Who doesn't burst into song when they hear the words 'Loch Lomond'! A must-do day trip destination from Glasgow, this beautiful lake is perhaps only beaten in fame by Loch Ness. Take a drive around the leafy western shore, and notice how the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of four 2 adult sons had a tremendous time on this Rabbie's tour. Our guide Richard was outstanding, entertaining and informing us throughout. Both distilleries were terrific. We learned a lot and really enjoyed the whiskies. The views along the way were spectacular, and Loch Lomond was lovely. We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pavlina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was a memorable experience! It was a very good combination of beautiful scenery, a travel back in the past of Scottish history, charming castles, nice music and as we were lucky - nice weather too. In about 8 hours of travel we were able to see 4 castles and the lakes the castles are located at plus 2 additional lakes - Loch Lubnaig and Loch Lomond. We used to stop at each sight and we were given time to enjoy it and take pictures, while during the travel, our driver and guide John was telling us about the places we visited, interesting stories of Scottish history for example about William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, about the clans and life in the Highlands...After each legend, he played us a traditional Scottish song singing about the same legend, in the end we finished with bagpipes and some contemporary Scottish music like the one of Amy McDonald. John was an extremely good guide, very professional as well as a very kind and friendly person. Throughout all the hours he didn't get tired of telling us stories of Scotland, it was obvious he did this with passion and love for his country and could make us feel the Scottish spirit too :

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tobias R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful Tour with two fantastic Guides. I enjoyed every minute. Stirling Castle is a spectacular Place to visit and Loch Lomond is so beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dianne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful guide Stephen on small group tour. Castle was fascinating and Loch Lomond was beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

epcot01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Lots of time to see the castle and get wonderful pictures of Loch Lomond. Our tour guide Ewen kept us entertained with Scottish history while on route. All in all a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stanwood N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The rain was the only drawback. Joe our tour guide was just great. Knowledgeable, fun, and entertaining. Up the hill to view Loch Lomond was great.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Patricia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this day tour. Our driver Richard was very knowledgeable and interesting. The small buses are very comfortable and can go on narrow roads so you are not on the highways all the time. We had plenty of time at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond. A really relaxing day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I did two tours during my stay in Edinburgh, and both were from Viator. The coach is a very comfortable van, which is great for a full day of driving around, and my guide for this tour was Gordon. He knew a lot about the different castles we visited, and took us to the Campbell Castle ruin, Duone Castle, and Inveraray Castle, in addition to Loch Lubnaig, Loch Lomond, and through some truly picturesque scenery. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeremy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour with an enchanting guide from Rabbie's Tours. Stirling Castle was all I imagined a castle should be. I do wish we had a bit more time to take some pictures in Sterling, but it was a full day. Loch Lomond was beautiful as was the drive to and from.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful Summer day and this enhanced the day tour. The guide/driver was very knowledgeable and her commentary enhanced the drive. There was ample time allowed at Stirling Castle so you could explore all areas. The drive from the Castle to Loch Lomond via the Highlands was beautiful and we stopped for lunch at a very picturesque village which had plenty of options available to purchase food.

Overall an excellent day was had and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite castle of all the ones I visited in Ireland and Scotland. You must do this! And our tour guide was very enthusiastic and told us interesting information about the history of Scotland. He even took us on a personalized walk to view Loch Lomond. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jazz1611

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour group was not too big , the mini bus driver / tour guide Sarah was friendly, humourous and knowledgeable . My son got nauseous during the winding drive at Loch Lomond and the bus stopped by the side right away for a few minutes .
Highly recommended !

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

tkornbau

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide told us interesting things about Scotland on the ride, but left the whisky information to the guides at the distilleries. One needs to pay for tastings at the distillery beyond the cost of the tour. Both distilleries were closer to Glasgow then Edinburgh making me wonder why they did not depart from Glasgow, which would have been more convenient for me. Once we got on the road, we learned that lunch at Loch Lomond was cancelled since the road was going to be closed. We went to an alternate location which was nice but somewhat disappointing. Having said all that I would probably do it again.

Doing what: Whisky-Tasting Day Trip from Edinburgh

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond are beautiful. Grant, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and just delightful. We really enjoyed it. Thanks.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great trip. Dan our guide from Rabbies was exceptionally knowledgeable. Stirling castle is worth the stop with great views of the surrounding areas, the castle is being worked on but 90% can be visited. We arrived at Loch Lomond to see the sun setting and were able to get great pictures. An enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

monicanorris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Rabbies is the tour operator. Small group and bus which made the tour more personal. Karen was out Driver/Guide and VERY knowledgeable on Scottish history, story telling a most enjoyable day and of course the scenery was breath taking. Stirling Castle was a lot more than I expected. Stopped at Aberfoyle for lunch and went for a walk around Loch Lomond. Would do this tour again.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Denton C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Delightful day. Stirling Castle was very nice, good tour guide (Stewart). Loch Lomond was no big deal, but now I can say I've been there and seen it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lesley T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the immensely, but we're disappointed when we were unable to continue onto Loch Lomond
We were run off the road by on coming vehicle, no fault of our driver, just an arrogant driver.
This delayed us by 2hours

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

rgskss13 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Eddie was our tour guide and he made the trip absolutely great. He had stories, recordings and music to pass the time as we were making our way from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and from Loch Lomond back to the City. Stirling Castle is truly amazing and the have exhibits for children, adults and those in between. Loch Lomond and the surrounding hills are awe-inspiring. Our guide also made stops along the way, for breaks, for a meal and quickly told us what each restaurant had as their specialties. This was a very fine journey, the walk up and down the hills was a climb and on the edge of what we could handle but the views made it worthwhile. This was a small group of 15-16 people and we all had time to ask questions and enjoy the time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Claire S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A remarkable day with an outstanding tour guide who regailed us with stories and music that matched the landscape as we passed through it. He took the time to stop several times along the way to let us smell the heather...or rather take spectacular photos of the stunning landscape. He climbed to the viewpoint at Loch Lomond with us and allowed us plenty of time to enjoy its bonny, bonny banks. We only had 2 days in Scotland, and this tour was the best choice we could make to experience its wonders, magic, culture and spirit. If you take only one bus tour, take this one...intimate, fun, informative and versatile...providing adventure for those who crave it or quiet spots of inspiration and rest for those who need it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jeffrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Stirling Castle was great. Our guide Shelby was fantastic. Loch Lomond was cut short due to engine problems with our van, but we got to spend extra time at a small village pub and the tour company picked up the tab.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

m-plod

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Our tour guide was great, we however had a few issues, had one lady who delayed us from leaving stirling castle by about 40mins when she did not return to vehicle and we had to leave her and then when we finally got to lunch our van broke down and we did not get to loch Lomond as it was to late in the day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Nigel J L B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A most enjoyable day with Rabbies Tours and Driver Bob Leary. Stirling Castle interesting (but some furnishings looked remarkably new!!) Loch Lomond was beautiful and walks were possible. Comfort stops and food stops were regular. Again, worth the money.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

eddie

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Only managed to visit Stirling Castle that was cool. Our van slipped and stuck by the road-side on our way to Loch Lomond. wasted two hours by the road-side, hence returned to Edinburg without really completed the trip. Sad that no compensation was offered by the tour company despite the unforseen event.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Peggy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We liked the small group tour to the Stirling Castle,but the visit to Loch Lomond was a very long drive and not much to see. Rate three stars. The driver had a small car accident on the way to the Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message