• USD ($)
  • English
In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour that fit in two very interesting locations in Scotland. There was enough time to enjoy both Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond - even though it sadly rained all afternoon and we couldn't go for the planned walk. Instead, we drove along the Loch until the end of the road, where a few of us braved the rain for 10 minutes to get some photos. The time allowed for lunch in Aberfoyle was also a good length of time

People who enjoy Scottish history or castles should definitely take the chance to visit Stirling Castle; I thought it was more interesting than Edinburgh Castle.

Our tour guide was very interesting and knowledgeable about the area and Scotland in general, as well as doing an excellent Sean Connery impersonation and serenading us with some Scottish classics, such as 'Flower of Scotland' and ' Loch Lomond'.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Not only have I been amazed by the beauty of the places I visited but also the tour guide gave us an excellent tour that highlighted the historical background of Stirling Castle as well as the cultural / factual background of the rest of the places we visited last Friday.
Many thanks to all,
I'll trust your office for any other tours in the future.
NV.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a wonderful day. Kenny, the driver and Linda especially was amazing. Her knowledge and wealth of information which was expertly passed on to us helped make this one of the best tours we experienced on our journey. Stirling castle and Loch Lomond were fantastic as well. A longish but very memorable day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour. The driver, Pete, was great fun. He even loaned me 20p for the facilities when I had no change. Thank you again, Pete. The tour was on time and he walked us into the Stirling Castle so we could buy our tickets. Then on to lunch in a lovely little village, and then a meander around or boat ride on, Loch Loman. It was raining so some took the walk and others like us, just walked to end of road and back to van. My only suggestion would be to allow more time in the Castle. Extend the tour if necessary. And, include the cost of the castle in the tour price. That way you avoid the buying of the ticket, although it didn't take long since Peter took us to the front of the line. All in all, it was a delightful day and one we would do again.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our driver, Bob, was a proper dour Scot while he entertained and educated us about Scottish history and current political issues! Stirling Castle was both beautiful and full of tragic history; I would have enjoyed even more time there. We stopped at the top of a hill for a photo op before lunch in Aberfoyle and a short drive to Loch Lomond. Thunder rumbled over the hills while we viewed this moody and beautiful loch. This day trip was well worth the time and modest fee!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Seeing Stirling Castle was amazing. The weather was beautiful and you could see for miles. The history of that place is great. Going through the Trossachs Trail was awesome. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

From start to finish this was a very well organized and informative tour. Our guide and driver for the day was Jamie and he had a wealth of knowledge of the area and history of Scotland. There was plenty of time to enjoy Stirling Castle and also time to walk around the shore of Loch Lomond in the afternoon. Top marks!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We only had a few days in Scotland, and we were very glad we booked this tour. It was a good opportunity to get out of the city and see the Highlands and hear more of the history of Scotland and its major landmarks and events. Our tour was in a small, 16 person bus with a very knowledgeable and personable guide, Jonathan. We stopped at two ruin castles, Doune and Kilchurn, but the real treat was being able to tour Inverary Castle, home of the Duke of Argyll. Now that's a castle. Next a ride by Stirling Castle with a history lesson by Jonathan. There were lots of photo ops and a nice break at Inverary with the option to walk a short distance into the town for lunch or visit the Castle cafe. The tour involves alot of riding, but the views and countryside are beautiful and the time went fast. It was a full day, well worth the time and cost. Highly recommended if you want to see more of Scotland in a short timeframe.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

After much research and review-reading we picked this trip, and were so glad we did!! Stirling Castle was the best castle we saw on our whole vacation, and we enjoyed having the time to take the tour. The drive-by of Douane Castle was enough for us Monty Python lovers, Stirling really did have more to see and the castle tour was great. Our lunch stop at The Forth Inn was exactly what we had imagined doing when we watched Inspectors Morse, Lewis, and Barnaby have a pint and lunch outside on BBC America!! Our driver Neil was great!! He was considerate of everyone's personal interests and physical abilities and made each individual passenger's trip fantastic! He was well informed, fun, and answered all of our questions about history, food, flora, fauna, beer, lunch, candy, and ice cream! The bus ride was fun and amazing! The views were were just gorgeous, and Neil gave us every possible opportunity for taking great photographs. Neil gave each passenger special attention, and we all felt as if the tour was catered specifically to us. We had passengers from many countries around the world and he had something special for each of us. Neil is a hiker, but our family is not, and he was able to find a great path for us with an easy slope for us to be able to easily walk up to get some gorgeous views of Loch Lomond!! We had planned on skipping the walk portion of the tour when we booked it, but really enjoyed it! This tour had plenty of time for everything, we were never rushed, and there was lots to enjoy. Neil was a great guide, and everyone involved with the tour was wonderful to work with on the phone, in person arranging what tour was with each bus, and getting on and off the bus in Edindurgh. Everyone was caring, informed, and helpful. They do tours every day, yet it was obvious that they wanted each of their passengers to have a great day - even though it was the only day we would know each, other they felt like friends!! An amazing way to experience Scotland!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

On 24th of May 2013 (Friday) we went for a one day trip to see the Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond with Rabbies. It was a bright day and no rain at all. As we got on the bus, soon we realized that we were going to have great time, not only due to breathtaking landscapes and tourist attractions, but also because of out tourist guide and driver – Mr Mike B. As we headed towards the Stirling Castle, we got to know better our tourist guide and his sense of humour and his real gift for story-telling. Mr Mike B. proved professional in any aspect, keeping us well-informed at all times, entertained and secure. I got the impression that everyone on the coach was happy and relaxed. What a perfect Scottish experience outdoor! As our mini-bus pulled into Edinburgh Waverly Bridge , I felt a bit tired but, most of all, positively surprised and ultimately satisfied with the service provided.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Our guide--Eric--spent more time singing Scottish ballads and talking politics than giving helpful information and history prior to visiting Stirling Castle which could have enhanced our visit to the amazing castle. The "wee walk" at Loch Lomond was a steep hike in slippery mud for another view of the lake which wasn't much more impressive than the view from the parking lot. It would have been nice to have other options at the loch or, maybe better yet, a half-day tour to the castle because it was a very long drive to see a "wee bit" of water.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

We were very disappointed with this trip. We had hoped it would be one of the high spots of our visit but it turned out to be quite dull. We had chosen it because it visited places we wanted to see - Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond - and the website and reviews said that minimum time would be spent in the bus and maximum at the locations and also praised the guides as being really excellent. In the event, out of the 9 hour day, we spent an hour and a half at Stirling Castle, an hour for lunch at Aberfoyle and 35 minutes at Loch Lomond, which meant we were in the bus for 6 hours. Stirling Castle was fascinating, but an hour and a half was not enough to do it justice, especially as we had to pay the entrance fee in addition to the cost of the trip. Aberfoyle was a pleasant little town to stop for lunch, but really there wasn't much to see or do there. And we didn't even stop at one of the more scenic parts of Loch Lomond, just had 35 minutes for a short walk or a cup of tea. We did drive through some stunning scenery but I had hoped to explore a bit more and not just see it through a window. Also, we obviously didn't get one of the guides who were praised by other visitors. Our guide was quite dull and gave us very little in the way of interesting facts or entertaining stories, which can really make a trip enjoyable, as guides on other tours I've been on have done. He also was not very helpful and when we stopped at Stirling and Loch Lomond virtually the only information we got was 'Back at the bus at the agreed time.' We would have been much better making our own way to Stirling and Loch Lomond by bus or train as we would have seen more. This tour did not add any value and was not worth the money. I have been on several other tours booked through Viator and all, apart from this one, have been excellent and good value for money.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Would recommend this tour, we had a great time, it rained all day, but that didn't spoil it for us, we had the best every guide, Mac: Scotline tours, he gave us a very animated history tour of Stirling Castle and Loch Ness, he was just fantastic, I just loved the history lesson. Just do it with him.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A great bus tour out from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond. It was especially nice not to have to worry about driving and to leave that our our excellent guide, Shelby. Enjoyed seeing the scenery and even getting into the Highlands.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Tour guide knowledgeable and friendly. You only get to visit the outsides of Doune and Stirling Castles. It would be good to tour both, but I understand the time contraints. Plenty of time to explore Inveraray and Kilchurn Castles. Would recommend this Day Trip to those who like Castles! It also includes Loch Lomond and plenty of the Highlands.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message