In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 847 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful day! Richard was the perfect guide, showing great enthusiasm for and knowledge of the area and its history. We appreciated all his stories and insights. And, he's a great driver, too! I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Treated on other page but this one doesn't,t say which is good or bad.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Christopher Brereton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent alternative way to spend a night in Edinburgh that is both hilarious and informative. The vintage bus environment and conductor / guide provide an excellent atmosphere to make this tour a very rememberable evening. The tour guide provides a very interesting and hilarious character which portrays Edinburgh's in a light comedic manner while still staying very informative and accurate. Would definitely recommend this tour as it had me smiling the whole way throughout the night and for hours afterwards.

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! A lady called Margaret was our guide - she was very knowledgeable and made the tour really interesting. A not to be missed event!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great--interesting. Fun for the entire family.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

April H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was brilliant. Very interesting, wonderfully informative, and the castle was fascinating.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

kathleen k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a brilliant afternoon tour..We really enjoyed and found it very interesting. Thank you to hannah our tour guide......xxx If wanting to come to Edingburgh it is a must xx

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

sherylmccartney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

amazing tour, so full of information, Our guide Margaret, was really what made it so enjoyable, very knowledgable and tied all the stories together throughout the tour, strongly rec'md it, in fact a few of our other families we met up with in Glasgow, took train to do the tour for the day. A must do for any first time travellers to Edinburgh or history lovers.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our Guide Charles was amazing! He told us so much about the history of Edinburgh and took us to some very nice courts and closes. Together we went into Edinburgh Castle and there he told us something about the castle and recommended in which order we could explore the remaining castle on our own.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Kyle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful time with our tour guide Catty. She was very pleasant, informative and passionate about Scottish/UK history. Alnwick is a picturesque castle and the borders are a lovely drive.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

Cherrylin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thank goodness, I and #39;ve booked in advance. The castle is a grand tour by itself .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Easy to use. Just went into the office to get our tickets and we were on our way! We loved the castle and the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

alban w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this castle more than Tower of London or Windsor Castle. Good guide, beautiful grounds and city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Teresa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful experience with Neil and Doug. I highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in ancient history and the Romans. Vindplanda was amazing.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide. Very interesting content and tour

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

PHILIP E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Interesting. Tour guide had the right mix of information and humour.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Francesca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Didn't know quite what to expect. It was great fun. The conductor / guide and driver were very funny and well informed and the scary bits were scary. Great!

Doing what: Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus

April H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Totally amazing and very interesting too. I recommend going on this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

April H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Seriously fun, interesting and fabulous. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

schwanty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guide was great. Edinburgh is one of the greatest cities in the world.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

chtesl c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Edinburgh Castle is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been! So happy I got to Skip the Line - it was looong and drizzling! Thanks Viator! :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Christopher Brereton

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was entertaining with the tour guide providing a nice balance between humour and accurate knowledge of the local history of the visited locations. The history of the locations was added to by the tour guide interacting with the group when explaining the history.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

Christopher Brereton

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Being one of Edinburgh's main landmarks the castle is a mandatory stop for anyone visiting and can provide enough information and history to fill an entire days would of sightseeing. There are also different events happening at the castle dependent on time and season, and many of these are recommended for adults and children alike to enjoy to get a deeper understanding of Edinburgh's history as a whole.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Yannick V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice experience, beautiful castle

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message