Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953 and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when the vessel was decommissioned. Few yachts can boast such an illustrious career as the Royal Yacht Britannia, having sailed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michele S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

made our trip easy and no waiting in lines. All staff incredibly helpful and polite. well done !

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Pauline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I would highly recommend buying this ticket. Helped us get the most out of the time we has in Edinburgh x

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Dennis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In rating the cities we visited, we all agreed Edinburgh was the most fascinating for historical and entertainment value. The Hop-On Hop-Off tour with admission to the three venues was excellent and went by all the places we or anyone else would want to visit. The narrator was both entertaining and knowledgable. We never had any issue getting a bus, however there was a bit of a challenge on April 16 due to a marathon. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Caryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great value for seniors and very convenient. It allowed us 5 different bus lines and we used 3 of them over 2 days. Buses came quickly, drivers were helpful, and the access to the 2 castles and the Royal Britannia saved us time getting tix at the venues. We stayed right near the Waverley Station and picked the buses up each morning there. Great fun!!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant value-for-money tour. We enjoyed 48 hours of sightseeing all the major sights of the city - including the Castle and Holyrood Palace and Royal Yacht Britannia on the Quuens 90th as an added bonus. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible with limited time availability

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely brilliant. Royal yacht very interesting. Thank you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to travel around the City and get your bearings as to where the main sites are.
Would certainly recommend the Green Hop on Hop off bus, great live commentary from knowledgeable staff.
Glad we booked in advance as we did save on the price of entrance tickets to Castle ect.
Have booked with Viator on a number of occasions and would certainly recommend as professional service throughout.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Vlamparella United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see Edinburgh! Different lines to choose so you can cover most of the must sees in Edinburgh. The attractions that are included with the tour make the price a great value. I enjoy the leisure pace of hop on/off tours because you can choose where you want to spend the most time. The ticket booth was easy to find and access and buses came by fairly frequent considering it wasn't the tourist season.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Raunak K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Worth a visit to experience the royalty at sea.... should spend atleast 2-3 hours at the ship....

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Lou H United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The castle was cool, as was the palace, but the surprise of the day was the H.M.Y. Britannia yacht. The tours were fine, but a bit difficult to understand especially on the busses with pre-recorded commentary.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Saw lots of Edinburgh. Got to pick and change between 3 bus routes which was great.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Fernando M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Hop-On Hop-Off Tours were very handy given the short amount of time we had to see everything. However, some of the bus stops could be clearer but when in doubt return to Waverley Bridge because all of them depart from there. The Edinburgh Castle Admission was practical even though when there weren't any queues when we went. However, since we didn't stop at the ticket booth we had to look for a map as there weren't any at the entrance. Even though the castle tour could be done without the audio tour, I was disappointed that this wasn't included in our admission. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Much better than expected, officers mess and marines living quarters facinating

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

HTravelerUK United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fascinating insight into the Royal Family and household. It was wonderful to be able to see the Royal apartments and learn about the traditions and daily routine of the royals that stayed on board the Royal Yacht Britannia. Great audio commentary too. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

bs65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hop-On Hop-Off was very good to figure out where things were located and to gain insight into the history of Edinburgh. It made getting around town easier. I was able to do all of the routes which allowed me the opportunity to see more of the area.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The hop - on hop - off tour in Edinburgh was amazing. Staff did an outstanding job. I had the opportunity to see and do everything I wanted to do while I was there. Can not wait to return in a year or two to enjoy the Military Tattoo and all the events that surround that show ..... You can bet I will be taking the hop - on hop - off bus to go everywhere!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An amazing value! Everyone - from TOMMY at the ticket booth - to the tour guide - were MOST friendly and helpful!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Annette R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful day at castle ,walked down Royal Mile to Holyrood palace. Used hop on / off bus to see the Britannia ship-great time, then did 3 routes around Edinburgh. Worth the value of ticket.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Sue T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had great tour guides and it was wonderful hearing about the many great sites.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

D N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent value trip, saw 3 of the main attractions

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

John Q United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Fast track entry to main attractions was not necessary due to the time of year. The bus drivers on each segment were not helpful when loading/unloading at each stop. We didn't know which way to go to get to the attraction.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message