Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953, and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when she was decommissioned.  She's the 83rd royal yacht – the first belonged to Charles II in the 1600s.  Few yachts can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic - easy booking, wonderful time had by all - thankyou!!!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing! Spent the whole day wandering around, very interesting and had a spot of lunch in the cafe on board too. Highly recommend

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An amazing deal. The old Routemaster bus was the best tour guide with life commentary. the ladies that we had were terrific and full of knowledge, it also brought back memories for me as my parents own a Routemaster bus. there are 4 buses to use 2 with life tour guides and others are audio. we a central place to pick up either of the 4 buses and also places of interest where they all go as well so you can use either of the buses. Only the Blue Bus takes you to Britannia. We enjoy visiting Edinburgh Castle. there is a free tour with guide of the castle. Holyrood House and HMS Britannia have audio tours. I would recommended this trip to anyone visiting Edinburgh. best way to get round and plenty of history as well.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Britannia and castle tours excellent and buses punctual, warm downstairs and informative

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it. Just a wonderful opportunity to see the Royal Yacht. We really enjoyed and felt we got our money's worth.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was very good, but you can't see everything with a day pass.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I hope you get a bus that's yellow and red ....like an old trolley ! It has a wonderful live tour guide. She was wonderful and funny and made the trip so interesting. Loved loved loved the ease of hopping off and on various route to see what you wanted to see. I recommend this tour for everyone. We saw the castle, the Britannia wow and Mary Queen of Scott's castle with the most beautiful gardens. If you are coming to Edinburgh, invest in this tour....it made our trip so much better.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's the perfect way to see Edinburgh. I was able to enjoy 5 attractions from my itinerary in one day.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good, easiest way to purchase 3 of the big 3 we wanted to see. Was able to get all the tickets at our first stop which was the castle instead of going to the pick-up point announced on the paper ticket. Would be nice if the buses ran a little later in the day, but otherwise great. A great investment.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I liked the tours which had actual guides speaking. The recorded to us were fine, just not as good as the live tours. The convenience of the hop on hop off can not be beat!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

All went to plan. Buses on time and good way to see Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We purchased the Royal Pass for the 48 hour hop on hop off tours. This included the entry three attractions, the Royal Britanna Yacht, the Holyrood house/Palace and fast entry into the Edinburgh Castle. The majority of the tours were audio with ear buds. At first I didn't think I would like it without a live guide, but to my surprise it was very informative and timely. The routes around the city cover nearly the entire city so ther is lots to see. Best Deal Ever!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour what with the tour of Holy Rood House Palace, Edinburgh Castle and the various thing in between. We had some difficulty on our last day with the bus pick-ups and were treated very rudely by one of the drivers but the day manager was very apologetic. The Royal Yacht Britannia was very interesting and gives you a good look at royal life. This was the last of the tours and we were very tired but still managed to put in some good time sight seeing and shopping.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It would have been nice if the Hop-A-Bus was operating when we arrived from the Cruise Ship Bus - instead of having to wait 2 hours to get our Castle/Bus tickets.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

How enjoyable was this visit! It was great to see how the royals went about their day to day business and all the staff quarters, the laundry room and the engine room. Very interesting.

I had a scone in the lovely tearoom, a must for visiters. Worth a visit when in Edinburgh.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Ticket was well worth the price. A big savings and the added in tickets form the Castle, Palace and HMS Britannia were a great addition. The highlight for us was the Britania.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a very interesting and convienient way to learn about Edinburgh and travel to all the must see hot spots. All enjoyed reduced rates and priority entrance to some of the attractions. Definity the way to go!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb. The tour was beautifully arranged/organised...nice and quiet, like the crew
of The Royal Yacht were. Reallly interesting and the afternoon tea was sublime.

Alexandra Austin

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed everything. Well set up. Buses tan on time Courteous staff. Clean. Favorite spot. War Museum in the castle was the favorite. Interesting view of Royals
Life on the Brittania. Will recommend.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Julia G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent value for money. We used the buses a lot and found the staff helpful. We visited Holyrood, the Royal Yacht, Britannia and Edinburgh castle. By doing this we got the bus trips virtually free. We especially enjoyed the Royal Yacht and would recommend this to people with mobility problems.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, particularly liked the fact you get the recorded guide and the fact you could take as long looking around as you liked. Also the tea room was fabulous!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Burt Wiand
United States of ... 

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message