Linlithgow Palace is the classic romantic ruin, steeped in royal history and set beside a picturesque loch. It was begun in 1424 on the site of another palace that burnt down. Its halcyon period was during the reign of the Stuarts, who used it as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 962 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was not too impressed with the boat ride on Loch Ness. However, the tour guide was incredible and gave us so much history and information about Scotland. (Thus the 5 star rating.) The highlands are beautiful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great day!
Our tour director was the best! He kept us informed and engaged the entire day.
The High Country was beautiful and it was a typical Oct Scotland day.
Highly recommend it and would do it again.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our guide Al was very nice and knowledgeable. He made the experience with his stories and jokes. We really enjoyed the places visited as well as a few additional photo stops. I feel for the length of travel for this tour that we did get to see and experience a fair amount of the highlands. I would have enjoyed a little more time in some of the little villages but all in all it was a good experience.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

a wonderful experience!!! very organized tour.. hats off to heather our bus captain, master and commander, entertainer rolled in to one!!! trustworthy crew.. my tripod got left behind the bus, but was returned to me the following day.. genevieve and i will forever cherish the memories of this tour!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I thought our driver and guide was exceptional! Full of information and stories that made the trip far more eventful.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Ally, was informative, knowledgable and hilarious. He could tell a story and make it come alive in such an entertaining way. Thanks Ally! We don't usually do tours, preferring to do the trips ourselves but this time we decided on a tour because of time. The Highlands speak for themselves

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow, wow, wow. We have seen the Rockies and the New Zealand mountains, but these are something special. We had very nice weather, and actually got to see the top of Ben Nevis. The atmosphere of these mountains is definitely unique, with Glencoe being the absolute highlight. Daniel was a tremendous driver and host. I sat in the seat right by the driver, so when he was off the micropohone we were able to chat about everything - local music (check out Paolo Nutini if you like blue-eyed soul - our first stop after the trip was to HMV), the referendum, history. This guy is amazingly knowledgeable - he even recommended a pizza restaurant a few minutes from the last stop of the tour. It is a long day, with many restroom stops along the way. A few stops were probably unnecessary, and unfortunately, we reached Pitlochry when the shops were closed - too bad because Pitlochry is known for its woolens and knits and the shopwindows had us drooling. The Loch Ness boat trip is nothing special, but it is optional and a walk through the town can be chosen. Unfortunately, there is not a lot there. If it is possible, I would recommend that the tour company skip this stop and continue up to Inverness. But, that would make for a lot of driving, and it is already about 300 miles on the road. The small coach, 16 people max, is great. On such a long trip, you get the chance to meet people from other cultures, and this is a real plus. It also makes getting people on/off at the various stops a lot more efficient. This tour was a definite highlight, and once again, full marks to Daniel for his knowledge, good humour, and great choice of music.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van, but you won't be disappointed by the views and the tour guide was just Awesome! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise and see the highland cows. The Loch Ness Cruise was a fun excursion to break up the day. For the price, this day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip offered some truly beautiful sights all the way across the Highlands. With the right weather you can get some pretty impressive panoramic shots of the moors and Glencoe. At Fort Augustus on Loch Ness it's well worth taking the optional boat trip onto the Loch for some more great photo opportunities. The tour guide/driver was really informative, funny and we even got a few songs!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superbe trip, well organised and a delight to participate. Terrific introduction to the highlands and its proud history, beauty and inspirational inhabitants, past and present.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best views during the whole day, being a smaller group is so comfortable to stop and admire the Highlands, very recommended!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

James was FANTASTIC! He was so excited to share the history and landscapes as it changed from farm land to mountains.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic! Expect to spend quite a bit of time riding in the van but with the right tour driver you don't notice and we did, Mac was just Awesome and the views! We made several stops in very picturesque areas and there were plenty of bathroom breaks. When we arrived in Loch Ness we had enough time to take the Loch Ness cruise.This day trip was an absolutely perfect way to get out of Edinburgh for the day and see absolutely stunning Scottish Highlands

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message