Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Stirling Castle

In a country of castles, Stirling Castle may just be the ultimate royal stronghold. In fact, it was once rumored to be the home of King Arthur and his knights. Like Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle dominates the surroundings, looming over it from a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I had a great time with Karen as our guide. The views were gorgeous. The weather didn't cooperate and the timing right before all the castles opened could have been better for our trip, but we enjoyed all the historical background I'm a historian and the beauty of the highlands. We'd love to do a longer tour next time!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tobias R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful Tour with two fantastic Guides. I enjoyed every minute. Stirling Castle is a spectacular Place to visit and Loch Lomond is so beautiful.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cdfondse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide John was amazing! He gave us history, humor, music and went out of his way to accommodate everyone's needs. The trip was completely full, yet with only 16 people it was a very nice sized group. The weather was perfect, the castles we visited were all so different from each other....and the lochs were picture perfect. This is a great tour for those who want to see an overview of this beautiful country.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

HTravelerUK United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very enjoyable day trip from the city to see some stunning locations and scenery. The location of Kilchurn Castle was the real highlight for me - the scenery there is absolutely incredible. Also enjoyed the history and the guide was great.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

tamaraboucher1

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

My two daughters, 12 and 14, and I spent the day touring with 'West Highland Lochs and Castles' day trip. First the positive. We loved listening to Mike's stories, Mike was our driver for the day. He entertained us with Scottish history lessons about Mary, Queen of Scots and he explained the Scottish clan system and talked about William Wallace and taught us so much about this incredible and beautiful country's history. As we got off the bus at the end of the day I heard him say to my daughter that he hoped she wasn't too bored. On the contrary, she had a great time listening to him and both girls learned SO much! When we got home they described in detail to my husband all that they had heard. I'm very grateful to Mike.
What I didn't like was the description of the tour on Viator, the advertising is misleading. 1st issue: 'Visit Doune Castle, Kilchurn Castle, Inveraray Castle and Stirling Castle'. The tour description states that there's a photo stop at Stirling Castle, but there was no photo stop for Stirling Castle, even though I would have expected from the advertisement that we would be close enough to stop for a photo on the grounds, I assumed we would walk up to it even. We drove by and saw it in passing from a far distance. . 2nd issue: 'Pause in the village of Luss for stunning views across the water'. We stopped in Luss for a bathroom break, we were not in the village we were in the parking lot and most people didn't get off the bus. 3rd: 'arrive at the magnificent ruins of Kilchurn Castle perched on Loch Awe'. Makes me think we were stopping at the castle, but we were actually stopped at the side of the road with the castle at least a kilometre away, I don't consider this 'arriving'. Long bathroom breaks - 30 minutes for one and almost immediately after lunch 15 minutes for another. I would give a five star review for Mike and a 3 or for what I thought was a misrepresentation of what was included in the tour.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Leana S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Amazing Tour!

Lovely tour guide!
Would have loved to actually go to some of the castles and not only drive by them...
Overall we had an amazing time and enjoyed the countryside.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vijaykumar A

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The weather was pretty bad that day which doesn't help the experience.

There are pretty much only two sops on the trip Doune and Inveraray castle. Everything else is a quick hop on hop off few minutes photo opp for what is a really long 10 hour trip. Gillian tried hard to entertain guests.

If you can't fix adding more attractions to the trip and obviously you can't fix the weather, what would be good is to make it more immersive in story telling with props etc. so people at least walk out with really good feel of history as they drive around beyond he on again off again commentary of guide which might be bit hard to track.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

bs65

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I was disappointed as the brochure stated we would be going to Stirling Castle and all we did was make a photo stop on the way back to town. Tour guide was new and she played the music way too loud. There was some wasted time on this tour stopping at lakes that were not particularly interesting.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful addition to our trip. Ally was an incredible guide and so knowledgeable on everything from ancient history, pop culture, to the landscape. We weren and #39;t able to go into a few castles, because we came during and #34;off season and #34;, but we still saw a lot. Highly recommend doing this day trip!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a wonderful tour, thanks to out driver and guide Steven, who delighted us with humor, history and local and traditional music. He put right any misinformation that Hollywood may have exagerated and confirmed their historical accuracies Braveheart/Rob Roy. He organized the trip to avoid crowds while making the most of the good Scottish weather. Loch Loman was a little overcast but by the time we got to Trossachs National Park and the Hairy Coos, the sun was shining brightly. A lot of information was given and absorbed. Stirling Castle is a must see as well as the Kelpies. We had plenty of time to hike, refresh and explore. I highly recommend this tour. Oh, they have nice coaches too.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alaa A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I guess the most important thing to note is that this tour doesn't enter Stirling castle, which is why I chose this tour to start with. Also, most of the time is spent in the bus, so if you are looking for an opportunity to walk the highlands, this trip is not for you. That said, the tour was beautiful and the tour guide was very friendly and informative supplying us with the right amount and kind of facts without overwhelming us, or leaving us on our own. He made an effort to introduce us to Scottish music, which was really cool. Overall, its worth the trip.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Melinda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great tour. I do wish we could have gone into more castles but the weather was difficult. Our driver/tour guide did an amazing job and we especially loved her stories and her enthusiasm for sharing Scotland's history was great.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

russianbowler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This a must tour for everyone not familiar with Scotland. Our tour guide William was a descendant of Rob Roy and was truly knowledgable of Scottish history, particularly the Scottish highlands. his great sense of humor made hours seem like minutes---The Castle and church stops were awesome, but the Scottish Highlands dwarf everything in their beauty and majesty. William has a rare ability to help project you back to the time of Clans. But don't fail to ask him about the march of the penguins! This was a truly enjoyable day that I'd recommend to everyone---especially the Outlander fans like me! Enjoy!! By the way his driver was the best I've seen on my 10 day tour!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Atipol V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Boring and quite different from the tour's detail.

1. Visiting Stiring Castle at the evening rather than in the morning. Base on highlights i understand that the tour will bring me to the castle not the photo point of the castle that quite far away and didn't see anything in the dark evening's night.

2. Inveraray Castle was closed but the tour did not inform before. Therefore, I saw only the back side of the castle and listened only the history of the castle. Is it enough?

3. Guide leader was annoying. He continuously spoke from the start to the end. Moreover he turned on the music too loudly. He was very annoyingggggggggggg.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Stanley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent experience - the castle is a wonder.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Anne T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A very worthwhile tour that provided an excellent experience through beautiful countryside and the impressive setting of the mighty Stirling Castle. The driver/guide was typically very knowledgeable and interesting in his delivery of an absorbing history.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

DANAI S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The driver - tour guide was very nice and he was willing to answer all the questions we had. The castle was quite nice and the lake was beautiful!! We had a great time! :

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

david_stiles_1938

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Driver/tour leader was excellent. Good selection of music while we were on our way back to Edinburgh. Hadn't heard Andy Stewart sing 'Donald, where's ye troosers' for at least forty years.
The kind weather helped make the day memorable. Loved the visit to Stirling Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kimberly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was wonderful...my favorite part of the trip! Our guide Jonathan was very knowledgeable, friendly and personable! We ran into fog when heading to our first stop, Stirling Castle, so we were not able to get a lot of pictures, so Jonathan stopped back by on the way home so we could take a few! We made a few extra stops along the way to take pictures and get up close and personal with the Highland Cows!! They are a must...quite adorable!! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone...and especially having Jonathan as your guide!

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Deana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide/driver was Eric and he was entertained us with stories, whiskey tasting instruction, excellent music and a great singing voice. The ride was scenic, the castle tour was informative and the loch was lovely. We also enjoyed a nice lunch in Aberfoyle. It's a full day but I still believe the tour could benefit from an additional half hour at the castle, as there is so much to see. Otherwise, a perfect way to spend a day while in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful way to see the highlands, lochs and castles!!! Yes, it was a cloudy, drizzly day in Scotland. But...our tour guide Alan was incredible. He had so much knowledge about the history of the area...and an incredible way of imparting that knowledge. He was quiet and let us relax when needed which was a huge plus!!! We got to see the most wonderful things....getting to wander around an ancient castle was so great. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Just be sure to dress accordingly and don't wear good shoes!!! It gets cold and muddy in November!!
I'm looking forward to doing other tours with this group in the future!!!!

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Elizabeth B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Quite a wet day so this did affect the tour. The castles we visited were spectacular from ruins to a lived in castle and the scenery throughout the tour was stunning. Our tour guide was very informative and his café recommendation for lunch was sensational.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We only had one day to travel outside of Edinburgh and we are really glad that we chose this tour. Gordon, our driver and guide, was fantastic. He was entertaining and educational. There were 15 of us in a comfortable van and we were able to see the highlands, castles and lochs. The scenery was beautiful and overall it was a fantastic day.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Jack C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. A special shout out to Ewan B. our tour guide for being helpful, informative and a fantastic tour guide. The bus was comfortable, clean and made for a very pleasant journey. If you ever get chance, take this tour! The only way it could be better would be more time at Stirling Castle.

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

guide/driver is the best. castle was great. loch is overrated

Doing what: Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message