Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 301 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved this day tour! Graeme, our tour guide, was awesome - very entertaining and incredibly knowledgeable! Our coach was super comfortable - air conditioned, with large windows for viewing the glorious scenery. We were given ample bathroom/refreshment stops along the way. The absolute highlight for me was the visit to Inveraray Castle, where we were given ample time to enter the castle only 8 euros!, wander the grounds and visit the gift shop. Another highlight was the Rest and be Thankful stop up the side of the Mountain. Rabbies was an exceptionally good tour company, very professional and well organised from start to finish! A highly recommended tour - worth every cent - I'd definitely do it again!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Katie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Jan ( our guide) really made it great. The castles and lochs were fun to see, but we particularly appreciated Jan and #39;s commentary. He recited poems, played songs , and had slipped in some great jokes while discussing Scottish history and culture. Thanks Jan!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

peter m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loads of fun, especially enjoyed Doune Castle.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day trip to Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond was a really great experience. The bus was new, modern and comfy, which is not unimportant when you're spending several hours in this vehicle. Our tour guide Graeme was not only a very nice man, he was also funny and really entertaining. During the tour he gave us much interesting information about scottish history, scottish society and mindset and about culture. For example I learned and saw where Sean Connery was born and raised. Although the tour was about 8 hours, it was not too exhausting, because there were several stops in the Highlands for taking pictures. And the two main stops at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond were long enough to explore the grounds. Altogether it was a really good day trip, perfect choice, when you're visiting Edinburgh just for a few days and want to see a little bit more of Scotland. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lenore M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. The castle was amazing so were the 150 steps good for my leg muscles. View was worth it. Loch Lomond was wet so not so good but local pub was.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't praise this tour enough! Rabbie's provided my family a fantastic tour of the West Highland lochs and castles. The itinerary covers a lot of ground in a single day, but it's organized quite well the time spent at the sites doesn't feel too rushed, and the intervals spent in the van don't feel too drawn-out. There are frequent stops along the way to buy snacks, use the toilet, stretch your legs, and take pictures. Views of the countryside from inside the van are as spectacular as those of the castles and lochs themselves!

Our tour guide and driver, James, was very kind and knowledgeable. He walked around each location with the group and regularly offered to take photos for us. While safely and skillfully navigating the van along the winding roads, he managed to deliver an insightful guided commentary. Between these history lessons, he played Scottish folk music, which perfectly complemented the breathtaking sightsdense forests of pine and grassy hills of golden gorse! I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone. Wear comfortable shoes, bring bottles of water and a raincoat, and make sure your camera battery is fully chargedyou're going to need it!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Zoe W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful lakes and castles, very friendly tour guide. The bus was very comfortable.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

bernieb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fran, was my tour guide and she was great! She kept us entertained and was attentive to the group's needs. The Highlands are majestic and peaceful. The scenery is something right out of a painting. This tour is a must for anyone who wants and overview of the Highlands and castles. Of course, there is always a desire for more time to explore, but given the amount of sites we covered it was time well spent.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Allyson J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Fran, our guide and driver for the day, was amazing. Her stories were lively, she was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and the landscape. Doune Castle was great.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wee bit of everything. Colossal Kelpies sculpture park, a delicious honeysuckle vanilla malt shop, a stroll along Loch Lomond, Brave Heart offerings, a castle featuring a wedding, Scottish tunes, a hip bus driver/guide. Great value!

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

Debbi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mav was fabulous! He went out of his way to drop us at our hotel in Inveraray even though he didn't have to. He was very kind and a big help to us. We didn't take the whole tour - thought it would be a fun way to get from Edinburgh to Inverarary and it was. Castles, Lochs, shops, fabulous scenery.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

MBB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A worthwhile tour. The stop at Sterling Castle is timed such that we could take the docent led tour - definitely recommend this tour of the Castle. The stop at Loch Lomond was good, but the highlight of this tour is Sterling Castle. Both the driver and tour guide were excellent and attentive.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

billy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is our first time in Scotland. Eric, our guide was very good and knowledgable, always ready with all the interesting historical anecdotes from the places we visited. We particularly enjoyed the Doune Castle. The Inveraray Castle was very grand and the garden was very beautiful.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sivasankar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really good tour. Usually tours can get a bit boring..but our guide was chirpy and kept us entertained throughout. Stirling castle is a must visit..even 90 minutes did not feel enough for the place. The loch's were also amazing.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic and our guide, Jann, was exceptional. Stirling Castle had special significance for me since my great grandfather was a Stirling from this region and this trip has been on my bucket list forever! Jann was very knowledgeable and made this one day excursion informative and fun...offering us lots of opportunities for great photographs and a quick hike on the West Highlands Trail. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

althea United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Roger was a wonderful guide - he had an endearing love for his country and his storytelling provided a great narrative of this beautiful land. His love for music and folk singers from Scotland added interest to the stories.
Stirling Castle was worth the stop - well preserved castle atop a hill with a great view all around. There are guides that provide tours if one wishes. I loved the scenery.
Loch Lomond, while beautiful, was a little anti-climactic. The part of the lake where we stopped to hike was not majestic at all, just a boat dock, and some shops for tourists.. The bluebelles that spread across the hillsides and the view from the top was worth the short, steep hike.
Because I didn't wish to drive in the UK, the small bus option was perfect.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arthur G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a bit of a disappointed, we were here in the busy season and we got a fill in driver The driver was nice and he knew a lot of history which was very enjoyable. However I would not chose Loch Lomond again, the lake is not very accesible and there is nothing to do there If you don't hike up a hill to see it, then you can't see much of anything. Maybe Loch Ness would be better if this helps in your decision. The place we ate lunch was not so good either. But the saving grace was Stirling Castle this is an amazing and beautiful Castle well worth seeing.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Miam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Not enough time at Stirling. Wanted to see argyll house or wallace monument. Only had about an hour and a half at stirling. Loch Lomond was beautiful though. Our driver was funny! Graham was a bit sarcastic to a fellow member of the tour but he deserved it. Otherwise, good tour

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Arthur G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The best part of this tour was Stirling Castle, I loved the castle, it was so interesting and I am glad that they have docents in period dress to talk to. Loch Lomond I would not chose, I think Loch Ness may be better. This Loch Lomond is just not accessible enough. You have to climb a hill to see it. There is nothing to do there but wait. The village we ate at was not good either. The guide tried, he was a part time driver and while we was knowledgeable and informed, he had not done this tour in several years. So Stirling Castle is great so maybe think about a different combination.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

gaiken63

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Stirling Castle was nice although a bit more time spent there and less at Loch Lomand would have been preferred. For Loch Lomand, if you weren't interested in hiking up trails there was little to fill the hour and a half time allotted. On the 3 day tour to Isle of Skye, also visited Loch Lomand, but spent time there at town of Lus, which had good access to the loch and lots of eateries and shops to fill time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Wais R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lovely day out! We visited many different sites, beautiful castles, castles ruins and lochs. It is definitely a must if you want to know about the Scottish history and especially The Highland and the lochs.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

James T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our driver was Iain and he was fantastic. The tour was really well done - Iain was knowledgeable about the areas and the history. He also had some funny stories to tell. We recommend this tour it was a nice mix of country side, castle and whiskey!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh

michael r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Overall the day trip was great, Jeff was an excellent host and made us feel quite welcome. He was also a wealth of information relevant to the trip and region. The road to Doune castle was blocked and we had to drive around a long detour but Jeff handled it quite well , making sure to get to all the stops. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Pavlina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was a memorable experience! It was a very good combination of beautiful scenery, a travel back in the past of Scottish history, charming castles, nice music and as we were lucky - nice weather too. In about 8 hours of travel we were able to see 4 castles and the lakes the castles are located at plus 2 additional lakes - Loch Lubnaig and Loch Lomond. We used to stop at each sight and we were given time to enjoy it and take pictures, while during the travel, our driver and guide John was telling us about the places we visited, interesting stories of Scottish history for example about William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, about the clans and life in the Highlands...After each legend, he played us a traditional Scottish song singing about the same legend, in the end we finished with bagpipes and some contemporary Scottish music like the one of Amy McDonald. John was an extremely good guide, very professional as well as a very kind and friendly person. Throughout all the hours he didn't get tired of telling us stories of Scotland, it was obvious he did this with passion and love for his country and could make us feel the Scottish spirit too :

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

eva52489

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour, would have rather had more time at the castles, but i understand obviously the time crunch in order to get back at a decent time. Would recommend though, beautiful places. Scotland is a beautiful country!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message