In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 945 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great tour! My husband is a history buff and has wanted to see Hadrian's wall. Our guide was fantastic !! he was very knowledgeable and personable. I would highly recommend this tour if you are interested in history and wish to see this part of the county !!!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Lori H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Richard was a fantastic guide - very knowledgeable about history, had a great sense of humor and was a wonderful storyteller. He also knew when not to talk, so his information was always useful and enjoyable.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was not obvious where to go toskip the line, however locals were very helpful at pointing me in the right direction!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

kathdrees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fascinating history. Would have been nice to have been told to skip the kiosk and go straight to the visitor's center for entrance tixs. Best prices we found for woolens in all Edinburgh at the castle, which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed the tour and stories. Lots of walking. Enjoyed seeing the castle. Would do again.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

alicia.m.martel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was hilarious! We had a brilliant time on this walking tour! Our guide, Adam Lyal deceased was phenomenal and very funny! There were a couple moments of jumpiness but it made the tour that much more enjoyable! We laughed the whole time. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Edinburgh, which was awesome! We saw some beautiful sights and even tho it was still light out - it was a great tour! I would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fabulous! Our driver Tom was a wonderful person who knew so much about Scotland and was so proud of his Scottish history. He took the time to walk each person into their accommodations and ensure that they were in proper order and everyone was happy. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone looking to get a true taste of Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

uruimi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommend it

Doing what: Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket

Esther B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guides were funny and entertaining!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Jarrod G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!! Grant, the guide did an outstanding job in every aspect of the tour.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

Creasy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Easy to use and definitely a bargain.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

LOVED this tour with Gerry McMullen. Not only was he full of information, he was also full of fun and friendliness. We got to see all the scenes described on the website, heard stories about them, as well as info about random things we were seeing in the countryside. Plus, his driving was first rate. We were able to relax and see a lot of the Scottish country. Every one of the four of us considers this tour to be the highlight of our 12 day trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

Coral G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you visit Edinburgh yet don't visit the castle, I might ask why you came in the first place? A must see attraction, and skip the line ticket is worth the expense. We were able to bypass quite a long que of people waiting to purchase tickets. It is necessary to note, signs near the entrance do not plainly detail where one must go to redeem the voucher, so to help all who may read this...go to the Visitor Center near the entrance and Gift Shop, they will redeem your Skip the Line voucher.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely the way to go unless you enjoy standing in long lines. What would have been nice, though, is if the information we received from Viator told us exactly where to go to present the printed tickets to gain admittance. I had to go to castle's information office to find out. It was there that they printed the tickets for us. Definitely a must-see attraction.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Stephen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip
Andrew was amazing and a wonderful host ,guide and raconteur
A few suggestions
1We arrived in Glasgow and took a bus to Edinburgh to join the trip only to find out we could have started in Glasgow .i reviewed the site and there was not mention of starting from Glasgow
2 the extra trips and sites were not mentioned in the itinerary and when we tried to pay by Visa we were told cash only .this should have been mentioned beforehand so we would have the correct amount
3 we thought a small group tour would have been 7--14 people but we were 26
4 we would have appreciated a brief itinerary printed for us so we would be prepared for the days activity
5 a mesh carryall on the back of the seat in front would have been helpful for storing papers and daily items
Accommodations were stellar ,meals were great
Definitely worth the money

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Peter was well informed, very professional and enjoyable to be with.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Cindy E W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour though we purchased fast track tickets and there were no lines so that was good excellent views of the city

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

MARILYN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great. Skipped the long line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Elizabeth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and funny. We learned so much about Edinburgh and we were so glad we took this tour . Getting admittance to the Castle was a great perk to taking this tour as well as having our guide be able to give us information not only in town but also in the castle. I would highly recommend this.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

AWOL and Igor aka Burke and Hare transported us through a spine tingling broom ride of a haunted tour of Edinburgh by dead of night. Atmospheric, a must!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Chloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Save money and easy to use!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

VLMD94

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We recommend purchasing this entrance ticket to avoid waiting in lines. Edinburgh castle is a top site to visit and can have long lines. Audio-guides are available and also recommended to get a more in-depth overview of the castle and its history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message