In August, the Festival City explodes with arts events and the streets fill with a cosmopolitan melange of visitors high on a heady mix of culture and single malt. Day 1: Old Town and Edinburgh Castle The Old Town is a warren of closes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 622 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very entertaining ! Guide and his sidekick were very good bringing the stories of Edinburgh to life !

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guides and really interesting information. Good value for money

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't believe I finally got to see and walk on Hadrian's Wall. Absolutely amazing! Even more awe inspiring is the excavation of a nearby Roman Fort and Village. We had the pleasure of 2 guides,Jan and Joe who were both lots of fun. Great day!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had really decent weather. In Scotland this is relative. Everything was spelled out in detail with the electronic devices which explained just about all you would care to know about. The venue was extremely well cared for. The views were spectacular. and, most of all the people working there were pleasant and helpful!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great place to visit,a must to do.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good guide, smooth journey, plenty of time to explore.

Doing what: Alnwick Castle and the Scottish Borders Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant, very interesting and spent a good half a day there, inc getting some lovely lunch in the cafe/restaurant. Would recommend if you are going to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Elizabeth S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was such a fun tour and very entertaining. Alexander Clapperton Deceased and his associate were both very informative and funny. It was great learning a bit about the darker side of Edinburgh. Not too scary so great for families and the amount of walking isn't very strenuous. My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves with this one and definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Ghost and Gore Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Joe was great! Very knowledgeable as well as pleasant and cheerful. The tour itself is wonderful, the remains of the wall are amazing, Vindolanda is eye opening, and the borders are beautiful!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Joe was great! Very knowledgeable as well as pleasant and cheerful. The tour itself is wonderful, the remains of the wall are amazing, Vindolanda is eye opening, and the borders are beautiful!

Doing what: Hadrian's Wall, Roman Britain and the Scottish Borders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! My stomach still hurts from all the laughing! Adam Lyal is soooo great! Everyone should do this tour!

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well done. Plenty of direction about which bus to take and the information was very good. Everything went well

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Prepaying for this tour was the best, the line was very long even on a Wednesday. Really enjoyed the mini city of the Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

a very fun and amusing tour

Doing what: Murder and Mystery Walking Tour of Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent deal...got to skip the ticket lines! The castle is beautiful and the free tours are wonderful! Spent hours beyond the tour!

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very very interesting and well presented . Our guide Margaret was very informative, helpful and friendly and made it a lovely tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful 8 hour day trip away from the city to a lovely part of the Scottish coastline. Beautiful town and castle/cathedral ruins made the trip a very picturesque and relaxing setting for a day trip. Very much enjoyed working with the Highland Explorer Tours company.

Doing what: St Andrews Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting tour in a part of edinburgh i did,nt know existed.Lovely lady guided us round,well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The weather in Scotland can be changeable and this tour had it all. It started out raining then the sun came out then more rain and hail even but not 1 person left the tour. Our guide was so entertaining and he knew so much about the history of Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Skip the line, perfect.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must to see in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Online purchase made entry very easy. The castle is an amazing piece of history. The weather was beautiful and the views are magnificent. Enjoyed exploring all the areas with the help of the audio guide. Would visit again if the opportunity presented itself.

Doing what: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good tour with the option of commentary in several different languages, which was great for our Austrian friends. My only complaint was the the coffee on the boat tasted like dishwater.

Doing what: Edinburgh Bus and Boat Tour Including Forth Bridges Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message