Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melinda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great tour. I do wish we could have gone into more castles but the weather was difficult. Our driver/tour guide did an amazing job and we especially loved her stories and her enthusiasm for sharing Scotland's history was great.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Atipol V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Boring and quite different from the tour's detail.

1. Visiting Stiring Castle at the evening rather than in the morning. Base on highlights i understand that the tour will bring me to the castle not the photo point of the castle that quite far away and didn't see anything in the dark evening's night.

2. Inveraray Castle was closed but the tour did not inform before. Therefore, I saw only the back side of the castle and listened only the history of the castle. Is it enough?

3. Guide leader was annoying. He continuously spoke from the start to the end. Moreover he turned on the music too loudly. He was very annoyingggggggggggg.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stanley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent experience - the castle is a wonder.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anne T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A very worthwhile tour that provided an excellent experience through beautiful countryside and the impressive setting of the mighty Stirling Castle. The driver/guide was typically very knowledgeable and interesting in his delivery of an absorbing history.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

DANAI S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The driver - tour guide was very nice and he was willing to answer all the questions we had. The castle was quite nice and the lake was beautiful!! We had a great time! :

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

david_stiles_1938

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Driver/tour leader was excellent. Good selection of music while we were on our way back to Edinburgh. Hadn't heard Andy Stewart sing 'Donald, where's ye troosers' for at least forty years.
The kind weather helped make the day memorable. Loved the visit to Stirling Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kimberly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was wonderful...my favorite part of the trip! Our guide Jonathan was very knowledgeable, friendly and personable! We ran into fog when heading to our first stop, Stirling Castle, so we were not able to get a lot of pictures, so Jonathan stopped back by on the way home so we could take a few! We made a few extra stops along the way to take pictures and get up close and personal with the Highland Cows!! They are a must...quite adorable!! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone...and especially having Jonathan as your guide!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Deana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide/driver was Eric and he was entertained us with stories, whiskey tasting instruction, excellent music and a great singing voice. The ride was scenic, the castle tour was informative and the loch was lovely. We also enjoyed a nice lunch in Aberfoyle. It's a full day but I still believe the tour could benefit from an additional half hour at the castle, as there is so much to see. Otherwise, a perfect way to spend a day while in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful way to see the highlands, lochs and castles!!! Yes, it was a cloudy, drizzly day in Scotland. But...our tour guide Alan was incredible. He had so much knowledge about the history of the area...and an incredible way of imparting that knowledge. He was quiet and let us relax when needed which was a huge plus!!! We got to see the most wonderful things....getting to wander around an ancient castle was so great. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Just be sure to dress accordingly and don't wear good shoes!!! It gets cold and muddy in November!!
I'm looking forward to doing other tours with this group in the future!!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Quite a wet day so this did affect the tour. The castles we visited were spectacular from ruins to a lived in castle and the scenery throughout the tour was stunning. Our tour guide was very informative and his café recommendation for lunch was sensational.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We only had one day to travel outside of Edinburgh and we are really glad that we chose this tour. Gordon, our driver and guide, was fantastic. He was entertaining and educational. There were 15 of us in a comfortable van and we were able to see the highlands, castles and lochs. The scenery was beautiful and overall it was a fantastic day.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jack C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. A special shout out to Ewan B. our tour guide for being helpful, informative and a fantastic tour guide. The bus was comfortable, clean and made for a very pleasant journey. If you ever get chance, take this tour! The only way it could be better would be more time at Stirling Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

guide/driver is the best. castle was great. loch is overrated

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Brittany B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Go on this tour. You will not be disappointed. Our guide Aaron Mohr was fabulous. He was very knowledgeable on all the areas and castles we traveled to. I had one day for a day trip from Edinburgh and I am very glad I picked this one. Stunning scenery. Stately castles. Castle ruins. Lochs and a lake. Quaint Scottish towns. Morning mist. Evening sunset. What's not to love? I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Dianne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful guide Stephen on small group tour. Castle was fascinating and Loch Lomond was beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am so happy we decided to go on this tour! The castles were amazing! Unfortunately, Kilchurn castle was closed for the winter, but we still got to do a photo stop and see the beautiful exterior. Our tour guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and made the trip enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves castles and lochs!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Salomon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guide was very nice. Very funny with a lot of interesting information about Scotland and the different locations that we visited.
It would have been better if we would have been allowed to spend more time at Stirling Castle. Its pretty large and considering that we returned to Edinburgh so early it would have been nice to spend the extra time at Stirling Castle. We should have stayed there until it closed.

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

Kathy C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good . Tour guide was energetic , informative and very entertaining . Group size was good . The stop at Loch Lomand was about the right amount of time . Sterling Castle needed more time and the stop at the small town for lunch was okay but could have swapped that for more time at Sterling Castle . I understand that scheduled lunch stops are always the deal with 1 day bus tours but it did mean less time at Sterling castle . Highly recommended for a 1 day tour

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Christine M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely day travelling to the highlands to see the gorgeous lochs and amazing castles. The scenery was breathtaking. Our guide Alan was wonderful, very knowledgeable, he told great stories and was very entertaining and delightful. It was a great day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michelle J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

A good tour, though I was disappointed that the entry fees into the castles was not included in the price of the tour. I thought that for the price paid they should have been. Not many lakes stopped at either - just the two from memory.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Raj Bangladesh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

You can not expect a day trip more relaxing than this. When we arrived sterling castle it was raining heavily. The weather got better in the end of castle visit. The rest of the day was rain free and we enjoyed it. Gordon was very friendly, funny and very knowledgeable guide. We liked the way he introduced Scottish history and music. He also recommended us food and drinks in local restaurants, which was worth tasting. If you are looking for a day trip, i will definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

epcot01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Lots of time to see the castle and get wonderful pictures of Loch Lomond. Our tour guide Ewen kept us entertained with Scottish history while on route. All in all a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Dave was an amazing tour guide, knowledgable and extremely funny. Tour is as described, amazing castles and lochs, i can't see how anyone could go wrong with this one.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We only had about one day to venture outside of Edinburgh and this tour fit the bill. Our guide Jonathan was great, provided us lots of history, facts and information on the country as well as a smattering of jokes. The lochs were beautiful, the castles impressive and the town of Inveraray where we stopped for lunch was adorable. If you just have one day to visit the highlands, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

E Lester G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour. Well worth the money. The ten hours went by faster than we thought it would and the guide was very entertaining. Beautiful sites and castles. Had we stayed longer we would have done another tour for sure.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message