• USD ($)
  • English
The Isle of Skye is Scotland's largest island, and justly famous on the tourist circuit. However, most visitors stick to the beaten track, and if you've a longing for solitude it won't take you long to find your own corner of this little paradise.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful Scenery, quirky guide, wonderful meal on the Isle of Skye. It was a great day!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My mom and I went on a three week vacation throughout Europe and we booked a tour nearly every days of the trip. This three day tour was by far the highlight of the journey. Our tour guide was Scot and he made the tour absolutely fantastic! He added stops to the tour that were not on the itinerary (whiskey distillery and Fairy Pools), and offered hilarious commentaries throughout the drives to each location. As he said, everything is better with music, and Scot added several musical commentaries as well (Indiana Jones while driving up a rocky road on the Isle of Sky, Titanic while getting off the ferry, Harry Potter while going to the train, etc). It just made the whole experience that much better. You could also tell that he loves his Country. His passion about everything we saw was very apparent throughout the whole trip.

So, praise of Scot covered, really everything we went to was just fantastic. The Isle of Skye was a great experience and the Jacobite train was the icing on the cake. The scenery on the train was just beautiful - hint, make sure you ask to sit on the right...the bridge picture can only be taken from the right side of the train.

I also definitely would not pay extra to stay on a hotel. The Bed and Breakfast they put us up in was just fine. The room was Huge compared to anything we stayed at in London, Scotland, Rome, or Paris, and the owners of the B and B were very sweet. Plus, the breakfast was delicious. The only negative of the B and B that I can think of is the thinness of the walls. We could here people just talking in the next room. However, everyone was pretty tired, so we all went to bed at roughly the same time, so the noise wasn't really an issue.

I really just can't say enough about how great this trip was. My mom mom and I both just fell in love with Scotland with this tour. Run, don't walk to sign up for this amazing experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Scotland is an absolutely beautiful country, and Isle of Skye is particularly lovely. Our guide, Andy, is passionate about his country and was a wealth of information. He conveyed the history and culture of the country at every turn. Upon comparison with other travelers, the upgrade to hotel (vs. B and B) was probably not worth it since others reported the B and B accomodations to be spacious and private.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This tour should not be called Isle of Skye Trip. There was very less Skye in the tour. We reached Isle of Skye at 2:30 PM, then had lunch and we were out of Skye by 5 PM. We didn't see any landmark places nor did we visit Portree. Very badly planned. Quite disappointed with the tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely spectacular and was the highlight of my two-week tour of Europe. I can't recommend it enough. The Scottish Highlands and the Isle of Skye are so beautiful that they are almost impossible to describe in words. They are one of the most magical and compelling places I've ever visited. The tour had the perfect balance of guiding and independent time, and the small group of 16 meant we all got to know each other. It felt more like a big road trip with friends than a regular tour. Our guide, Ruth, was fantastic: she was passionate, energetic and filled with incredible stories of the history and culture of the area, so our time passed quickly in the van. Stops were well spaced out so we never felt like we were driving too much, and we had plenty of time at each place. I dream of the day I can return to this magnificent area of the world. I highly recommend this experience for both first-time and return visitors to Edinburgh!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I booked this trip to go on the "Happy Potter train", but I got soo much more!! The was an amazing tour. The bus driver/ tour guide was amazing, he made a ton of stops so we could take pictures, made small detours to see things we asked about, and told us lots or stories, history, and information about the highlands. AND the train ride was everything I imagined and more. We stayed at the B and B in portree and it was great. The people who run it are extremely nice, the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was very large. Water pressure wasn't great, but who cares when your have such a great time. If I had tried to drive around the highlands myself I would have missed so much. The tour guide pointed out lots of things I didn't know about. Took us to place where they filmed movies, showed us hairy cows, mountain ranges, monuments, waterfalls, peat bogs, bridges, castles, gardens, and more. We got to take a ferry ride from the Isle of Skye. We saw bag pipers in Portree town square, which was a very nice surprise. If you are looking to experience the highlands in three days this is the way to do it. It was amazing and I would do this tour again.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed this tour very much isle of Skye is a very inviting and peaceful place. Thank you . Regards Kim McWhirter.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was definitely the best tour I've ever been on.

The trip is actually a combination of two tours: the 5 day tour ( http://www.viator.com/tours/Edinburgh/5-Day-Isle-of-Skye-Loch-Ness-and-the-Jacobite-Steam-Train-from-Edinburgh/d739-5211SKYE5D ) and an additional 2.5 days spent mostly on the eastern side of the country (I think this might be it: http://www.viator.com/tours/Edinburgh/3-Day-Cairngorms-National-Park-Tour-from-Edinburgh-Royal-Deeside-Speyside-Whisky-and-St-Andrews/d739-5211DEESIDE ).

We covered a lot in just a week, but I'd have to say the highlight was definitely the Isle of Skye. The scenery is amazing. We also visited castles, historical sites, and everything else mentioned in the itinerary. If you don't have much time, I'd recommend taking the 5 day tour, but the additional 2 days are worth sticking around for if you have the time, particularly if you're interested in whisky, golf, or seeing more of the wildlife. There's also a pretty cool castle on a cliff we visited on day 7 that I would not have liked to miss. Basically, the 5 day trip is a must, but I'd recommend taking the extra 2 days if you can.

I chose guesthouse when booking the trip, but somehow I ended up staying in both hotels and B and Bs. I'm not sure what criteria is used to select them but they were all great as well.

We also had separate tour guides for each trip, who were very knowledgeable and knew all about the history of Scotland and facts about the different places we visited. For the 5 day trip, we had Angela, who was very fun, very Scottish, and great at telling stories! For the last few days of the trip, we got Joe, who was also amazing. Really funny. A proper highlander and a great storyteller, too. The trip would not have been the same without them, so if you happen to end up on a tour with either of them, rest assured, you'll have a great time :)

Highly recommended!

Doing what: 7-Day Scotland Tour from Edinburgh: Highlands, Loch Ness, Isle of Skye and 'Jacobite Steam Train'

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, very funny, entertaining guide - Audrey, regaled us with stories of royalty, the clans and the fairies.
Comfortable bus, safe driving, beautiful countryside. Bed and breakfast owned by Mr. Ian Mac Kinnon on the Isle of Skye was very comfortable and cosy. He served a wonderful English breakfast and had tea and coffee and biscuits available for those who needed at any time of day.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, very funny, entertaining guide - Audrey, regaled us with stories of royalty, the clans and the fairies.
Comfortable bus, safe driving, beautiful countryside. Bed and breakfast owned by Mr. Ian Mac Kinnon on the Isle of Skye was very comfortable and cosy. He served a wonderful English breakfast and had tea and coffee and biscuits available for those who needed at any time of day.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of these best tours I have ever gone on. If you are short on time and want to see the Isle of Skye in comfort then this tour is for you. For only 3 days you actually see a vast amount of Skye and the Scottish highlands, Loch Ness and many many other amazing places along the way.

Our group was only 10 people and we were in a medium sized bus which was very comfortable, the small group made it easy to get to know people and have one on one time with the tour guide, if you want to. There are heaps of photo stops, toilet breaks and places to get food/drinks. Eric, our amazing tour guide, had an impressive amount of knowledge on Scotland and it's history and information about each place we visited. He really made the tour what it is - a very personable, funny guy who accommodates everyone's needs and answers anyone's questions. He was so helpful, passionate and really made the tour exciting all of the time, even when we were just cruising for a couple of hours on the bus to our next stop.

The acommodation is in a town called Portree and the B and B we were put in was excellent. Fantastic view of the surrounding area and harbour of Portree, with a friendly and welcoming owner who cooked the most delicious breakfasts.

Overall this was a well organised, informative, fun and enjoyable tour conducted by a company called Rabbies. I highly recommend it and truly believe I got the most out of Skye and Northern Scotland etc in the short time I had. 5 out of 5!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of the Scottish highlands was wonderful. The scenery was magnificent and we saw many places on the Isle of Skye and the highlands that would have been inaccessible without our knowledgeable tour guide. The highlight, however, for all our family (including our young children) was our tour guide - Don. Don was full or facts, amusing stories and care and concern for the welfare and comfort of all passengers. Don made the experience an absolute joy and his passion for the highlands was contagious! We have been on many tours in many countries and we have not yet encountered a tour guide as likeable as Don. This was a wonderful tour and a highlight of our Scottish experience!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was wonderful. We had a wide variety of experiences that were uniquely Scottish -- photo ops of Loch Ness with the ruins of Urquhart Castle in the foreground and of Loch Carron, a chance to tour Eilean Donan Castle, a visit to the tiny fishing village of El Gol on a beautiful stretch of Atlantic coast on the Isle of Skye, opportunities to walk through sheep meadows by a sheep fold and to see highland cattle up close and personal, a walk to the Thomas Telford Bridge at Invermoriston, and a stop at the ruins of a historic church surrounded by a quaint, lovely graveyard. The day was somewhat different than outlined by Viator's website. For example, we passed through Broadford without stopping for lunch, because we took extra time at Eilean Donan so that those who wanted to tour the castle -- which was most of the group -- could do so. The castle was worth a visit, and I was glad to exchange that for lunch in Broadford. Those who were hungry could grab a quick bite to eat at the castle visitor center. The highland scenery was beautiful throughout the day, and although it was mostly cloudy, we escaped rain and were able to see the islands of Rum, Eigg and Muck from the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lovely tour. We had the best driver/guide possible in Scot. He was full of information as well as a great singer. My favorites were the stop over at the MacDonald castle on the Isle of Skye and the train ride on the steam train, aka Hogwarts train. As with all these tours just wish they'd make them maybe a day longer so you had more time at sites. You usually have to sacrifice eating to have enough time to see everything adequately. I'd like to have time to sit down and eat and enjoy the food but also have time to not have to rush to tour the sites.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In a word it was terrific. My companion and I were thoroughly thrilled with all aspects of the tour. Our Guide and driver, Graham, was enthusiastic, very knowledgable, and just an all around great guy. He is very proud of his country and it came across in a way that made his explanations of history fun to listen to. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is open to fall in love with the Highlands and the Isle of Skye.
Lenore and Steve

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message