Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 971 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

One of the best tours we've ever had. Our guide James Mcdonald made this tour an amazing experience!!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Mac was such a great tour guide. He told me many tales. Unfortunately, we met blizzard but we barely escaped from it. I really appreicate it

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was essentially 12 hours of driving with a minimal amount of picture opportunities. Our guide, Dave, was informative and educational, however it was not the tour we expected at all. On top of that when we finally arrived at Loch Ness we weren't even able to tour the Loch because the boat had mechanical issues. I can't express how this completely wasted the entire trip. We had about 45 minutes for a very average lunch and not tour opportunity. I had waited a lifetime for this tour and it was wasted. Do not book this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful day. James was a fantastic tour guide. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing the beautiful landscape of the Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I took another tour while there this was the best. the views were spectacular. You see so much of the country and learn so much about the culture.Jonathan was a fantastic tour guide. He was flexible and knew all the best spots to shop. He picked the best and cleanest rest stops. He was so kind and made sure everyone had a great time!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had an amazing time on this trip - the scenery as we drove is jaw dropping and Loch Ness is truly magnificent. It is a big day of travelling, but well worth it. Our tour guide Jonathan was hilarious and very knowledgeable. Make sure to take the optional boat at Loch Ness if the weather permits.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Was a very nice your ! They covered good sceneries and places in a short span of 12 hours . Good driver cum guide as well !

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful sightseeing bad driver boring explanations if you don't have something good to talk about better don't dirty the landscapes.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The trip was unfortunately not at all what I expected. However, most of this was not the fault of the company. We never made it to Loch Ness because of a landslide that blocked a major highway. It kind of sucked that there was no alternate route to take, but I understand that in order to make it back to Edinburgh on time we had no other choice. The weather was also terrible (again out of the control of the company), but that made all of the stops a bit unpleasant. I wish we could be reimbursed in some way because of the natural disaster that prevented us from actually going to Loch Ness, which was in my opinion, the main attraction.
On the plus side, Ali (Alistair), our driver and tour guide , was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I think he did a good job at keeping our spirits lifted and he made a great effort to communicate and entertain despite some language barriers since our group was very diverse. However, he might want to lighten up on the casual sexist jokes. I know he wasn't ever being entirely serious in his remarks, but still I felt a little uncomfortable even as a cisgender male.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Most Beautiful and Amazing tour of my life. Our tour guide Duncan is an incredicle man with full energy and In a tour of 12 hrs he didnt let us get bored and showed us the beauty of a nature in upnorth of scotland. Rèally enjoyed alot.
Thanks alot

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful! Comfortable transportation, music, story telling made for a wonderful day! Heather is a very knowledgeable tour guide!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was mind blowing. I could not believe how knowledgable our guide Sarah was. She was incredible the scenery was amazing everything about this tour was breathtaking. Well worth the money. Cannot tell you how brilliant the guide was. If I ever came to Scotland again I would definitely use this company again. Thank you.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Chito
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was very informative. Tony was kind enough to stop at pictureseque spots. Thank you, Tony!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message