Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Museum of Edinburgh (Huntly House)

It may not be the most spellbinding museum in town, but sentimentalists will love the Museum of Edinburgh, or Huntly House, just because it houses the collar and bowl of Greyfriars Bobby, that terrier symbol of devotion famous for sitting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 673 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Paul (our driver) was amazing, not only well informed but also very funny! And Angela (office) was so helpful! Thank you guys for everything! We recommend the tour interilly!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good tour my wife and i booked for before going when we used it to go and see the castle the ticket we got for the Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour was validated for 24 hours so we also used it the next day is well and did the hole tour on it

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Joined Tour: February

POSITIVES:
-Great way to see the Highlands in a short period of time
-If youre lucky, like us, the group could get fairly small during the off season. Just 8 adults on the tour, made everything more efficient.
-Great view
-Clean and comfortable mini bus
-Informative and friendly tour guide Eric was ours!
-Enough breaks for coffee/snacks/leg stretching/toilette
-Enough time for picture taking
-Inveraray town was a nice stop

NEGATIVES:
-Only ONE 1 Castle open during the winter season!!!! You can only get into Doune Castle.
-Inveraray Castle: We walked around the castle to take pictures, but it was not open.
-Kilchurn Castle and Sterling Castle: only viewed from a great distance. Need a zoom lens. But we did stop for a quick photo.
-If you are used to mountains, lakes and countryside views similar to Austrian Alps or the Canadian mountain scenery then youll probably get bored by the view.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I've always LOVED the concept of the Hop on Hop off tour. BEST way to orientate yourself when you go to a new city and if the option is available I always do it. The tour operator WAS the ORIGINAL Hope on Hop off tour company, they had 3 routes and I upgraded my ticket directly with the bus driver to be the 48hr ticket which in actual fact gave me 3 days to use it. I always do ALL the routes first and then go back and start the hop on hop off process. In Edinburgh there is WAY TOO MUCH TO SEE. 3 Days are clearly not enough if you want to spend a good amount of time exploring this FABULOUS city.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is an amazing tour, an opportunity to see the beautiful country side and amazing castles. To make this even more magical it snowed throughout the day making it a perfect day. The driver Daniel was fantastic and did a great job navigating us through road closures and slippery roads. This is a must see when in Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We chose the live tour, which was great for extra tid bits of info.... However we did encounter a lady guide who seemed to just not know what she was talking about. However our other guides were awesome!

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We took the bus with the live guide and enjoyed the commentary and stories about the city as we drove around. A good way to see the main sights if you have limited time in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Good overall idea of the history and architecture of Edinburgh city. Loved the alternative spooky narrative on the bus tour!

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good trip to have and it is very refreshing to see the surrounding outside Edinburgh.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour showed us all of Edinburgh we wanted to see

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved castle Doune, our guide was great , very interesting. The transport was very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marves our tour guide and driver is great. The van was very comfortable. He provided us with lots of information and kept our safety in priority when navigating the roads at the highlands. We had a very comfortable journey that's filled with wonderful scenic memories of Scotland thanks to Marves

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed it for its convenience. Thanks

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Trip was value for money and helped us to get our bearings.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and explained Mary Queen of Scots history in an entertaining way. For Doune Castle, admission isn't included but being part of the tour group gets you a discount and costs a little less than £5. Inverary Castle was closed which was a bit of a downer, but we were able to explore the little town. There were many breathtaking views of the lochs, castles and highlands, and plenty of landscapes worthy of panorama pictures. Overall this tour was definitely worthwhile!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message