In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond are beautiful. Grant, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and just delightful. We really enjoyed it. Thanks.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. The sights and drive through the countryside was beautiful. We had a young man named Grant who was very nice and did an excellent job storytelling, and was knowledgeable of the history and sights. I have used Viator for a castle tour in France and was not disappointed.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The sequence of events, selection of castles and duration of time spent at each site was not well conceived. We enjoyed visiting Inveraray Castle and the time allowed at this site. However at Doune Castle we only made a stop for photos and bathroom break but no time to tour the castle. Another odd choice was the visit to Kilchurn Castle, a ruin which was about a half mile walk from the parking area. We did not enjoy that stop. The most surprising stop was at Stirling Castle. As a castle that plays so prominently in Scottish history, you would think time would be afforded for a tour. This was not the case, instead the bus stopped on a road below the castle and we were allowed about 5 minutes to take pictures. With some tweaking this could become a tour worth taking but in it's present state, we would not recommend it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were able to see some amazing areas and views that really showcased Scotland's natural beauty. Our guide as also fantastic. James was full of stories and facts about the history of Scotland as well as the country in modern times. It was obvious that he loves his country and his job. You couldn't have asked for a better guide.

The one disappointment may have been that the site advertised being able to see Inverary Castle when really all you could do was take a picture of the house through the fence from the far end of the drive. Overall though, I don't regret in the least taking this day trip. It was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow this is the most amazing castle I ever been to. The view from Castle is spectacular. Rabbie you guys rock. My favorite tour company ever and the guides are fantastic!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. My gf and I loved it. There were just 3 people on the tour so we almost had a private day with our guide James. James was very knowledgeable and entertained us throughout the day with great stories and facts. It was great to see so many castles up close in a day and explore Doune castle up close. I'd strongly recommend this tour to anyone looking to explore Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip is for 12 hours, the scenery and villages, and loch stops, and historic information the bus driver shares are worth the pay. I hoped the weather was little better with no fog, as missed few castle on the road.
The minivan, service, and level of professionalism makes it worth while.
Few things could have done better is make the lunch stop longer to allow more time to enjoy the Loch Ness, and rest from the long trip. Also, it could have been better organized to offer us the Discount Card to use at local restaurants, shops and attractions - which is mentioned in the description but was not offered.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This was nothing but a well orchestrated move to rake in the bucks. Starting with the cafe meeting point (no hotel pickups), it was an unexpected significant extra fee to get into Stirling Castle (especially for me, as I didn't want to donate to the queen!), and time for shopping during lunch break.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Joined Tour: February

POSITIVES:
-Great way to see the Highlands in a short period of time
-If youre lucky, like us, the group could get fairly small during the off season. Just 8 adults on the tour, made everything more efficient.
-Great view
-Clean and comfortable mini bus
-Informative and friendly tour guide Eric was ours!
-Enough breaks for coffee/snacks/leg stretching/toilette
-Enough time for picture taking
-Inveraray town was a nice stop

NEGATIVES:
-Only ONE 1 Castle open during the winter season!!!! You can only get into Doune Castle.
-Inveraray Castle: We walked around the castle to take pictures, but it was not open.
-Kilchurn Castle and Sterling Castle: only viewed from a great distance. Need a zoom lens. But we did stop for a quick photo.
-If you are used to mountains, lakes and countryside views similar to Austrian Alps or the Canadian mountain scenery then youll probably get bored by the view.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great trip. Dan our guide from Rabbies was exceptionally knowledgeable. Stirling castle is worth the stop with great views of the surrounding areas, the castle is being worked on but 90% can be visited. We arrived at Loch Lomond to see the sun setting and were able to get great pictures. An enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Rabbies is the tour operator. Small group and bus which made the tour more personal. Karen was out Driver/Guide and VERY knowledgeable on Scottish history, story telling a most enjoyable day and of course the scenery was breath taking. Stirling Castle was a lot more than I expected. Stopped at Aberfoyle for lunch and went for a walk around Loch Lomond. Would do this tour again.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is an amazing tour, an opportunity to see the beautiful country side and amazing castles. To make this even more magical it snowed throughout the day making it a perfect day. The driver Daniel was fantastic and did a great job navigating us through road closures and slippery roads. This is a must see when in Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved castle Doune, our guide was great , very interesting. The transport was very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting trip. The guide has been very nice and well prepared. She knew everything about the places she showed us and their history. You fell she loves what she doing and telling. She is clear and it's easy to understand her even if you are not an english mother tongue. I am glad to have chosen this trip in december because the colours of the Castle and the Loch are amazing. It could be a bit chilly and windy, maybe raining, but this is Scotland and you have to love it

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Delightful day. Stirling Castle was very nice, good tour guide (Stewart). Loch Lomond was no big deal, but now I can say I've been there and seen it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and explained Mary Queen of Scots history in an entertaining way. For Doune Castle, admission isn't included but being part of the tour group gets you a discount and costs a little less than £5. Inverary Castle was closed which was a bit of a downer, but we were able to explore the little town. There were many breathtaking views of the lochs, castles and highlands, and plenty of landscapes worthy of panorama pictures. Overall this tour was definitely worthwhile!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

It was a very long day with lots of driving and of course sitting in the bus. We thought there could have been a couple of stops at places other than to go to the loo or get something to eat. Eg a stop at Stirling Castle would have been nice. I would probably choose something a bit more active and in depth next time. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Eddie was our tour guide and he made the trip absolutely great. He had stories, recordings and music to pass the time as we were making our way from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and from Loch Lomond back to the City. Stirling Castle is truly amazing and the have exhibits for children, adults and those in between. Loch Lomond and the surrounding hills are awe-inspiring. Our guide also made stops along the way, for breaks, for a meal and quickly told us what each restaurant had as their specialties. This was a very fine journey, the walk up and down the hills was a climb and on the edge of what we could handle but the views made it worthwhile. This was a small group of 15-16 people and we all had time to ask questions and enjoy the time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Stirling Castle was great. Our guide Shelby was fantastic. Loch Lomond was cut short due to engine problems with our van, but we got to spend extra time at a small village pub and the tour company picked up the tab.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I don't think I've ever enjoyed learning the history of a place quite so much as on this tour. Our tour guide/driver was friendly, knowledgeable and funny all the way through the day.The castles and sights along the way were breathtaking, it's amazing how much of the structures have survived in some cases. I think Doune castle was probably the best, especially with the Monty Python connections. Inverary Castle was beautiful as well.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was exactly what we were seeking. The trip combined castles to see with beautiful nature scenes in the Highlands. We were not disappointed.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome- one of the best I have been on. We did it through viator through a local co called Rabbys. The van was comfortable and the variety of castles and sight to see were amazing. Lots of time to get out and take photos and explore. The highlight was Mike our guide. He had a wealth of information about Scotland and its history and a gift for story telling. We hardly wanted to take a break from the stories to see the castles. Great day and great price.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I really enjoyed my first stop at Edinbrough Castle (5 hours). Next I was redirected by staff to another castle at the opposite end of the Royal Mile only to find they "were not" part of the pass program. The next day I walked a couple of miles to Leith to see the Mariners Museum (free) only to be told that it was closed. Overall I was not impressed by the "bargain" I received from the pass. You really need to research much more before stepping off to see things. This should be told in the sales literature.
Regardless my wander about in Edinbrough was absolutely wonderful and I would recommend this fabulous city to any traveler. Pubs are great, people are friendly and the food is outstanding. The tram from the airport to the city is excellent with a 8 pound round trip fare with many convenient stops. The tram is new, clean and a nice way to see the countryside (30 min ride). Cheers from a New Yorker and Arizonan.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Our tour guide was great, we however had a few issues, had one lady who delayed us from leaving stirling castle by about 40mins when she did not return to vehicle and we had to leave her and then when we finally got to lunch our van broke down and we did not get to loch Lomond as it was to late in the day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message