The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour, which gives you the opportunity to see magnificent scenery! Our driver/tour guide, James, was great I even liked his corny jokes! and very knowledgable about the areas visited and the history behind them. The small group size is perfect 15 people on our tour so you don't have to worry about the logistics that go with larger groups. The B and B accommodation booked for me was excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful. If you want to experience what the Scottish Highlands and Isle of Skye has to offer, this is definitely the tour to choose.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Margie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! Our guide Joe was absolutely great. He took us to places not on the regular tour schedule, had great information and was very entertaining. The incredible views both in the highlands and on the Isle of Skye were breathtaking and the steam train was a real highlight of the trip. Don't miss this tour.
The Canadian Gals

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dave was a good driver, a good story teller, a DJ, and a passionate Scot. There were 23 people on this tour, most are couples, friends and families, and 5 solo female travelers including me. We got along well. I was constantly awed by the stark beauties of the Scottish Highlands and the lochs. The landscape of the highlands are so different from the lowlands. We visited Loch Ness at Fort Augustus, the southern tip before turning west to the Isle of Skye. We visited Eilean Donan Castle often called the most picturisque castle in Scotland before crossing the bridge to the Isle of Skye. The B and B I stayed in Portree capital of Skye was very clean and comfortable. The landlady made me porridge hot oatmeal upon my request, before a full Scottish breakfast. We experienced typical weather on the island, fog, gusty wind, rain, stop, rain, stop, etc. on the second day. We went to many places on the Isle of Skye and took breathtaking pictures of the sea and rocks and heathers. There were sheeps and cows, more of them than people. More castles. The 3rd day we took the ferry to Malliag, beautiful view but very windy and cold. Took the Jacobite Steam Train from Malliag to Fort William, the Hogwart Express going over the famous viaduct. Taking pictures on the train is not easy, best to drive and take the pictures from below. Overall, I highly recommend this 3-day tour and I love the highlands!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Francisco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a wonderful trip! We have never done a guided tour like this before. We always have tried to find our own way. After the 3-Day Isle of Skye tour we are converts. What a wonderful way to see the highlands and learn some of the history we would never have learned on our own. Our tour guide was wonderful and I would recommend this tour to a stranger in a heartbeat. It was that good!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Arlene S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very nice day. Beautiful scenery. Our driver made a few unscheduled stops for pictures as the views were too spectacular to miss. The bus was very comfortable. Driver was very knowledgeable. The only drawback was that we didn't actually get to go to Urquhart Castle at Lock Ness, which I thought we would do, but instead we went to Eilean Donan Castle, which was spectacular. We will have to take the drivers advise and come back and spend at least four days on the Isle of Skye. The tour there and back was just barely the tip of the ice berg. Very Magical.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

MaryAnne United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a amazing three days with a fabulous guide. It was rainy and/or overcast almost the entire time, but it didn't matter we still had an incredible time. The trip packed in a ton of stuff in three days, but we never felt rushed and still had a fair bit of time on our own in the evenings. I feel in love with the Isle of Skye, it being one of the most beautiful natural places I have seen. Also, leaned a ton of Scottish history from a fantastic guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Beth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

These Scottish tour guides really like to share stories. Nice guide, well travelled, safe driver. B and B in Portree very nice and breakfast was great. Enjoy a visit to a pub while there, even if in hotel- good local band. Drive out was long but touring Isle of Skye and return trip activities were awesome. There is a lot packed into 3 days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I loved this truly unique tour. It was fun and memorable. Our guide, Heather, was terrific. She was knowledgable, entertaining, and best of all, a great story teller. The bus was clean and comfortable, as were our accommodations. Even though we had some rain it is Scotland after all, the sun would come out, and the views, especially on the Isle of Skye, were just breathtaking. And let's not forget the Hogwarts Express -- what a unique addition to an already high quality tour. I give this my highest recommendation!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

christinaleigh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour! The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of Scotland, and told many legends and stories. She made the tour for us! The pace of the tour was excellent, there were never any stops that seemed to be too long or short, and the amount of free time was excellent. The accommodations on the Isle of Skye were awesome! I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to see the Highlands and the Isle of Skye!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Nadezda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour has been operated by a local tour company and we really enjoyed it! Our guide perfectly mixed historical information, stories, legends, jokes and songs during the tour. The Jacobite Steam train is advised to all the Harry Potter fans! We have also visited the Dunvegan Castle and it was worth it! We have seen and learned a lot for just three days, it was not enough time as we wanted to stay there longer, but it was definitely enough time to fall in love with the Isle of Skye, with the Highlands and Scotland!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Lesley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best tour ever. I took my son with me for his 30th birthday and we both had an amazing time. Out tour guide, Tony was fantastic. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience the Scottish Highland and the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Melinda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Alan was interesting and entertaining. We enjoyed his pride in his country and learned a lot. Isle of Skye was amazing and the entire route was beautiful. The group size is fun - you get to know others and you don't feel like you're in a crowd at every stop.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Shirley R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was a nice little trip into the highlands and lovely Isle of Skye. Our tour guide Duffy was excellent and gave us some great insider knowledge and made the journey fun for the group. When I booked the trip for my boyfriend and I, I didn't quite realize that it's mainly by bus and that the days are thoroughly planned out with the group. I prefer more independent travelling, but if that's not an issue for you, you'll love this trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Byron D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My Wife and I had 3 days to fill in between golfing tours and chose this tour. We were mighty glad we did - this trip was a huge highlight of our holiday. The first day took us through the quaint village of Dunkeld where we stopped for a short tour of the town and morning tea / lunch. Then we headed for the highlands! The weather was overcast with misty clouds covering the tops of the hills which added to the mystique and beauty of the ever-increasingly rugged terrain. Scotland was having a very cool summer, and all the hills were still green. The roads were quite narrow, but Chris, our Tour Director was not only a great driver but also kept us well-informed about points of interest that we passed. We passed a number of lochs which had been carved out of the rock by glaciers during the last ice age. Stops for photography were made at some stunningly beautiful spots with the weather obliging by being fine but adding mystique to the hills and valleys.
Late in the afternoon, we crossed the bridge to the Isle of Skye. Soon after being on the Isle we came across a sizeable roadside waterfall caused by fairly consistent rain throughout the day. We motored on to our B and B abodes in Portree which were our resting places for the next 2 nights. Most of us stayed at Rosebank, which had a very friendly homely atmosphere.
The next morning we boarded the bus again to explore the Isle of Skye. The scenery was again breathtakingly beautiful, and around every corner was some new visual gem. We made frequent stops at points of interest to climb hills, explore and take many photos. I was never a great believer in giants or fairies, but Chris's most eloquent story-telling had me convinced by mid afternoon with further confirmation coming when he took us to any area of hills housing the fairy castle. How could one doubt with such evidence being presented!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

ANSHU S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had booked this tour with lot of excitement and now I can happily say that it was the right decision we made. We saw so many things during this tour that it will take some time to get out of it that it. The tour was well arranged by Highland Explorer Tours, I and my wife felt very comfortable with the accomodation and itenary. Our guide Andy was wonderful and it was he who made our tour even more wonderful and full of events. Very talkative person with lots of knowledge and humour, made it so good that I just have good things to talk about him. His Scottish ascent and way of explaining the things was very pleasant and we liked it very much, hats off to him for providing us with the kind of information we needed. Isle of skye, Ferry from Armadale to Mallaig and the jacobite train all were great and I am just stunned with what I experienced on this tour. I would highly recommend this tour, this agency and most importantly Andy to anyone who wish to have an altogether new experience in their life.
Anshu Srivastav
Bangalore India

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

niloufar g

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the best part of the Tour was the tour guide JON. He is the best historian and the best guide. The Highlands were spectacular. The Isle of Skye was very nice. The hotel was OK, but the staff was very nice. We had the best time and I would recommend this tour very highly.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

monty_carter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. A big part of that was because of Heather, our tour guide. She did an amazing job of guiding us through our journey and was full of interesting information to share throughout the trip.

The first day through the highlands was beautiful. An amazing day. We stopped many times along the way for some great photo opportunities.

Day 2 was rainy and windy all day on the isle, but still fun. It's Scotland, so you've got to expect that kind of weather at some point during your trip.
We chose the Hotel option on the Isle of Skye, and it was a very nice one and very comfortable. The others in our group that stayed in B and Bs said they were good too.

Day 3 was another good day. Lots of driving, but plenty of stops along the way. And the steam train was good fun too. But if you have no big interest in riding the steam train, you would get most of the same views if you just continued along in the bus. Only choose the train ride if you specifically want that experience.

Again, a great guide made this trip really spectacular. Loved it and would do it again.
Thanks Heather, and Highland Explorer Tours.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Tso Chui Han Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Scenery of the western highlands and Isle of Skye are awesome. The snow-capped mountains, the misty hills, the scarcely forested highlands, together with the rapidly changing weather create an unique atmosphere and landscape which can only be found in Scotland. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

kayleigh o

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We had a good tour of the isle of Skye restrooms
Did not do everything as described in your description

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Dedi N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Was totally dissapointed as the driver changed the initial plan. We didn't get to go to the isle of skye, which was supposed to be the highlight of the trip. Instead, we were brought to a small port where there was nothing to explore for tourists.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Chan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It's a wonderful tour! One of the best tour companies in Scotland! Neist point Lighthouse is a
must-see place in Isle of Skye. 超讚的tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Apo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I'll never forget this amazing trip. I love isle of Skye!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Juliane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a wonderful experience! Everything was wonderful from the beautiful landscape to the informative guides. We not only saw the highlands, the Isle of Skye and all the signature sights, there were stories told by the guides to help us understand the history of the country. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Angela was our tour guide, and she had so much knowledge about Scottish history and each place we visited. She told us some wonderful stories that kept us entertained. We traveled through some lovely country to get to the Isle of Skye and stopped in various places for photo opportunities.Our bus broke down while we were in Dunkeld, but once back on the road, she made sure we didn't miss out on any of the sights along the way. Our B and B was very comfortable and accommodating. We really enjoyed taking the Jacobean train from Malaig to Fort Williams. All in all, it was a fabulous three days.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Jackie E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alan is the BEST guide - entertaining, quirky, knowledgeable and with such passion for his country and its history. The tour took us to places on the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views and Alan went out of his way to show us the hidden gems, not just the well-trodden tourist sights. The B and B showed us such warm hospitality and the staff were just lovely. The ferry/train took us pass some great scenery. Highly highly recommended. Only wish I did a much longer tour to take in more of the West Isles and highlands!!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message