Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 983 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful day. James was a fantastic tour guide. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing the beautiful landscape of the Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I took another tour while there this was the best. the views were spectacular. You see so much of the country and learn so much about the culture.Jonathan was a fantastic tour guide. He was flexible and knew all the best spots to shop. He picked the best and cleanest rest stops. He was so kind and made sure everyone had a great time!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Was a very nice your ! They covered good sceneries and places in a short span of 12 hours . Good driver cum guide as well !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful sightseeing bad driver boring explanations if you don't have something good to talk about better don't dirty the landscapes.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The trip was unfortunately not at all what I expected. However, most of this was not the fault of the company. We never made it to Loch Ness because of a landslide that blocked a major highway. It kind of sucked that there was no alternate route to take, but I understand that in order to make it back to Edinburgh on time we had no other choice. The weather was also terrible (again out of the control of the company), but that made all of the stops a bit unpleasant. I wish we could be reimbursed in some way because of the natural disaster that prevented us from actually going to Loch Ness, which was in my opinion, the main attraction.
On the plus side, Ali (Alistair), our driver and tour guide , was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I think he did a good job at keeping our spirits lifted and he made a great effort to communicate and entertain despite some language barriers since our group was very diverse. However, he might want to lighten up on the casual sexist jokes. I know he wasn't ever being entirely serious in his remarks, but still I felt a little uncomfortable even as a cisgender male.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Most Beautiful and Amazing tour of my life. Our tour guide Duncan is an incredicle man with full energy and In a tour of 12 hrs he didnt let us get bored and showed us the beauty of a nature in upnorth of scotland. Rèally enjoyed alot.
Thanks alot

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful! Comfortable transportation, music, story telling made for a wonderful day! Heather is a very knowledgeable tour guide!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was mind blowing. I could not believe how knowledgable our guide Sarah was. She was incredible the scenery was amazing everything about this tour was breathtaking. Well worth the money. Cannot tell you how brilliant the guide was. If I ever came to Scotland again I would definitely use this company again. Thank you.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chito
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was very informative. Tony was kind enough to stop at pictureseque spots. Thank you, Tony!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

guide was great and was a source of lots of interesting information making it a very pleasant trip

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The weather was perfect for this trip in mid November. Our guide Jonathan was hilarious and very informative. Beautiful landscapes and nice short stops along the way.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing. Unfortunately we didn't get to see the landscapes on the way back because it was dark, but what we saw was absolutely fantastic already. And above all... Best guide ever !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was incredible and the scenery was amazing.
Highly recommend it and would do it again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have never been on a tour before and wanted to see more of Scotland in the two days we were there.
The tour was 12 hours, so I was a bit worried about the length of time, but it went so fast that before you knew it you are back in Edinburgh again.
Our tour guide was Johnathan and he was absolutely amazing. If he didn't have us in laughter he was filling us with amazing facts and history about the area's we were driving through or stopping at. He went out of his way to make all of us happy.
I also think with it being a small-group tour it was more personal. The tour van was so comfortable and you got to interact with everyone.
We had clear blue skies the whole trip, so got to see amazing sights of the Highlands /Glencoe and of course Loch Ness. We did the boat trip and really enjoyed that.
I honestly hope that all tours around the UK are just like this because it makes the trip so enjoyable that you want to do them again and again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message