Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 912 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The countryside was beautiful and our guide John was amazing. Would recommend this tour to anyone willing to listen.

Brad

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide/driver Joe was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent driver with wonderful commentary and many stops for photos

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We took the optional boat ride on Loch Ness. The highlands was beautiful!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely loved this trip!!!! Our tour director, Heather, was a fanominal story teller! She provided a great mix of historical drama, geography, and personal connections to the area. I really enjoyed that we were a small group as it made stops very convenient for quick photo ops and short breaks. The highlands are beautiful no matter the weather and I can say that as we went through everything! The boat trip on Loch Ness is not to be missed and if you don't mind a little wind, the bench at the front of the boat arethebest seats in the house!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver was really great, although our group was very quiet. The driver did an amazing job!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow, what a trip, and our guide James was SUPERB !!!!! What an entertainer he is as well as having so much knowledge. Twelve hour trip did not seem long as we stopped all the time for photos, toilet breaks etc and had a GREAT day. Would thoroughly recommend this tour to everyone.
C and N from Western Australia

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul was absolutely wonderful! Although he had only started working there the week before, his historical knowledge of the area and his clever humor made us feel like he had been leading these tours for decades. The groups are small and personal, providing multiple van tours instead of herding a huge group of people around in a large tour bus all fighting for space to get any pictures without the rest of the group in the background. The highlands are incredible, and the music and stories Paul provided along the way were hauntingly beautiful. We felt that we had more than enough time in each location, even after adding a side trip to the 'Well of the 7 Heads' and an amazing hidden waterfall not to be missed. We were so pleased with this tour, and will recommend it to anyone looking to get a well-organized day-trip in Scotland worth much more than you pay for it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Linda is amazing. Well organized. Enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Me and my mum had a blast on this beautifull tour.
The scenery is absolutely stunning and the tourguide was a really fun guy with lots of knowledge.
We would def recommend this tour to anybody who loves great nature and who's eager to learn a bit about the country.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paul is a fantastic guide whose knowledge of his country made our visit to the highlands extremely enjoyable.
A truly amazing day

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful scenery - the driver "Alan", was the best! He was a driving encyclopedia of Scotland! Very informative and interesting. Was very nice to be in a smaller group / bus. We felt that we got to see a lot of Scotland in a day, and it is a long day (8am - 8pm) but we covered so much that we could have never done on our own. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superior tour guide (Scott) and experience in the Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a small group of people with an outstanding guide. The guide was an excellent story teller who made the long journey really enjoyable. We learned much of the history of the places, got the opportunity to take some pictures of the breath taking serene natural beauty, of adorable highland cows with their hair covering the face, and of course of the lake. Few of us took a short boat trip on the Loch Ness to feel the depth and enjoy the surrounding. Overall, the trip was excellent. I will suggest to carry a rain jacket or small umbrella because the weather was unpredictable. We did have periodic rain all along the journey.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message