In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 871 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This purchase involved just obtaining a voucher for entrance into the Edinburgh Castle avoiding the lines for ticket purchase. It is for people who either want to use the audio tour or who just want to tour the castle under their own direction which we do. The voucher worked as advertised, although you do need to go through a station in the entrance area to swap the voucher for a ticket. We had no wait at all there not sure whether in the summer there would be delays with this swap process. Certainly Edinburgh Castle is something everyone needs to visit while in Edinburgh!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Tim's Account United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very enjoyable walk through real and imagined history

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Outlander' TV Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow

Diane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful day! Richard was the perfect guide, showing great enthusiasm for and knowledge of the area and its history. We appreciated all his stories and insights. And, he's a great driver, too! I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Gina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bloody BRILLIANT!
The commentary was so enlightening, informative, entertaining and engaging. The scenery was magnificent and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Mark the tour guide was THE BEST. We will definitely be back and we highly recommend this trip as well as the tour company.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Laurie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Definitely worth not waiting in the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great little tour. Helps you understand the Royal Mile a little better. Edinburgh Castle is spectacular. Could have spent a whole day just exploring that. I have forgotten our tour guides name but she was sweet woman and was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Patricia A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour. The driver/guide was very well informed and we had plenty of time at each location. Covered a lot in one day.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

rickfield1303

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was fun and informative. Our guide was great, as I've found most of the tour guides in Edinburgh to be. She was a great story teller and made the experience a great time. I highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to get acquainted with Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Miranda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This pass is a good way to save money if you are going to many of the big tourist attractions in Scotland!

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Sharyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Rabbie mini bus trip made for a fully and enjoyable day with insightful local storytelling along the journey. I was travelling alone and have a phobia to group tours and yet found this trip was set up to drop us off at particular spots so we could explore them ourselves. It was an magical opportunity to go back to the place I lived when I was 11. My sister and I spent many hours playing in the grounds of the Alnwick castle, as kids, when it was just field of grass 40 years ago. It was a delight to see and walk through the extraordinary water gardens that have been insight of the Duchess of Northumberland. It has brought the life back into the beauty little town. I was a bit taken back that the Grand Cascade was in my memory though it wasn't built until 25 year after the time I was there! The Border Country between Scotland and England does tend to feel like it could pass through time!

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great experience! The pass allows you to skip the main massive line everyone else is in. Realistically you save around $2.00 but it and #39;s better than waiting in a cue. Ensure you print off your tickets and when there use the free guided tour it and #39;s funny and informing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Ellen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great way to experience Edinburgh - an informative guide to follow around who keeps giving you delicious chocolate! Alisha, our guide, gave a little history of each chocolate establishment and some advice for the really really really good stuff. She took good care of everyone in the group and was able to make a personal connection with us. Alisha would be worth asking for by name.

The first tour that I scheduled was not actually available. I got fast and effective help with a substitute tour and a refund by CALLING the customer service folks at VIATOR - emails were far less effective

Doing what: Edinburgh's Chocolate Walking Tour

eva52489

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hilarious and informative. Very fun!

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Patricia A L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very well informed and fun guide. The time at Alnwick Castle could have been a little longer another 30 minutes but a great trip.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

Catherine W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic and well worth the money...it is a lot of walking up and down hill...some of our group struggled but no real problem

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Suzanne M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A little confusing regarding which counter to go to for printed tickets! At first, we tried machines inside the Castle but after asking were directed. Once that was organised, all was good and would recommend skipping the line as queues for tickets are much longer!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

DebbieK

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

If you go to Edinburgh you 'have' to go to the castle. We preferred Stirling Castle and the way it was presented better. But the views were spectacular and it is pretty amazing how it rises up from the volcano. You can do it in 1-2 hours easily.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Kathryn A B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The castle was cool but not really worth the $. Definitely skip the audio guide. Most of the castle you can see from the outside. It and #39;s just a bunch of museums inside.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jay M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

My wife and I thought this could have been modified a bit as it was really filthy and the stories about throughing human waste out the windows wasn't needed.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Treated on other page but this one doesn't,t say which is good or bad.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Christopher Brereton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent alternative way to spend a night in Edinburgh that is both hilarious and informative. The vintage bus environment and conductor / guide provide an excellent atmosphere to make this tour a very rememberable evening. The tour guide provides a very interesting and hilarious character which portrays Edinburgh's in a light comedic manner while still staying very informative and accurate. Would definitely recommend this tour as it had me smiling the whole way throughout the night and for hours afterwards.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! A lady called Margaret was our guide - she was very knowledgeable and made the tour really interesting. A not to be missed event!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great--interesting. Fun for the entire family.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message