Gracious Princes Street, with its epic length, gardens, stellar shopping, and knockout views, is the central vein of Edinburgh and one of Europe's great thoroughfares. It’s also at the center of the city’s world-famous Hogmanay (New Year’s Eve) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lcatwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is really great if you get the same tour director we had. It is an Insight tour with a lot of space on the bus. We saw almost all of Great Britain but don't plan to spend much time anywhere. This gave us a good overview and if we came back we would have ideas of where to spend time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

kj_bloomer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful land to see as you travel. Great experience. Tour guide was good for being new at it. Not sure Sundays are the best day to take this tour, Some of the places were closed.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Anne E B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The train trip was easy and went by quickly. Edinburgh is easy to manage and the tour operators make it simple to get on board the train, buses and in the castle. It was not a guided tour, but it's not a problem because the Edinburgh Waverly Station is central to the things you want to see. Overall, I would highly recommend taking a day and going to Scotland!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

China Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A little difficult to find the meeting point. The guide briefed us on the day, gave us our tickets and we were off to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

klivesey7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I would recommend this tour-without a doubt. Like many of the reviews I read, the 4.5 hr train ride went by so quickly! Although of course it would have been nice to have more time in Edinburgh-I felt that we were able to see and do everything we wanted to within the time frame we were given about 4-5 hours. We met a tour rep at Kings Cross Station and she was great. She handed us a packet of information including maps, brochures, and ticket information. She even gave us some advice as to what to see, what streets were best for shopping etc. My husband and I are so thrilled that we decided to do this!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Laurette R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a long day, but it was a nice tour. Guide met us at the station and got us on our way. It would have been better if it hadn't rained :

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Laurette R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a long day, but it was a nice tour. Guide met us at the station and got us on our way. It would have been better if it hadn't rained :

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. Edinburgh was more than expected.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

GLENNIS New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip well worth the money, saw everything we wanted, train trip each way great. First class the way to go, comfortable seats and food very nice

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Jean C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip was good. The group was kept small and the coach was spacious. The guide bringing us for the 5 days is very informative and nice. He tries to help in whatever he can. 5 days and you get to visit some of the main attractoons in Britain. A wonderful trip all in all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Laura W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We had an hour and half delay to Endinburgh and that really cut in to the time. It wasn't the tour co's fault there was a broken rail but really, you can't see Edinburgh in just a few hours- way too much there to see.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Stephen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip was great 1st class was worth it

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

David

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good trip, well organized. Butt freezing cold on the Virgin train airco on a cloudy day?

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Matha Mejia de L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Ellen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

a day tour in Edinburgh is worth it. The tour representative meet us at the Kings Cross Station before 6:30am and gave us our tickets and instructed us what we need to do on this trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Alejandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Edimburgh is like a medieval city today.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Nikki L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The city tour was so nice. there was a little trouble finding the bus to take the hop on hop off tour..

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Shirley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We absolutely loved the trip to Edinburgh. There wasn't much time but loved the time that we spent there.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Janice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful and historical buildings - so much to see in one day - enjoyed the train trip up and back - met very nice interesting people in the little group that we had.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Take the first class tour. It is well worth it. Very relaxing and scenic.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Rhonda I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic just love Edinburgh. Train trip was great loved seeing g the country side

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Brian T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Guide met us at Victoria station but other than that we were on our own once in Edinburgh

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Gina

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great way too see a neighboring country.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Leesa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was a really long day but totally worth it, Edinburgh is a beautiful city. Everything was easy from catching the train, to getting to the castle. I chose is because I really wanted to go to Scotland but I didn't have enough time is trip so I thought I'd do this day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Mark M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message