• USD ($)
  • English

Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953, and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when she was decommissioned.  She's the 83rd royal yacht – the first belonged to Charles II in the 1600s.  Few ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent visit, well preserved rooms giving a great insight into how the royal yacht was used. Good audio description letting you tour at your own place

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Superbly maintained and full of detail and stories, this self guided tour has so much to offer everyone, particularly if you have an interest in royalty or naval history. Most of the yacht is open to view and our visit went well beyond the time we thought we would take on board. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful time touring the ship! The way it is laid out ,the ease and clarity of the commentary, the pleasant meal venue and the food and service all went to make the day trip something I would recommend to others to do- it is well worth every penny. However the way to the ship is not well signposted and so I would recommend that this should be attended too. We came in on the M8 .

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Tour was excellent. Good VFM and the tea at the end made it very pleasurable experience.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The main dining room was fantastic - all parts of the ship interesting. Crews accommodation very spartan in contrast to the rest of the ship.
Engine room unbelievably spotless

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Graham C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Edinburgh is a surprising and wonderful place to visit. The Royal Yacht Britannia is a "must see" while you are there. The history is is presented in a slick and memorable way. Spring for lunch or tea in the on board cafe while you are there. It is not that expensive and the ambience is fabulous. Allow 2.5 to 3 hours for your visit.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highly recommended.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed this tour of the ship, lots to see and well worth the short trip to Leith to view this great asset to Edinburgh!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

excellent tour.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Really awesome to see and the carrot cake in the Tea Room was divine!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Good tour access to the Britannia its self, but getting a bus from Princes Street in Edinburgh was a nightmare. Too many route choices spread over multiple bus stops. For strangers to the city it was very stressful. In addition you must have correct change to pay. Altogether a very unfriendly system for visitors. Viator need to enhance this portion of the voucher to guide visitors towards the appropriate preparation for an easy journey to Ocean Quay.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very well planned audio tour of the yacht. Most all parts of the ship were available for viewing. The historical significance her many years in service was very well depicted.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Royal Yacht tour is very well organized for visitors. You go at your own pace with an audioguide. Pictures are allowed!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an easy to follow tour that we could take at our own pace.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A well spent few hours, but not as interesting as I thought it might be.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message