Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953, and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when she was decommissioned.  She's the 83rd royal yacht – the first belonged to Charles II in the 1600s.  Few yachts can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The yacht is beautiful and provides a glimpse into the private life of the royals. The photographs and the information provided with the tour is so interesting. An added bonus is the charming cafe on board with reasonably priced food and drink with a great view.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this Hop-On-Hop-Off tour. The royal ticket was great because it allowed us entrance into three sites that we definitely wanted to see. We had lunch on the Royal Yacht and that was very good.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one hell of a tour. The ship is magnificent and we really were awed by the contents. Hard to imagine the opulence and regal setting unless you are actually looking at it. Recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great fast track into buildings so no wasted time. Worth the money

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the best purchase we made in Edinburgh. It lets you get to the three main attractions prepaid, and you can ride any of the four hop-on-hop-off buses in town. This made getting around so much easier and there was no waiting in line at the attractions.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great visit, get there as early as time will permit and then have lunch on board. Great visit lots to see.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had time just for the Castle and the Palace, but it was worth while, having our own time to see things.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the price to hear the history and see the sites

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I under estimated just how good this would be. I totally recommend this tour. Watch out for the NAAFI on board, best fudge ever!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

scooby_singh
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There is so much history and beauty in this region. It is an old city but a place where you need to spend 2-3 days. The drivers on the hop on tour are extremely courteous and go out of their way to assist. If you are visiting for even one day take the tour you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Yacht is a very interesting and fun look into the part it played in service of the royals and the country. Do get the entrance ticket in advance to skip the lines

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a wonderful tour -you have the freedom to hop on and off for two whole days and then you have the entrance tickets included for Holyrood,Royal Yacht Britannia and the castle -excellent value for money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best ship viewing I have ever experienced. Well worth the money, time and effort. Wonderful attraction.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fascinating!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best way to get around in Edinburgh! The buses came quickly and did their best to get around despite the fringe and Tattoo traffic. The 3 passes that came with the bus tickets were a great advantage. We got into each attraction quickly, skipping the long queues and had fun in each attraction. We took the blue bus out to the Britannia first which was helpful, then the rest of the time we spent in town. Holyrod Palace is beautiful and Edinburgh castle is amazing, leave plenty of time for both these attractions. Overall, it was a great resource for our trip.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The trip was great. We faced no problem in getting in be it at the Castel or at the palace. Overall, it was good and value for money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This gives you access to 4 different routes although there is quite a lot of overlap between them. Like all such sightseeing buses, it's s good way to visit the main attractions and it doubles as your transport in the city.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

As usual, Hop On Hop Off is the best way to see the hot spots! Having 4 buses to choose from, each with their slightly different route and commentary method, was also good. Glad we got the 48hour ticket. Also, having our tickets to the Castle, Holyroodhouse and Brittannia meant we didn't have to line up thus giving us more time at these places!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

You kept telling me to print vouchers which I did however at the Waverly Station , where the bus tours start there is no where to scan them. Please tell folk to print out their receipts and have them with them. Also if you want to see many castles then it would be less expensive to buy a pass at the first castle visited, than to include just Edinburgh with bus tour. Live and learn!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Edinburgh is a vaccinating City. Love the history and the Castle was amazing.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I only had two days in Edinburgh, and with this ticket, I was able to see everything I wanted to see. The ticket gets you onto all four different hop-on-hop-off bus lines, and includes admission to Edinburgh Castle, Holyroodhouse, and the Royal Yacht. The admission prices to those places alone make this ticket worthwhile. The people were friendly and helpful, maps and timetables are provided for all the routes, and the information giving in the audio and presentations was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message