In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

WOW!! Allen our guide made the West Highland Lochs and Castles very real and memorable. He answered all of our questions, gave us the history of what we were seeing and enjoyed what he was doing. Thanks Allen for making our first tour of Scotland so wonderful and wanting to return.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the trip a great deal. I thought the tour guide, George, was excellent. He seems very knowledgeable about everything, and had a great personality and voice. The transport vehicle was very comfortable, and Stirling Castle was especially interesting to me.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, nice castles. Ewen hope I spelled it right is a great story teller and told us a lot about what to do in the city on our way back. Thanks!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took the Loch Lomond/Stirling Castle tour in early June and we had a wonderful time mostly because our driver and tour guide Brian was just wonderful. He was an excellent driver, extremely knowledgable, had and great sense of humor and remained extremely patient with not 1 but two obnoxiously rude sets of fellow travelers on the tour. We had a wonderful adventurous day on this tour. Loch Lomond was just beautiful and we loved the cruise. Our stop in Aberfoyle was a great way to spend lunch and time off on our own and Stirling Castle was the highlight of the tour.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g186525-d807152-r280377741-Gray_Line_Scotland_Ltd-Edinburgh_Scotland.html

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I just returned from the western highlands and castles day tour out of Edinburgh. What a great trip. Our driver Euan was wonderful and the places we stopped were beautiful. We stopped at the smaller out of the way spots that big coaches with 40 do not visit. And only 12 of us on the bus meant fast exits to see the attractions. I have been on a dozen tours in the past few weeks. This one has been the best by far.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a great trip and the tour guide and driver were friendly and fun. It would have been nice to see at least 1 castle, but overall it was good. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Could have had more time at Sterling Castle. Stevie the driver was fantastic giving background information on where and when we were. Also great sense of hummor and also played associated music to where we were

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended... The castles and lochs were magnificent and the scenery was breathtaking. Our guide Douglas Hunter was as delightful. A great story teller and you can easily be engulfed with his pride in his heritage, culture and birthplace. Will definitey do it again if i get the chance.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Ally was really friendly and informative. However, was only able to actually enter one of the castle - would be nice to be able to visit Stirling too. Maybe it's in the fine print - might just be me.
Overall a pleasant day trip - worth going.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a very enjoyable day. Our guide/drive Eric was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I would like to have spent a little more time in Stirling though. We only had 1.5 hours there and the castle tour itself was 55 minutes. I think this tour be better if it started a little earlier by about an hour so you would feel that you got more bang for your buck at the castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great deal if you plan on visiting a lot of castles. We purchased the 7 day so in 14 so we were able to get to enough to we'll pay for the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nick was a very knowledgeable guide and driver. He has a sincere love for his homeland which made listening to him so easy plus, he added a few audio recordings that added a nice touch to the information he told. Our one disappointment was that we didn't stop at the Wallace Monument which was one of the main reasons I booked this tour. We saw it from afar but did not stop. You need to edit your information describing this day tour as it's not correct. Our stop in Luss was a wonderful surprise-----words can't describe it's charm and character Aberfoyle was a nice place to stop for lunch I recommend you walk down to the main street to catch a bite to eat-----much more interesting than at the visitor's center. Stirling Castle should not be missed well worth the ticket. I'm not sure what one would do if they didn't visit the castle-----walking around Stirling is not like walking around Edinburgh. The trip was quite pleasant------lovely scenery, interesting history to listen to, and you're home in time to enjoy dinner and the evening in Edinburgh without feeling exhausted.

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a great way to get to know a few of the castles in Scotland if you're visiting for a limited amount of time. James, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and a great storyteller. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond are beautiful. Grant, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and just delightful. We really enjoyed it. Thanks.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Value for $. Driver cum guide was informative. Allow yourself more time at the Stirling Castle n you can skip Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful country plus castles, can't really go wrong with that. I really like that these are small groups. Makes for a more personalized experience.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful trip. Our castle guide, Brian, really made the castle come alive

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. The sights and drive through the countryside was beautiful. We had a young man named Grant who was very nice and did an excellent job storytelling, and was knowledgeable of the history and sights. I have used Viator for a castle tour in France and was not disappointed.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We only had the chance to see the Edinburgh castle and the staff had trouble getting me tickets. They use so many different companies they have to use this huge book to tell them how to do it. It took probably 30-45min just to get tickets.

It may have been worth it if I did not have small children with me and had time to go to more but I ended up spending 145 just to see one castle :

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The sequence of events, selection of castles and duration of time spent at each site was not well conceived. We enjoyed visiting Inveraray Castle and the time allowed at this site. However at Doune Castle we only made a stop for photos and bathroom break but no time to tour the castle. Another odd choice was the visit to Kilchurn Castle, a ruin which was about a half mile walk from the parking area. We did not enjoy that stop. The most surprising stop was at Stirling Castle. As a castle that plays so prominently in Scottish history, you would think time would be afforded for a tour. This was not the case, instead the bus stopped on a road below the castle and we were allowed about 5 minutes to take pictures. With some tweaking this could become a tour worth taking but in it's present state, we would not recommend it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were able to see some amazing areas and views that really showcased Scotland's natural beauty. Our guide as also fantastic. James was full of stories and facts about the history of Scotland as well as the country in modern times. It was obvious that he loves his country and his job. You couldn't have asked for a better guide.

The one disappointment may have been that the site advertised being able to see Inverary Castle when really all you could do was take a picture of the house through the fence from the far end of the drive. Overall though, I don't regret in the least taking this day trip. It was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow this is the most amazing castle I ever been to. The view from Castle is spectacular. Rabbie you guys rock. My favorite tour company ever and the guides are fantastic!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. My gf and I loved it. There were just 3 people on the tour so we almost had a private day with our guide James. James was very knowledgeable and entertained us throughout the day with great stories and facts. It was great to see so many castles up close in a day and explore Doune castle up close. I'd strongly recommend this tour to anyone looking to explore Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip is for 12 hours, the scenery and villages, and loch stops, and historic information the bus driver shares are worth the pay. I hoped the weather was little better with no fog, as missed few castle on the road.
The minivan, service, and level of professionalism makes it worth while.
Few things could have done better is make the lunch stop longer to allow more time to enjoy the Loch Ness, and rest from the long trip. Also, it could have been better organized to offer us the Discount Card to use at local restaurants, shops and attractions - which is mentioned in the description but was not offered.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This was nothing but a well orchestrated move to rake in the bucks. Starting with the cafe meeting point (no hotel pickups), it was an unexpected significant extra fee to get into Stirling Castle (especially for me, as I didn't want to donate to the queen!), and time for shopping during lunch break.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message