In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide Gillian was fantastic, very knowledgable and informative. The small group size was very nice. Plenty of time at Stirling Castle and the drive and time in the Highlands was beautiful. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A most enjoyable day with Rabbies Tours and Driver Bob Leary. Stirling Castle interesting (but some furnishings looked remarkably new!!) Loch Lomond was beautiful and walks were possible. Comfort stops and food stops were regular. Again, worth the money.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The guide was VERY good and very knowledgeable..........I didn't think Inverrary Castle was handled as well as it should..... forcing folks to either miss the castle or the town OR walk a good distance.

Also entrance fees to the castles were NOT included, which was a surprise.

Overall we were satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour bus guide and Driver Jonathan was very good, engaging the tour group. The trip started on time and we were brought back on time. Though the trip covered all the scenic places, there was not visit to Fort William or the Castle, which was just a passing by. The booking by viator was easy.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Heather was the best!! I could've listened to her stories the whole time and I would've been happy (record them and i would definitely buy them ;p) Visiting the amazing castles along the way was just perfect too!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour with a fantastic tourguide! Our tourguide had so much knowlegde - it was incredible. He was also great at telling all the stories about the fascinating history of Scotland. The scenery and castles were beautifull. Besides a great tour we have learned so much about this amazing country.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was wonderful. Our guide (Dave) was knowledgeable and entertaining. The castle, Loch, and countryside were beautiful. It was well worth the price!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Jane. Our guide, was fantastic. Great stories that were told with a sense of humor and a solid understanding of history and the countryside. We saw wonderful castles and lochs and were not disappointed at all.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. The Castle was really neat and interactive. My 8 year old daughter loved it. Our tour guide was excellent, lots of commentary in the van. She made several stops for pictures, she knew the best places! Loch Lomond was beautiful!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elki
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The guide and driver Scott was great. He intriguingly told about Scottish history as well as about up-to-date issues. In spite of some rain in the morning we enjoyed the tour and landscape very much. Next time in Inveraray I would prefer to see the castle instead of the town, but that was my (wrong) decision :-(
The period of time at Loch Lomond with beautiful views and nice shops was too short.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed this tour of Stirling Castle and the Highlands. However, lunch was quite rushed and therefore not relaxing.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was highly educated in Scottish history, which made the tour all the more fascinating!
I highly recommend this tour. The castles and lochs are beautiful, and the landscape is breathtaking!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Since we are big Downton Abbey fans, we loved seeing Inverary Castle where the Christmas special was filmed. The whole day was great fun

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide John Wells was cheerful, informative, and an all-around wonderful tour guide! The stops on the tour were amazing and beautiful - the only complaint I have was that I was unaware that it would be an extra admissions fee into the Doune and Inveraray Castles. So just a warning, if you are on a budget, neither is included in the tour price. We were given the option in Inveraray to just look around the town and the loch, but there was no such option at Doune. Otherwise the tour was great and I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message