In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would recommend this day tour. Our driver Richard was very knowledgeable and interesting. The small buses are very comfortable and can go on narrow roads so you are not on the highways all the time. We had plenty of time at Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond. A really relaxing day.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Have waited a long time to actually visit Inverarry sp? and it was well worth it. A bit disappointed we didn't stop at Stirling Castle. Would have traded some of the stops for it.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was breathtaking! From the castles to the lochs, the sights were fantastic. Our driver,Johnathan , was funny and engaging. He was also knowledgeable and provided a great deal of information to us. He was also accommodating. The visit to Inverary was amazing. If you are interested, there is a good BBC show featuring this estate that can really get you ready for this visit. Downton Abbey fans will recognize this location from the deer stalking episode, Outlander fans will love visiting the location used as castle Leoch. All in all, a fabulous tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite castle of all the ones I visited in Ireland and Scotland. You must do this! And our tour guide was very enthusiastic and told us interesting information about the history of Scotland. He even took us on a personalized walk to view Loch Lomond. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highlands lochs and castles with Gill was a wonderful tour. Gill gave us lots of information, stories and even music to illustrate Scottish history. She made the trip fun for all in a very relaxed and informative manner and was very flexible about how much time we wanted at each spot. The highlight was Kilchurn - slightly off the beaten track. The tour operator was very organized. It was a great day!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful castle a must see full of history that shaped Scotland to what it is today. Some say the heart and soul of Scotland, with many great battles that had been fought here.

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The castle was small but very lovely. I wish I had more than one and a half hours there to see more of the surrounding town. Loch Lomand was very pretty. The short hike and stop at the pub made it a great day! Jan is a terrific guide with wonderful stories of Scotish history and music!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This day tour was exquisite. Arron, our tour guide, was simply amazing. He regaled us with enticing stories and history of Scotland throughout the day. He was personable and efficient. We saw all the castles on the tour and much of the West Highlands. It rained on and off throughout the day, and Arron made the best of the conditions to ensure we had a high quality experience and that our time was optimized. I would definitely book another tour with this company. 5 stars!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great, an announcement asking people to be respectful when talking on the bus as others may want to hear the tour and having functional speakers at every seat - we had some very loud people. 30 min more at each castle and one less loch - we had to run through them to see almost everything.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day trip and good choice of sights - but see later comment. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. I had no idea the highlands were so absolutely gorgeous!!! The only negative I can think of is that they could probably eliminate the Stirling castle stop since you only do a photo op from very far away, along with at least one of the restroom stops. That would cut the tour shorter by at least 1-1/2 hours. Because, really - a 12 hr tour is just too long.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

There was not enough time at Inveraray to visit the Castle if you wanted to eat lunch. That was a big disappointment to have so little time there. Plus, it was a long walk to the castle from where the bus parked so even if you skipped lunch you spent the majority of your time walking to/from the castle. The tour guide was not nearly as friendly or interesting as the other guides. He didn't seem to want to be there.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Unfortunately I hardly got to use these passes...many of the castles I wanted to visit in Scotland where not on the list. The only place we used the tickets was the Edinburgh castle and the lineup was only about 10 minutes, so we really didn't save much time.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

WOW!! Allen our guide made the West Highland Lochs and Castles very real and memorable. He answered all of our questions, gave us the history of what we were seeing and enjoyed what he was doing. Thanks Allen for making our first tour of Scotland so wonderful and wanting to return.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the trip a great deal. I thought the tour guide, George, was excellent. He seems very knowledgeable about everything, and had a great personality and voice. The transport vehicle was very comfortable, and Stirling Castle was especially interesting to me.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, nice castles. Ewen hope I spelled it right is a great story teller and told us a lot about what to do in the city on our way back. Thanks!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took the Loch Lomond/Stirling Castle tour in early June and we had a wonderful time mostly because our driver and tour guide Brian was just wonderful. He was an excellent driver, extremely knowledgable, had and great sense of humor and remained extremely patient with not 1 but two obnoxiously rude sets of fellow travelers on the tour. We had a wonderful adventurous day on this tour. Loch Lomond was just beautiful and we loved the cruise. Our stop in Aberfoyle was a great way to spend lunch and time off on our own and Stirling Castle was the highlight of the tour.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g186525-d807152-r280377741-Gray_Line_Scotland_Ltd-Edinburgh_Scotland.html

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and The Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I just returned from the western highlands and castles day tour out of Edinburgh. What a great trip. Our driver Euan was wonderful and the places we stopped were beautiful. We stopped at the smaller out of the way spots that big coaches with 40 do not visit. And only 12 of us on the bus meant fast exits to see the attractions. I have been on a dozen tours in the past few weeks. This one has been the best by far.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Could have had more time at Sterling Castle. Stevie the driver was fantastic giving background information on where and when we were. Also great sense of hummor and also played associated music to where we were

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended... The castles and lochs were magnificent and the scenery was breathtaking. Our guide Douglas Hunter was as delightful. A great story teller and you can easily be engulfed with his pride in his heritage, culture and birthplace. Will definitey do it again if i get the chance.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Ally was really friendly and informative. However, was only able to actually enter one of the castle - would be nice to be able to visit Stirling too. Maybe it's in the fine print - might just be me.
Overall a pleasant day trip - worth going.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a very enjoyable day. Our guide/drive Eric was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I would like to have spent a little more time in Stirling though. We only had 1.5 hours there and the castle tour itself was 55 minutes. I think this tour be better if it started a little earlier by about an hour so you would feel that you got more bang for your buck at the castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great deal if you plan on visiting a lot of castles. We purchased the 7 day so in 14 so we were able to get to enough to we'll pay for the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great view during drive and sights at stops/locations, knowledgeable and pleasant driver/ tour guide one person did both There were things on the brochure and advertisement the guide didn't mention or add to, but still gave a bit of information as we traveled. Stirling Castle was really nice but really didn't have enough time to enjoy without rushing and still didn't get to see everything. Other stops, etc was great and adequate time allotted.

Vans used are very nice, clean and modern, however if you're not a small or skinny person the width of the seats are very uncomfortable if sitting next to someone more narrow than aircraft seats when you fly if that gives you a hint can't even fasten seat belt without leaning sideways to latch, I'm not small but far from huge 6' average build for that height in my 50's, same for my wife and son, the larger buses I've ridden in most tours before weren't as narrow and at least allowed the aisle seat to slide out for more room, these don't.

Doing what: Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Glengoyne Distillery Day Trip from Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nick was a very knowledgeable guide and driver. He has a sincere love for his homeland which made listening to him so easy plus, he added a few audio recordings that added a nice touch to the information he told. Our one disappointment was that we didn't stop at the Wallace Monument which was one of the main reasons I booked this tour. We saw it from afar but did not stop. You need to edit your information describing this day tour as it's not correct. Our stop in Luss was a wonderful surprise-----words can't describe it's charm and character Aberfoyle was a nice place to stop for lunch I recommend you walk down to the main street to catch a bite to eat-----much more interesting than at the visitor's center. Stirling Castle should not be missed well worth the ticket. I'm not sure what one would do if they didn't visit the castle-----walking around Stirling is not like walking around Edinburgh. The trip was quite pleasant------lovely scenery, interesting history to listen to, and you're home in time to enjoy dinner and the evening in Edinburgh without feeling exhausted.

Doing what: Day Trip to Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park with Optional Stirling Castle Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a great way to get to know a few of the castles in Scotland if you're visiting for a limited amount of time. James, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and a great storyteller. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message