Who doesn't burst into song when they hear the words 'Loch Lomond'! A must-do day trip destination from Glasgow, this beautiful lake is perhaps only beaten in fame by Loch Ness. Take a drive around the leafy western shore, and notice how the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Delightful day. Stirling Castle was very nice, good tour guide (Stewart). Loch Lomond was no big deal, but now I can say I've been there and seen it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the immensely, but we're disappointed when we were unable to continue onto Loch Lomond
We were run off the road by on coming vehicle, no fault of our driver, just an arrogant driver.
This delayed us by 2hours

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Eddie was our tour guide and he made the trip absolutely great. He had stories, recordings and music to pass the time as we were making our way from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and from Loch Lomond back to the City. Stirling Castle is truly amazing and the have exhibits for children, adults and those in between. Loch Lomond and the surrounding hills are awe-inspiring. Our guide also made stops along the way, for breaks, for a meal and quickly told us what each restaurant had as their specialties. This was a very fine journey, the walk up and down the hills was a climb and on the edge of what we could handle but the views made it worthwhile. This was a small group of 15-16 people and we all had time to ask questions and enjoy the time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A remarkable day with an outstanding tour guide who regailed us with stories and music that matched the landscape as we passed through it. He took the time to stop several times along the way to let us smell the heather...or rather take spectacular photos of the stunning landscape. He climbed to the viewpoint at Loch Lomond with us and allowed us plenty of time to enjoy its bonny, bonny banks. We only had 2 days in Scotland, and this tour was the best choice we could make to experience its wonders, magic, culture and spirit. If you take only one bus tour, take this one...intimate, fun, informative and versatile...providing adventure for those who crave it or quiet spots of inspiration and rest for those who need it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Stirling Castle was great. Our guide Shelby was fantastic. Loch Lomond was cut short due to engine problems with our van, but we got to spend extra time at a small village pub and the tour company picked up the tab.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Our tour guide was great, we however had a few issues, had one lady who delayed us from leaving stirling castle by about 40mins when she did not return to vehicle and we had to leave her and then when we finally got to lunch our van broke down and we did not get to loch Lomond as it was to late in the day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A most enjoyable day with Rabbies Tours and Driver Bob Leary. Stirling Castle interesting (but some furnishings looked remarkably new!!) Loch Lomond was beautiful and walks were possible. Comfort stops and food stops were regular. Again, worth the money.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Only managed to visit Stirling Castle that was cool. Our van slipped and stuck by the road-side on our way to Loch Lomond. wasted two hours by the road-side, hence returned to Edinburg without really completed the trip. Sad that no compensation was offered by the tour company despite the unforseen event.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We liked the small group tour to the Stirling Castle,but the visit to Loch Lomond was a very long drive and not much to see. Rate three stars. The driver had a small car accident on the way to the Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I would say this is less of a guided tour and more transportation. Our tour guide talked on the drive up, but once we got to Stirling it was "meet at the bus in two hours." The same was true for the lunch stop and the Loch Lomond. I wasn't even sure where to go to get the best views of the Loch as basically just gestured as we drove by it saying there were paths to the river but didn't say where they were. The tour guide was nice, but seemed more like a driver than someone who actually wanted to explain what we were seeing. Giving this three stars since you do get to see the sights advertised. But even the sights themselves were disappointing, as everything in Stirling Castle is a replica and Loch Lomond is really not that impressive. Wouldn't recommend this tour unless the style or driver changed, or unless are really interested in the history of Stirling castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The Castle was really neat and interactive. My 8 year old daughter loved it. Our tour guide was excellent, lots of commentary in the van. She made several stops for pictures, she knew the best places! Loch Lomond was beautiful!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elki
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The guide and driver Scott was great. He intriguingly told about Scottish history as well as about up-to-date issues. In spite of some rain in the morning we enjoyed the tour and landscape very much. Next time in Inveraray I would prefer to see the castle instead of the town, but that was my (wrong) decision :-(
The period of time at Loch Lomond with beautiful views and nice shops was too short.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Derek,our guide, was great. He made the tour interesting and at times funny. The views from the Loch Lomond hike up the hill were amazing. At Stirling Castle there was a military function going on. As we approached we were stunned to see and hear a fighter jet zooming around above us doing flips and loops. It started to rain as we entered the castle so we spent most of our time indoors while there. Just before we left the rain cleared and we were able observe the fantastic views all around Stirling. As we drove away a formation of planes swept before us with tails of red, white and blue. Derek said the were the Red--------(I can't remember the whole name), but the planes were indeed red. We had a great day

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

a very enjoyable day. Ally was just amazing.Very well-informed and entertaining and an excellent driver as well on those perilous roads! The special detour he made on the trip from Inverary was the best.It is called 'the road to Hell' but was more like my idea of Heaven. The scenery was outstandingly beautiful and the drink of water at Moses' Well was pure nectar. We had plenty of local history about Robert The Bruce and William Wallace,Queen Anne(of the square coffin!),Bonnie Prince Charlie, examples of the Gallic language and Scottish music. I found the Loch Lomond song as we skirted the banks of the loch particularly touching especially when Ally explained the story behind it. I also enjoyed singing along to 'Mull of Kintyre' Ally has a lovely voice! Hope he liked mine!
We were a little squashed in the coach but had plenty of stops.The fish and chips in Inverary are not the best and rather pricey! Ally kept us all entertained. Such energy! Story-teller,historian,comedian,actor,singer,excellent photographer and driver all in one!! Just brilliant!
Thank you.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alan W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My Wife and I went on this Trip on 17/6/2014. The Tour around Stirling Castle [entrance fee not included] was done at your own pace [on your own] and we got 2 Hours to see it. If you wanted to, their was a guided Tour every 15 mins for about 50 mins by one of the castle tour guides [free of charge], then you had about an hour on your own to wander around the Castle [that's what we did, very informative].
A lot of historical facts and visual artifacts around the Castle to get to know the Scottish history of this region.
We then went onto Loch Lomond, stopping on route for lunch [not included] at a Trossachs village. The views from Loch Lomond were outstanding and we climbed a small hill to get even better views.
We made a few un-scheduled stops to take photos of a historical building and bridge. The Tour Guide [James] was an Historical Dictionary of Scottish History with antidotes,songs and Jokes all with a Wicked sense of humour, he made the tour for us all.
I would highly recommend this Tour, it is a full 9 Hour Tour but the time flys by.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message