In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 701 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful tour full of interesting information. Well run and organised.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

MIchael was terrific!!! He gave us a wonderful tour of Old Edinburgh, filled with enough history and charming stories. He did a great job getting us from one place to another with the crowds of the Fringe around us. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable trip. The driver Eric was very knowledgeable and answered everyone's questions. The transportation was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this transport to everyone.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

it was very interesting tour and enjoyed very much

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A wonderful tour. Very interesting, informative and well organized. Our guide, sorry forgotten her name but she was an Austrian lass with a Scottish accent, was fabulous. She gave us a lot of information in a fun way. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Dream come true! To see the castle is amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great fun and interesting historic themes

Doing what: Best Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Our host was extremely funny and the scary bits were more comedy than frightening. We had our 11yr old with us and she had a great time too. Really educational as well. Learned and laughed in equal measure.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Margaret, the tour guide, was excellent.
She made the area covered come to life in a very unique way.
I would highly recommend this tour.
The cost was quite reasonable too.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very easy to exchange vouchers for tickets and entrance was fast. Crowd moved along slowly but we managed to see everything we wanted to see.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely trip! I learned so much during the tour : Thanks Joe!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Getting the voucher online ahead of time and exchanging them for tickets, beats the waiting and long line. The weather was perfect for walking around the castle. You could easily spend all day here, so much to see. Audio is a must get.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the money! This trip was very entertaining. Adam did a great job and kept our interest for the whole trip. He shared with us some great information and really made us laugh. The tour was not scary at all, so it was perfect for families with young children. We even received a free copy of his book. Nice touch.

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. favourite castle near Edinburgh was Craigmillar. Top Abbey - Dunfermeline.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent guide Wendy very knowledgeable historian who brought the trip to life.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun!!! Highly recommend!!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour and I would give Margaret 10 out of 10. She is an excellent tour guide and told us wonderful stories. Would highly recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great, Margaret did a wonderful job and her knowledge was exceptional. We were there on Sunday when Edinburgh was celebrating the Fringe. The streets were jam packed and Margaret knew her way around the crowds.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous and historical castle and getting the entrance ticket in advance is strongly advisable, especially in the summer months to get ahead of the crowd.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wendy was an excellent tour guide, showing her passion for Edinburgh. She knew how to keep the group listening to her many stories and history of this great town. I learnt a lot, especially the meanings behind many of our words and phrases - 'the loo' related to people in the olden days calling out above when they were to empty their 'slops' from above, 'daylight robbery' with the window tax implemented etc. Wendy was well prepared and carried a folder of photos and illustrations to support her stories and knowledge. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, and a fun way to see and hear about some of Edinburgh's more gruesome tales!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

GREAT TOUR, GREAT GUIDE. REALLY ENJOYED IT.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the highlights of my trip. The guide was awesome, the stops were well timed. I'd have liked more time at the castle and garden, but the 3 hours was not unreasonable given the round trip travel time. We got an extra stop on the way home, which was a bonus. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sue was an excellent guide. She managed to get herself heard despite the festive atmosphere around. Enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message