In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were able to see some amazing areas and views that really showcased Scotland's natural beauty. Our guide as also fantastic. James was full of stories and facts about the history of Scotland as well as the country in modern times. It was obvious that he loves his country and his job. You couldn't have asked for a better guide.

The one disappointment may have been that the site advertised being able to see Inverary Castle when really all you could do was take a picture of the house through the fence from the far end of the drive. Overall though, I don't regret in the least taking this day trip. It was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow this is the most amazing castle I ever been to. The view from Castle is spectacular. Rabbie you guys rock. My favorite tour company ever and the guides are fantastic!!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. My gf and I loved it. There were just 3 people on the tour so we almost had a private day with our guide James. James was very knowledgeable and entertained us throughout the day with great stories and facts. It was great to see so many castles up close in a day and explore Doune castle up close. I'd strongly recommend this tour to anyone looking to explore Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip is for 12 hours, the scenery and villages, and loch stops, and historic information the bus driver shares are worth the pay. I hoped the weather was little better with no fog, as missed few castle on the road.
The minivan, service, and level of professionalism makes it worth while.
Few things could have done better is make the lunch stop longer to allow more time to enjoy the Loch Ness, and rest from the long trip. Also, it could have been better organized to offer us the Discount Card to use at local restaurants, shops and attractions - which is mentioned in the description but was not offered.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This was nothing but a well orchestrated move to rake in the bucks. Starting with the cafe meeting point (no hotel pickups), it was an unexpected significant extra fee to get into Stirling Castle (especially for me, as I didn't want to donate to the queen!), and time for shopping during lunch break.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Joined Tour: February

POSITIVES:
-Great way to see the Highlands in a short period of time
-If youre lucky, like us, the group could get fairly small during the off season. Just 8 adults on the tour, made everything more efficient.
-Great view
-Clean and comfortable mini bus
-Informative and friendly tour guide Eric was ours!
-Enough breaks for coffee/snacks/leg stretching/toilette
-Enough time for picture taking
-Inveraray town was a nice stop

NEGATIVES:
-Only ONE 1 Castle open during the winter season!!!! You can only get into Doune Castle.
-Inveraray Castle: We walked around the castle to take pictures, but it was not open.
-Kilchurn Castle and Sterling Castle: only viewed from a great distance. Need a zoom lens. But we did stop for a quick photo.
-If you are used to mountains, lakes and countryside views similar to Austrian Alps or the Canadian mountain scenery then youll probably get bored by the view.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great trip. Dan our guide from Rabbies was exceptionally knowledgeable. Stirling castle is worth the stop with great views of the surrounding areas, the castle is being worked on but 90% can be visited. We arrived at Loch Lomond to see the sun setting and were able to get great pictures. An enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Rabbies is the tour operator. Small group and bus which made the tour more personal. Karen was out Driver/Guide and VERY knowledgeable on Scottish history, story telling a most enjoyable day and of course the scenery was breath taking. Stirling Castle was a lot more than I expected. Stopped at Aberfoyle for lunch and went for a walk around Loch Lomond. Would do this tour again.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is an amazing tour, an opportunity to see the beautiful country side and amazing castles. To make this even more magical it snowed throughout the day making it a perfect day. The driver Daniel was fantastic and did a great job navigating us through road closures and slippery roads. This is a must see when in Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved castle Doune, our guide was great , very interesting. The transport was very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting trip. The guide has been very nice and well prepared. She knew everything about the places she showed us and their history. You fell she loves what she doing and telling. She is clear and it's easy to understand her even if you are not an english mother tongue. I am glad to have chosen this trip in december because the colours of the Castle and the Loch are amazing. It could be a bit chilly and windy, maybe raining, but this is Scotland and you have to love it

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Delightful day. Stirling Castle was very nice, good tour guide (Stewart). Loch Lomond was no big deal, but now I can say I've been there and seen it.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and explained Mary Queen of Scots history in an entertaining way. For Doune Castle, admission isn't included but being part of the tour group gets you a discount and costs a little less than £5. Inverary Castle was closed which was a bit of a downer, but we were able to explore the little town. There were many breathtaking views of the lochs, castles and highlands, and plenty of landscapes worthy of panorama pictures. Overall this tour was definitely worthwhile!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

It was a very long day with lots of driving and of course sitting in the bus. We thought there could have been a couple of stops at places other than to go to the loo or get something to eat. Eg a stop at Stirling Castle would have been nice. I would probably choose something a bit more active and in depth next time. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Eddie was our tour guide and he made the trip absolutely great. He had stories, recordings and music to pass the time as we were making our way from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and from Loch Lomond back to the City. Stirling Castle is truly amazing and the have exhibits for children, adults and those in between. Loch Lomond and the surrounding hills are awe-inspiring. Our guide also made stops along the way, for breaks, for a meal and quickly told us what each restaurant had as their specialties. This was a very fine journey, the walk up and down the hills was a climb and on the edge of what we could handle but the views made it worthwhile. This was a small group of 15-16 people and we all had time to ask questions and enjoy the time.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message