Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Museum of Edinburgh (Huntly House)

It may not be the most spellbinding museum in town, but sentimentalists will love the Museum of Edinburgh, or Huntly House, just because it houses the collar and bowl of Greyfriars Bobby, that terrier symbol of devotion famous for sitting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 630 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour picks you up at the train station and takes about 1 and 1/2 hours to complete. I used it to see the City before I visited the Castle. It has about 9 stops and the bus offers several languages with the use of ear buds. The historic info is also displayed on a screen on the fist deck of the bus, but the best views and the best pictures are from the upper deck.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Shelby was a great guide, expressive both in voice and hand gestures as she gracefully pointed to the map while driving the Highland roads, and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. It was wonderful to learn so much about Scottish history and the whole day was one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day definitely worth it, our tour guide was so nice and knowledgeable

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was highly educated in Scottish history, which made the tour all the more fascinating!
I highly recommend this tour. The castles and lochs are beautiful, and the landscape is breathtaking!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Since we are big Downton Abbey fans, we loved seeing Inverary Castle where the Christmas special was filmed. The whole day was great fun

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The buses ran at frequent intervals. All of the stops were located in locations close to the attractions and the commentary was informative and entertaining. It is a bargain compared to guided tours. I would recommend.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We stayed on the bus for the entire tour to get an overview of the wonderful city of Edinburgh. Then we decided where to get off for a more in-depth look at some of the attractions. The guide recited a prepared script in a rather monotonous tone and it was not easy to understand everything he said. Perhaps the audio guide would have been a better choice, as we could have played it over to understand more. But all in all, this was a good way to get acquainted with Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We used the tour when we first arrived in Edinburgh to get an overview of what was in the city. This worked well for us as we were able to return the next morning to do some shopping on the Royal Mile and see some of the museums using the tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very informative fun tour

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing tour! Our guide, Pete, was fabulous! Fun, entertaining and professional all at the same time. I couldn't have asked for a better tour of the country.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

a very enjoyable day. Ally was just amazing.Very well-informed and entertaining and an excellent driver as well on those perilous roads! The special detour he made on the trip from Inverary was the best.It is called 'the road to Hell' but was more like my idea of Heaven. The scenery was outstandingly beautiful and the drink of water at Moses' Well was pure nectar. We had plenty of local history about Robert The Bruce and William Wallace,Queen Anne(of the square coffin!),Bonnie Prince Charlie, examples of the Gallic language and Scottish music. I found the Loch Lomond song as we skirted the banks of the loch particularly touching especially when Ally explained the story behind it. I also enjoyed singing along to 'Mull of Kintyre' Ally has a lovely voice! Hope he liked mine!
We were a little squashed in the coach but had plenty of stops.The fish and chips in Inverary are not the best and rather pricey! Ally kept us all entertained. Such energy! Story-teller,historian,comedian,actor,singer,excellent photographer and driver all in one!! Just brilliant!
Thank you.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had the best day out. Not only because of the wonderful scenery and interesting places we visited but because we had the best tour guide ever! He gave us history, past and present, as well as a few jokes and some rather good singing along the way! Thanks to Joe our day was made very relaxed and entertaining even for our 7 year old who enjoyed the 10 hour trip as much as everyone everyone else did. Would book another one for sure next time we're in Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well organized service. Highly recommended.

Perhaps can extend the time until 8.00 PM in summer.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message