Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 877 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Paul was the best tour guide! He had music to go with the stories and historical details he was talking about. You spend a lot of time driving but it definitely is scenic. You do have stops for snacks and souvenirs.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My sister and I enjoyed this tour very much, it was actually her favorite day in Scotland. Our guide was Pete, he was funny, friendly and a great story teller. We learned a lot from this trip, the views were amazing. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic day trip with incredible views and a great driver (ask for Erik). The smaller bus was great and allowed some flexibility in our stops for photographs, sightseeing etc which was nice as it is a full day event. Our guide was amazing with commentray on everything from scotch tasting technique to local songs and history! Our group was age 9 to age 81 and it was on the highlight list for everyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful guided tour from the Lowlands to the Highlands. Learned a lot and our guide had a wonderful sense of humor. Very satisfied with Viator.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a fun time, guide very informative, Enjoyed the day, glad we did it.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Edward is very knowledgeable about that area, and provide very interesting information.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My grandsons and I loved this small group tour. Great views, fun tour guide and worthwhile stops along the way. Grandsons both love photography and they got some super shots.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great driver (Duncan) who made a long day really fun and entertaining/educational for my daughter and myself. A must do day in the Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour operator and driver/guide were extremely helpful. Our driver/guide Jan was friendly and an excellent ambassador for his country. He is knowledgeable and shares the history of the various areas with passion and pride. The tour is a full day (ie. at least 12 hours in duration) but at least there are rest / toilet / food stops along the way to break up the trip. Jan's intertwining of Scottish music (both traditional and modern) throughout the day was very clever.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I took my 80 year old mother on this trip and we both enjoyed it although it is a long day. Our driver, Eric was excellent, full of fascinating information. He also sang us some lovely Scottish songs. If time is short and you want to see the Scottish Highlands then this is the trip for you.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Steven, the guide was a one man radio show with all the characters of Scottish history brought to life for our amusement and education. A slightly daft mix of modern colloquialism and history delivered with great enthusiasm.
Alas, the tour itself was not as entertaining. It rained all but two hours. It is Scotland and that happens. Discounting the rain I would recommend everything up to Glencoe. Forget Nessie and Lock Ness. I don't think even the sun could have made the extra hours and uninspiring cruise worthwhile. Find a tour that hits Glencoe and mixes in a castle or abbey instead.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It has highly enjoyable. Our driver Eddy was most informative and knew all the important facts. Be prepard for a long coach ride. We had frequent stops to stretch our legs so it wasnt that bad. Unfortunately we stopped at some really nice villages but had no time to walk around and take in the scenes. The ferry ride was extra - we took it but was not really that exceptional - a bit touristy. Only left us time to grab a sandwich to take on board with us since the whole stay was 1.5hours long. If you love scenery and passing by small villages then this is the trip for you. There was not a lot of walking either. The weather was excellent - just a bit windy on the ferry but nothing else which I think was unusual for Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Tour guide Martin was entertaining and knowledgeable. The highlands were breathtaking. It is a very long day, travelling over 500km. Martin stopped at little out of the way places that tours don't visit as well as the usual places. Plenty of opportunity for photos.
The Loch Ness tour operators were very informative and helped us get our photo of 'Nessie'.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour company is amazing and will strongly recommend them to anyone. Our tour guide was very informative on the history Scotland and was happy to answer all questions. When I hopefully visit Scotland again I will happily book another/different tour with them.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

what you would expect a relaxing drive in the country plus a informed guide that was also and funny to make the trip worth the money

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message