In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 534 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Superb value for money, really interesting and informative, without dragging at all. Thank you Ella P!!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There was a huge line to purchase tickets that we were able to by pass..... Definitely saveed us time and hassle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most unusual tours I have taken. The guide recall brought the underground world to life. Very well worth while.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour that took us to places we wouldn't have found on our own. We even went back to two of the locations a second time on our own.

Doing what: Edinburgh's Chocolate Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, the ticket is just that - access to the castle. There are audio devices you can pick up and listen to as you roam about the castle grounds, and I think there were some guided tours available as well, but we opted to sight see on our own and just look at stuff. There is plenty to see; the castle is actually a collection of buildings within the wall itself. We had lunch inside the castle as there are several places to get food inside, as well as a souvenir shop that sells Scotch whisky and whisky liquers (yum!). The parapets are a great place to stand to get a birds-eye view of Edinburgh, too. The castle has an amazing history.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Missed long lines for tickets by taking voucher to gift shop and then walking right in.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tony was very good guide. He made the trip great fun. I did feel like the last stop in Moffat was a waste of time, especially since nothing is open when we arrive.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

Stephen P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was great......except.... We had a front of the line ticket and we lined up for 20 minutes to get in and when we got to the front of the line we were told to go to another office to redeem our tickets......we were not happy....perhaps some signs or assistance to guide you to the correct redemption place would be helpful!!!! Once we got into the castle...wow it was amazing. Perhaps coming from Australia where everything is so new we are a little in awe of these amazing castles. Stayed for the cannon blast at 1pm.....boom it was loud...don't forget to stay for it. Very impressive and definitely worth the visit.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

T Mack
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Edinburgh Castle was fantastic. lots of crowds but with the Viator voucher we were able to bypass them all and go straight to the service desk and get our tickets and enter. The tour was good especially Mary Queen of Scotts. I loved the vistas from the castle and can see why it was the safest place in the land.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are into old castles and/or abbeys and you have your own car this is awesome!! We were able to see only 12 out of 78 but definitely got our moneys worth. I will buy one again when we go back!

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour, guide was a very good speaker.

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Due to miss communication with the company ( they changed locations), missed this tour but they were quick to put us on a different one. All was good as the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a nice tour that gives you some good information on the history of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The castle was excellent, lots to see and plenty of time to do it in! Only concern was delay in getting our prepaid tickets. The castle has a prepaid ticket machine but its only for tickets sold on their website. We collected ours from Tourist Information. If we hadnt asked, we could have found ourselves in the 2 hour long queue at the ticket office. Big thanks to Viator though for saving us the wait time

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message