Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 952 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

a wonderful experience!!! very organized tour.. hats off to heather our bus captain, master and commander, entertainer rolled in to one!!! trustworthy crew.. my tripod got left behind the bus, but was returned to me the following day.. genevieve and i will forever cherish the memories of this tour!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I thought our driver and guide was exceptional! Full of information and stories that made the trip far more eventful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Ally, was informative, knowledgable and hilarious. He could tell a story and make it come alive in such an entertaining way. Thanks Ally! We don't usually do tours, preferring to do the trips ourselves but this time we decided on a tour because of time. The Highlands speak for themselves

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow, wow, wow. We have seen the Rockies and the New Zealand mountains, but these are something special. We had very nice weather, and actually got to see the top of Ben Nevis. The atmosphere of these mountains is definitely unique, with Glencoe being the absolute highlight. Daniel was a tremendous driver and host. I sat in the seat right by the driver, so when he was off the micropohone we were able to chat about everything - local music (check out Paolo Nutini if you like blue-eyed soul - our first stop after the trip was to HMV), the referendum, history. This guy is amazingly knowledgeable - he even recommended a pizza restaurant a few minutes from the last stop of the tour. It is a long day, with many restroom stops along the way. A few stops were probably unnecessary, and unfortunately, we reached Pitlochry when the shops were closed - too bad because Pitlochry is known for its woolens and knits and the shopwindows had us drooling. The Loch Ness boat trip is nothing special, but it is optional and a walk through the town can be chosen. Unfortunately, there is not a lot there. If it is possible, I would recommend that the tour company skip this stop and continue up to Inverness. But, that would make for a lot of driving, and it is already about 300 miles on the road. The small coach, 16 people max, is great. On such a long trip, you get the chance to meet people from other cultures, and this is a real plus. It also makes getting people on/off at the various stops a lot more efficient. This tour was a definite highlight, and once again, full marks to Daniel for his knowledge, good humour, and great choice of music.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van, but you won't be disappointed by the views and the tour guide was just Awesome! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise and see the highland cows. The Loch Ness Cruise was a fun excursion to break up the day. For the price, this day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip offered some truly beautiful sights all the way across the Highlands. With the right weather you can get some pretty impressive panoramic shots of the moors and Glencoe. At Fort Augustus on Loch Ness it's well worth taking the optional boat trip onto the Loch for some more great photo opportunities. The tour guide/driver was really informative, funny and we even got a few songs!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superbe trip, well organised and a delight to participate. Terrific introduction to the highlands and its proud history, beauty and inspirational inhabitants, past and present.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour. Tour guide was knowledgeable and did a good presentation. Bus was comfortable and small enough to keep everything personal.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful experience with beautiful scenery and excellent tour guide. Plenty of stops for photographers and pit stops. Our guide was very witty and most informative and was a pleasure to listen to. We also enjoyed the boat trip on the lake.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Such fantastic views. A lot of time on the bus but lots of little stops for breathtaking picture opportunities.
Our guide was friendly and funny but talked a lot. A little more downtime would have been nice on the ride back.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a good tour and you got to see a lot of Scotland. We stopped at several points on the journey to Loch Ness to take pictures of the beautiful lanscape or to stop in a cute little shop. The only thing I didn't like is that the boat ride in Loch Ness is extra and the town around Loch Ness is pretty small so there isn't a lot to see or do if you don't take the boat ride. It was a nice ride and you did get to see a lot of the country so I think it was worth it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Disappointing trip. Would not recommend it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message