on a cliff we visited on day 7 that I would not have liked to miss. Basically, the 5 day trip is a must, but I'd recommend taking the extra 2 days if you can.

I chose guesthouse when booking the trip, but somehow I ended up staying in both hotels and B and Bs. I'm not sure what criteria is used to select them but they were all great as well.

We also had separate tour guides for each trip, who were very knowledgeable and knew all about the history of Scotland and facts about the different places we visited. For the 5 day trip, we had Angela, who was very fun, very Scottish, and great at telling stories! For the last few days of the trip, we got Joe, who was also amazing. Really funny. A proper highlander and a great storyteller, too. The trip would not have been the same without them, so if you happen to end up on a tour with either of them, rest assured, you'll have a great time :)

Highly recommended!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message