Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953 and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when the vessel was decommissioned. Few yachts can boast such an illustrious career as the Royal Yacht Britannia, having sailed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 237 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michele S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

made our trip easy and no waiting in lines. All staff incredibly helpful and polite. well done !

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Vlamparella United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see Edinburgh! Different lines to choose so you can cover most of the must sees in Edinburgh. The attractions that are included with the tour make the price a great value. I enjoy the leisure pace of hop on/off tours because you can choose where you want to spend the most time. The ticket booth was easy to find and access and buses came by fairly frequent considering it wasn't the tourist season.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Saw lots of Edinburgh. Got to pick and change between 3 bus routes which was great.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Fernando M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Hop-On Hop-Off Tours were very handy given the short amount of time we had to see everything. However, some of the bus stops could be clearer but when in doubt return to Waverley Bridge because all of them depart from there. The Edinburgh Castle Admission was practical even though when there weren't any queues when we went. However, since we didn't stop at the ticket booth we had to look for a map as there weren't any at the entrance. Even though the castle tour could be done without the audio tour, I was disappointed that this wasn't included in our admission. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Much better than expected, officers mess and marines living quarters facinating

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

HTravelerUK United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fascinating insight into the Royal Family and household. It was wonderful to be able to see the Royal apartments and learn about the traditions and daily routine of the royals that stayed on board the Royal Yacht Britannia. Great audio commentary too. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

bs65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hop-On Hop-Off was very good to figure out where things were located and to gain insight into the history of Edinburgh. It made getting around town easier. I was able to do all of the routes which allowed me the opportunity to see more of the area.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hop - on hop - off tour in Edinburgh was amazing. Staff did an outstanding job. I had the opportunity to see and do everything I wanted to do while I was there. Can not wait to return in a year or two to enjoy the Military Tattoo and all the events that surround that show ..... You can bet I will be taking the hop - on hop - off bus to go everywhere!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An amazing value! Everyone - from TOMMY at the ticket booth - to the tour guide - were MOST friendly and helpful!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Annette R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful day at castle ,walked down Royal Mile to Holyrood palace. Used hop on / off bus to see the Britannia ship-great time, then did 3 routes around Edinburgh. Worth the value of ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sue T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had great tour guides and it was wonderful hearing about the many great sites.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

D N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent value trip, saw 3 of the main attractions

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

John Q United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Fast track entry to main attractions was not necessary due to the time of year. The bus drivers on each segment were not helpful when loading/unloading at each stop. We didn't know which way to go to get to the attraction.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Elisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Buses run frequently and it is easy to get around and tour the area. So worth it!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Nicola B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth doing the combined ticket in advance if you only have a limited time to do all three attractions and the bus is really easy to locate if you are arriving by train as it's just outside the station.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Katherine S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We enjoyed the tour in Edinburgh during our stay in the city.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Christopher S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Best way to see the city, choice of 3 tour buses with the added bonus of fast track attraction tickets

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Anne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was brilliant, enabling me to hop on, hop off at key sites that interested me the entry ticket to a good handful of sites was included in the total ticket cost - all very efficient. I would definitely recommend the Royal Edinburgh Ticket. It inevitably saves time and money!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Bianca D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Well Worth the money and a great way to discover the city and its treasures. I have a fascination for Mary Queen of Scots... so the castles were a real treat.

Bianca

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shirley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent value for money, great way to see a city in a limited time.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sheena E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved our visit, it was all we hoped it would be. The yacht is an intimate view into the life of the royal family. It is well set out, easy to access and has facilities. The tea room is lovely and the cake delicious.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable afternoon and we were able to bypass the line to buy tickets!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Sheila C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good commentary on buses. Although the queues weren't long as it was November, it was advantageous to be fast tracked through.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message