In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 529 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Superb value for money, really interesting and informative, without dragging at all. Thank you Ella P!!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There was a huge line to purchase tickets that we were able to by pass..... Definitely saveed us time and hassle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most unusual tours I have taken. The guide recall brought the underground world to life. Very well worth while.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour that took us to places we wouldn't have found on our own. We even went back to two of the locations a second time on our own.

Doing what: Edinburgh's Chocolate Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Missed long lines for tickets by taking voucher to gift shop and then walking right in.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Stephen P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great......except.... We had a front of the line ticket and we lined up for 20 minutes to get in and when we got to the front of the line we were told to go to another office to redeem our tickets......we were not happy....perhaps some signs or assistance to guide you to the correct redemption place would be helpful!!!! Once we got into the castle...wow it was amazing. Perhaps coming from Australia where everything is so new we are a little in awe of these amazing castles. Stayed for the cannon blast at 1pm.....boom it was loud...don't forget to stay for it. Very impressive and definitely worth the visit.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour, guide was a very good speaker.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Due to miss communication with the company ( they changed locations), missed this tour but they were quick to put us on a different one. All was good as the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a nice tour that gives you some good information on the history of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It wasn't what we expected and was alittle boring. People were nice and informative. Just not what I was expecting.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting, lots of fun!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fascinating, a must-do in Edinburgh!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was very very knowledgable

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A dream come true for a fan of Islay Single Malt. In depth tours and tastings at 3 distilleries and mini-tours and tastings at 3 more. Even an opportunity to pour your own bottle right from the cask, visit historic sites, walk through a peat bog, and stake your claim to a square foot of Laphroig (and collect a wee bottle of 10 year old from them as rent for use of your property). The cottages at Bowmore were delightful. The trip to and from Edinburgh is on a very comfortable coach and ferries. Lots of stops along the way to visit Lochs, castles and quaint villages. Our driver and guide, Emily, with her university education in the history of Scotland was extremely informative and entertaining.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Saved a bit of time.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message