Gracious Princes Street, with its epic length, gardens, stellar shopping, and knockout views, is the central vein of Edinburgh and one of Europe's great thoroughfares. It’s also at the center of the city’s world-famous Hogmanay (New Year’s Eve) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip was great 1st class was worth it

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good trip, well organized. Butt freezing cold on the Virgin train airco on a cloudy day?

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well done. Plenty of direction about which bus to take and the information was very good. Everything went well

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good tour with the option of commentary in several different languages, which was great for our Austrian friends. My only complaint was the the coffee on the boat tasted like dishwater.

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

a day tour in Edinburgh is worth it. The tour representative meet us at the Kings Cross Station before 6:30am and gave us our tickets and instructed us what we need to do on this trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Edimburgh is like a medieval city today.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The city tour was so nice. there was a little trouble finding the bus to take the hop on hop off tour..

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Joined our bus after a little confusion about pickup times! Once on the bus the commentary was informative. The drive out to meet the boat was a little quiet with not much to look at. However once on board the boat, the trip just got better, the weather played an important role as the Sun really did shine, the boat trip along with the views and the very informative commentary were excellent. The onboard bar added that little extra of a beer or wine whilst enjoying the Firth of Fouth!

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We absolutely loved the trip to Edinburgh. There wasn't much time but loved the time that we spent there.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful and historical buildings - so much to see in one day - enjoyed the train trip up and back - met very nice interesting people in the little group that we had.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Take the first class tour. It is well worth it. Very relaxing and scenic.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic just love Edinburgh. Train trip was great loved seeing g the country side

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Guide met us at Victoria station but other than that we were on our own once in Edinburgh

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great way too see a neighboring country.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was a really long day but totally worth it, Edinburgh is a beautiful city. Everything was easy from catching the train, to getting to the castle. I chose is because I really wanted to go to Scotland but I didn't have enough time is trip so I thought I'd do this day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We met our tour guide at the train station in London, only to find out that there would be no tour guide and we were handed our train and tour tickets only to be left on our own for the day. Edinburgh Castle and the Hop on Hop Off Bus were very enjoyable once we figured out our bearings. A tour guide would have been helpful. Train trouble on the way home made for a very long day.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The English breakfast on the train was a lovely treat. Viewing the English and Scottish countrysides from the train was an excellent idea; beautiful views! The only negative about this trip to Edinburgh was we would have loved to have had more time there; very welcoming and intriguing city.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I took our two grandchildren on this tour, grandson aged 16 and granddaughter aged 8. We all enjoyed the trip but think it should have covered more of Edinburgh. Everything ran on time with no problem and staff very friendly.

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The reviews I read about the long train trip up to Edinburgh from London were right...It didn't seem that long! Outside views from the train are amusing. We had packed a lunch that we picked up right at M and S at train station and enjoyed that en route just before we arrived in Edinburgh. Very easy to go out of station and find across street all the Hop on - Hop off buses waiting. We did what most people do - took bus to Castle stop then toured castle which does take some time. Then relaxed on bus and took in rest of bus tour before heading to train station to catch train back to London. Plenty of time to see Edinborough - a good day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent from start to finish.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well done. Our grandchildren (12 yrs old) thoroughly enjoyed the day. Bus tour was good, but the Castle is the best! Raining, but still a great day. Scones with clotted cream and preserves at the castle was the best lunch!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was all I expected and more. Our tour guide Caroline Huyshe was excellent. She provided many interesting bits of information at our different stops and along the way in the coach. The stops along the route were well planned and the hotels provided a restful evening and night. Ian our driver was very proficient and drove the coach with skill. Although Ian was very quiet he was very helpful with the luggage and getting our bags to the rooms. I believe Caroline made the trip very enjoyable on all fronts. She was patient with us and answered all our questions. I enjoyed this trip from start to finish and the extras- The Scottish Show in Edinburgh and the Welsh Evening at the The Blue Anchor Inn were very welcome additions. Thank-you for a well planned and informative trip. Phyllis Umpherville,Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message