Bookended by Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile (it's actually slightly longer than a mile) is the grand center of Edinburgh's Old Town. The Royal Mile is dominated by granite, giving it a dark, Gothic feel, and lined with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We used the tour when we first arrived in Edinburgh to get an overview of what was in the city. This worked well for us as we were able to return the next morning to do some shopping on the Royal Mile and see some of the museums using the tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable in the Secrets of the Royal Mile, and she was extremely enthusiastic, despite the weather. It poured down rain...and somewhere in the middle of the torrential down pour, it hailed. I know it wasn't the tour guide or Viator's fault, but it definitely made the tour less enjoyable.

I would HIGHLY recommend the tour to others, and I would recommend the option to add the castle admission at the end. Just be aware that the weather in Edinburgh is tricky! The sun was out when we left our hotel that morning, and there were rainbows at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great guide. I enjoyed the information that was covered. This tour should be longer. We spent a lot of time in one general area of the Royal Mile and learned a lot, however we did not cover the entire Royal Mile which was disappointing.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent and well worth it! More in-depth history of the royal mile, along with going behind the scenes to the court building, down some of the closes, good information on history of the area.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful tour! We got to see so much of the local flavor. Rather than fighting the crowds of "The Fringe Festival", our guide took us into quieter places, gave us the historical background, then took us back to the Royal Mile where we were able to see the places he had told us about.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

Amy
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We went on this tour during our first day in Edinburgh and it was such a great introduction to the Royal Mile. Our tour guide was really great and informative. He took us into the old Parliament building, which was definitely a highlight. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very informative guide and interesting information given. The tour goes at a comfortable pace for all the up hill walking involved. It covers only a portion of the Royal Mile.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Despite we had a loud parade the day of the walking tour on the Royal Mile, the guide was able to still share the secret of the tour and was great. So worth doing.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This is a great way to get from one end of the Royal Mile to the other without having to hike up the hill! It also gives you a good tour of the entire Royal Mile over the audio guide, so it's perfect if you're only in Edinburgh for a short time. It's also a good start to your stay, since it gives you an overview of what's there. One of the stops is the Museum of Scotland. It's well worth the stop, and it's free admission.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Buses clean and very very regular. Staff efficient and friendly. Pity the standard circuit is restricted to castle, royal mile etc and doesn't cover New Town and Leith for Brittannia.

Doing what: Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great afternoon spent on the Royal Mile. Thank you!

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was a very rainy day when we went for this tour. With our rain coats in placed we traversed this old city on the Royal Mile and learned some of its history. We really enjoyed the information given to us by our guide.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We really enjoyed this tour. At first we thought it might just be going round a few places but we visited places that you would never have found on your own. The guide was really good and very interesting. Although we had been up and down the Royal Mile repeatedly, we had never noticed the things he pointed out to us. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

This is a nice little walk with lots of facts about the Royal Mile. Our guide answered questions and offered tidbits about Edinburgh. The group was not too large, and we moved along the street at a nice pace. Our guide also provided tips on historic places we should visit.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

Susie R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

After a disastrous flight coming in to Edinburgh I thought my bad luck couldnt get any worse, and surprisingly I was right: this tour was great! The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, so much so I even bought a book straight after the tour to learn more about the Royal Mile and its secrets.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message