• USD ($)
  • English

Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

The Scotch Whisky Experience

Sipping Scotch whisky is a quintessential Scottish experience and where better to sample a fine scotch than the home of the World's Largest Collection of Scotch Whisky – a staggering array of almost 3,500 unique bottles, spanning some 300 varieties. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The food in this restaurant was of very good quality. As a non experienced Whisky drinker, the Whisky tasting experience gave us a very good insight into and allowed us to sample the various types of Whisky's produced. Our guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Booked this on Burns Night and had a lovely 3 course meal to start with in the restaurant on the 1st floor. Although it's a small room, it didn't feel cramped. The haggis neeps and tatties were tastey and the chocolate torte was so chocolately - really enjoyed the meal. The staff were attentive and it was a nice way to start the evening. After the meal, the whisky tasting took place on the ground floor. We were given 4 whisky samples from 4 regions with good explanations and information about the history and the making of each distinct whisky region. I don't like whisky so was able to sample a mixture of 4 vodka or gin liquers which the pub sold. The lady who was giving the talk was very knowledgable and it was a really enjoyable night. A 5th whisky was given at the end depending on which region you preferred so it was good value for money.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you are really into your whisky's then do this. The guide knew his whisky's inside and out, he was amazing. We also ate at an organic restaurant which was a welcome and wonderful surprise (we mostly eat organic when at home) and the food was SUPURB! Can not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing experience and I'm so glad I signed up. The (vegan) food was terrific and I learned so much about Scotch Whisky, which was my goal. I was the only person who signed up for that particular evening but Iglu honored my reservation and gave me a wonderful one-on-one tasting experience that allowed me to learn all about the different regions where Scotch Whisky is produced and the different tastes. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn about Scotch Whisky or have an enjoyable dining and Scotch tasting experience in a lovely city.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a lot of fun! It is a very personalised experience, unlike most touristy things to do in Edinburgh. The meal very delicious, very gourmet and interesting. After your meal a whisky tutor sits down with you and talks about each whisky that you taste. We tried 4 types and talked about the taste, strength, nose etc, and also learned about the region each was from and how they were made. The best part about the night was the staff. Both our tutor and our waiter were really fun, and we even met the chef!

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Me and my girlfriend had best whisky tasting experience . Food was lovely .

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We loved the dinner and whisky tasting, it was a bit confusing about when we were suppose to do the whisky tasting, but once explained, you eat first and then someone comes up and does a one on one and goes over the each of the whiskeys with you from the different regions. It was a great evening.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was given as a 30th birthday present and was a great success! We both had a lovely time - our whisky expert was very well informed and very friendly, and the meal that followed was delicious! The environment was excellent - very helpful and welcoming staff, beautiful original artwork on the walls, and a great atmosphere (not too loud, not too quiet). We were made to feel very welcome and special throughout the evening. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

A warm welcoming, friendly and informative experience tasting whisky followed by excellent food.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tasting and dinner were great. The staff at the Iglu were excellent and knew their whisky! The dinner was fantastic. Their options were perfect. Vegans/vegetarians, organics lovers, and meat-eaters alike will like the options and portions. Excellent value for the money!

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A great evening with a delicious dinner and very informative/entertaining whisky tasting adviser. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

I was a little confused about this. It said about going to a restaurant for Haggis and steak and it turned out to be an organic restaurant. The food was good, but my expectations were not met. The whisky tasting turned out to be very good. I learned quite a bit about the different regions as well the different kinds of scotch whisky. I appreciated the staff on the lesson. I know it was late on a Sunday.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Fantastic dinner and a really informative whisky tasting. If you like scotch, give it a try. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey, but then again, my silly American dollars don't go very far in the UK.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message