Who doesn't burst into song when they hear the words 'Loch Lomond'! A must-do day trip destination from Glasgow, this beautiful lake is perhaps only beaten in fame by Loch Ness. Take a drive around the leafy western shore, and notice how the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A most enjoyable day with Rabbies Tours and Driver Bob Leary. Stirling Castle interesting (but some furnishings looked remarkably new!!) Loch Lomond was beautiful and walks were possible. Comfort stops and food stops were regular. Again, worth the money.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The Castle was really neat and interactive. My 8 year old daughter loved it. Our tour guide was excellent, lots of commentary in the van. She made several stops for pictures, she knew the best places! Loch Lomond was beautiful!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elki
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The guide and driver Scott was great. He intriguingly told about Scottish history as well as about up-to-date issues. In spite of some rain in the morning we enjoyed the tour and landscape very much. Next time in Inveraray I would prefer to see the castle instead of the town, but that was my (wrong) decision :-(
The period of time at Loch Lomond with beautiful views and nice shops was too short.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Derek,our guide, was great. He made the tour interesting and at times funny. The views from the Loch Lomond hike up the hill were amazing. At Stirling Castle there was a military function going on. As we approached we were stunned to see and hear a fighter jet zooming around above us doing flips and loops. It started to rain as we entered the castle so we spent most of our time indoors while there. Just before we left the rain cleared and we were able observe the fantastic views all around Stirling. As we drove away a formation of planes swept before us with tails of red, white and blue. Derek said the were the Red--------(I can't remember the whole name), but the planes were indeed red. We had a great day

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

a very enjoyable day. Ally was just amazing.Very well-informed and entertaining and an excellent driver as well on those perilous roads! The special detour he made on the trip from Inverary was the best.It is called 'the road to Hell' but was more like my idea of Heaven. The scenery was outstandingly beautiful and the drink of water at Moses' Well was pure nectar. We had plenty of local history about Robert The Bruce and William Wallace,Queen Anne(of the square coffin!),Bonnie Prince Charlie, examples of the Gallic language and Scottish music. I found the Loch Lomond song as we skirted the banks of the loch particularly touching especially when Ally explained the story behind it. I also enjoyed singing along to 'Mull of Kintyre' Ally has a lovely voice! Hope he liked mine!
We were a little squashed in the coach but had plenty of stops.The fish and chips in Inverary are not the best and rather pricey! Ally kept us all entertained. Such energy! Story-teller,historian,comedian,actor,singer,excellent photographer and driver all in one!! Just brilliant!
Thank you.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alan W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My Wife and I went on this Trip on 17/6/2014. The Tour around Stirling Castle [entrance fee not included] was done at your own pace [on your own] and we got 2 Hours to see it. If you wanted to, their was a guided Tour every 15 mins for about 50 mins by one of the castle tour guides [free of charge], then you had about an hour on your own to wander around the Castle [that's what we did, very informative].
A lot of historical facts and visual artifacts around the Castle to get to know the Scottish history of this region.
We then went onto Loch Lomond, stopping on route for lunch [not included] at a Trossachs village. The views from Loch Lomond were outstanding and we climbed a small hill to get even better views.
We made a few un-scheduled stops to take photos of a historical building and bridge. The Tour Guide [James] was an Historical Dictionary of Scottish History with antidotes,songs and Jokes all with a Wicked sense of humour, he made the tour for us all.
I would highly recommend this Tour, it is a full 9 Hour Tour but the time flys by.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Amanda
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour that fit in two very interesting locations in Scotland. There was enough time to enjoy both Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond - even though it sadly rained all afternoon and we couldn't go for the planned walk. Instead, we drove along the Loch until the end of the road, where a few of us braved the rain for 10 minutes to get some photos. The time allowed for lunch in Aberfoyle was also a good length of time

People who enjoy Scottish history or castles should definitely take the chance to visit Stirling Castle; I thought it was more interesting than Edinburgh Castle.

Our tour guide was very interesting and knowledgeable about the area and Scotland in general, as well as doing an excellent Sean Connery impersonation and serenading us with some Scottish classics, such as 'Flower of Scotland' and ' Loch Lomond'.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Olena D.
Ukraine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was great!!! I am very glad that I ordered that tour. The guide was perfect and very pleasant person. She was very informative (and a VERY PROFESSIONAL DRIVER). Even the rain could not spoil the impression of the trip. Loch Lomond is so beautiful from the top of the hill!
Thanks a lot for such wonderful tour to all the people arranging this.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great. I was impressed the morning of our departure, because our names were already on a list and there was a staff member to direct us. The van was comfortable (so much more than a bus), our tour guide was entertaining, the sights were exactly what I wanted to see. I liked the music chosen for the trip and I will never forget the guide's explanation of the song "Loch Lomond" . Even drizzle did not ruin our trip.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a wonderful day. Kenny, the driver and Linda especially was amazing. Her knowledge and wealth of information which was expertly passed on to us helped make this one of the best tours we experienced on our journey. Stirling castle and Loch Lomond were fantastic as well. A longish but very memorable day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our driver, Bob, was a proper dour Scot while he entertained and educated us about Scottish history and current political issues! Stirling Castle was both beautiful and full of tragic history; I would have enjoyed even more time there. We stopped at the top of a hill for a photo op before lunch in Aberfoyle and a short drive to Loch Lomond. Thunder rumbled over the hills while we viewed this moody and beautiful loch. This day trip was well worth the time and modest fee!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Sterling castle tour was really worth to see! In different rooms they have people dress in medieval cloths and they tell stories about some of the most important people whom live in the castle. It may everything more real. It was worth the money. Our guide was amazing! At Loch Lomond on her break she invited the group to join her on her walk around the lake! She when beyond of what was expected of her. She even bake sugar cookies and share them with us!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

From start to finish this was a very well organized and informative tour. Our guide and driver for the day was Jamie and he had a wealth of knowledge of the area and history of Scotland. There was plenty of time to enjoy Stirling Castle and also time to walk around the shore of Loch Lomond in the afternoon. Top marks!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Sterling Castle was great and the drive to Loch Lomond was beautiful. The whole expeience was excellent..

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a great time! Shelby was excellent. I travel quite a lot and she is one of the best guides. Knowledgable, passionate about her country, great storyteller and she even sang to us.
The tour was 9 hours and was just the right amount. Stirling Castle was very interesting and the trip to the highlands to Loch Lomond was real enjoyable. We had plenty of time to explore both and had time to take a short hike to see the Loch and stop in to the visitor center to learn more about the region and speak with the staff.
Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message