In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Eddie was our tour guide and he made the trip absolutely great. He had stories, recordings and music to pass the time as we were making our way from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and from Loch Lomond back to the City. Stirling Castle is truly amazing and the have exhibits for children, adults and those in between. Loch Lomond and the surrounding hills are awe-inspiring. Our guide also made stops along the way, for breaks, for a meal and quickly told us what each restaurant had as their specialties. This was a very fine journey, the walk up and down the hills was a climb and on the edge of what we could handle but the views made it worthwhile. This was a small group of 15-16 people and we all had time to ask questions and enjoy the time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Stirling Castle was great. Our guide Shelby was fantastic. Loch Lomond was cut short due to engine problems with our van, but we got to spend extra time at a small village pub and the tour company picked up the tab.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I don't think I've ever enjoyed learning the history of a place quite so much as on this tour. Our tour guide/driver was friendly, knowledgeable and funny all the way through the day.The castles and sights along the way were breathtaking, it's amazing how much of the structures have survived in some cases. I think Doune castle was probably the best, especially with the Monty Python connections. Inverary Castle was beautiful as well.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was exactly what we were seeking. The trip combined castles to see with beautiful nature scenes in the Highlands. We were not disappointed.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome- one of the best I have been on. We did it through viator through a local co called Rabbys. The van was comfortable and the variety of castles and sight to see were amazing. Lots of time to get out and take photos and explore. The highlight was Mike our guide. He had a wealth of information about Scotland and its history and a gift for story telling. We hardly wanted to take a break from the stories to see the castles. Great day and great price.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I really enjoyed my first stop at Edinbrough Castle (5 hours). Next I was redirected by staff to another castle at the opposite end of the Royal Mile only to find they "were not" part of the pass program. The next day I walked a couple of miles to Leith to see the Mariners Museum (free) only to be told that it was closed. Overall I was not impressed by the "bargain" I received from the pass. You really need to research much more before stepping off to see things. This should be told in the sales literature.
Regardless my wander about in Edinbrough was absolutely wonderful and I would recommend this fabulous city to any traveler. Pubs are great, people are friendly and the food is outstanding. The tram from the airport to the city is excellent with a 8 pound round trip fare with many convenient stops. The tram is new, clean and a nice way to see the countryside (30 min ride). Cheers from a New Yorker and Arizonan.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Our tour guide was great, we however had a few issues, had one lady who delayed us from leaving stirling castle by about 40mins when she did not return to vehicle and we had to leave her and then when we finally got to lunch our van broke down and we did not get to loch Lomond as it was to late in the day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide Gillian was fantastic, very knowledgable and informative. The small group size was very nice. Plenty of time at Stirling Castle and the drive and time in the Highlands was beautiful. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Mike, was fun and knowledgeable, telling us stories about Robert the Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots so we really connected to the places we were going and seeing. The weather was perfect, though I know that was all luck, and there was plenty of time to see all the places we wanted to see within the castles and lochs. The only thing I wish was that we'd gotten closer to Stirling Castle. since we never actually went into Stirling and only saw it from the back. Otherwise, everything was absolutely perfect.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyable. Our guide Pete was informative, entertaining and made the trip all the more memorable. Stirling Castle besides being an important historical site is one of the prettiest. The free tour after admission was a bonus.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are into old castles and/or abbeys and you have your own car this is awesome!! We were able to see only 12 out of 78 but definitely got our moneys worth. I will buy one again when we go back!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A most enjoyable day with Rabbies Tours and Driver Bob Leary. Stirling Castle interesting (but some furnishings looked remarkably new!!) Loch Lomond was beautiful and walks were possible. Comfort stops and food stops were regular. Again, worth the money.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The guide was VERY good and very knowledgeable..........I didn't think Inverrary Castle was handled as well as it should..... forcing folks to either miss the castle or the town OR walk a good distance.

Also entrance fees to the castles were NOT included, which was a surprise.

Overall we were satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour bus guide and Driver Jonathan was very good, engaging the tour group. The trip started on time and we were brought back on time. Though the trip covered all the scenic places, there was not visit to Fort William or the Castle, which was just a passing by. The booking by viator was easy.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I have a mixed review. In the middle of our tour their was a bike race and during the race, their was a huge car or bike accident that kept our tour from going to 2 of the 4 castles. However, in stead of a photo opportunity at Sterling Castle, we received a tour of it and took many pictures. Sterling is historically one of the most important Castles. I think that Viator with the knowledge of having one of their tours on the same roads as a bike race, could have adjusted the tour. Our tour guide Shelby did a great job with many wonderful stories and really did try and make up for what we missed!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message