In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 234 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this day tour. Our driver Richard was very knowledgeable and interesting. The small buses are very comfortable and can go on narrow roads so you are not on the highways all the time. We had plenty of time at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond. A really relaxing day.

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Of the tours that we took from Edinburgh, this was by far our favorite. The castle staff was pretty incredible and were able to demonstrate an abbreviated knowledge of relevant history. We had great weather following a week of rain--don't know how you were able to arrange that but THANK YOU! The bus tour operator was genuine, funny and knowledgeable! Loved it!

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I did two tours during my stay in Edinburgh, and both were from Viator. The coach is a very comfortable van, which is great for a full day of driving around, and my guide for this tour was Gordon. He knew a lot about the different castles we visited, and took us to the Campbell Castle ruin, Duone Castle, and Inveraray Castle, in addition to Loch Lubnaig, Loch Lomond, and through some truly picturesque scenery. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. favourite castle near Edinburgh was Craigmillar. Top Abbey - Dunfermeline.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour with an enchanting guide from Rabbie's Tours. Stirling Castle was all I imagined a castle should be. I do wish we had a bit more time to take some pictures in Sterling, but it was a full day. Loch Lomond was beautiful as was the drive to and from.

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lochs were gorgeous and the castles picturesque. The mountains and views were spectacular. Wonderful day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very good and our driver Gordon was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The only complaint I have is that there was not enough time at Inveraray to visit the Castle if you wanted to eat lunch.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour left with all the passengers a bit early, so we had some extra time. The driver/guide, Hamish sorry if I didn't write it correctly was great, telling us about the countryside, the history and even quoting some Scottish poetry and songs.
The weather was quite good, so it was nice. We made several stops to see the countryside, a lake and some cows, not only at the stops that were planned. It was great to have some flexibility and take our time. There was enough time at the Sterling castle to visit and have lunch, and then I did the cruise about 9 pounds. It's nice as well, even if it's not compulsory.
So, a really nice atmosphere, nice views, great guide.
It's a basic trip in the Scottish countryside.

Doing what: Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle Day tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Have waited a long time to actually visit Inverarry sp? and it was well worth it. A bit disappointed we didn't stop at Stirling Castle. Would have traded some of the stops for it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was breathtaking! From the castles to the lochs, the sights were fantastic. Our driver,Johnathan , was funny and engaging. He was also knowledgeable and provided a great deal of information to us. He was also accommodating. The visit to Inverary was amazing. If you are interested, there is a good BBC show featuring this estate that can really get you ready for this visit. Downton Abbey fans will recognize this location from the deer stalking episode, Outlander fans will love visiting the location used as castle Leoch. All in all, a fabulous tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite castle of all the ones I visited in Ireland and Scotland. You must do this! And our tour guide was very enthusiastic and told us interesting information about the history of Scotland. He even took us on a personalized walk to view Loch Lomond. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highlands lochs and castles with Gill was a wonderful tour. Gill gave us lots of information, stories and even music to illustrate Scottish history. She made the trip fun for all in a very relaxed and informative manner and was very flexible about how much time we wanted at each spot. The highlight was Kilchurn - slightly off the beaten track. The tour operator was very organized. It was a great day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful castle a must see full of history that shaped Scotland to what it is today. Some say the heart and soul of Scotland, with many great battles that had been fought here.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The castle was small but very lovely. I wish I had more than one and a half hours there to see more of the surrounding town. Loch Lomand was very pretty. The short hike and stop at the pub made it a great day! Jan is a terrific guide with wonderful stories of Scotish history and music!

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day tour was exquisite. Arron, our tour guide, was simply amazing. He regaled us with enticing stories and history of Scotland throughout the day. He was personable and efficient. We saw all the castles on the tour and much of the West Highlands. It rained on and off throughout the day, and Arron made the best of the conditions to ensure we had a high quality experience and that our time was optimized. I would definitely book another tour with this company. 5 stars!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great, an announcement asking people to be respectful when talking on the bus as others may want to hear the tour and having functional speakers at every seat - we had some very loud people. 30 min more at each castle and one less loch - we had to run through them to see almost everything.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day trip and good choice of sights - but see later comment. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. I had no idea the highlands were so absolutely gorgeous!!! The only negative I can think of is that they could probably eliminate the Stirling castle stop since you only do a photo op from very far away, along with at least one of the restroom stops. That would cut the tour shorter by at least 1-1/2 hours. Because, really - a 12 hr tour is just too long.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

There was not enough time at Inveraray to visit the Castle if you wanted to eat lunch. That was a big disappointment to have so little time there. Plus, it was a long walk to the castle from where the bus parked so even if you skipped lunch you spent the majority of your time walking to/from the castle. The tour guide was not nearly as friendly or interesting as the other guides. He didn't seem to want to be there.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Unfortunately I hardly got to use these passes...many of the castles I wanted to visit in Scotland where not on the list. The only place we used the tickets was the Edinburgh castle and the lineup was only about 10 minutes, so we really didn't save much time.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

WOW!! Allen our guide made the West Highland Lochs and Castles very real and memorable. He answered all of our questions, gave us the history of what we were seeing and enjoyed what he was doing. Thanks Allen for making our first tour of Scotland so wonderful and wanting to return.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the trip a great deal. I thought the tour guide, George, was excellent. He seems very knowledgeable about everything, and had a great personality and voice. The transport vehicle was very comfortable, and Stirling Castle was especially interesting to me.

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, nice castles. Ewen hope I spelled it right is a great story teller and told us a lot about what to do in the city on our way back. Thanks!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took the Loch Lomond/Stirling Castle tour in early June and we had a wonderful time mostly because our driver and tour guide Brian was just wonderful. He was an excellent driver, extremely knowledgable, had and great sense of humor and remained extremely patient with not 1 but two obnoxiously rude sets of fellow travelers on the tour. We had a wonderful adventurous day on this tour. Loch Lomond was just beautiful and we loved the cruise. Our stop in Aberfoyle was a great way to spend lunch and time off on our own and Stirling Castle was the highlight of the tour.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g186525-d807152-r280377741-Gray_Line_Scotland_Ltd-Edinburgh_Scotland.html

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I just returned from the western highlands and castles day tour out of Edinburgh. What a great trip. Our driver Euan was wonderful and the places we stopped were beautiful. We stopped at the smaller out of the way spots that big coaches with 40 do not visit. And only 12 of us on the bus meant fast exits to see the attractions. I have been on a dozen tours in the past few weeks. This one has been the best by far.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Could have had more time at Sterling Castle. Stevie the driver was fantastic giving background information on where and when we were. Also great sense of hummor and also played associated music to where we were

Doing what: Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message