Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to save money, see multiple sites, and avoid lines.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Unfortunately I hardly got to use these passes...many of the castles I wanted to visit in Scotland where not on the list. The only place we used the tickets was the Edinburgh castle and the lineup was only about 10 minutes, so we really didn't save much time.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great deal if you plan on visiting a lot of castles. We purchased the 7 day so in 14 so we were able to get to enough to we'll pay for the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Didn't realize that we would get a small discount through our tour company so we ended up paying more with this pass. It did avoid the queue but there weren't really any lines so it wasn't really that big a deal.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I really enjoyed my first stop at Edinbrough Castle (5 hours). Next I was redirected by staff to another castle at the opposite end of the Royal Mile only to find they "were not" part of the pass program. The next day I walked a couple of miles to Leith to see the Mariners Museum (free) only to be told that it was closed. Overall I was not impressed by the "bargain" I received from the pass. You really need to research much more before stepping off to see things. This should be told in the sales literature.
Regardless my wander about in Edinbrough was absolutely wonderful and I would recommend this fabulous city to any traveler. Pubs are great, people are friendly and the food is outstanding. The tram from the airport to the city is excellent with a 8 pound round trip fare with many convenient stops. The tram is new, clean and a nice way to see the countryside (30 min ride). Cheers from a New Yorker and Arizonan.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are into old castles and/or abbeys and you have your own car this is awesome!! We were able to see only 12 out of 78 but definitely got our moneys worth. I will buy one again when we go back!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We bought the pass but only used it twice. Should have just purchased the two entries separately. The skip the line feature just sent you to different lines that were just as crowded. Also some of our other tours offered the same discounts.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great deal! Easy to use. Allows you to bypass long lines.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was very good, telling historical facts interspersed with fun stories. This short trip gave us a taste of Scotland and certainly made us want to come back again and see more of the country.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

SarahB
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Worth the money if you can actually get all the sites in a small amount of time. Otherwise, just pay as you go.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message