Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Yacht Britannia

The Royal Yacht Britannia hit the seas in 1953, and took the British royal family around the world from then until 1997, when she was decommissioned.  She's the 83rd royal yacht – the first belonged to Charles II in the 1600s.  Few yachts can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour what with the tour of Holy Rood House Palace, Edinburgh Castle and the various thing in between. We had some difficulty on our last day with the bus pick-ups and were treated very rudely by one of the drivers but the day manager was very apologetic. The Royal Yacht Britannia was very interesting and gives you a good look at royal life. This was the last of the tours and we were very tired but still managed to put in some good time sight seeing and shopping.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

How enjoyable was this visit! It was great to see how the royals went about their day to day business and all the staff quarters, the laundry room and the engine room. Very interesting.

I had a scone in the lovely tearoom, a must for visiters. Worth a visit when in Edinburgh.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Ticket was well worth the price. A big savings and the added in tickets form the Castle, Palace and HMS Britannia were a great addition. The highlight for us was the Britania.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a very interesting and convienient way to learn about Edinburgh and travel to all the must see hot spots. All enjoyed reduced rates and priority entrance to some of the attractions. Definity the way to go!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb. The tour was beautifully arranged/organised...nice and quiet, like the crew
of The Royal Yacht were. Reallly interesting and the afternoon tea was sublime.

Alexandra Austin

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed everything. Well set up. Buses tan on time Courteous staff. Clean. Favorite spot. War Museum in the castle was the favorite. Interesting view of Royals
Life on the Brittania. Will recommend.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Julia G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent value for money. We used the buses a lot and found the staff helpful. We visited Holyrood, the Royal Yacht, Britannia and Edinburgh castle. By doing this we got the bus trips virtually free. We especially enjoyed the Royal Yacht and would recommend this to people with mobility problems.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, particularly liked the fact you get the recorded guide and the fact you could take as long looking around as you liked. Also the tea room was fabulous!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

Burt Wiand
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see Edinburgh, royal Britannia yacht excellent morning exploring, and spent couple hours going round Hollyrood palace, plus 3 hrs in castle.bus guides are excellent.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Totally 'value for money'. A must way to see Edinburgh and the sites x

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent 2 hours. We walked along the Leith water walk about 50 minutes and got the bus back.
Nice to walk in the steps of some very famous people.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great package - hop on hop-off was excellent. Did not have to wait in any lines to see Castle, Holyrood house or Royal Yacht. Hop off/ Hop on was so informative.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very informative and an great place to visit.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Having the Hop-On Hop-Off option made the most for our time in Edinburgh. With the beautiful sunny day, sitting in the open-topped bus allowed for wonderful unobstructed views will listening to our live commentary. We were able to go on both routes first, and then pick and choose the locations we wanted to see most. Edinburgh is one the most beautiful cities in the world and this is a convenient and excellent way to see it.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

good value and interesting to see how everyone lived especially the sailors and marines

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Very old boat. Historic but not that interesting.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour is beautifully organised and set out. Plenty of room and time to see what you want to and very informative. Well done!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice to see the way the other half live I can understand why the queen was upset when it was decommissioned it must have such memories for her. Lovely afternoon tea on board also

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

namildog
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A fascinating audio tour of this splendid vessel. We found it to be good value for money and a great way to wile away a morning prior to embarking our cruise ship.

Doing what: The Royal Yacht Britannia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guides were great. I wasn't always able to grab a bus but enjoyed the ones I did.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message